government http://kuow.org en Penalties On Idaho Mine Still Unpaid Three Years After Miner's Death http://kuow.org/post/penalties-idaho-mine-still-unpaid-three-years-after-miners-death <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/07/0702814JR_UnpaidFines_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>It's been over three years since a tunnel collapse at a north Idaho silver mine killed miner Larry Marek. Yet federal records show a series of federal penalties issued to the mine's owners still have not been paid.<p> Tue, 29 Jul 2014 14:11:30 +0000 Jessica Robinson 39129 at http://kuow.org Penalties On Idaho Mine Still Unpaid Three Years After Miner's Death Ghost Cats And Musket Balls: Stories Told By Capitol Interns http://kuow.org/post/ghost-cats-and-musket-balls-stories-told-capitol-interns Every summer thousands of interns flood the offices of Capitol Hill. One of their primary duties is to give constituents tours of the famous buildings. They parade visitors from the rotunda to statuary hall, offering stories and anecdotes.<p>But while these intern tours provide a great deal of information, they are sometimes a little short on actual history.<p>On any given day in the Capitol, thousands of visitors listen to Senate and House interns. They point to the paintings and murals, the statues and architecture and talk about U.S. history. Tue, 29 Jul 2014 08:56:00 +0000 Laura Sullivan 39112 at http://kuow.org Ghost Cats And Musket Balls: Stories Told By Capitol Interns Friend, Deputy Remember Former Mayor Paul Schell http://kuow.org/post/friend-deputy-remember-former-mayor-paul-schell <p>Ross Reynolds talks with Seattle Chamber of Commerce Acting CEO&nbsp;<a href="http://www.seattlechamber.com/news/pressroom/presskit/mauddaudon.aspx">Maud Daudon</a>&nbsp;about former Seattle Mayor Paul Schell. Daudon&nbsp;served as <span style="line-height: 1.5;">deputy mayor and chief of staff under Schell from 1998 to 2001.</span> In addition, Ross discusses Schell’s legacy with David Brewster, founder of the Seattle Weekly, who was a personal friend. Schell died Sunday at the age of 76. Mon, 28 Jul 2014 21:38:28 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Andy Hurst & Matthew Streib 39086 at http://kuow.org Northwest Meth Houses To Get Scrubbed Under EPA Program http://kuow.org/post/northwest-meth-houses-get-scrubbed-under-epa-program <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/07/meth.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>Federal dollars meant to restore toxic areas like old factories, mines and gas stations are now going to clean up after another long-time industry: methamphetamine.<p> Mon, 28 Jul 2014 14:40:27 +0000 Jessica Robinson 39062 at http://kuow.org Northwest Meth Houses To Get Scrubbed Under EPA Program USGS Tries Listening To Human Racket To Understand Seismic Hazards http://kuow.org/post/usgs-tries-listening-human-racket-understand-seismic-hazards <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/07/usgs.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>Research geologists have just finished a field trial to test a less invasive way to complete seismic hazard surveys.<p> Mon, 28 Jul 2014 14:40:23 +0000 Tom Banse 39061 at http://kuow.org USGS Tries Listening To Human Racket To Understand Seismic Hazards Paul Schell, Innkeeper And Former Seattle Mayor, Dies At 76 http://kuow.org/post/paul-schell-innkeeper-and-former-seattle-mayor-dies-76 <p>He is the reason fish fly at the Pike Place Market, or so the story goes.</p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">On Sunday, Paul Schell, a former Seattle mayor and champion of urban neighborhoods, died. He was 76.</span></p><p>A spokeswoman for Mayor Ed Murray confirmed that Schell died at Swedish Hospital.</p><p> Sun, 27 Jul 2014 19:16:34 +0000 Isolde Raftery & Lisa Brooks 39033 at http://kuow.org Paul Schell, Innkeeper And Former Seattle Mayor, Dies At 76 Tracking Sex Offenders In 'A World Of Lies And Deceit' http://kuow.org/post/tracking-sex-offenders-world-lies-and-deceit <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">A Level 3 sex offender charged with kidnapping a child returns to court this week.&nbsp;</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Prosecutors say Jesse </span>Brisbin<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> snatched a 6-year-old girl from a park in Beacon Hill and assaulted her.</span></p><p>Brisbin, who has pleaded not guilty, has been supervised by the Department of Corrections since 2011. His arrest highlights how difficult it can be to manage the state's <span style="line-height: 1.5;">highest risk sex offenders who have been released from prison.</span> Sat, 26 Jul 2014 01:21:52 +0000 Patricia Murphy 38978 at http://kuow.org Tracking Sex Offenders In 'A World Of Lies And Deceit' Independent Commission To Probe Oso Landslide http://kuow.org/post/independent-commission-probe-oso-landslide <p>An independent commission will delve into the deadliest landslide in Washington history. The commission will seek statewide lessons from the Oso landslide, land use in the Oso area before the slide, and the emergency response in the days and weeks afterward.</p><p> Sat, 26 Jul 2014 00:21:46 +0000 John Ryan 38985 at http://kuow.org Independent Commission To Probe Oso Landslide Marijuana Activists Cheer Federal Crackdown On Hash Oil Manufacturer http://kuow.org/post/marijuana-activists-cheer-federal-crackdown-hash-oil-manufacturer <p>Two men who produced marijuana candy appeared in federal court Friday for a detention hearing . They’re accused of endangering others while manufacturing marijuana extracts.</p><p> Sat, 26 Jul 2014 00:05:22 +0000 Amy Radil 38983 at http://kuow.org Feds Offer Wildfire Assistance, But So Far No Payments To Homeowners http://kuow.org/post/feds-offer-wildfire-assistance-so-far-no-payments-homeowners <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/07/072414CL_wildfireassistance_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Federal funds are being used to help fight the wildfires that have raged across the Northwest this summer. But so far, the Federal Emergency Management Agency isn't handing out money directly to owners of the nearly 200 homes lost in the blazes.</span><p> Fri, 25 Jul 2014 14:27:20 +0000 Chris Lehman 38935 at http://kuow.org Feds Offer Wildfire Assistance, But So Far No Payments To Homeowners Oregon To Vote On Legalizing Marijuana, Again http://kuow.org/post/oregon-vote-legalizing-marijuana-again <p>Ross Reynolds talks with Anthony Johnson, director of New Approach Oregon, which recently submitted enough signatures for a referendum on recreational marijuana legalization to appear on the November ballot. Thu, 24 Jul 2014 22:13:24 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Matthew Streib 38910 at http://kuow.org Are Seattle Police Targeting Black Pot Smokers? http://kuow.org/post/are-seattle-police-targeting-black-pot-smokers <p>Ross Reynolds talks with Seattle City Attorney Pete Holmes about whether a disproportionate amount of black people are issued tickets for public pot use. Holmes says he's working on a plan to provide public spaces that are safe to smoke marijuana.</p><p> Thu, 24 Jul 2014 21:47:43 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Shane Mehling 38887 at http://kuow.org Are Seattle Police Targeting Black Pot Smokers? Why The City Of Arlington Outlawed Panhandling http://kuow.org/post/why-city-arlington-outlawed-panhandling <p>Ross Reynolds talks with Bruce Stedman, Arlington's acting police chief, and Doug Honig, ACLU of Washington's communications director, about the city's strict new approach to panhandling. Thu, 24 Jul 2014 21:43:56 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Andy Hurst 38877 at http://kuow.org Why The City Of Arlington Outlawed Panhandling Oregonians Will Vote On GMO Labeling Initiative http://kuow.org/post/oregonians-will-vote-gmo-labeling-initiative <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/07/072314CL_kaushik_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>An initiative that will give Oregonians the chance to vote on whether food companies should label products that contain genetically engineered ingredients <a href="http://egov.sos.state.or.us/elec/web_irr_search.record_detail?p_reference=20140044..ASCYYY">qualified for the November ballot</a> Wednesday.<p> Thu, 24 Jul 2014 15:50:38 +0000 Chris Lehman 38865 at http://kuow.org Oregonians Will Vote On GMO Labeling Initiative Middle Income Group Overlooked In Seattle Affordable Housing Struggle http://kuow.org/post/middle-income-group-overlooked-seattle-affordable-housing-struggle <p>Seattle City Councilmember Mike O’Brien is looking for affordable housing solutions – for a population that may be overlooked.</p><p>Speaking with KUOW’s Ross Reynolds, O’Brien said that systems are in place for those making around 30 percent of the area median wage, but not for those between 60 to 100 percent of the median (for a single person that’s between $37,000 and $50,000 a year). Wed, 23 Jul 2014 21:47:59 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Andy Hurst 38804 at http://kuow.org Middle Income Group Overlooked In Seattle Affordable Housing Struggle