Bertha http://kuow.org en Seattle Tunnel Partner Wins $80 Million Dispute Over Boston’s Big Dig http://kuow.org/post/seattle-tunnel-partner-wins-80-million-dispute-over-boston-s-big-dig <p>One of the two companies attempting to dig a highway tunnel beneath the Seattle waterfront has won an $80 million dispute with the Massachusetts Department of Transportation. Mon, 21 Jul 2014 16:58:20 +0000 John Ryan 38632 at http://kuow.org Seattle Tunnel Partner Wins $80 Million Dispute Over Boston’s Big Dig Officials: Bertha, World's Largest Tunnel Machine, Will Be More Robust http://kuow.org/post/officials-bertha-worlds-largest-tunnel-machine-will-be-more-robust <p></p><p></p><p>The builders of the tunnel machine stuck beneath the Seattle waterfront don’t just plan to repair the world’s largest tunnel machine. Tue, 17 Jun 2014 19:00:41 +0000 John Ryan 36553 at http://kuow.org Officials: Bertha, World's Largest Tunnel Machine, Will Be More Robust How Bertha Compares To Other Mega Projects http://kuow.org/post/how-bertha-compares-other-mega-projects <p>Marcie Sillman talks to professor Wendy Haynes of Bridgewater State University about the problems associated with billion-dollar mega-projects. Fri, 02 May 2014 22:39:46 +0000 Marcie Sillman & Cameron Drews 33797 at http://kuow.org How Bertha Compares To Other Mega Projects Bertha Costs: Who Will Pick Up The Tab? http://kuow.org/post/bertha-costs-who-will-pick-tab <p>Marcie Sillman talks with Lynn Peterson, Washington state transportation secretary, about the estimated $125 million in extra costs for Bertha's tunneling delay. Tue, 29 Apr 2014 22:17:45 +0000 Marcie Sillman & Hannah Burn 33530 at http://kuow.org Bertha Costs: Who Will Pick Up The Tab? Tunnel Machine Set To Dig Under Seattle, But It's Not Bertha http://kuow.org/post/tunnel-machine-set-dig-under-seattle-its-not-bertha <p></p><p>A tunnel machine is set to resume digging beneath the streets of Seattle in mid-June.</p><p>No, it's not Bertha. It's Brenda.</p><p> Tue, 29 Apr 2014 02:48:19 +0000 John Ryan 33493 at http://kuow.org Tunnel Machine Set To Dig Under Seattle, But It's Not Bertha Highway 99 Tunnel Builder Asks For An Additional $190 Million http://kuow.org/post/highway-99-tunnel-builder-asks-additional-190-million <p>David Hyde speaks with former transportation secretary Doug MacDonald about the recent budget issues with Seattle’s tunnel project. Mon, 28 Apr 2014 21:14:44 +0000 David Hyde & Cameron Drews 33560 at http://kuow.org Highway 99 Tunnel Builder Asks For An Additional $190 Million No More Tunneling By Bertha Until March 2015 http://kuow.org/post/no-more-tunneling-bertha-until-march-2015 <p>State transportation officials say the tunnel machine now stuck beneath the downtown Seattle waterfront won't resume tunneling for another 10 months. Digging is now forecast to resume in March 2015.</p><p> Tue, 22 Apr 2014 19:05:39 +0000 John Ryan 32984 at http://kuow.org No More Tunneling By Bertha Until March 2015 Bertha's Progress http://kuow.org/post/berthas-progress <p>Bertha, the world's biggest tunneling machine, is a five-story-tall monstrosity of drilling tasked with digging out the tunnel for State Route 99 to replace the Alaskan Way Viaduct. Fri, 21 Mar 2014 20:58:00 +0000 Kara McDermott 31053 at http://kuow.org Bertha's Progress Archaeological Digging Starts On Seattle's Stalled Tunnel Project http://kuow.org/post/archaeological-digging-starts-seattles-stalled-tunnel-project <p>The past could present yet another obstacle to the future of the state Route 99&nbsp;megaproject on the Seattle waterfront.</p><p>Archaeologists with the tunnel project started digging a series of 60 small holes Thursday to see if any signs of historic or prehistoric human activity are in the area. Fri, 14 Mar 2014 15:23:56 +0000 John Ryan 30507 at http://kuow.org Archaeological Digging Starts On Seattle's Stalled Tunnel Project Bertha's Very Bad Week, A Timeline http://kuow.org/post/berthas-very-bad-week-timeline <p>It’s been hard to get straight answers about what forced Bertha, the world's largest tunnel machine, to halt. It began boring July 30, 2013, and when Bertha broke down in December, it was ahead of schedule. Since then, the machine has been mostly idle beneath the Seattle waterfront. Project officials still haven't publicly identified a root cause. Tue, 11 Mar 2014 14:57:28 +0000 John Ryan 30094 at http://kuow.org Bertha's Very Bad Week, A Timeline Sand Grinds World's Largest Tunneling Machine To A Halt http://kuow.org/post/sand-grinds-worlds-largest-tunneling-machine-halt Contractors working for the state of Washington are planning a high-stakes operation to rescue Bertha — the world's largest tunneling machine.<p>Bertha is supposed to be boring a 2-mile highway tunnel under downtown Seattle, but it got stuck in December.<p>Bertha is on Seattle's waterfront, between South Main and South Jackson streets, about 60 feet straight down. At first, they thought the machine was being stymied by a big glacial rock. Then attention focused on the chewed-up remains of a metal pipe. Sat, 01 Mar 2014 10:43:00 +0000 Martin Kaste 29687 at http://kuow.org Sand Grinds World's Largest Tunneling Machine To A Halt Six Months Needed To Repair Seattle Tunnel Machine http://kuow.org/post/six-months-needed-repair-seattle-tunnel-machine <p></p><p>Seattle's tunnel builders say getting their world-record tunnel machine going again will take at least six more months.</p><p>The tunnel machine known as Bertha has sat largely motionless for nearly three months since it overheated in early December. Sat, 01 Mar 2014 02:23:07 +0000 John Ryan 29685 at http://kuow.org Six Months Needed To Repair Seattle Tunnel Machine Transportation Officials: To Fix Bertha, Cutter Head Needs To Be Removed http://kuow.org/post/transportation-officials-fix-bertha-cutter-head-needs-be-removed <p>Bertha needs a face lift.</p><p>Washington State Department of Transportation officials told the Seattle City Council Monday afternoon that the face of the state Route 99 tunnel machine has to come off in order to repair its damaged machinery. Tue, 25 Feb 2014 17:00:12 +0000 John Ryan 29387 at http://kuow.org Transportation Officials: To Fix Bertha, Cutter Head Needs To Be Removed Tunnel Tolling: Build It, And They Won't Come? http://kuow.org/post/tunnel-tolling-build-it-and-they-wont-come <p>Anyone who's hosted a party has probably had that panicky feeling beforehand: What if you throw a big party and nobody comes?</p><p>State transportation officials face a similar worry: What if after they build a $3.1 billion underground highway to replace the Alaskan Way Viaduct, not enough people use it?</p><p><strong>Build It And They Won't Come?</strong></p><p>The state Legislature has decreed that tolls have to pay for $200 million of the state Route 99 tunnel's construction cost.</p> Fri, 21 Feb 2014 17:44:48 +0000 John Ryan 29166 at http://kuow.org Tunnel Tolling: Build It, And They Won't Come? Death Penalty Debate, Bertha Costs, And No Place Like Home http://kuow.org/post/death-penalty-debate-bertha-costs-and-no-place-home <p>Governor Jay Inslee puts a halt to executions and initiates a debate about the future of capital punishment in Washington state. Meanwhile, state transportation officials continue to explore the cost overruns as repairs to Bertha are expected to take months. And the housing community reviews Seattle's affordability issue.</p><p>Steve Scher talks with Crosscut’s Knute Berger, Eli Sanders of The Stranger and news analyst Joni Balter about this week's top stories. Fri, 14 Feb 2014 22:53:36 +0000 Steve Scher & Jason Pagano 28834 at http://kuow.org Death Penalty Debate, Bertha Costs, And No Place Like Home