housing http://kuow.org en How To Grow An Urban Village In Ballard http://kuow.org/post/how-grow-urban-village-ballard <p></p><p>Seattle is expecting 120,000 new residents over the next 20 years. To guide its growth, the city is currently drawing up a new comprehensive plan called, <a href="http://2035.seattle.gov/">Seattle 2035</a>.</p><p>City officials are seeking public input on the three options on the table: urban centers, urban villages and transit. Thu, 17 Apr 2014 21:50:02 +0000 Ross Reynolds 32764 at http://kuow.org How To Grow An Urban Village In Ballard Tensions Build In San Francisco Amid Tech Boom http://kuow.org/post/tensions-build-san-francisco-amid-tech-boom As San Francisco experiences a historic economic boom, partly fueled by an influx of tech workers and companies, some activists say that not all city residents are reaping the benefits.<p>Google bus protests are becoming an increasingly regular occurrence in San Francisco, with activists targeting the bus that takes Google workers from San Francisco to Silicon Valley.<p>There was another protest on Friday, where protesters held signs with the name of a Google executive who is also a landlord. Wed, 16 Apr 2014 17:41:28 +0000 editor 32663 at http://kuow.org Tensions Build In San Francisco Amid Tech Boom The Millennial Work-Life Revolution In Seattle http://kuow.org/post/millennial-work-life-revolution-seattle <p></p><p></p><p>The millennial generation is taking control over how they work and how they live. The group, currently about 18 to 33 years old, is adopting technology that is disrupting old structures and writing the playbook on how to take advantage of technological change. Wed, 16 Apr 2014 16:34:03 +0000 Carolyn Adolph 32591 at http://kuow.org The Millennial Work-Life Revolution In Seattle The Ultimate Reuse: Shipping Containers For Buildings http://kuow.org/post/ultimate-reuse-shipping-containers-buildings <p></p><p>The cost of housing in the city is making many people think small, to embrace the micro movement that loves to reuse and recycle. Enter the idea of a shipping container as a building — a natural in a port city like Seattle, which handles 1.6 million container units in a year. Wed, 09 Apr 2014 14:27:00 +0000 Carolyn Adolph 31813 at http://kuow.org The Ultimate Reuse: Shipping Containers For Buildings Real Estate Developer Responds To Picketing Tenants http://kuow.org/post/real-estate-developer-responds-picketing-tenants <p>Marcie Sillman speaks with George Petrie, CEO of <a href="http://www.goodmanre.com">Goodman Real Estate</a>, about its purchase of the Theodora apartments in Ravenna. Petrie responds to <a href="http://kuow.org/post/tenants-picket-goodman-real-estate">Tenants Union of Washington</a>'s accusations of the Seattle-based real estate developer as being "predatory." Wed, 12 Mar 2014 22:26:18 +0000 Marcie Sillman & Posey Gruener 30383 at http://kuow.org Real Estate Developer Responds To Picketing Tenants Elementary School Pilot Program Helps Family Escape Homelessness http://kuow.org/post/elementary-school-pilot-program-helps-family-escape-homelessness <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/03/031014TW_HomelessChildren_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>Across the country more than one million kids may not know where they’re going to sleep tonight.<p> Wed, 12 Mar 2014 15:36:41 +0000 Taylor Winkel 30352 at http://kuow.org Elementary School Pilot Program Helps Family Escape Homelessness Tenants Picket Goodman Real Estate http://kuow.org/post/tenants-picket-goodman-real-estate <p>Marcie Sillman speaks with Tim Doub, a resident of the Theodora apartments, and Eliana Horn, a community organizer with the <a href="http://www.tenantsunion.org/en">Tenants Union of Washington State</a>, about why they are picketing the Seattle-based Goodman Real Estate. Tue, 11 Mar 2014 22:55:33 +0000 Marcie Sillman & Posey Gruener 30311 at http://kuow.org Tenants Picket Goodman Real Estate Quixote Village: More Than Just A Place To Sleep http://kuow.org/post/quixote-village-more-just-place-sleep <p>This past Christmas Eve, 30 homeless adults found a permanent residence in Olympia, Wash.</p><p>Before the move, the group lived in tents, hosted by different churches in the area. Many of the people had been sleeping in the woods and just wanted a safe place to stay.</p><p>Now, Camp Quixote is known as Quixote Village and comprises tiny houses for homeless adults. At 144 square feet, the homes are about the size of a one-car garage. Wed, 05 Mar 2014 16:48:59 +0000 Elizabeth Jenkins 29820 at http://kuow.org Quixote Village: More Than Just A Place To Sleep An Astonishing Share Of Homebuyers Are Paying All Cash http://kuow.org/post/astonishing-share-homebuyers-are-paying-all-cash More and more people are buying homes with pure cash. In December, all-cash purchases accounted for 42.1 percent of all U.S. Fri, 24 Jan 2014 20:02:15 +0000 Julia Zhu 27577 at http://kuow.org An Astonishing Share Of Homebuyers Are Paying All Cash 2014 Brings Good News For Seattle Renters http://kuow.org/post/2014-brings-good-news-seattle-renters <p>David Hyde talks with Tim Ellis, founder of the real estate news blog <a href="http://seattlebubble.com/blog/">The Seattle Bubble</a>, about the booming development industry and stabilizing rents. Fri, 03 Jan 2014 22:45:13 +0000 David Hyde & Hannah Burn 26477 at http://kuow.org 2014 Brings Good News For Seattle Renters Homeless In Seattle: 'Seeing A Family Walk In Here, It’s A Heartbreaker' http://kuow.org/post/homeless-seattle-seeing-family-walk-here-it-s-heartbreaker <p>As snow dusted Seattle on Friday morning, demand for warm items shot up at a homeless camp in Seattle’s central area. Mon, 23 Dec 2013 23:19:32 +0000 Liz Jones 26004 at http://kuow.org Homeless In Seattle: 'Seeing A Family Walk In Here, It’s A Heartbreaker' Bay Area's Steep Housing Costs Spark Return To Communal Living http://kuow.org/post/bay-areas-steep-housing-costs-spark-return-communal-living <em>This week, we're exploring the San Francisco Bay Area and the way income inequality is affecting the region. Check out the other pieces of the week, <a href="http://www.npr.org/series/251652256/income-inequality-in-the-san-francisco-bay-area">aggregated on this page</a>.</em><p>It's no secret <a href="http://www.npr.org/2013/12/03/247531636/as-rent-soars-longtime-san-francisco-tenants-fight-to-stay">rents have skyrocketed</a> in the San Francisco Bay Area, fueled by tight housing stock and the latest tech boom. Thu, 19 Dec 2013 08:04:00 +0000 Elise Hu 25747 at http://kuow.org Bay Area's Steep Housing Costs Spark Return To Communal Living Fighting Foreclosure: Home Is Where The Bank Says It Is http://kuow.org/post/fighting-foreclosure-home-where-bank-says-it <p>Natalie Johnson and her family lived in their rental home in Edmonds, Wash., for seven years. It was the longest they had lived anywhere. Fri, 11 Oct 2013 15:43:46 +0000 Kendra Hanna & RadioActive Youth Media 21672 at http://kuow.org Fighting Foreclosure: Home Is Where The Bank Says It Is Seattle Center Plays Host To 1,400 Homeless Guests http://kuow.org/post/seattle-center-plays-host-1400-homeless-guests <p>More than 1,400 homeless individuals descended on Seattle Center Tuesday to take part in a&nbsp;one-day resource fair put on by United Way of King County. Wed, 18 Sep 2013 15:39:42 +0000 Deborah Wang 20522 at http://kuow.org Seattle Center Plays Host To 1,400 Homeless Guests Foreclosure Crisis? Seattle's Numbers Don't Add Up http://kuow.org/post/foreclosure-crisis-seattles-numbers-dont-add <p><em>A correction and&nbsp; further information on the story 9/14/2013:</em></p> Thu, 12 Sep 2013 16:19:09 +0000 Deborah Wang 20186 at http://kuow.org Foreclosure Crisis? Seattle's Numbers Don't Add Up