police reform http://kuow.org en How Police Reform Is Taking Shape In Portland http://kuow.org/post/how-police-reform-taking-shape-portland <p>Marcie Sillman talks with Portland Mercury news editor <a href="http://www.portlandmercury.com/portland/articlearchives?author=2749133">Denis Theriault</a> about police reform at the Portland Police Department. Tue, 03 Jun 2014 21:51:08 +0000 Marcie Sillman & Andy Hurst 35700 at http://kuow.org How Police Reform Is Taking Shape In Portland Seattle Police File A Lawsuit, City Council Agrees On $15, And Ramtha The Racist http://kuow.org/post/seattle-police-file-lawsuit-city-council-agrees-15-and-ramtha-racist <p>Over a hundred members of the Seattle Police Department have filed a lawsuit against the federally-mandated reforms SPD has adopted. The Seattle City Council has come to an agreement on the minimum wage proposal.</p><p>Steve Scher recaps those stories and more news of the week with Crosscut's Knute Berger, The Stranger's Eli Sanders, news analyst Joni Balter and LiveWire host Luke Burbank. Fri, 30 May 2014 21:30:04 +0000 Steve Scher & Amina Al-Sadi 35523 at http://kuow.org Seattle Police File A Lawsuit, City Council Agrees On $15, And Ramtha The Racist Are Police Departments Still Boys Clubs? http://kuow.org/post/are-police-departments-still-boys-clubs <p>Ross Reynolds talks to Sue Rahr about the issues women face as leaders of police departments. Rahr was the first woman to become elected as sheriff of King County in 2005 and served in that role until 2012.</p><p>On Monday Kathleen O'Toole was picked to be the the first female chief of the Seattle Police Department. Tue, 20 May 2014 22:36:43 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Cameron Drews 34922 at http://kuow.org Are Police Departments Still Boys Clubs? Chief Nominee O'Toole: 'I Don't Want To Just Tick Boxes' http://kuow.org/post/chief-nominee-otoole-i-dont-want-just-tick-boxes <p>Ross Reynolds talks with Seattle police chief nominee Kathleen O' Toole about her top priorities for leading the <a href="http://www.seattle.gov/police/">Seattle Police Department</a>. Tue, 20 May 2014 21:48:30 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Andy Hurst 34824 at http://kuow.org Chief Nominee O'Toole: 'I Don't Want To Just Tick Boxes' SPD Chief Candidate Has A Long Resume Of Police Reform http://kuow.org/post/spd-chief-candidate-has-long-resume-police-reform <p></p><p>Ross Reynolds talks to Seattle Police Chief candidate Kathleen O'Toole about low-level crime enforcement and her experience working with the Justice Department. O'Toole is one of the three candidates for Seattle Police Chief. Mayor Ed Murray will announce his final decision on Monday. Thu, 15 May 2014 22:06:45 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Cameron Drews 34533 at http://kuow.org SPD Chief Candidate Has A Long Resume Of Police Reform Chief Candidate Calls Seattle Police's Lack Of Technology 'Shocking' http://kuow.org/post/chief-candidate-calls-seattle-polices-lack-technology-shocking <p>Ross Reynolds talks to Mesa, Arizona police chief Frank Milstead about the challenges he would face if he's chosen to be the next Seattle police chief. Milstead is one of three candidates vying for the position. Seattle Mayor Ed Murray will announce his decision on Monday. Wed, 14 May 2014 21:59:58 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Cameron Drews 34448 at http://kuow.org Chief Candidate Calls Seattle Police's Lack Of Technology 'Shocking' Candidate For SPD Chief Was A Reformer In Eugene, Ore. http://kuow.org/post/candidate-spd-chief-was-reformer-eugene-ore <p>Ross Reynolds talks to Robert Lehner, the police chief in Elk Grove, California. Lehner is one of the three remaining candidates vying for the position of Seattle police chief. Tue, 13 May 2014 21:33:28 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Cameron Drews 34388 at http://kuow.org Seattle Police Chief Candidate Had Brief, Turbulent Career In Boston http://kuow.org/post/seattle-police-chief-candidate-had-brief-turbulent-career-boston <p>Marcie Sillman talks with USA Today reporter <a href="http://www.usatoday.com/staff/3975/donovan-slack/">Donovan Slack</a> about former Boston Police Commissioner Kathleen O' Toole, who is a finalist to become Seattle's next police chief. Slack covered police and city hall at the Boston Globe from 2003 to 2011. Tue, 06 May 2014 22:15:02 +0000 Marcie Sillman & Andy Hurst 33969 at http://kuow.org Seattle Police Chief Candidate Had Brief, Turbulent Career In Boston The Three Finalists For Seattle Police Chief http://kuow.org/post/three-finalists-seattle-police-chief <p>Three candidates remain in the running to become Seattleā€™s next police chief.</p><p>Search committee co-chair Ron Sims says the short list became shorter by one candidate after the committee gave the four original&nbsp;finalists a written exam, conducted reference and background checks, and did intensive site visits. Sat, 03 May 2014 00:15:46 +0000 Ann Dornfeld 33800 at http://kuow.org Why More Police Departments Are Under Scrutiny Today http://kuow.org/post/why-more-police-departments-are-under-scrutiny-today <p></p><p>Ross Reynolds talks with police accountability expert, Samuel Walker, about the increased policing of the police. Walker is also the co-author of "The New World of Police Accountability." Wed, 23 Apr 2014 22:20:26 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Hannah Burn 33149 at http://kuow.org Why More Police Departments Are Under Scrutiny Today Community Police Commission Weighs In On Discipline http://kuow.org/post/community-police-commission-weighs-discipline <p>Marcie Sillman talks with Lisa Daugaard, co-chair of the <a href="https://www.seattle.gov/community-police-commission">Community Police Commission</a>, about the discipline system for Seattle police officers. Tue, 22 Apr 2014 21:55:25 +0000 Marcie Sillman & Andy Hurst 33053 at http://kuow.org Community Police Commission Weighs In On Discipline Former Cop On SPD Reform: 'A Huge Insult To The Officers' http://kuow.org/post/former-cop-spd-reform-huge-insult-officers <p>Marcie Sillman talks with retired Seattle police officer <a href="http://www.stevepomper.com/">Steve Pomper </a>about why he thinks the federally mandated reforms to the Seattle Police Department are <a href="http://crosscut.com/2014/04/14/op-ed/119561/police-justice-department-murray-steve-pomper/?page=single">unnecessary</a>. Tue, 15 Apr 2014 22:06:11 +0000 Marcie Sillman & Andy Hurst 32595 at http://kuow.org Former Cop On SPD Reform: 'A Huge Insult To The Officers' Feds 'Deeply Disappointed' With SPD's Reform Efforts http://kuow.org/post/feds-deeply-disappointed-spds-reform-efforts <p></p><p>Steve Scher talks with Seattle Times reporter Steve Miletich about the Seattle Police Department's <a href="http://seattletimes.com/html/localnews/2023278747_federalletterxml.html">reform efforts</a> to address issues of biased policing and excessive use of force. Thu, 03 Apr 2014 22:11:26 +0000 Steve Scher & Andy Hurst 31862 at http://kuow.org Feds 'Deeply Disappointed' With SPD's Reform Efforts Assistant Police Chief Jim Pugel Retires; What's Next For SPD? http://kuow.org/post/assistant-police-chief-jim-pugel-retires-whats-next-spd <p>Steve Scher talks with Lisa Daugaard, policy director of the Public Defender Association, about the Assistant Police Chief Jim Pugel's decision to retire.</p><p>Then,&nbsp;Q13 Fox political analyst C.R. Douglas examines what Pugel's retirement means for the Seattle Mayor Ed Murray's administration and overall police reform in Seattle. Mon, 31 Mar 2014 22:31:27 +0000 Steve Scher & David Hyde 31623 at http://kuow.org Assistant Police Chief Jim Pugel Retires; What's Next For SPD? Mayor Murray Talks Police Reform, Cracking Viaduct And Minimum Wage http://kuow.org/post/mayor-murray-talks-police-reform-cracking-viaduct-and-minimum-wage <p>Marcie Sillman talks with Seattle Mayor Ed Murray about restoring the Seattle Police Department's reputation, new cracks in the Alaskan Way Viaduct and the latest progress on the minimum wage debate. Tue, 11 Mar 2014 22:11:20 +0000 Marcie Sillman & Hannah Burn 30286 at http://kuow.org Mayor Murray Talks Police Reform, Cracking Viaduct And Minimum Wage