police reform http://kuow.org en Former Cop On SPD Reform: 'A Huge Insult To The Officers' http://kuow.org/post/former-cop-spd-reform-huge-insult-officers <p>Marcie Sillman talks with retired Seattle police officer <a href="http://www.stevepomper.com/">Steve Pomper </a>about why he thinks the federally mandated reforms to the Seattle Police Department are <a href="http://crosscut.com/2014/04/14/op-ed/119561/police-justice-department-murray-steve-pomper/?page=single">unnecessary</a>. Tue, 15 Apr 2014 22:06:11 +0000 Marcie Sillman & Andy Hurst 32595 at http://kuow.org Former Cop On SPD Reform: 'A Huge Insult To The Officers' Feds 'Deeply Disappointed' With SPD's Reform Efforts http://kuow.org/post/feds-deeply-disappointed-spds-reform-efforts <p></p><p>Steve Scher talks with Seattle Times reporter Steve Miletich about the Seattle Police Department's <a href="http://seattletimes.com/html/localnews/2023278747_federalletterxml.html">reform efforts</a> to address issues of biased policing and excessive use of force. Thu, 03 Apr 2014 22:11:26 +0000 Steve Scher & Andy Hurst 31862 at http://kuow.org Feds 'Deeply Disappointed' With SPD's Reform Efforts Assistant Police Chief Jim Pugel Retires; What's Next For SPD? http://kuow.org/post/assistant-police-chief-jim-pugel-retires-whats-next-spd <p>Steve Scher talks with Lisa Daugaard, policy director of the Public Defender Association, about the Assistant Police Chief Jim Pugel's decision to retire.</p><p>Then,&nbsp;Q13 Fox political analyst C.R. Douglas examines what Pugel's retirement means for the Seattle Mayor Ed Murray's administration and overall police reform in Seattle. Mon, 31 Mar 2014 22:31:27 +0000 Steve Scher & David Hyde 31623 at http://kuow.org Assistant Police Chief Jim Pugel Retires; What's Next For SPD? Mayor Murray Talks Police Reform, Cracking Viaduct And Minimum Wage http://kuow.org/post/mayor-murray-talks-police-reform-cracking-viaduct-and-minimum-wage <p>Marcie Sillman talks with Seattle Mayor Ed Murray about restoring the Seattle Police Department's reputation, new cracks in the Alaskan Way Viaduct and the latest progress on the minimum wage debate. Tue, 11 Mar 2014 22:11:20 +0000 Marcie Sillman & Hannah Burn 30286 at http://kuow.org Mayor Murray Talks Police Reform, Cracking Viaduct And Minimum Wage Seattle Officials Probe 'Twilight Zone' Of Police Discipline Reversals http://kuow.org/post/seattle-officials-probe-twilight-zone-police-discipline-reversals <p>Seattle officials plan to seek changes to the obscure union appeals process that has allowed reversals of police misconduct findings. Fri, 07 Mar 2014 16:06:09 +0000 Amy Radil 30019 at http://kuow.org Seattle Officials Probe 'Twilight Zone' Of Police Discipline Reversals Seattle Police Adopt New Crisis Intervention Policy http://kuow.org/post/seattle-police-adopt-new-crisis-intervention-policy <p>A new policy for the Seattle Police Department aims to change how officers handle crisis situations with people who are mentally ill or under the influence. The crisis intervention policy, which takes effect Monday, is part of the city’s federally-mandated police reforms. Mon, 03 Mar 2014 22:25:04 +0000 Liz Jones 29786 at http://kuow.org Seattle Police Adopt New Crisis Intervention Policy SPD's New Approach For Treating People With Mental Illnessnes And Drug Addiction http://kuow.org/post/spds-new-approach-treating-people-mental-illnessnes-and-drug-addiction <p>Marcie Sillman talks with Bill Hobson, executive director of the <a href="http://www.desc.org/index.html">Downtown Emergency Service Center</a>, about the Seattle Police Department's new policy for dealing with people who have mental illnesses or drug and alcohol issues. Hobson is also a member of Seattle's <a href="https://www.seattle.gov/policecommission/">Community Police Commission</a>. Thu, 13 Feb 2014 22:35:33 +0000 Marcie Sillman & Andy Hurst 28747 at http://kuow.org SPD's New Approach For Treating People With Mental Illnessnes And Drug Addiction Legal Group Condemns Seattle Police Interim Chief For ‘Prejudging’ Shooting Investigation http://kuow.org/post/legal-group-condemns-seattle-police-interim-chief-prejudging-shooting-investigation <p>A legal organization in Seattle said that interim chief of the Seattle Police Department Harry Bailey’s comments about a recent officer-involved shooting will make it harder for investigators to do their jobs and undermine the troubled department's commitment to reform. Mon, 10 Feb 2014 15:35:03 +0000 Amy Radil 28430 at http://kuow.org Legal Group Condemns Seattle Police Interim Chief For ‘Prejudging’ Shooting Investigation Seattle Police Reforms Shift To Officer Training http://kuow.org/post/seattle-police-reforms-shift-officer-training <p>Seattle’s ongoing effort to reform the police department seems to be shifting to a new phase, from policy to implementation. Seattle Mayor Ed Murray says 2014 will be “the year of training” for Seattle cops. Wed, 05 Feb 2014 17:22:34 +0000 Liz Jones 28226 at http://kuow.org Seattle Police Reforms Shift To Officer Training Changes To The Upper Brass At Seattle Police Department http://kuow.org/post/changes-upper-brass-seattle-police-department <p>Steve Scher talks with Seattle Times reporter Steve Miletich about the changes at the Seattle Police Department. Wed, 29 Jan 2014 15:43:13 +0000 Steve Scher & Amina Al-Sadi 27894 at http://kuow.org Changes To The Upper Brass At Seattle Police Department Federal Monitor's Draft Report Critical Of SPD Reform Efforts http://kuow.org/post/federal-monitors-draft-report-critical-spd-reform-efforts <p>Steve Scher talks with Seattle Times reporter <a href="http://seattletimes.com/html/localnews/2022270013_monitordraftxml.html">Steve Miletich</a> about federal monitor Merrick Bobb's <a href="https://www.documentcloud.org/documents/835747-merrick-bobb-report.html">draft report</a> on reform efforts at the <a href="http://www.seattle.gov/spd/">Seattle Police Department</a>. Mon, 18 Nov 2013 21:45:24 +0000 Steve Scher & Andy Hurst 24050 at http://kuow.org Federal Monitor's Draft Report Critical Of SPD Reform Efforts New Civilian Director Seeks to Restore Seattle Police’s Reputation http://kuow.org/post/new-civilian-director-seeks-restore-seattle-police-s-reputation <p>Pierce Murphy is the new civilian director for Seattle Police Department's Office of Professional Accountability. Both SPD and OPA&nbsp;have been under tight scrutiny since a Department of Justice's 2011 <a href="http://kuow.org/post/faith-seattle-police-shaken-doj-investigation">investigation </a>found evidence of biased policing and unlawful use of force. Murphy says his first task is restoring credibility for the OPA. Marcie Sillman talks with Murphy. Mon, 21 Oct 2013 17:04:50 +0000 Marcie Sillman 22384 at http://kuow.org New Civilian Director Seeks to Restore Seattle Police’s Reputation Excessive Force Suit Filed Against Seattle Police Department And Officer http://kuow.org/post/excessive-force-suit-filed-against-seattle-police-department-and-officer <p>Attorneys for a man convicted of stealing a car in South Seattle two years ago have filed suit against the Seattle Police Department and one of its officers.</p><p> Fri, 09 Aug 2013 00:09:55 +0000 Patricia Murphy 18263 at http://kuow.org Excessive Force Suit Filed Against Seattle Police Department And Officer King County Sheriff's Civilian Overseer "Disinvited" To Meetings http://kuow.org/post/king-county-sheriffs-civilian-overseer-disinvited-meetings <p>The King County Sheriff’s Office directly serves over half a million people in King County. Like the Seattle Police Department, the Sheriff’s Office is reforming the way it handles the use of force. The changes come in the wake of a shooting last year.</p><p>Dustin Theoharis was shot 16 times by a King County deputy and a Department of Corrections officer in Auburn in February 2012. He survived the shooting and reached a settlement for $3 million with King County. Mon, 22 Jul 2013 15:42:37 +0000 Amy Radil 17074 at http://kuow.org King County Sheriff's Civilian Overseer "Disinvited" To Meetings Long-Time Seattle Community Leader Kip Tokuda Dies http://kuow.org/post/long-time-seattle-community-leader-kip-tokuda-dies <p>A prominent leader in Seattle's Asian-American community has died.</p><p>Kip Tokuda passed away suddenly, according to a statement from his family. He was 66 years old.</p><p> Tue, 16 Jul 2013 01:07:15 +0000 Deborah Wang 16758 at http://kuow.org Long-Time Seattle Community Leader Kip Tokuda Dies