unions http://kuow.org en Childcare Provider Debates Two Possible Preschool Laws http://kuow.org/post/childcare-provider-debates-two-possible-preschool-laws <p>Patti Oliver Bailey sat on a sunny wooden deck in Seattle’s Rainier Valley on a recent afternoon, surrounded by toddlers digging through a box of pink sand and bright toys. Fri, 11 Jul 2014 21:28:11 +0000 Ann Dornfeld 38063 at http://kuow.org Childcare Provider Debates Two Possible Preschool Laws How Supreme Court Decisions Affect Washington State http://kuow.org/post/how-supreme-court-decisions-affect-washington-state <p>Marcie Sillman talks to Marcia Coyle the chief Washington correspondent for the National Law Journal about the Supreme Court's decision on a few recent important cases.</p><p>Then, Jim Mischel, co-founder and co-owner of Everett based Electric Mirror, responds to the Supreme Court's 5-4 vote on Burwell v. Hobby Lobby Stores. His company filed an amicus brief with Hobby Lobby. We also hear from Christine Charbonneau, CEO of Planned Parenthood of the Great Northwest.</p><p>And Jackson Holtz, spokesperson for SEIU Local 775, gives his view about the Harris v. Quinn decision on union dues. Mon, 30 Jun 2014 22:37:56 +0000 Marcie Sillman, Andy Hurst & Amina Al-Sadi 37356 at http://kuow.org A 'Death Knell' For Public Sector Unions? Not Yet http://kuow.org/post/death-knell-public-sector-unions-not-yet One of the last two Supreme Court decisions of this term was billed as a potential <a href="http://talkingpointsmemo.com/dc/harris-quinn-supreme-court-case-labor-unions">"final destruction"</a> or <a href="http://www.motherjones.com/politics/2014/05/supreme-court-harris-quinn-unions-right-to-work">"kill shot"</a> for public sector unions. They seem to have been merely nicked by a bullet.<p><em>Harris v. Quinn</em> is a class action suit brought by a group of home care workers in Illinois. They challenged the right of unions to charge fees to nonmembers. Mon, 30 Jun 2014 14:59:28 +0000 Anya Kamenetz 37328 at http://kuow.org President Of Seattle Teachers Union Re-Elected By 45 Votes http://kuow.org/post/president-seattle-teachers-union-re-elected-45-votes <p>Ross Reynolds talks to Jonathan Knapp, president of the Seattle Education Association, about No Child Left Behind and his narrow victory over challenger Jesse Hagopian for union president. Tue, 13 May 2014 21:33:36 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Cameron Drews 34385 at http://kuow.org President Of Seattle Teachers Union Re-Elected By 45 Votes Machinists Head Steps Down: 'Your Job Should Not Destroy Your Health' http://kuow.org/post/machinists-head-steps-down-your-job-should-not-destroy-your-health <p>The drama over the Boeing 777X jet has claimed its first casualty.</p><p>Tom Wroblewski, president of the Machinists Union District Lodge 751, announced on Tuesday night that he is retiring to a small group of elected representatives from local lodges. His last day is Jan. 31. Wed, 15 Jan 2014 18:37:52 +0000 Carolyn Adolph 27107 at http://kuow.org Machinists Head Steps Down: 'Your Job Should Not Destroy Your Health' Machinists Union Makes Formal Offer To Boeing To Try To Win 777X http://kuow.org/post/machinists-union-makes-formal-offer-boeing-try-win-777x <p>There’s a proposal on the table.</p><p>The Machinists Union says it has presented Boeing with a contract that could secure the 777X production line for the Puget Sound region. Thu, 12 Dec 2013 01:47:55 +0000 Carolyn Adolph 25337 at http://kuow.org Machinists Union Makes Formal Offer To Boeing To Try To Win 777X Last Minute Attempts To Get Boeing Back To The Negotiation Table http://kuow.org/post/last-minute-attempts-get-boeing-back-negotiation-table <p>Marcie Sillman talks with Everett mayor Ray Stephanson about his efforts to bring Boeing and the machinist union back to the negotiation table. Wed, 04 Dec 2013 23:50:41 +0000 Marcie Sillman & Hannah Burn 24903 at http://kuow.org Last Minute Attempts To Get Boeing Back To The Negotiation Table Boeing Analyst: Advantages To Keeping 777X In Puget Sound Area http://kuow.org/post/boeing-analyst-advantages-keeping-777x-puget-sound-area <p>Boeing said Thursday it has <a href="http://www.boeing.com/iam-agreement/pdf/IAM-Website-QA.PDF">no further plans</a> to negotiate with its Machinists after the union voted against a &nbsp;contract extension Boeing said was key to its decision to build the 777X in the Puget Sound region. Now the company said it is looking at other locations. It said it would continue to consider the Puget Sound region, but as part of a competition with other places. Fri, 15 Nov 2013 00:52:21 +0000 Carolyn Adolph 23872 at http://kuow.org How Machinist Vote Could Affect The Future Of Labor Negotiations http://kuow.org/post/how-machinist-vote-could-affect-future-labor-negotiations <p>Ross Reynolds talks with Gary Chaison, professor of industrial relations at Clark University, about how the Boeing machinist vote will affect the future of labor negotiations in Washington and across the country. Fri, 15 Nov 2013 00:13:52 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Amina Al-Sadi 23851 at http://kuow.org How Machinist Vote Could Affect The Future Of Labor Negotiations Dangerous Game Of Chicken? Unpacking The Implications Behind The Boeing Labor Dispute http://kuow.org/post/dangerous-game-chicken-unpacking-implications-behind-boeing-labor-dispute <p>Ross Reynolds and Marcie Sillman tackle the complex issues around the machinists' rejection of the Boeing contract offer. First, they speak with Jeff Johnson, President of the Washington State Labor Council, about the implications for labor here in Washington state. Then, Wall Street Journal's aerospace reporter Jon Ostrower explains just what resources are necessary to build a brand new airplane like the 777X in another state. Thu, 14 Nov 2013 19:14:11 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Marcie Sillman & Christine Streich 23871 at http://kuow.org Dangerous Game Of Chicken? Unpacking The Implications Behind The Boeing Labor Dispute Governor Inslee Vows To Continue To Compete For 777X http://kuow.org/post/governor-inslee-vows-continue-compete-777x The machinists' two-to-one rejection of the Boeing contract was not the outcome Washington Governor Jay Inslee had hoped for.<p> Thu, 14 Nov 2013 16:00:37 +0000 Austin Jenkins 23829 at http://kuow.org Governor Inslee Vows To Continue To Compete For 777X 777X In Danger: Machinists Reject Boeing Contract http://kuow.org/post/777x-danger-machinists-reject-boeing-contract <p>In a vote that could ultimately move Boeing out of Washington state, Boeing's machinists rejected the company's proposed contract, with 67 percent of union members opposed. Thu, 14 Nov 2013 04:40:40 +0000 Carolyn Adolph 23793 at http://kuow.org 777X In Danger: Machinists Reject Boeing Contract How Boeing Avoids The Negotiation Table http://kuow.org/post/how-boeing-avoids-negotiation-table <p>Ross Reynolds talks with aerospace and defense editor at Reuters, Alwyn Scott, about how Boeing's labor dispute compares to other union negotiations. Wed, 13 Nov 2013 23:13:46 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Hannah Burn 23759 at http://kuow.org How Boeing Avoids The Negotiation Table Union Fury Could Prompt Boeing To Move 777X Assembly http://kuow.org/post/union-fury-could-prompt-boeing-move-777x-assembly <p></p><p>Standing before a crowd of Boeing machinists on Thursday night, Tom Wroblewski, president of the Boeing machinists union, tore up a copy of the proposed contract and said he would try to stop it from coming to a vote.</p><p>“I know this is a piece of crap,” Wroblewski said, <a href="http://seattletimes.com/html/businesstechnology/2022215218_boeingiamvotexml.html">according to The Seattle Times</a>.</p><p>The machinists before him were openly hostile to the eight-year deal, which would replace their health care costs and strip down their pensions.</p> Fri, 08 Nov 2013 18:42:26 +0000 Carolyn Adolph 23494 at http://kuow.org Union Fury Could Prompt Boeing To Move 777X Assembly No Strike! 11th Hour Deal Averts Grocery Showdown http://kuow.org/post/no-strike-11th-hour-deal-averts-grocery-showdown <p>With just two hours left on the strike countdown clock, a tentative agreement was reached on Monday night between grocery workers and four major chains: Safeway, Fred Meyer, QFC and Albertson’s. Tue, 22 Oct 2013 17:54:16 +0000 Kara McDermott 22471 at http://kuow.org No Strike! 11th Hour Deal Averts Grocery Showdown