Legislature http://kuow.org en Washington Governor Directs Agencies To Identify 15 Percent Cuts http://kuow.org/post/washington-governor-directs-agencies-identify-15-percent-cuts <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/06/061714AJ_Schumacher_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>Washington Governor Jay Inslee is directing state agencies to identify 15 percent cuts in the next budget. The directive comes as the <a href="http://www.erfc.wa.gov/forecast/revenueForecast.shtml">latest revenue forecast</a> out Tuesday shows an ongoing sluggish recovery.<p> Wed, 18 Jun 2014 15:17:13 +0000 Austin Jenkins 36600 at http://kuow.org Washington Governor Directs Agencies To Identify 15 Percent Cuts New Bill Would Examine Student Privacy In Washington State http://kuow.org/post/new-bill-would-examine-student-privacy-washington-state <p></p><p>A bill introduced in the state Legislature this week calls for a study into how much student data is being released without families’ knowledge or consent. Fri, 17 Jan 2014 00:52:12 +0000 Ann Dornfeld 27206 at http://kuow.org Balter: Transportation Package Not Likely This Year http://kuow.org/post/balter-transportation-package-not-likely-year <p></p><p>Washington state legislators have said for a couple of years now that passing a transportation package is among their top priorities. But Joni Balter, a longtime Seattle news analyst, told KUOW’s Bill Radke that won’t likely happen this year.</p><p> Thu, 16 Jan 2014 18:25:28 +0000 Bill Radke 27162 at http://kuow.org Clean Slate For Tribal Fishing Rights Protesters? http://kuow.org/post/clean-slate-tribal-fishing-rights-protesters <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/01/011414TW_Yanity_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>Around 40 to 50 years ago, American Indians in Western Washington were repeatedly arrested during protests over treaty fishing rights.<p> Wed, 15 Jan 2014 19:48:48 +0000 Taylor Winkel 27112 at http://kuow.org Clean Slate For Tribal Fishing Rights Protesters? Washington Wants More Disabled Drivers To Pay For Parking http://kuow.org/post/washington-wants-more-disabled-drivers-pay-parking <p>A state work group is arguing that more people with disabilities should feed the parking meter. Currently, anyone with a disabilities placard can park for free. Wed, 08 Jan 2014 15:55:00 +0000 Liz Jones 26695 at http://kuow.org Washington Wants More Disabled Drivers To Pay For Parking New Laws In Washington: Rioting Gets Name Change, Seahawks Fandom Licensed http://kuow.org/post/new-laws-washington-rioting-gets-name-change-seahawks-fandom-licensed <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2013/12/122413AJ_NewWALaws_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>After January 1, rioting will still be a crime in Washington. But it will get a new name. And Seahawks fans will have a new way to show their loyalty to the team.<p> Thu, 26 Dec 2013 17:22:53 +0000 Austin Jenkins 26107 at http://kuow.org New Laws In Washington: Rioting Gets Name Change, Seahawks Fandom Licensed Inslee Proposes More Prison Beds, No Teacher COLAs In Budget Update http://kuow.org/post/inslee-proposes-more-prison-beds-no-teacher-colas-budget-update <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2013/12/121713AJ_UpdatedBudget_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>More prison beds, but no cost of living raises for school teachers are two takeaways after Washington Governor Jay Inslee&#160;proposed a modest update to the state’s two-year budget.<p> Wed, 18 Dec 2013 15:17:40 +0000 Austin Jenkins 25692 at http://kuow.org Inslee Proposes More Prison Beds, No Teacher COLAs In Budget Update Senate Democrats: Embezzlement Of Campaign Funds Might Have Cost Key Race http://kuow.org/post/senate-democrats-embezzlement-campaign-funds-might-have-cost-key-race <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2013/09/092513AJ_Embezzlement_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>Washington Senate Democrats say the misuse of campaign funds last year may have cost them a key race – and therefore control of the state Senate.<p> Thu, 26 Sep 2013 15:56:09 +0000 Austin Jenkins 21031 at http://kuow.org Congress Reaches A Deal On Fiscal Cliff http://kuow.org/post/congress-reaches-deal-fiscal-cliff <p></p><p>The House voted 257-167 late last night to pass the American Taxpayer Relief Act of 2012. The bill now goes to the President, but sets up another confrontation over taxes and spending in just weeks. We check in with <a href="https://twitter.com/jacksonjk">Jill Jackson</a> of CBS News and hear from Representative Jim McDermott about why he voted against the deal.</p><p> Wed, 02 Jan 2013 17:00:00 +0000 Steve Scher 5992 at http://kuow.org Wash. Schools Chief Asks For 39 Percent Budget Increase http://kuow.org/post/wash-schools-chief-asks-39-percent-budget-increase <p>Washington Superintendent of Public Instruction Randy Dorn has asked for an additional $4.1 billion for basic education in his biennial <a href="http://www.k12.wa.us/LegisGov/2013documents/2013-15BudgetRequestSummary.pdf">budget proposal</a>, a 39 percent increase compared to the current budget. Dorn says that’s what it’ll take for the state Legislature to fulfill its constitutional duty to fully fund K-12 education.</p> Thu, 04 Oct 2012 23:27:42 +0000 Ann Dornfeld 1709 at http://kuow.org Wash. Schools Chief Asks For 39 Percent Budget Increase