health care http://kuow.org en In Defense Of Research On Unconscious Patients At Harborview http://kuow.org/post/defense-research-unconscious-patients-harborview <p>Marcie Sillman talks with bioethicist <a href="http://pophealth.med.nyu.edu/faculty/caplaa01">Arthur Caplan</a> about the implications of involving people in a research study without their consent. Caplan&nbsp;directs the bioethics division at New York University's Langone Medical Center. Thu, 10 Jul 2014 21:07:29 +0000 Marcie Sillman & Andy Hurst 37994 at http://kuow.org Feds To Washington State Hospitals: Improve Patient Safety Or Face Penalties http://kuow.org/post/feds-washington-state-hospitals-improve-patient-safety-or-face-penalties <p>Marcie Sillman talks with freelance journalist <a href="http://blogs.seattletimes.com/healthcarecheckup/author/lisastiffler/">Lisa Stiffler</a> about <a href="http://seattletimes.com/html/localnews/2023900082_hospitalqualityxml.html">infection rates and patient safety</a> in Washington hospitals. Tue, 24 Jun 2014 22:14:38 +0000 Marcie Sillman & Andy Hurst 36965 at http://kuow.org High Court Will Decide If Regence Must Cover Autism Therapies http://kuow.org/post/high-court-will-decide-if-regence-must-cover-autism-therapies <p>O.S.T. and L.H. – their initials in court documents – are minors diagnosed with autism. Their families sued Regence, the health insurance company, for not covering all therapies related to their condition. Fri, 13 Jun 2014 22:25:02 +0000 Ruby de Luna 36385 at http://kuow.org More Young Adults Get Inpatient Psychiatric Care After Health Law http://kuow.org/post/more-young-adults-get-inpatient-psychiatric-care-after-health-law Expanded coverage for young adults under the Affordable Care Act substantially raised inpatient hospital visits related to mental health, finds <a href="http://www.nber.org/papers/w20202?utm_campaign=ntw&utm_medium=email&utm_source=ntw">a study</a> conducted by researchers at Indiana and Purdue universities.<p>That looks like good news: Better access to care for a population with <a href="http://www.samhsa.gov/samhsanewsletter/Volume_18_Number_6/MentalHealthReport.aspx">higher-than-average levels of mental illness</a> that too often endangers them and people nearby.<p>But it might not be the b Wed, 11 Jun 2014 14:52:27 +0000 editor 36192 at http://kuow.org More Young Adults Get Inpatient Psychiatric Care After Health Law Washington AG Puts Health Plans On Notice To Cover Same-Sex Spouses http://kuow.org/post/washington-ag-puts-health-plans-notice-cover-same-sex-spouses <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/06/060514AJ_SpouseCoverage_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>Washington Attorney General Bob Ferguson is reminding employers they may not discriminate against same-sex spouses when it comes to health coverage.<p> Fri, 06 Jun 2014 18:12:12 +0000 Austin Jenkins 35938 at http://kuow.org Washington AG Puts Health Plans On Notice To Cover Same-Sex Spouses Washington To Pursue Fuller Health Care Coverage For Transgender State Employees http://kuow.org/post/washington-pursue-fuller-health-care-coverage-transgender-state-employees <p>Marcie Sillman speaks with <a href="http://www.genderjusticeleague.org/author/danielle/">Danielle Askini</a>, advocacy director for the <a href="http://www.genderjusticeleague.org/">Gender Justice League</a>, about their efforts to remove health care exclusions affecting transgender people from Washington state employee plans. Wed, 04 Jun 2014 22:24:36 +0000 Marcie Sillman & Posey Gruener 35784 at http://kuow.org Washington To Pursue Fuller Health Care Coverage For Transgender State Employees So Now You Have Health Care. Time To Find A Doctor http://kuow.org/post/so-now-you-have-health-care-time-find-doctor <p>You may have heard of financial literacy or media literacy. But what about health literacy: Are you able to get and understand basic health information? Wed, 28 May 2014 14:41:31 +0000 Ruby de Luna 35275 at http://kuow.org So Now You Have Health Care. Time To Find A Doctor Could Diet Soda Really Be Better Than Water For Weight Loss? http://kuow.org/post/could-diet-soda-really-be-better-water-weight-loss Answering the question of whether diet soda helps or hinders dieters' efforts to lose weight has been the focus of much research. And buzz.<p>Unfortunately, the answer is still murky.<p>On one hand, as we've reported, <a href="http://uthscsa.edu/hscnews/singleformat2.asp?newID=1539">long-term studies</a> suggest that some diet soda drinkers' efforts to lose weight are stymied when they compensate for the zero-calorie beverages by eating more food. Call it the Diet Coke and french fry conundrum. Wed, 28 May 2014 14:41:00 +0000 editor 35337 at http://kuow.org Could Diet Soda Really Be Better Than Water For Weight Loss? Why Is It So Hard To Find The Price Of A Medical Procedure? http://kuow.org/post/why-it-so-hard-find-price-medical-procedure <p>Steve Scher talks with Sean Sullivan, a professor at the University of Washington School of Pharmacy, about the importance of transparency for health care costs and what individuals can do to find out the expense of their health services. Thu, 22 May 2014 22:08:16 +0000 Steve Scher & Hannah Burn 34992 at http://kuow.org Why Is It So Hard To Find The Price Of A Medical Procedure? Medicare Won't Always Pay For Boomers' Pricey Hepatitis C Drugs http://kuow.org/post/medicare-wont-always-pay-boomers-pricey-hepatitis-c-drugs Walter Bianco has had hepatitis C for decades. He's known about it for 20 years. And now he's reaching the end of the road.<p>"The liver is at the stage next to becoming cirrhotic," the 65-year-old Arizona man says.<p>That means he's approaching the end stage of hepatitis C infection. <a href="http://www.webmd.com/digestive-disorders/cirrhosis-liver">Cirrhosis</a> is a precursor of <a href="http://www.liverfoundation.org/abouttheliver/info/progression/">liver failure</a>, which requires a transplant. Mon, 12 May 2014 07:25:00 +0000 editor 34268 at http://kuow.org Medicare Won't Always Pay For Boomers' Pricey Hepatitis C Drugs How To Make The Affordable Care Act Better http://kuow.org/post/how-make-affordable-care-act-better <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Steve&nbsp;</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Scher</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;talks to </span>Dr. Ezekiel Emanuel about his book “Reinventing American Health Care.” &nbsp;Dr. Emanuel was previously a health care adviser to the White House. Wed, 07 May 2014 22:30:05 +0000 Steve Scher 34067 at http://kuow.org How To Make The Affordable Care Act Better Why Oregon's Health Exchange Website Failed http://kuow.org/post/why-oregons-health-exchange-website-failed <p>Marcie Sillman talks with Oregon Public Broadcasting reporter and producer <a href="http://www.opb.org/contributor/kristian-foden-vencil/">Kristian Foden-Vencil</a> about&nbsp; Oregon's troubled health exchange website,<a href="https://www.coveroregon.com//"> Cover Oregon</a>. Wed, 07 May 2014 22:16:21 +0000 Marcie Sillman & Andy Hurst 34048 at http://kuow.org Why Oregon's Health Exchange Website Failed Candidates Jump On Cover Oregon's Troubles http://kuow.org/post/candidates-jump-cover-oregons-troubles <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/04/042514CL_coveroregon_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>The finger-pointing is underway now that the state of Oregon has decided to scrap its troubled health insurance exchange website.<p> Mon, 28 Apr 2014 15:17:39 +0000 Chris Lehman 33438 at http://kuow.org Candidates Jump On Cover Oregon's Troubles Giving Up On Its Obamacare Exchange No Cure For Oregon's Ills http://kuow.org/post/giving-its-obamacare-exchange-no-cure-oregons-ills Oregon has been "all in" on health reform. Sun, 27 Apr 2014 16:00:00 +0000 Kristian Foden-Vencil 33408 at http://kuow.org Giving Up On Its Obamacare Exchange No Cure For Oregon's Ills White House Honors Community Health Enrollment 'Champions' http://kuow.org/post/white-house-honors-community-health-enrollment-champions <p></p><p>This week the White House honored community heroes for their work in educating and signing up Asian American and Pacific Island residents for health care. Fri, 25 Apr 2014 15:44:42 +0000 Ruby de Luna 33259 at http://kuow.org White House Honors Community Health Enrollment 'Champions'