games http://kuow.org en Our Conversation On Race In 'World of Warcraft,' Unabridged http://kuow.org/post/our-conversation-race-world-warcraft-unabridged <a href="http://us.battle.net/wow/en/"><em>World of Warcraft</em> </a>is trying to reduce racial inequality. Mon, 10 Mar 2014 16:29:18 +0000 Gene Demby 30178 at http://kuow.org Our Conversation On Race In 'World of Warcraft,' Unabridged 'Jeopardy Villain' Explains How He Keeps Winning http://kuow.org/post/jeopardy-villain-explains-how-he-keeps-winning He&#8217;s being called the &#8220;Jeopardy villain,&#8221; but <strong>Arthur Chu</strong> of Broadview Heights, Ohio, considers himself more of a &#8220;mad genius.&#8221; The 30-year-old insurance analyst and voiceover artist has won three times since he came on the show last week.<p>Some say Chu is taking all the fun out of the game. He goes for the hardest questions first, slams down his buzzer incessantly and tries to get the host to speed up. Tue, 04 Feb 2014 22:01:00 +0000 editor 28214 at http://kuow.org 'Jeopardy Villain' Explains How He Keeps Winning Playing With Kinetic Sand And Electric Bugs http://kuow.org/post/playing-kinetic-sand-and-electric-bugs <p>Steve Scher explores the <a href="http://enssc.com/default.aspx?store=204">Pacific Science Center's </a>gift shop with store manager Katherine Johnson. Mon, 23 Dec 2013 23:01:22 +0000 Steve Scher & Amina Al-Sadi 26001 at http://kuow.org Playing With Kinetic Sand And Electric Bugs Move Over Choo Choo Trains, Seattle Kids Like Ferries http://kuow.org/post/move-over-choo-choo-trains-seattle-kids-ferries <p>Steve Scher visits Top Ten Toys in Greenwood to talk with owner Allen Rickert, who says this is a good year for ferry toys and Seattle-themed coloring books. Mon, 23 Dec 2013 22:45:20 +0000 Steve Scher 25987 at http://kuow.org Move Over Choo Choo Trains, Seattle Kids Like Ferries What Is 9 Letters Long And Turns 100 Tomorrow? http://kuow.org/post/what-9-letters-long-and-turns-100-tomorrow <p>Marcie Sillman&nbsp;discusses the origin of the first crossword puzzle with puzzle author Merl Reagle in honor of the crossword's 100th birthday on Saturday. Fri, 20 Dec 2013 23:19:50 +0000 Arwen Nicks & Marcie Sillman 25883 at http://kuow.org What Is 9 Letters Long And Turns 100 Tomorrow? Seattle Is The Wild West Of Game Design http://kuow.org/post/seattle-wild-west-game-design <p>One reason the Puget Sound region stayed stronger than some surrounding areas during the economic downturn is because of its tech industry. A particular bright spot is the computer gaming and interactive media industry.</p><p> Fri, 20 Sep 2013 08:00:00 +0000 Jamala Henderson 20639 at http://kuow.org Seattle Is The Wild West Of Game Design Does The Gaming World Welcome Women? http://kuow.org/post/does-gaming-world-welcome-women <p>One of the most successful video games in history, Grand Theft Auto, released their latest version on Tuesday. It made $800 million in 24 hours. Grand Theft Auto is known for heavy violence, drugs and sex - beating up women prostitutes is regular part of the game. And this latest release, Grand Theft Auto V, is just as raunchy as expected. But this time, some female gamers aren't buying. Jezebel's night editor, Laura Beck, is one of them. Ross Reynolds talks with Beck about why she won't play Grand Theft Auto V. Thu, 19 Sep 2013 17:36:33 +0000 Ross Reynolds 20629 at http://kuow.org Does The Gaming World Welcome Women? Grand Theft Auto V: The Last Big Console Release? http://kuow.org/post/grand-theft-auto-v-last-big-console-release <p></p><p></p><p>Grand Theft Auto released its latest version on Tuesday. It made $800 million in one day. But even though this release is causing a frenzy, console games are facing tough times. The rise of tablet and mobile gaming has brought fierce competition. Ross Reynolds talks with Bloomberg Businessweek writer, Joshua Brustein about the future of console gaming. Thu, 19 Sep 2013 17:24:51 +0000 Ross Reynolds 20631 at http://kuow.org Grand Theft Auto V: The Last Big Console Release? David Ewalt On Role-Playing Games In American Culture http://kuow.org/post/david-ewalt-role-playing-games-american-culture <p>Since gaining popularity in the 1970s, the role-playing game Dungeons &amp; Dragons has been a part of American culture.&nbsp; Journalist<a href="http://davidmewalt.com/"> David Ewalt</a> investigates why this particular game has remained popular and culturally influential.</p><p>He began playing the game when he was 10 years old.&nbsp; Now he’s an award winning journalist who writes about games for Forbes magazine.&nbsp; His new book is “Of Dice and Men: The Story of Dungeons &amp; Dragons and the People Who Play It.” Thu, 19 Sep 2013 16:28:39 +0000 Katy Sewall 20624 at http://kuow.org David Ewalt On Role-Playing Games In American Culture This Board Game Aims To Teach Preschoolers How To Code http://kuow.org/post/board-game-aims-teach-preschoolers-how-code <em>In our</em><em> </em><a href="http://www.npr.org/blogs/alltechconsidered/195149875/innovation">"Weekly Innovation" blog series</a><em>, we explore an interesting idea, design or product that you may not have heard of yet. Wed, 18 Sep 2013 16:43:21 +0000 Elise Hu 20550 at http://kuow.org This Board Game Aims To Teach Preschoolers How To Code James Good Is The World’s Third Best Pokémon Player http://kuow.org/post/james-good-world-s-third-best-pok-mon-player <p>Each year the world’s top Pokémon trading card players travel from around the globe to compete for the title of Pokémon World Champion. This year competitors from 25 countries traveled to Vancouver, B.C., to battle it out.</p><p>Playing in the master’s division, James Good of Sultan, Wash., beat 172 world class players to be named the third best player in the world. Although he grew up loving Pokémon, he only began competing seriously in 2012. He explains how luck and skill got him to the top. Wed, 04 Sep 2013 19:08:23 +0000 Ross Reynolds 19708 at http://kuow.org James Good Is The World’s Third Best Pokémon Player