housing http://kuow.org en Middle Income Group Overlooked In Seattle Affordable Housing Struggle http://kuow.org/post/middle-income-group-overlooked-seattle-affordable-housing-struggle <p>Seattle City Councilmember Mike O’Brien is looking for affordable housing solutions – for a population that may be overlooked.</p><p>Speaking with KUOW’s Ross Reynolds, O’Brien said that systems are in place for those making around 30 percent of the area median wage, but not for those between 60 to 100 percent of the median (for a single person that’s between $37,000 and $50,000 a year). Wed, 23 Jul 2014 21:47:59 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Andy Hurst 38804 at http://kuow.org Middle Income Group Overlooked In Seattle Affordable Housing Struggle Rent Is On The Rise, In Spite Of Stagnant Income http://kuow.org/post/rent-rise-spite-stagnant-income A new report shows rents are up in cities and metro areas across the country, as demand for apartments continue to exceed supply.<p>The average monthly apartment rent for the year&#8217;s second quarter was $1,099, up from $1,064 at the same time last year. The quarterly report from Reis, the real estate research firm, revealed that this was the 18th consecutive quarter of rent increases.<p>This comes as median household income remains stagnant. Thu, 03 Jul 2014 14:33:40 +0000 editor 37554 at http://kuow.org Rent Is On The Rise, In Spite Of Stagnant Income Tenants: Know Your Legal Rights http://kuow.org/post/tenants-know-your-legal-rights <p>Marcie Sillman talks with attorney Evan Loeffler, who specializes in landlord-tenant relations and real estate litigation, about what tenants can do to protect their financial&nbsp;interests. Mon, 30 Jun 2014 22:37:46 +0000 Marcie Sillman & Matthew Streib 37376 at http://kuow.org Tenants: Know Your Legal Rights Why Are Seattle Area Rents Skyrocketing? http://kuow.org/post/why-are-seattle-area-rents-skyrocketing <p>Marcie Sillman talks with real estate appraiser <a href="http://richardhagar.com/">Richard Hagar</a> about what's driving the increase in Seattle area rental prices. Fri, 27 Jun 2014 21:52:12 +0000 Marcie Sillman & Andy Hurst 37220 at http://kuow.org A Peek Inside Seattle's Remaining Communes http://kuow.org/post/peek-inside-seattles-remaining-communes <p>Four people live in a cozy home on Capitol Hill, which they call WOW, for Wild Old Women.</p><p>Or that’s what they used to call it; now they call it Wild Old Women And One Young Man, since a godson of one member joined a year ago. Fri, 27 Jun 2014 17:28:44 +0000 Isolde Raftery 37211 at http://kuow.org A Peek Inside Seattle's Remaining Communes Home, Food Or Health Care: A Choice Many Renters Can't Afford http://kuow.org/post/home-food-or-health-care-choice-many-renters-cant-afford The mortgage crisis that devastated the economy has received endless attention, but it's not just homeowners who have suffered badly in this economy.<p>As of 2012, renters made up 35 percent of American households. Their numbers are growing, reversing a decades-long uptick in homeownership.<p>And in the past 50 years, the percentage of income they're spending on the rent has increased dramatically. Sun, 15 Jun 2014 21:52:00 +0000 NPR Staff 36442 at http://kuow.org Home, Food Or Health Care: A Choice Many Renters Can't Afford Game Of Homes: Leaving Seattle For The Cheaper Suburbs http://kuow.org/post/game-homes-leaving-seattle-cheaper-suburbs <p>This week, we have been airing Game of Homes, a series about finding affordable housing in Seattle. For one family, finding a place to live within their means meant leaving the city altogether.</p><p>Andrea VanHorn and her fiancé fled to North Bend, a small town 35 miles east of Seattle. “Wow, there’s a lot of pine trees out here,” VanHorn said when the idea was first suggested. Fri, 30 May 2014 21:28:57 +0000 Steve Scher & Hannah Burn 35522 at http://kuow.org Game Of Homes: Leaving Seattle For The Cheaper Suburbs Game Of Homes: 11 People, Two Tiny Apartments http://kuow.org/post/game-homes-11-people-two-tiny-apartments <p></p><p>This week, we have been airing Game of Homes, a series about finding affordable housing in Seattle. For some, like the Pokhrel family, it’s about bunking together. Eleven family members share two apartments on Rainier Avenue in South Seattle. Fri, 30 May 2014 00:14:40 +0000 Steve Scher & Hannah Burn 35467 at http://kuow.org Game Of Homes: 11 People, Two Tiny Apartments What Seattleites Have To Say About Affordable Housing http://kuow.org/post/what-seattleites-have-say-about-affordable-housing <p></p><p>Affordable housing means spending 30 percent or less of household income on housing, according to the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development.</p> Thu, 29 May 2014 20:06:31 +0000 Kara McDermott & Bond Huberman 35360 at http://kuow.org What Seattleites Have To Say About Affordable Housing Game Of Homes: To Afford Seattle, Shrink Your Life http://kuow.org/post/game-homes-afford-seattle-shrink-your-life <p>As Seattle grows – it’s the fastest growing big city – more people will be looking for affordable housing within the city limits. We here at <em>The Record</em> have been documenting how people are figuring out affordable housing in our series, "Game of Homes." Wed, 28 May 2014 23:09:03 +0000 Steve Scher & Hannah Burn 35214 at http://kuow.org Game Of Homes: To Afford Seattle, Shrink Your Life 'To Have A Place Where I Can Have Food' http://kuow.org/post/have-place-where-i-can-have-food <p>The Census Bureau estimates Seattle grew faster than any other major American city last year. As more people move here, the pressure is on to find an affordable home. Tue, 27 May 2014 22:30:10 +0000 Steve Scher & Hannah Burn 35046 at http://kuow.org 'To Have A Place Where I Can Have Food' Read The Fine Print: Your Home May Have A Hidden Racist Past http://kuow.org/post/read-fine-print-your-home-may-have-hidden-racist-past <p>Ross Reynolds speaks with James Gregory, director of the <a href="http://depts.washington.edu/civilr/">Seattle Civil Rights and Labor History Project</a> at the University of Washington, about the history of racial exclusion in early 20th century housing covenants. Wed, 21 May 2014 22:37:38 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Posey Gruener 34894 at http://kuow.org City Proposes New Rules For Building New Houses On Existing Lots http://kuow.org/post/city-proposes-new-rules-building-new-houses-existing-lots <p>Steve Scher talks with Seattle homeowner Erin Miller and Seattle City Councilmember <a href="http://www.seattle.gov/council/obrien/">Mike O'Brien</a> about proposed regulations for building additional new homes on small existing lots. Mon, 19 May 2014 22:27:11 +0000 Steve Scher & Andy Hurst 34767 at http://kuow.org City Proposes New Rules For Building New Houses On Existing Lots Northwest Mirrors National Shift Away From Single-Family Homes http://kuow.org/post/northwest-mirrors-national-shift-away-single-family-homes <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/05/051614CL_housing_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>New housing starts are a key economic indicator. But not all new houses are created the same.<p> Mon, 19 May 2014 15:17:57 +0000 Chris Lehman 34718 at http://kuow.org Northwest Mirrors National Shift Away From Single-Family Homes Using Seattle's Comprehensive Plan To Find Housing For The Homeless http://kuow.org/post/using-seattles-comprehensive-plan-find-housing-homeless <p>Ross Reynolds speaks with Sharon Lee, executive director of the Low Income Housing Institute, at Ernestine Anderson Place, an apartment house for homeless people in Seattle's Central District. Mon, 12 May 2014 22:27:01 +0000 Ross Reynolds 33894 at http://kuow.org Using Seattle's Comprehensive Plan To Find Housing For The Homeless