science http://kuow.org en What Are Scorpion Venom And Brain Tumors Doing In A Lab Together? http://kuow.org/post/what-are-scorpion-venom-and-brain-tumors-doing-lab-together <p>After removing a tumor, surgeons are confronted with an unfortunate reality: they can’t be sure they got it all. It can be difficult to distinguish between normal tissue and cancerous cells while operating.</p><p>Dr. Jim Olson, an oncologist at the University of Washington, was inspired by his young patients to find a way to ensure that surgeons didn’t miss anything. Mon, 28 Jul 2014 22:12:33 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Hannah Burn 39075 at http://kuow.org What Are Scorpion Venom And Brain Tumors Doing In A Lab Together? Dogs Understand Fairness, Get Jealous, Study Finds http://kuow.org/post/dogs-understand-fairness-get-jealous-study-finds Dogs have an intuitive understanding of fair play and become resentful if they feel that another dog is getting a better deal, a new study has found. <p>The study, in the <em>Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences,</em> looked at how dogs react when a buddy is rewarded for the same trick in an unequal way.<p>Friederike Range, a researcher at the University of Vienna in Austria, and her colleagues did a series of experiments with dogs who knew how to respond to the command "give the paw," or shake. Wed, 23 Jul 2014 18:24:56 +0000 Nell Greenfieldboyce 38803 at http://kuow.org Pop Quiz: 20 Percent Chance Of Rain. Do You Need An Umbrella? http://kuow.org/post/pop-quiz-20-percent-chance-rain-do-you-need-umbrella This week, <em>All Things Considered</em> is exploring <a href="http://www.npr.org/series/333708682/risk-and-reason" target="_blank">how people interpret probability</a>. What does it mean to us, for example, when a doctor says an operation has a <a href="http://www.npr.org/blogs/health/2014/07/21/332074963/what-the-odds-fail-to-capture-when-a-health-crisis-hits" target="_blank">70 percent chance of success?</a><p>One of the most common encounters with percent probabilities has to do with weather. Take a moment to consider the question below. Tue, 22 Jul 2014 21:26:34 +0000 editor 38755 at http://kuow.org Pop Quiz: 20 Percent Chance Of Rain. Do You Need An Umbrella? Sixth-Grader's Science Project Catches Ecologists' Attention http://kuow.org/post/sixth-graders-science-fair-finding-shocks-ecologists <em>(July 24, 2014: See the editor's note at the bottom of this page for an explanation of the story's new headline.)</em><p>When 12-year-old Lauren Arrington heard about her sixth-grade science project, she knew she wanted to study lionfish. Growing up in Jupiter, Fla., she saw them in the ocean while snorkeling and fishing with her dad.<p>Her project showed that the lionfish can survive in nearly fresh water. The results blew away professional ecologists. Sun, 20 Jul 2014 21:31:00 +0000 NPR Staff 38602 at http://kuow.org Sixth-Grader's Science Project Catches Ecologists' Attention As Polar Icebox Shrinks, Infectious Pathogens Move North http://kuow.org/post/polar-icebox-shrinks-infectious-pathogens-move-north Transcript <p>ARUN RATH, HOST: <p>Infectious diseases may be spreading more quickly, thanks to global warming. Viruses that were kept in check by the polar ice box are being released. And as some animals move north to keep cool, they're bringing all sorts of parasites with them, from microbes to ticks. Christopher Solomon has written about this in the August issue of "Scientific American." And he joins me now from Montana Public Radio in Missoula. Sun, 20 Jul 2014 14:37:00 +0000 editor 38589 at http://kuow.org Young Scientists Say They're Sexually Abused In The Field http://kuow.org/post/young-scientists-say-theyre-sexually-abused-field Many young scientists dream of their first trip to a remote research site — who wouldn't want to hang out with chimps like Jane Goodall, or sail to the Galapagos like Charles Darwin, exploring the world and advancing science?<p>But for many scientists, field research can endanger their health and safety.<p>In a survey of scientists engaged in field research, the majority — 64 percent — said they had personally experienced sexual harassment while at a field site, and 22 percent reported being the victim of sexual assault.<p>Most of the people reporting harassment or assault were women, and the Thu, 17 Jul 2014 14:58:07 +0000 editor 38417 at http://kuow.org Rewiring Nerves So The Brain Can Move Prosthetic Limbs http://kuow.org/post/rewiring-nerves-so-brain-can-move-prosthetic-limbs <p>Marcie Sillman&nbsp;talks with Dr. Doug Smith, an orthopedic surgeon at Harborview and the University of Washington, about emerging technology in which nerves can be relocated in amputated limbs so the brain can control prosthetic devices. Wed, 16 Jul 2014 22:23:54 +0000 Marcie Sillman & Matthew Streib 38385 at http://kuow.org This Dirty Little Weed May Have Cleaned Up Ancient Teeth http://kuow.org/post/dirty-little-weed-may-have-cleaned-ancient-teeth The menus of millennia past can be tough to crack, especially when it comes to fruits and vegetables. Wed, 16 Jul 2014 22:07:00 +0000 editor 38393 at http://kuow.org This Dirty Little Weed May Have Cleaned Up Ancient Teeth A Huge New Crater Is Found In Siberia, And The Theories Fly http://kuow.org/post/huge-new-crater-found-siberia-and-theories-fly <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2kMs05VaOfE</p> Wed, 16 Jul 2014 15:40:00 +0000 Bill Chappell 38350 at http://kuow.org A Huge New Crater Is Found In Siberia, And The Theories Fly Fossil Discovery May Reveal Largest Bird Ever To Fly http://kuow.org/post/fossil-discovery-may-reveal-largest-bird-ever-fly An extinct species of bird just discovered by a Connecticut scientist may have been the largest ever to fly. The <em>pelagornis sandersi</em> lived 25 million years ago. Wed, 16 Jul 2014 14:30:45 +0000 editor 38345 at http://kuow.org Fossil Discovery May Reveal Largest Bird Ever To Fly Long Before Babies Talk, They're Plotting Away http://kuow.org/post/long-babies-talk-theyre-plotting-away <p>A University of Washington <a href="http://www.pnas.org/content/early/2014/07/10/1410963111.full.pdf+html">study</a> published Monday in the <em>Proceedings of the National Academy of Science</em> gives clues about how talking to babies from an early age helps them say their first words. Mon, 14 Jul 2014 19:06:46 +0000 Ann Dornfeld 38204 at http://kuow.org Long Before Babies Talk, They're Plotting Away What's Killing Clams? Solve This Low Tide Mystery http://kuow.org/post/whats-killing-clams-solve-low-tide-mystery <p>One of the lowest tides of the year this weekend revealed a "crime scene" at the beach at Golden Gardens Park in Seattle. Mon, 14 Jul 2014 15:16:35 +0000 Joshua McNichols 38188 at http://kuow.org What's Killing Clams? Solve This Low Tide Mystery Ducks Do It Differently, And Science Wants You To Know About It http://kuow.org/post/ducks-do-it-differently-and-science-wants-you-know-about-it Scientists who carry out basic research sometimes find themselves unexpectedly caught up in a web of vitriolic public attacks by politicians pretending to expose foolish, dollar-wasting projects. Fri, 11 Jul 2014 14:25:18 +0000 editor 38048 at http://kuow.org Ducks Do It Differently, And Science Wants You To Know About It Study Finds Forests Recover 'Quickly' After Fire -- In Tree Years Anyway http://kuow.org/post/study-finds-forests-recover-quickly-after-fire-tree-years-anyway <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/07/070914JR_ForestRecovery_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>Fire season has come alive in the Northwest. On Monday, 20 homes in Idaho's Sun Valley area were briefly under evacuation when a fire broke out in a nearby canyon. A 5,000-acre fire north of Wenatchee, Washington, continues to threaten houses in the area.<p> Thu, 10 Jul 2014 14:54:41 +0000 Jessica Robinson 37962 at http://kuow.org Study Finds Forests Recover 'Quickly' After Fire -- In Tree Years Anyway Math Nerd Or Bookworm? Many Of The Same Genes Shape Both Abilities http://kuow.org/post/math-nerd-or-bookworm-many-same-genes-shape-both-abilities <strong></strong>Many of us tend to align ourselves with either numbers or words. Thu, 10 Jul 2014 14:10:00 +0000 editor 37957 at http://kuow.org Math Nerd Or Bookworm? Many Of The Same Genes Shape Both Abilities