drugs http://kuow.org en Study Links Casual Pot Use With Brain Abnormalities http://kuow.org/post/study-links-casual-pot-use-brain-abnormalities Young adults who smoke marijuana at least once a week showed changes in the size and shape of two key brain regions, according to a new study of 20 pot smokers and 20 non-pot smokers between 18 and 25.<p>This is the first time recreational marijuana use has been connected to significant brain changes.<p>The findings, a collaboration between Northwestern University and Massachusetts General Hospital/Harvard Medical School, were published in The Journal of Neuroscience.<p>The senior author of the study, <strong>Hans Breiter</strong>, joins <em><a href="http://hereandnow.wbur.org/">Here & Now&#82 Wed, 16 Apr 2014 17:40:39 +0000 editor 32659 at http://kuow.org Study Links Casual Pot Use With Brain Abnormalities With Sobering Science, Doctor Debunks 12-Step Recovery http://kuow.org/post/sobering-science-doctor-debunks-12-step-recovery Since its founding in the 1930s, Alcoholics Anonymous has become part of the fabric of American society. AA and the many 12-step groups it inspired have become the country's go-to solution for addiction in all of its forms. These recovery programs are mandated by drug courts, prescribed by doctors and widely praised by reformed addicts.<p>Dr. Lance Dodes sees a big problem with that. The psychiatrist has spent more than 20 years studying and treating addiction. Mon, 24 Mar 2014 14:34:13 +0000 NPR Staff 31146 at http://kuow.org With Sobering Science, Doctor Debunks 12-Step Recovery Drugmakers Slash Spending On Doctors' Sales Talks http://kuow.org/post/drugmakers-slash-spending-doctors-sales-talks Some of the nation's largest pharmaceutical companies have dramatically reduced payments to health professionals for promotional speeches amid heightened public scrutiny of such spending, a ProPublica analysis shows.<p>Eli Lilly & Co.'s payments to speakers dropped by 55 percent, from $47.9 million in 2011 to $21.6 million in 2012.<p>Pfizer's speaking payments fell 62 percent over the same period, from nearly $22 million to $8.3 million.<p>And Novartis, the largest drugmaker in the U.S. Tue, 04 Mar 2014 08:52:00 +0000 editor 29793 at http://kuow.org Drugmakers Slash Spending On Doctors' Sales Talks Shilo Murphy: Drug Users Are The Best People To Run Needle Exchanges http://kuow.org/post/shilo-murphy-drug-users-are-best-people-run-needle-exchanges <p>Ross Reynolds talks with Shilo Murphy, executive director of the <a href="http://peoplesharmreductionalliance.org/">People's Harm Reduction Alliance</a>, about its user-run needle exchange programs and the stigma around drug users. Fri, 28 Feb 2014 22:47:35 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Hannah Burn 29652 at http://kuow.org Shilo Murphy: Drug Users Are The Best People To Run Needle Exchanges How Needle Exchange Programs Work http://kuow.org/post/how-needle-exchange-programs-work <p>Steve Scher talks with Michael Hanrahan who oversees the needle exchange programs for the King County's Health and Human Services. Hanrahan talks about how these exchanges work and the impact the program has made in the community. Wed, 26 Feb 2014 23:51:49 +0000 Steve Scher & Hannah Burn 29489 at http://kuow.org How Needle Exchange Programs Work Journey Of A Drug: The Long, Hard, Expensive Process Of A New Treatment http://kuow.org/post/journey-drug-long-hard-expensive-process-new-treatment <p>From Seattle’s South Lake Union to larger areas like Bothell, biotechnology is a ubiquitous part of the local economy. But moving a drug from research to testing, to market, to patients is an arduous undertaking. Tue, 25 Feb 2014 22:41:11 +0000 David Hyde & Amina Al-Sadi 29437 at http://kuow.org Journey Of A Drug: The Long, Hard, Expensive Process Of A New Treatment Washington's Take On Overdose Antidote Naloxone http://kuow.org/post/washingtons-take-overdose-antidote-naloxone <p>Steve Scher talks with KUOW's Patricia Murphy about a pharmacy on Capitol Hill that is offering training around an opiate overdose medication called Naloxone. Tue, 18 Feb 2014 22:36:58 +0000 Arwen Nicks, Steve Scher & Patricia Murphy 29058 at http://kuow.org Washington's Take On Overdose Antidote Naloxone 'Opiate Refugees' Caught Between Pharmacies, Suppliers And The Law http://kuow.org/post/opiate-refugees-caught-between-pharmacies-suppliers-and-law <p>This week the state Department of Health reported that prescription drug overdose deaths are down 27 percent since 2008. But curbing fraud and abuse of powerful opiates has come at a price for some legitimate patients who say they’re suffering unnecessary pain due to delays at pharmacies.&nbsp; Thu, 30 Jan 2014 19:20:44 +0000 Patricia Murphy 27911 at http://kuow.org 'Opiate Refugees' Caught Between Pharmacies, Suppliers And The Law Neuroscientist: 'Decriminalize All Drugs' http://kuow.org/post/neuroscientist-decriminalize-all-drugs <p>David Hyde speaks with Dr. Carl Hart, a professor at Columbia University, about why he thinks all drugs — including cocaine and heroin — should be decriminalized. His latest book is called "High Price: A Neuroscientist's Journey of Self-Discovery That Challenges Everything You Know About Drugs and Society." Thu, 23 Jan 2014 00:13:17 +0000 David Hyde & Arwen Nicks 27472 at http://kuow.org Neuroscientist: 'Decriminalize All Drugs' Drug Tests Don't Deter Drug Use, But School Environment Might http://kuow.org/post/drug-tests-dont-deter-drug-use-school-environment-might Schools that do random drug testing say it helps students say no to illegal drugs, while critics say it's an invasion of privacy. But feeling good about school may affect students' drug use more than the threat of testing.<p>A survey of high school students found that the possibility that they might face drug testing didn't really discourage students from alcohol, cigarettes or marijuana. Tue, 14 Jan 2014 21:39:00 +0000 Maanvi Singh 27064 at http://kuow.org Drug Tests Don't Deter Drug Use, But School Environment Might Heroin Use Is On The Rise, Young Adults Increasing Most http://kuow.org/post/heroin-use-rise-young-adults-increasing-most <p>Marcie Sillman talks with Caleb Banta-Green, an addiction and drug expert from the University of Washington,&nbsp; about heroin trends across Washington state. Wed, 08 Jan 2014 23:23:50 +0000 Marcie Sillman & Hannah Burn 26732 at http://kuow.org Heroin Use Is On The Rise, Young Adults Increasing Most Big Pharma's Marketing Strategies http://kuow.org/post/big-pharmas-marketing-strategies <p>David Hyde talks with Natalie Mizik, University of Washington marketing professor, about how successful big pharmaceuticals are at marketing their products. Wed, 18 Dec 2013 23:12:44 +0000 David Hyde & Hannah Burn 25713 at http://kuow.org Big Pharma's Marketing Strategies Study: Pot Use In Washington Double Original Projections http://kuow.org/post/study-pot-use-washington-double-original-projections <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2013/12/121713AJ_PotForecast_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>If there is such a thing, the typical pot smoker in Washington is a white male, 35 or younger with some college education. And he smokes a lot more weed than anyone thought.<p> Wed, 18 Dec 2013 15:16:57 +0000 Austin Jenkins 25691 at http://kuow.org Study: Pot Use In Washington Double Original Projections What Does Uruguay's Pot Legalization Mean For US War On Drugs? http://kuow.org/post/what-does-uruguays-pot-legalization-mean-us-war-drugs <p>Marcie Sillman talks with Bruce Bagley, professor of international studies at University of Miami, about the legalization of pot in Uruguay what this means for the US war on drugs abroad. Thu, 12 Dec 2013 22:47:11 +0000 Marcie Sillman & Hannah Burn 25370 at http://kuow.org What Does Uruguay's Pot Legalization Mean For US War On Drugs? Can You Be Too Drunk To Remember Smoking Crack? http://kuow.org/post/can-you-be-too-drunk-remember-smoking-crack <p>Toronto Mayor Rob Ford has been making headlines after admitting to using crack cocaine, stating that it happened "probably in one of my drunken stupors." Wed, 06 Nov 2013 23:55:30 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Arwen Nicks 23394 at http://kuow.org Can You Be Too Drunk To Remember Smoking Crack?