gender equality http://kuow.org en Damn Right We're Trans* http://kuow.org/post/damn-right-were-trans <p>What&nbsp;sex&nbsp;were you assigned at birth, boy or girl? It’s a simple question. Too simple sometimes. Not everyone fits neatly into the role they were assigned. Boys and girls are not all the same. A <a href="http://transequality.org/Resources/TransTerminology_2014.pdf">transgender</a> person is someone “whose gender identity, expression or behavior is different from those typically associated with their assigned sex at birth." Mon, 07 Jul 2014 20:40:34 +0000 John O'Brien 37753 at http://kuow.org Damn Right We're Trans* UW Research Group Finds Women Make Boards Better http://kuow.org/post/uw-research-group-finds-women-make-boards-better <p>Marcie Sillman talks with University of Washington professor Cate Goethals about her research group, Building Better Boards. Mon, 16 Jun 2014 21:58:57 +0000 Marcie Sillman & Hannah Burn 36491 at http://kuow.org UW Research Group Finds Women Make Boards Better Not Enough Hours In The Day? We All Feel A Little 'Overwhelmed' http://kuow.org/post/not-enough-hours-day-we-all-feel-little-overwhelmed Sometimes there just isn't enough time to get it all done. <em>Washington Post</em> journalist Brigid Schulte has certainly felt that way. "I was working all the time and yet never very good at what I was doing," she tells NPR's David Greene. " ... I felt all this pressure that I was a working mom and so I was always so guilty, and I didn't want to ruin their childhood. So I was up at 2 in the morning to bake cupcakes for the Valentine's party."<p>Schulte consulted a sociologist who studies how people use their time. "I will show you where your leisure is," he told her. Tue, 11 Mar 2014 15:53:52 +0000 NPR Staff 30262 at http://kuow.org Not Enough Hours In The Day? We All Feel A Little 'Overwhelmed' The Conversation Faces The End http://kuow.org/post/conversation-faces-end <p></p><p><strong>The World Is <em>Not</em> Ending! But What If It Was?</strong></p><p>Some people believed the world would end on December 21, 2012, and they were completely wrong about that. David Hyde asked listeners how they would spend their last day on earth. Thankfully, the apocalypse did not come so we can bring you the best of listeners’ plans for their final hours on earth. Fri, 30 Aug 2013 13:00:00 +0000 the conversation with ross reynolds 18240 at http://kuow.org The Conversation Faces The End The End Of Men And The Rise Of Women http://kuow.org/post/end-men-and-rise-women <p></p><p>Women now comprise 50 percent of the workforce. But for the most part, they’re not running big companies or Congress and they’re still getting paid less.</p><p>Looking at the statistics, Hanna Rosin <a href="http://ttbook.org/book/hanna-rosin-end-men">sees big changes</a> coming. She documents these changes in her book, "The End Of Men: And The Rise Of Women<em>.</em>" With universities now dominated by women, Rosin sees men struggling to adapt to a changing economy. Meanwhile, she says women, accustomed to being more flexible, are on the ascent.</p><p><strong>Full list of stories on <em>KUOW Presents</em>, August 6:</strong> Tue, 06 Aug 2013 19:30:20 +0000 Joshua McNichols 18078 at http://kuow.org The End Of Men And The Rise Of Women City Task Force On Pay Equity To Address Seattle’s Gender Wage Gap http://kuow.org/post/city-task-force-pay-equity-address-seattle-s-gender-wage-gap <p>A new report shows there is a 9.5 percent gap between the salaries earned by men who work for the city of Seattle, compared with the salaries of women. The mayor has asked a task force to look into the situation and make recommendations on how to close the gap.</p><p>Julie Nelson is the director of Seattle’s Office of Civil Rights. She’s on the task force. She says she hopes it will have an influence on private-sector gender pay gaps as well as the disparity within the city.&nbsp;</p> Wed, 17 Jul 2013 17:58:42 +0000 Lisa Brooks 16866 at http://kuow.org