sports http://kuow.org en Injured Sherpa Explains Why He'll Never Climb Mount Everest Again http://kuow.org/post/injured-sherpa-explains-why-hell-never-climb-mount-everest-again Monitors flash Kaji Sherpa's vital signs as he recovers in the ICU of Katmandu's Norvic International hospital. Thu, 24 Apr 2014 20:41:20 +0000 Julie McCarthy 33236 at http://kuow.org Injured Sherpa Explains Why He'll Never Climb Mount Everest Again America's Meb Keflezighi Wins An Emotional Boston Marathon http://kuow.org/post/americas-meb-keflezighi-wins-emotional-boston-marathon In the men's field of the 118<sup>th</sup> Boston Marathon, American Meb Keflezighi ended a 31-year drought for U.S. runners, after holding off Wilson Chebet of Kenya in a race that came down to the final mile.<p>According to race officials, Keflezighi, 38, ran a 4:56 split at mile 23, when he built a 20-second lead. Mon, 21 Apr 2014 16:53:33 +0000 Bill Chappell 32937 at http://kuow.org America's Meb Keflezighi Wins An Emotional Boston Marathon It's Time To Run Again In Boston: Here's The Schedule http://kuow.org/post/its-time-run-again-boston-heres-schedule We don't need to go on at length about why today's running of the Boston Marathon is important.<p>We all know it's the first <a href="http://www.npr.org/series/177378595/boston-marathon-explosions" target="_blank">since the bombings near the finish line of last year's race</a>. The explosions killed three people and injured another 260 or so. In the four days that followed, authorities say, the two suspects murdered an MIT campus police officer. One of the two brothers accused of carrying out the bombings then died after a gun battle with police. The other is in custody. Mon, 21 Apr 2014 10:53:00 +0000 Mark Memmott 32917 at http://kuow.org It's Time To Run Again In Boston: Here's The Schedule Runner Returns To Boston With A New Outlook On Life http://kuow.org/post/runner-returns-boston-new-outlook-life <em><a href="http://npr8.tumblr.com/runners">Eight runners</a> entered in the 2014 Boston Marathon are <a href="http://npr8.tumblr.com/">documenting their race preparations</a> for NPR in a Tumblr blog. <a href="http://npr8.tumblr.com/tagged/demi-clark">Demi Clark</a> is one of the eight, and this is her story.</em><p><hr /><p>Demi Clark was having a storybook Boston Marathon experience when the first blast sounded out like a cannon behind her. Tue, 15 Apr 2014 11:33:00 +0000 editor 32562 at http://kuow.org Runner Returns To Boston With A New Outlook On Life Extended Season For Some Northwest Ski Areas, But Profits Scarce http://kuow.org/post/extended-season-some-northwest-ski-areas-profits-scarce <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/04/041014TB_SkiDoldrums_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>Thanks to late-season snow that fell at many area Cascade ski areas will welcome skiers and snowboarders well past Easter.<p> Mon, 14 Apr 2014 15:16:12 +0000 Tom Banse 32496 at http://kuow.org Extended Season For Some Northwest Ski Areas, But Profits Scarce Slow SPD Reform, Health Care Milestone, And The Mariners Start Strong http://kuow.org/post/slow-spd-reform-health-care-milestone-and-mariners-start-strong <p>Steve Scher recaps the news of the week with Knute Berger of Crosscut and Seattle Magazine, political analyst C.R. Douglas for Q13 Fox News and associate editor Eli Sanders of The Stranger. Fri, 04 Apr 2014 23:02:01 +0000 Steve Scher 31948 at http://kuow.org Slow SPD Reform, Health Care Milestone, And The Mariners Start Strong Nancy Pearl: Swing And A Hit http://kuow.org/post/nancy-pearl-swing-and-hit <p></p><p>Steve Scher talks with librarian Nancy Pearl about just a few of the many baseball books available, just in time for Tuesday's Opening Night at Safeco Field. Fri, 04 Apr 2014 21:54:06 +0000 Steve Scher 31624 at http://kuow.org Nancy Pearl: Swing And A Hit The Strange Language Of Baseball http://kuow.org/post/strange-language-baseball <p></p><p>From 'cup of coffee' to 'Bronx cheer,' Ross Reynolds runs the language bases of baseball with linguist <a href="http://benzimmer.com/">Ben Zimmer</a>. Wed, 02 Apr 2014 21:44:11 +0000 Arwen Nicks & Ross Reynolds 31805 at http://kuow.org The Strange Language Of Baseball The Untold Story Of African American Baseball In Washington State http://kuow.org/post/untold-story-african-american-baseball-washington-state <p>Steve Scher talks with Chieko Phillips, exhibitions manager at the Northwest African American Museum, about its new exhibit, "<a href="http://www.naamnw.org/exhibits/">Pitch Black: African American Baseball in Washington</a>." Mon, 31 Mar 2014 20:53:49 +0000 Steve Scher & Andy Hurst 31603 at http://kuow.org The Untold Story Of African American Baseball In Washington State For Women, Being A Jock May Also Signal Political Ambition http://kuow.org/post/women-being-jock-may-also-signal-political-ambition Sen. Kirsten Gillibrand of New York tries to play tennis a couple of times a week. Sports have been part of her life for a long time, going back to high school when she played tennis and soccer.<p>Later, at Dartmouth in the late 1980s, Gillibrand served as co-captain of the squash team. What the future senator did not do in college was participate in student government. "I'd gone to one or two young Democratic events, and interestingly, it was almost all male — and all of the men were very aggressive," she says. Sat, 29 Mar 2014 21:15:00 +0000 Alexandra Starr 31545 at http://kuow.org For Women, Being A Jock May Also Signal Political Ambition Ruling Says College Football Players Are University Employees, Can Unionize http://kuow.org/post/ruling-says-college-football-players-are-university-employees-can-unionize <p></p><p>David Hyde talks with writer <a href="http://www.buzzbissinger.com/">Buzz Bissinger</a> about the National Labor Relations Board decision to allow football players at Northwestern University to form a labor union. Thu, 27 Mar 2014 21:53:33 +0000 David Hyde & Andy Hurst 31404 at http://kuow.org Ruling Says College Football Players Are University Employees, Can Unionize Has Seattle Sounders’ Success Trickled Down Into Pioneer Square? http://kuow.org/post/has-seattle-sounders-success-trickled-down-pioneer-square <p></p><p>The Sounders FC soccer team played their first Major League Soccer game five years ago Wednesday. In that time, the team’s fans have broken attendance records over and over.</p><p>But has the team’s financial success trickled down into the community? It depends on who you ask. Wed, 19 Mar 2014 19:19:59 +0000 Joshua McNichols 30845 at http://kuow.org Has Seattle Sounders’ Success Trickled Down Into Pioneer Square? March Madness In The Workplace http://kuow.org/post/march-madness-workplace <p>Steve Scher talks with Andy Challenger, vice president of the outplacement firm Challenger, Gray and Christmas, about the firm's <a href="http://www.challengergray.com/press/press-releases/march-madness-could-cost-employers-12b" target="_blank">report</a> that the college basketball tournament costs billions of dollars in worker productivity. Tue, 18 Mar 2014 22:26:15 +0000 Steve Scher & Christine Streich 30804 at http://kuow.org March Madness In The Workplace A Lost Season For An Oregon Ski Area http://kuow.org/post/lost-season-oregon-ski-area Oregon’s southernmost ski resort, <a href="http://www.mtashland.com" title="">Mt. Ashland</a>, announced Friday that it will not open due to lack of snow. Mon, 17 Mar 2014 15:50:02 +0000 Devan Schwartz 30672 at http://kuow.org A Lost Season For An Oregon Ski Area Persevering Olympian Finds 'Life Changing' Welcome In Peru http://kuow.org/post/persevering-olympian-finds-life-changing-welcome-peru <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/03/031214TB_OlympicHero_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>Despite finishing dead last in his race in Sochi, a Peruvian-American Olympic cross country skier is looking forward to a big welcome when he returns home to Seattle this weekend.<p> Thu, 13 Mar 2014 15:47:58 +0000 Tom Banse 30448 at http://kuow.org Persevering Olympian Finds 'Life Changing' Welcome In Peru