science http://kuow.org en There's A 'Blood Moon' Eclipse Tonight, But Will You Be Able To See It? http://kuow.org/post/theres-blood-moon-eclipse-tonight-will-you-be-able-see-it It's looking like clouds will obscure Monday night's lunar eclipse for nearly all of the U.S. East Coast, but much of the West and Midwest should be able to see it.<p>As <a href="http://www.npr.org/blogs/thetwo-way/2014/04/11/301958755/total-eclipse-of-the-moon-next-week-throughout-north-america">we wrote last week</a>, the total eclipse of the moon — the first visible from North America since 2010 — will start a few minutes before 1 a.m. EDT and slowly continue over the next two hours until it peaks (reaches totality) about 3 a.m. Tuesday. On the West Coast, it starts about 10 p.m. Mon, 14 Apr 2014 15:06:00 +0000 Scott Neuman 32494 at http://kuow.org There's A 'Blood Moon' Eclipse Tonight, But Will You Be Able To See It? Even A Very Weak Signal From The Brain Might Help Paraplegics http://kuow.org/post/even-very-weak-signal-brain-might-help-paraplegics <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dJYzwuYKijU</p> Thu, 10 Apr 2014 18:33:28 +0000 editor 32295 at http://kuow.org Even A Very Weak Signal From The Brain Might Help Paraplegics Mars, Europa Or Enceladus, Where Should NASA Look For Life? http://kuow.org/post/mars-europa-or-enceladus-where-should-nasa-look-life <p></p><p>Ross Reynolds talks to<a href="http://www.nbcnews.com/science/space"> Alan Boyle</a>, science editor for NBCNews.com, about the recent discovery of water on Saturn's moon Enceladus. Boyle also talks about NASA's proposed mission to Europa and how the agency decides where to focus its space exploration dollars. Fri, 04 Apr 2014 21:49:50 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Amina Al-Sadi 31932 at http://kuow.org Mars, Europa Or Enceladus, Where Should NASA Look For Life? Northwest Researchers Document Whales Which Set New Breath-Hold Record http://kuow.org/post/northwest-researchers-document-whales-which-set-new-breath-hold-record <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/04/040214TB_Breath_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>Think about how long you can hold your breath and then let this discovery blow your mind.<p> Thu, 03 Apr 2014 11:06:20 +0000 Tom Banse 31844 at http://kuow.org Northwest Researchers Document Whales Which Set New Breath-Hold Record Geological Circumstances Behind Washington Mudslide http://kuow.org/post/geological-circumstances-behind-washington-mudslide As search efforts intensify around the site of Washington state&#8217;s devastating mudslide, geologists are looking into causes of the rapid collapse of the 1,500-foot-wide segment of hillside in Snohomish County that suddenly cut away and crushed the homes and roads below.<p>The chief culprit appears to have been the glacial composition of the hillside, which is made of silt, clay and soil, and very little rock, which tends to be very loose.<p>When these collapse they create something called a &#8220;rotational slide,&#8221; meaning that the land turns on itself, with the base of the hills m Wed, 26 Mar 2014 22:03:07 +0000 editor 31345 at http://kuow.org How Private Funding For Science Is A Dangerous Trend http://kuow.org/post/how-private-funding-science-dangerous-trend <p>David Hyde talks with Philip Mirowski, author of "Science Mart: Privatizing American Science," about why he thinks the move to privately funded science is undermining the quality of the research.</p><p>"The types of science that are being done are changing, and the way in which science is being done is changing," Mirowski said. "In fact, the quality of some of the science is being affected by it too." Thu, 20 Mar 2014 22:15:16 +0000 David Hyde & Hannah Burn 30949 at http://kuow.org How Private Funding For Science Is A Dangerous Trend ‘The Science Of Self’ With Jennifer Ouellette http://kuow.org/post/science-self-jennifer-ouellette <p>What defines us? What determines our identity?</p><p>Jennifer Ouellette explores how eye color, likes and dislikes, and even hatred of cilantro construct our individual identities. She underwent personality tests and genome sequencing to determine the slight variations that set us all apart.</p><p>Ouellette is a blogger for "Scientific American" and the author of “Me, Myself, and Why: Searching for the Science of Self.” She spoke at Town Hall on February 25, 2014. Thu, 20 Mar 2014 17:21:54 +0000 Rachel Solomon 30506 at http://kuow.org ‘The Science Of Self’ With Jennifer Ouellette Researchers Studying A 'Chocolate Pill' To Help Prevent Heart Disease http://kuow.org/post/researchers-studying-chocolate-pill-help-prevent-heart-disease <p>Marcie Sillman&nbsp;checks in with Garnet Andersen, director of Public Health Services at the Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center, about a new project to encapsulate the cocoa flavanol&nbsp;from chocolate and study its benefits on post-menopausal women. Tue, 18 Mar 2014 22:26:38 +0000 Marcie Sillman & Christine Streich 30805 at http://kuow.org Researchers Studying A 'Chocolate Pill' To Help Prevent Heart Disease A Tour Of The Intellectual Ventures Lab In Bellevue http://kuow.org/post/tour-intellectual-ventures-lab-bellevue <p>Ross Reynolds goes on a tour of the Intellectual Ventures Laboratory in Bellevue with inventor and futurist Pablos Holman.</p><p>Holman's team projects include a laser that can quickly detect if a person has malaria, a cooler that can keep vaccines from going bad and the high tech kitchen — more like a science lab actually — used to produce Nathan Myrhvold's 51 pound, multi-volume "Modernist Cuisine" books. Tue, 18 Mar 2014 21:44:22 +0000 Ross Reynolds 30546 at http://kuow.org A Tour Of The Intellectual Ventures Lab In Bellevue NASA Offers $35,000 For Help In Tracking Asteroids http://kuow.org/post/nasa-offers-35000-help-tracking-asteroids Cash prizes await "citizen scientists" who can improve algorithms that help NASA find and identify asteroids in our solar system, the agency says. Tue, 11 Mar 2014 15:53:21 +0000 Bill Chappell 30261 at http://kuow.org NASA Offers $35,000 For Help In Tracking Asteroids Why Do Earthworms Love To Come Out In The Rain? http://kuow.org/post/why-do-earthworms-love-come-out-rain <p>This week when I’ve asked my kids about their school day, their answers have been all about worms. Their recess playgrounds have been lively with earthworms surfacing, as they typically do during a rainy week like we had. When I was a kid, they told us worms surfaced so they wouldn't drown. Fri, 07 Mar 2014 18:05:26 +0000 Bill Radke 30060 at http://kuow.org Why Do Earthworms Love To Come Out In The Rain? Dated Methods Mean Slow Return For Fallen Soldiers — Or None At All http://kuow.org/post/dated-methods-mean-slow-return-fallen-soldiers-or-none-all The agency charged with bringing home and identifying American war dead is slow, inefficient and stymied by outdated methods, <a href="http://apps.npr.org/grave-science/">according to a joint investigation by NPR and ProPublica. </a> <div class="fullattribution">Copyright 2014 NPR. Fri, 07 Mar 2014 16:53:01 +0000 Kelly McEvers 30051 at http://kuow.org Dated Methods Mean Slow Return For Fallen Soldiers — Or None At All Neanderthal Man: How All Humans Are Africans http://kuow.org/post/neanderthal-man-how-all-humans-are-africans <p>David Hyde talks with author Svante P<span>ää</span>bo about his book "Neanderthal Man: In Search of Lost Genomes" and what it means to be part-Neanderthal. Tue, 04 Mar 2014 23:09:19 +0000 David Hyde & Hannah Burn 29833 at http://kuow.org Neanderthal Man: How All Humans Are Africans Are You Buying Pseudoscience At The Grocery Store? http://kuow.org/post/are-you-buying-pseudoscience-grocery-store <p>David Hyde talks with freelance journalist Michael Schulson about his Daily Beast article, "<a href="http://www.thedailybeast.com/articles/2014/02/23/whole-foods-america-s-temple-of-pseudoscience.html">Whole Foods: America's Temple of Pseudoscience</a>." Tue, 04 Mar 2014 22:59:45 +0000 David Hyde & Andy Hurst 29834 at http://kuow.org Are You Buying Pseudoscience At The Grocery Store? Can The Mammoth Walk Amongst Us Again? http://kuow.org/post/can-mammoth-walk-amongst-us-again <p>Marcie Sillman talks with Harvard geneticist George Church about reviving extinct species.</p><p>Rather than trying to clone mammoths, scientists are taking their DNA and analyzing them in hopes of producing an Asian elephant that looks and behaves just like its extinct ancestor. Fri, 28 Feb 2014 22:44:47 +0000 Marcie Sillman & Amina Al-Sadi 29654 at http://kuow.org Can The Mammoth Walk Amongst Us Again?