government http://kuow.org en A Look At Russian President Putin's Strategy In Ukraine http://kuow.org/post/look-russian-president-putins-strategy-ukraine <p>Steve Scher talks with Columbia University Professor <a href="http://www.cfr.org/experts/estonia-europe-russia-and-central-asia/stephen-sestanovich/b7485">Stephen Sestanovich</a> about today's meeting between U.S., Ukrainian, EU and Russian officials in Geneva. Sestanovich also discusses what President Vladimir Putin's strategy might be in his involvement in Ukraine. Thu, 17 Apr 2014 22:55:08 +0000 Steve Scher & Amina Al-Sadi 32774 at http://kuow.org A Look At Russian President Putin's Strategy In Ukraine Why The Black Market For Marijuana May Not Go Away http://kuow.org/post/why-black-market-marijuana-may-not-go-away <p>Ross Reynolds talks with Dominic Corva, executive director of <a href="http://cannabisandsocialpolicy.org/">the Center for the Study of Cannabis and Social Policy</a>, about the implications for pot bans and moratoriums in Washington state. Thu, 17 Apr 2014 22:07:04 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Andy Hurst 32742 at http://kuow.org Why The Black Market For Marijuana May Not Go Away The Challenges Of Medicaid Expansion http://kuow.org/post/challenges-medicaid-expansion <p></p><p>Steve Scher&nbsp;talks with Washington state Medicaid Director<a href="http://www.nashp.org/spotlight/maryanne-lindeblad" target="_blank"> MaryAnne Lindeblad</a> about how the state plans to accommodate more than 250,000 newly enrolled residents who <a href="http://www.wahbexchange.org/news-resources/press-room/press-releases/april-1-enrollment-report">qualified for Medicaid expansion</a> under the Affordable Care Act. Thu, 17 Apr 2014 22:06:31 +0000 Steve Scher & Christine Streich 32749 at http://kuow.org The Challenges Of Medicaid Expansion How To Grow An Urban Village In Ballard http://kuow.org/post/how-grow-urban-village-ballard <p></p><p>Seattle is expecting 120,000 new residents over the next 20 years. To guide its growth, the city is currently drawing up a new comprehensive plan called, <a href="http://2035.seattle.gov/">Seattle 2035</a>.</p><p>City officials are seeking public input on the three options on the table: urban centers, urban villages and transit. Thu, 17 Apr 2014 21:50:02 +0000 Ross Reynolds 32764 at http://kuow.org How To Grow An Urban Village In Ballard King County Prop 1 Vote Expected To Be 'Surprisingly Close' http://kuow.org/post/king-county-prop-1-vote-expected-be-surprisingly-close <p>Even before the Washington State Legislature failed to pass a transportation funding package this session, <a href="http://kuow.org/post/king-county-executive-constantines-plan-b-metro">King County Executive Dow Constantine announced the county would not wait for the state</a>.</p><p>Constantine said King County would go it alone and ask its voters to pay more money for King County Metro Transit and for road projects. Thu, 17 Apr 2014 18:39:45 +0000 Bill Radke 32740 at http://kuow.org King County Prop 1 Vote Expected To Be 'Surprisingly Close' Ukrainians In Seattle React To Crisis Back Home http://kuow.org/post/ukrainians-seattle-react-crisis-back-home <p></p><p></p><p></p><p>When there’s daylight in Seattle, it’s usually night time in Ukraine. But that time difference doesn't matter to many Ukrainians here, who are anxious for news of the crisis unfolding in their motherland.</p><p>“We have 32 channels from Ukraine so we can watch every day,” said Peter Drogomiretskiy during a recent interview at his home in Brier, Wash. He sometimes watches Ukrainian news coverage with his wife, Valha Drogomiretskiy, until 3 a.m. and only sleeps a few hours before work.</p> Thu, 17 Apr 2014 14:43:33 +0000 Liz Jones 32700 at http://kuow.org Ukrainians In Seattle React To Crisis Back Home Ukraine Crisis: Russia Endorses Call For Protesters To Disarm http://kuow.org/post/ukraine-crisis-diplomats-meet-putin-admits-russias-role-crimea <h6>This post was updated with a new top at 4:10 p.m. ET.</h6><p>Diplomats from the U.S., Ukraine, Russia and the European Union emerged Thursday from a meeting that wasn't expected to accomplish much saying they had made progress toward resolving the crisis in Ukraine.<p>"We worked hard and we worked in good faith in order to narrow our real differences," Secretary of State John Kerry said following the meeting in Geneva. Thu, 17 Apr 2014 13:11:00 +0000 Mark Memmott 32720 at http://kuow.org Ukraine Crisis: Russia Endorses Call For Protesters To Disarm Pipeline Politics, Worker Safety, And Equal Rights Lawsuit http://kuow.org/post/pipeline-politics-worker-safety-and-equal-rights-lawsuit <p></p><p>Marcie Sillman talks with Les Leyne of the Victoria Times Colonist about the town of Kitimat speaking up against the proposed Northern Gateway Pipeline and restoring public trust in workplace safety.</p><p>Leyne also talks about a lawsuit filed in the British Columbia Supreme Court on equal rights against religious freedom at a private evangelical university.</p><p> Wed, 16 Apr 2014 23:13:18 +0000 Marcie Sillman 32699 at http://kuow.org Pipeline Politics, Worker Safety, And Equal Rights Lawsuit Washington State Jobs Picture Shows Slow Growth http://kuow.org/post/washington-state-jobs-picture-shows-slow-growth <p></p><p>The latest figures show the unemployment rate in Washington state is holding steady at 6.3 percent. The Employment Security Department said the <a href="http://www.esd.wa.gov/newsandinformation/releases/14-022.php">state added an estimated 6,700 jobs in March</a>.&nbsp;The biggest job gains last month were seen in professional and business services. Wed, 16 Apr 2014 22:52:41 +0000 Patricia Murphy 32691 at http://kuow.org Washington State Jobs Picture Shows Slow Growth Two Perspectives On The Gun Safety Debate http://kuow.org/post/two-perspectives-gun-safety-debate <p></p><p>David Hyde speaks with Christian Sinderman of Washington state's&nbsp;initiative to implement background checks for gun sales. Dan Baum, author of "Gun Guys: A Road Trip," also talks about strategies for better gun safety. Wed, 16 Apr 2014 22:20:35 +0000 David Hyde & Hannah Burn 32669 at http://kuow.org Two Perspectives On The Gun Safety Debate Former Bonney Lake Man To Receive Medal Of Honor http://kuow.org/post/former-bonney-lake-man-receive-medal-honor <p></p><p>The White House announced President Barack Obama will award the Medal of Honor to a former Bonney Lake man on May 13, 2014.</p><p>The Medal of Honor is awarded to service members who distinguish themselves by gallantry above and beyond the call of duty. Wed, 16 Apr 2014 20:22:23 +0000 Patricia Murphy 32657 at http://kuow.org Former Bonney Lake Man To Receive Medal Of Honor Tacoma Teacher Wins Milken Educator Award http://kuow.org/post/tacoma-teacher-wins-milken-educator-award <p></p><p>A high school social studies teacher in Tacoma was caught off guard when he received a national award for his exceptional work in the classroom. Wed, 16 Apr 2014 20:19:33 +0000 Lisa Brooks 32672 at http://kuow.org Tacoma Teacher Wins Milken Educator Award DNR Head Defends Taking Timber Money Despite Vow http://kuow.org/post/dnr-head-defends-taking-timber-money-despite-vow <p>It's not unusual for elected officials to cozy up to people with money. Yet Washington Lands Commissioner Peter Goldmark's relationship with the timber industry he regulates has changed dramatically since the two-term Democrat first ran for the office six years ago. Wed, 16 Apr 2014 16:03:30 +0000 John Ryan 32625 at http://kuow.org DNR Head Defends Taking Timber Money Despite Vow Flags Lowered Across Washington To Honor Landslide Victims http://kuow.org/post/flags-lowered-across-washington-honor-landslide-victims <p>Flags are flying at half mast across Washington state this afternoon to honor victims of last month's deadly landslide. Wed, 16 Apr 2014 15:05:30 +0000 Tom Banse 32647 at http://kuow.org Flags Lowered Across Washington To Honor Landslide Victims In Ukraine: Reports Of Soldiers Switching To Pro-Russia Side http://kuow.org/post/ukraine-reports-soldiers-switching-pro-russia-side Confusion continues to reign in eastern Ukraine, where pro-Russia gunmen remain in control of many government offices even as the Ukrainian military sends in troops, tanks and armed aircraft in an attempt to dislodge them.<p>According to NPR's Ari Shapiro, who is in eastern Ukraine, locals who are pushing to separate from the central government and join the Russian Federation claim that at least some Ukrainian troops are refusing to move against them.<p>In the city of Slovyansk, <a href="http://www.npr.org/2014/04/16/303640418/the-latest-from-eastern-ukraine" target="_blank">Ari reported on<em Wed, 16 Apr 2014 11:02:00 +0000 Mark Memmott 32639 at http://kuow.org In Ukraine: Reports Of Soldiers Switching To Pro-Russia Side