Seattle City Council http://kuow.org en Referendum Puts Seattle Rideshare Rules On Hold http://kuow.org/post/referendum-puts-seattle-rideshare-rules-hold <p></p><p>Seattle’s new regulations on rideshare companies like Lyft and Uber were supposed to take effect this week, but now they’re on hold. That’s because a group, backed by rideshare businesses, has filed signatures for a ballot referendum to bring the rideshare rules to a public vote. Fri, 18 Apr 2014 16:11:48 +0000 Amy Radil 32777 at http://kuow.org Referendum Puts Seattle Rideshare Rules On Hold Seattle Passes Limits To Ridesharing, Uber Not Pleased http://kuow.org/post/seattle-passes-limits-ridesharing-uber-not-pleased <p>Marcie Sillman talks with Brooke Steger, general manager for Seattle Uber, about the new limits to ridesharing&nbsp;Seattle's City Council passed Monday. Tue, 18 Mar 2014 21:44:16 +0000 Marcie Sillman & Hannah Burn 30800 at http://kuow.org Seattle Passes Limits To Ridesharing, Uber Not Pleased The Latest On The Minimum Wage Debate http://kuow.org/post/latest-minimum-wage-debate <p>Marcie Sillman talks with <a href="http://www.thestranger.com/seattle/dominic-holden/Author?oid=77764">Dominic Holden</a>, associate editor at The Stranger about the very latest on the minimum wage debate in Seattle. Tue, 18 Mar 2014 21:42:55 +0000 Marcie Sillman & Andy Hurst 30801 at http://kuow.org The Latest On The Minimum Wage Debate Seattle City Council Legalizes Rideshares, But Puts Cap On Cars http://kuow.org/post/seattle-city-council-legalizes-rideshares-puts-cap-cars <p></p><p>You may see fewer cars with pink mustaches on the road in the coming months.</p><p>Seattle’s City Council yesterday gave final approval to a plan that would limit the number of cars that rideshare companies like Lyft, UberX and Sidecar can operate. Tue, 18 Mar 2014 16:15:46 +0000 Deborah Wang 30742 at http://kuow.org Seattle City Council Legalizes Rideshares, But Puts Cap On Cars Jim Diers: 'Community Participation,' A Key For Seattle's Future http://kuow.org/post/jim-diers-community-participation-key-seattles-future <p>Steve Scher talks with former Seattle Neighborhoods Department Director Jim Diers about his hopes for the upcoming <a href="http://www.seattle.gov/sns2014">Seattle Neighborhood Summit</a> in April. Fri, 14 Mar 2014 22:05:27 +0000 Steve Scher & Andy Hurst 30574 at http://kuow.org Jim Diers: 'Community Participation,' A Key For Seattle's Future As A First State To Regulate Ridesharing, California Offers Its Progress http://kuow.org/post/first-state-regulate-ridesharing-california-offers-its-progress <p>Steve Scher talks with San Francisco&nbsp;Chronicle reporter&nbsp;Carolyn Said about California's state-wide rideshare&nbsp;regulations. Said talks about how they are playing out in San Francisco and what Seattle's proposed driver caps could mean for rideshare&nbsp;companies all over. Thu, 13 Mar 2014 23:23:24 +0000 Steve Scher & Christine Streich 30468 at http://kuow.org As A First State To Regulate Ridesharing, California Offers Its Progress Development Planning For Sodo, Seattle's 'Gritty Backbone' http://kuow.org/post/development-planning-sodo-seattles-gritty-backbone <p></p><p>The stadium district in Seattle is located at the northern end of a larger swath of the city that's officially known as the Duwamish Manufacturing and Industrial Center, but more commonly referred to as Sodo.</p><p>It’s the largest concentration of industrially zoned land in Seattle and home to Harbor Island, the largest container port facility in the Pacific Northwest, as well as the Seattle Seahawks, Sounders and Mariners teams. Mon, 10 Mar 2014 17:18:54 +0000 Marcie Sillman 29917 at http://kuow.org Development Planning For Sodo, Seattle's 'Gritty Backbone' Seattle Officials Probe 'Twilight Zone' Of Police Discipline Reversals http://kuow.org/post/seattle-officials-probe-twilight-zone-police-discipline-reversals <p>Seattle officials plan to seek changes to the obscure union appeals process that has allowed reversals of police misconduct findings. Fri, 07 Mar 2014 16:06:09 +0000 Amy Radil 30019 at http://kuow.org Seattle Officials Probe 'Twilight Zone' Of Police Discipline Reversals Seattle Residents Testify For, Against $15 Minimum Wage At Packed Hearing http://kuow.org/post/seattle-residents-testify-against-15-minimum-wage-packed-hearing <p>Hundreds of people descended on Seattle's Town Hall last night for the first in a series of public hearings on the minimum wage. Thu, 06 Mar 2014 15:57:52 +0000 Deborah Wang 29938 at http://kuow.org Seattle Residents Testify For, Against $15 Minimum Wage At Packed Hearing Universal Preschool In Seattle: Why Some Aren't On Board http://kuow.org/post/universal-preschool-seattle-why-some-arent-board <p>Steve Scher talks with Liv Finne, director of Washington Policy Center's Center for Education, about her take on universal preschool and why she thinks Seattle should focus its priorities elsewhere. Wed, 05 Mar 2014 23:58:34 +0000 Steve Scher & Hannah Burn 29913 at http://kuow.org Universal Preschool In Seattle: Why Some Aren't On Board Seattle City Council Rejects Tax Break For Pot Growers http://kuow.org/post/seattle-city-council-rejects-tax-break-pot-growers <p>Marijuana growers who want to sell their products in Seattle will have to pay business license tax to the city.</p><p>On Monday, the City Council voted not to give pot growers a tax break reserved for farmers. Tue, 04 Mar 2014 17:20:23 +0000 Deborah Wang 29791 at http://kuow.org Seattle City Council Rejects Tax Break For Pot Growers SPD Reversal, Rideshare Regulations, And State Education Funding http://kuow.org/post/spd-reversal-rideshare-regulations-and-state-education-funding <p>Seattle Mayor Ed Murray sets things straight after a reversal of police misconduct cases kicked up some dust.</p><p>State lawmakers reach a compromise over whether student test scores should factor in teacher evaluations, and the City Council regulates Seattle's ridesharing companies.</p><p>S<span style="line-height: 1.5;">teve </span>Scher<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> reviews these stories and more</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;"> with Crosscut’s </span>Knute<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> Berger, Eli Sanders of The Stranger, news analyst Joni </span>Balter<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> and </span>Livewire's<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> Luke Burbank.</span> Fri, 28 Feb 2014 23:59:18 +0000 Steve Scher & Jason Pagano 29655 at http://kuow.org SPD Reversal, Rideshare Regulations, And State Education Funding Seattle's Proposed Rideshare Compromise Appears To Satisfy No One http://kuow.org/post/seattles-proposed-rideshare-compromise-appears-satisfy-no-one <p>A Seattle City Council committee has voted to impose limits on rideshare companies Thursday night. The council’s compromise seemed to disappoint everyone, from rideshare companies to taxi owners.</p><p>The council’s committee on taxi regulations has been wrestling with how to regulate rideshares like Lyft and UberX for months. Fri, 28 Feb 2014 17:18:25 +0000 Amy Radil 29616 at http://kuow.org Seattle's Proposed Rideshare Compromise Appears To Satisfy No One Seattle Police Push For Facial Recognition Software http://kuow.org/post/seattle-police-push-facial-recognition-software <p>Ross Reynolds talks with Seattle City Councilmember <a href="https://www.seattle.gov/council/harrell/">Bruce Harrell </a>about a proposal that would allow the Seattle Police Department to use facial recognition software to identify suspects from security footage. Fri, 21 Feb 2014 22:52:21 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Andy Hurst 29214 at http://kuow.org Seattle Police Push For Facial Recognition Software Seattle City Council Members Investigate How Lockers Could Help Homeless http://kuow.org/post/seattle-city-council-members-investigate-how-lockers-could-help-homeless <p>"I would say 9 out of 10 people, when they see someone carrying two, three bags with them, they instantly peg them as homeless," Isaac Pace told Marcie Sillman on <em>The Record</em>.</p><p>Pace is a volunteer for SHARE, a homeless advocacy group in Seattle. He has also been without a permanent home for about 15 years. Wed, 19 Feb 2014 21:37:52 +0000 Marcie Sillman & Hannah Burn 29066 at http://kuow.org Seattle City Council Members Investigate How Lockers Could Help Homeless