Joint Base Lewis-McChord http://kuow.org en How Will The Proposed Pentagon Cuts Affect Washington State? http://kuow.org/post/how-will-proposed-pentagon-cuts-affect-washington-state <p>Ross Reynolds speaks with Adam Ashton, military reporter for the Tacoma News Tribune, about the Defense Secretary Chuck Hagel's proposed Pentagon budget cuts and how it would impact local military communities. Mon, 24 Feb 2014 19:52:33 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Posey Gruener 29368 at http://kuow.org How Will The Proposed Pentagon Cuts Affect Washington State? Department Of Defense Declines To Release Investigation Into Bales' Command http://kuow.org/post/department-defense-declines-release-investigation-bales-command <p>The Department of Defense has denied a request by reporters for information about Staff Sergeant Robert Bales’ murder of 16 Afghan civilians. Thu, 06 Feb 2014 15:47:06 +0000 Patricia Murphy 28282 at http://kuow.org Department Of Defense Declines To Release Investigation Into Bales' Command Microsoft Exec: Soldiers Make Great Software Developers http://kuow.org/post/microsoft-exec-soldiers-make-great-software-developers <p>A new program in Lacey, Wash., gives soldiers training and a career track in software development after discharge from the Army. Tue, 05 Nov 2013 17:16:45 +0000 Patricia Murphy 23279 at http://kuow.org Microsoft Exec: Soldiers Make Great Software Developers 3 Wash. Soldiers Jailed Following Stabbing Death http://kuow.org/post/3-wash-soldiers-jailed-following-stabbing-death <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2013/10/100713AJ_MurderedSoldier_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>Three Washington-based soldiers are in jail after the stabbing death of a fellow soldier over the weekend. The arrests came after the person who allegedly wielded the knife sought medical treatment for a cut to his hand.<p>Police say the murder happened off base following an exchange of words between two groups of Joint Base Lewis-McChord servicemen. A roadside confrontation seemed to end peacefully once everyone realized they were fellow soldiers.<p>But Lt. Tue, 08 Oct 2013 15:29:20 +0000 Austin Jenkins 21693 at http://kuow.org Thought Of 'Flames Of Hell' For Sgt. Bales Comforts Afghans http://kuow.org/post/thought-flames-hell-sgt-bales-comforts-afghans It was jarring for survivors and witnesses of the 2012 attack by U.S. Army Staff Sgt. Robert Bales on two villages in Afghanistan to come to the U.S. to testify at his trial this month, translator Ahmad Shafi <a href="http://www.npr.org/2013/08/30/217099446/afghan-survivors-flew-to-u-s-for-massacre-trial" target="_blank">tells <em>Morning Edition</em></a>.<p>They were at Washington State's Joint Base Lewis-McChord — a place much different than their homes in Kandahar. What's more, the U.S. Fri, 30 Aug 2013 13:49:00 +0000 Mark Memmott 19450 at http://kuow.org Thought Of 'Flames Of Hell' For Sgt. Bales Comforts Afghans U.S. Soldier Sentenced To Life In Afghan Village Attacks http://kuow.org/post/jury-sentences-us-soldier-life-term-afghan-village-attacks A military jury has sentenced Robert Bales, the U.S. Army staff sergeant who admitted to killing 16 Afghan civilians in 2012, to life in prison without parole. Fri, 23 Aug 2013 18:38:12 +0000 Bill Chappell 19109 at http://kuow.org U.S. Soldier Sentenced To Life In Afghan Village Attacks JBLM Solider To Receive Medal Of Honor http://kuow.org/post/jblm-solider-receive-medal-honor <p></p><p>A solider from Joint Base Lewis-McChord will be awarded the Medal of Honor.</p><p>Spokane-born Staff Sgt. Ty Carter of&nbsp; will be one of only a handful of living American soldiers to receive the nation’s highest military honor. The Army says US troops were far outnumbered that day in 2009 at Combat Outpost Keating in eastern Afghanistan. During the battle the Army says Carter killed enemy troops and risked his own life to save an injured soldier pinned down by a barrage of enemy fire.</p><p> Tue, 30 Jul 2013 15:19:24 +0000 Patricia Murphy 17596 at http://kuow.org JBLM Solider To Receive Medal Of Honor Army Will Reduce JBLM Troop Numbers By Deactivating 4th Stryker Brigade http://kuow.org/post/army-will-reduce-jblm-troop-numbers-deactivating-4th-stryker-brigade <p>The Army says Joint Base Lewis-McChord's&nbsp;4th Stryker Brigade will be one of&nbsp;10 combat teams deactivated nationwide. The move is just one part of the Army’s plan to reduce its forces as the war in Afghanistan winds down.</p><p>The brigade has about 4,000 soldiers. Nearly 350 of them returned home Sunday after a seven-month deployment to Afghanistan.&nbsp;<span style="line-height: 1.5;">Overall, the Army plans to reduce the force by 80,000 soldiers by 2017. Tue, 25 Jun 2013 21:37:17 +0000 Patricia Murphy 15572 at http://kuow.org Army Will Reduce JBLM Troop Numbers By Deactivating 4th Stryker Brigade Guilty Verdict At JBLM In Trial Of Sgt. Accused of Baghdad Shooting Spree http://kuow.org/post/guilty-verdict-jblm-trial-sgt-accused-baghdad-shooting-spree <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2013/05/051313TB_Guilty_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>A case that featured harrowing testimony of combat-related mental illness ended Monday with a guilty verdict. Army Sergeant John Russell was convicted for murdering five fellow servicemen at a military mental health clinic in Baghdad in 2009.<p>A military judge found the 48-year-old Texas native guilty of premeditated murder. Mon, 13 May 2013 22:27:36 +0000 Tom Banse 13065 at http://kuow.org North Korea May Have A Nuclear Warhead To Put On A Missile, Says Pentagon http://kuow.org/post/north-korea-may-have-know-how-miniaturize-nuclear-warhead-says-pentagon The Pentagon's intelligence arm has "moderate confidence" that North Korea may have developed the technology to create nuclear weapons that are small enough to fit on a long-range missile.<p>NPR's Larry Abramson filed this report for our Newscast unit:<p><blockquote><p>"The Defense Intelligence Agency assessment says such a weapon would probably not be very reliable. This is the first time the U.S. Thu, 11 Apr 2013 21:39:00 +0000 editor 11259 at http://kuow.org North Korea May Have A Nuclear Warhead To Put On A Missile, Says Pentagon Defense Contractor Lays Off One-Third Of Its Joint Base Lewis-McChord Staff http://kuow.org/post/defense-contractor-lays-one-third-its-joint-base-lewis-mcchord-staff <p></p><p>Last week the Department of Defense delayed anticipated furlough notices for civilian employees. <span style="line-height: 1.5;">The </span>DOD<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> said the two-week delay would allow it to analyze the impact of the federal budget sequester on its workforce.</span></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">But not everyone got a reprieve.</span></p><p> Wed, 27 Mar 2013 00:11:22 +0000 Patricia Murphy 10388 at http://kuow.org Defense Contractor Lays Off One-Third Of Its Joint Base Lewis-McChord Staff Military Marriage Endures Despite Multiple Deployments http://kuow.org/post/military-marriage-endures-despite-multiple-deployments <p></p><p>Love is a popular theme today and for retailers, it's a cash cow of hearts and roses. But relationships that endure take work. For the Silsby family of Lacey the secret is weathering change. Thu, 14 Feb 2013 17:55:27 +0000 Patricia Murphy 8222 at http://kuow.org Military Marriage Endures Despite Multiple Deployments Army Keeps A Lid On Madigan PTSD Investigation http://kuow.org/post/army-keeps-lid-madigan-ptsd-investigation <p>The Army says it won’t release the investigation into how Madigan Army Medical Center handled some soldiers' diagnoses for post-traumatic stress disorder.&nbsp;<span style="line-height: 1.5;">The denial comes one week after the Secretary of the Army visited Joint Base </span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Lewis-</span>McChord, south of Tacoma,<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> to announce the completion of an Army-wide review on the same subject.</span></p><p> Tue, 12 Feb 2013 03:06:44 +0000 Patricia Murphy 8057 at http://kuow.org Army Keeps A Lid On Madigan PTSD Investigation Military Judge Orders Sanity Review For Soldier Accused In Massacre http://kuow.org/post/military-judge-orders-sanity-review-soldier-accused-massacre <p></p><p></p><p>Attorneys for Staff Sergeant Robert Bales say they’re unsure if they’ll pursue a mental health defense in the case.&nbsp;</p><p>But if they do, the judge has ordered that the soldier must undergo a so-called sanity board review.</p><p>Bales is accused of murdering 16 Afghan civilians and wounding six others in an overnight rampage last March.</p> Fri, 18 Jan 2013 18:25:51 +0000 Patricia Murphy 6796 at http://kuow.org Military Judge Orders Sanity Review For Soldier Accused In Massacre Army Orders Sgt. Bales To Capital Court Martial http://kuow.org/post/army-orders-sgt-bales-capital-court-martial The U.S. Army announced Wednesday that Staff&#160;Sgt. Wed, 19 Dec 2012 19:51:00 +0000 editor 5387 at http://kuow.org Army Orders Sgt. Bales To Capital Court Martial