security http://kuow.org en Life After Blowing The Whistle On The NSA http://kuow.org/post/life-after-blowing-whistle-nsa <p>Steve Scher talks with former NSA&nbsp;senior executive Thomas Drake about his experience before, during and after blowing the whistle on fraud and abuse in the United States government. Thu, 06 Feb 2014 23:17:45 +0000 Arwen Nicks & Steve Scher 28349 at http://kuow.org Life After Blowing The Whistle On The NSA Why Should You Be Worried About NSA Surveillance? http://kuow.org/post/why-should-you-be-worried-about-nsa-surveillance <em>Part 2 of the</em> TED Radio Hour <em>episode</em> <a href="http://www.npr.org/programs/ted-radio-hour/265352348/the-end-of-privacy" target="_blank">The End Of Privacy</a>.<p><em>What are your thoughts on privacy? Tell us at <a href="http://huff.to/yourprivacy" target="_blank">huff.to/yourprivacy</a> a special collaboration with TED, NPR and The Huffington Post.</em><p><strong>About Mikko Hyppönen's TEDTalk</strong><p>Virtually every international Internet user is being watched, says hacker and cyber security expert <a href="http://mikko.hypponen.com/" target="_blank">Mikko Hyppönen</a>. Fri, 31 Jan 2014 17:22:30 +0000 NPR/TED Staff 27996 at http://kuow.org Why Should You Be Worried About NSA Surveillance? Obama Outlines Steps Toward Changing The NSA, Will They Work? http://kuow.org/post/obama-outlines-steps-toward-changing-nsa-will-they-work <p>Ross Reynolds talks with David Cole, a constitutional law professor at Georgetown University, about President Obama's proposed changes to the National Security Agency program. Sat, 18 Jan 2014 00:38:21 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Amina Al-Sadi 27279 at http://kuow.org Obama Outlines Steps Toward Changing The NSA, Will They Work? Has President Obama Lived Up To His Promise To Protect Civil Liberties? http://kuow.org/post/has-president-obama-lived-his-promise-protect-civil-liberties <p>Steve Scher talks with David Cole, constitutional lawyer and national security expert, about how the state of security has changed post 9/11 and whether or not President Obama's civil liberty record holds up to his promises. Mon, 30 Dec 2013 21:08:26 +0000 Steve Scher & Hannah Burn 26264 at http://kuow.org Has President Obama Lived Up To His Promise To Protect Civil Liberties? The Stores Are Watching You http://kuow.org/post/stores-are-watching-you <p>Jeannie Yandel talks with freelance journalist Max Strasser about the many ways in which retailers are collecting data on your habits. Mon, 23 Dec 2013 22:44:57 +0000 Jeannie Yandel & Hannah Burn 25988 at http://kuow.org The Stores Are Watching You UW Students Learn To Hack For Your Safety http://kuow.org/post/uw-students-learn-hack-your-safety <p>What do kids who play capture the flag on summer breaks do when they grow up and go to college? Turns out, the same thing – only the game evolves to computer security and privacy puzzles in a trend that’s being called “ethical hacking.” Fri, 15 Nov 2013 00:35:39 +0000 Marcie Sillman & Hannah Burn 23841 at http://kuow.org UW Students Learn To Hack For Your Safety No End In Sight For Sea-Tac Airport’s X-Ray Scanners http://kuow.org/post/no-end-sight-sea-tac-airport-s-x-ray-scanners <p></p><p>The Transportation Security Administration has been quietly replacing passenger-screening machines at some of the nation’s largest airports. The TSA has been moving them to smaller airports and replacing them with security scanners that don’t use X-rays. Thu, 27 Dec 2012 19:07:24 +0000 John Ryan 5733 at http://kuow.org No End In Sight For Sea-Tac Airport’s X-Ray Scanners Are Washington Voters At Risk Of Being Hacked? http://kuow.org/post/are-washington-voters-risk-being-hacked <p><a href="http://www.nytimes.com/2012/10/13/us/politics/cracks-in-maryland-and-washington-voter-databases.html">The New York Times</a> says Washington state’s online voter registration system is not secure. Ross Reynolds talks with Washington's assistant secretary of state, Steve Excell.&nbsp;</p> Tue, 16 Oct 2012 02:52:38 +0000 Ross Reynolds 1676 at http://kuow.org