Big Reset http://kuow.org en A Welder Reflects: 'I’m A Different Person Than I Was. I Have A Trade.' http://kuow.org/post/welder-reflects-i-m-different-person-i-was-i-have-trade <p></p><p>When Shannon Kelley started a free worker retraining program last summer, he was 43 years old and had been laid off for five years. Fri, 27 Dec 2013 16:10:27 +0000 Ann Dornfeld 26133 at http://kuow.org A Welder Reflects: 'I’m A Different Person Than I Was. I Have A Trade.' How The Puget Sound Region Has Emerged From The Recession http://kuow.org/post/how-puget-sound-region-has-emerged-recession <p></p><p>Our one hour special, <em>The Big Reset,</em> explores how the Puget Sound region has emerged from the Great Recession.</p><p> Fri, 27 Sep 2013 20:01:52 +0000 Jim Gates 21124 at http://kuow.org How The Puget Sound Region Has Emerged From The Recession Competition For Tech Talent Heats Up In Seattle Area http://kuow.org/post/competition-tech-talent-heats-seattle-area <p>Technology companies have been among the bright spots for job growth in the region. They are hiring a lot of one particular kind of employee&mdash;software engineers. Those are the people who design, develop and test systems and software. Fri, 27 Sep 2013 16:00:00 +0000 Deborah Wang 19617 at http://kuow.org Competition For Tech Talent Heats Up In Seattle Area Construction Is Everywhere, But Industry Still Fragile http://kuow.org/post/construction-everywhere-industry-still-fragile <p>Construction is now the fastest-growing industry in Washington state. Construction cranes fill the skyline. Public works projects like light rail lines and the tunnel project snarl our streets. But despite appearances, construction has not yet fully recovered from the 2008 recession. Thu, 26 Sep 2013 11:00:00 +0000 Carolyn Adolph 21002 at http://kuow.org Construction Is Everywhere, But Industry Still Fragile Scientist Shortage? Not In Seattle http://kuow.org/post/scientist-shortage-not-seattle <p>For decades, government agencies and business groups have equated science degrees with job security. <a href="https://fortress.wa.gov/esd/employmentdata/reports-publications/industry-reports/employment-projections">Employment projections from Washington state</a> show growth in life science jobs, and policy groups lament a shortage of American scientists. But people who counted on a secure career in the lab are having the rug yanked out from under them. In the wake of the recession and the federal budget sequester, they&rsquo;re having to develop a Plan B. Wed, 25 Sep 2013 14:12:45 +0000 Amy Radil 18748 at http://kuow.org Scientist Shortage? Not In Seattle "Green Jobs" A Loosely Defined Category In Job Creation Grants http://kuow.org/post/green-jobs-loosely-defined-category-job-creation-grants <p>In 2009 President Obama signed the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act into law. It provided $500 million for research and green-jobs training. Here in Washington, $16 million in federal funds went to green jobs training. Tue, 24 Sep 2013 16:30:00 +0000 Ashley Ahearn 20842 at http://kuow.org "Green Jobs" A Loosely Defined Category In Job Creation Grants Anacortes: One Town Debates Its Future http://kuow.org/post/anacortes-one-town-debates-its-future <p>From Anacortes, Wash., you get the classic, gorgeous views of the San Juan Islands.&nbsp; But tourists mostly breeze by this city, thinking of it as just the gateway to greater places. Anacortes does have its own thing going, though. It&rsquo;s an unusual mix of a real working city with super lovely landscape. Mon, 23 Sep 2013 08:00:00 +0000 Sara Lerner 20644 at http://kuow.org Anacortes: One Town Debates Its Future Washington's Job Recovery In Numbers http://kuow.org/post/washingtons-job-recovery-numbers <p>This week, KUOW has been taking a deeper look at the jobs recovery in Washington state in our series, <a href="http://kuow.org/topic/big-reset"><em>The Big Reset</em></a>. In this segment, we're talking numbers: unemployment, wages, industry trends. And the good news is, Washington is doing all right.</p><p>The unemployment rate here has mirrored the national average at around 7 percent. Ross Reynolds talks with regional labor economist, Anneliese Vance-Sherman about Washington's recovery and industry trends. Fri, 20 Sep 2013 17:53:59 +0000 Ross Reynolds 20711 at http://kuow.org Washington's Job Recovery In Numbers Seattle Is The Wild West Of Game Design http://kuow.org/post/seattle-wild-west-game-design <p>One reason the Puget Sound region stayed stronger than some surrounding areas during the economic downturn is because of its tech industry. A particular bright spot is the computer gaming and interactive media industry.</p><p> Fri, 20 Sep 2013 08:00:00 +0000 Jamala Henderson 20639 at http://kuow.org Seattle Is The Wild West Of Game Design Passing The Torch To A New Generation Of Welders http://kuow.org/post/passing-torch-new-generation-welders <p></p> Thu, 19 Sep 2013 08:00:00 +0000 Ann Dornfeld 20338 at http://kuow.org Passing The Torch To A New Generation Of Welders Next Few Years Critical For Boeing Jobs In Washington http://kuow.org/post/next-few-years-critical-boeing-jobs-washington <p></p><p>The economic future of this region is still tied to the future of&nbsp; Boeing, the region&#39;s bellwether employer.&nbsp; The aerospace industry pays 7.5 percent of the wages in Washington state, and Boeing remains the region&rsquo;s largest private employer, with 85,000 local jobs. Wed, 18 Sep 2013 08:00:00 +0000 Carolyn Adolph 18747 at http://kuow.org Next Few Years Critical For Boeing Jobs In Washington Health Care Sector Jobs Slowly Rebounding From Recession http://kuow.org/post/health-care-sector-jobs-slowly-rebounding-recession <p>Nursing schools around the country have seen a jump in enrollment in the last few years. Many students were hoping to get in on what was supposed to be a recession-proof field: the growing health care sector. Instead, new graduates faced a tough market. Tue, 17 Sep 2013 15:20:07 +0000 Ruby de Luna 20258 at http://kuow.org Health Care Sector Jobs Slowly Rebounding From Recession Job Recovery From Small Town To Big City http://kuow.org/post/job-recovery-small-town-big-city <p>The economic downturn attributed to the Great Recession tested the resilience of many workers and careers.</p><p>King County&rsquo;s unemployment rate is more than 2 percent lower than the national rate. In fact, the Seattle area is seen as a bright spot in the recovery. But the farther you get from the big city, the more likely a&nbsp; different picture emerges. In some rural areas, incomes and job security are lower, and this has made for a tougher recovery. Mon, 16 Sep 2013 12:27:30 +0000 Liz Jones 20315 at http://kuow.org Job Recovery From Small Town To Big City