marijuana http://kuow.org en Youth Access To Marijuana Remains A Concern Under Legalization http://kuow.org/post/youth-access-marijuana-remains-concern-under-legalization <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/04/042114AJ_MJRegs_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>As Washington and Colorado go where no state or nation has gone before concerns remain about kids getting their hands on pot.<p> Tue, 22 Apr 2014 15:07:40 +0000 Austin Jenkins 33008 at http://kuow.org Youth Access To Marijuana Remains A Concern Under Legalization Marijuana License Lottery Week: How Does It Work? http://kuow.org/post/marijuana-license-lottery-week-how-does-it-work <p></p><p>Marcie Sillman talks with Brian Smith, communications director at the <span class="st">Washington State Liquor Control Board</span>, about the process for the state's retail pot license lottery happening this week. Mon, 21 Apr 2014 21:44:59 +0000 Marcie Sillman & Hannah Burn 32945 at http://kuow.org Marijuana License Lottery Week: How Does It Work? To Keep Business Growing, Vendors Rebrand Pot's Stoner Image http://kuow.org/post/keep-business-growing-vendors-rebrand-pots-stoner-image From the outside, Jan Cole's recreational marijuana store in Boulder, Colo., just feels welcoming. Big glass windows let in natural light, and the walls are painted in soothing earth tones. Cole used her background in spa management to build a "warm and inviting" pot shop that puts customers at ease.<p>In fact, the store's name, The Farm, is so inconspicuous, "we have a lot of people who come in think that we might be an organic food grocer or something," she says.<p>And that's exactly who Cole is trying to attract: the tote-bag carrying, socially conscious, natural-food crowd. Mon, 21 Apr 2014 21:26:00 +0000 editor 32979 at http://kuow.org To Keep Business Growing, Vendors Rebrand Pot's Stoner Image Marijuana Consultants Offer Advice To Potential Pot Dealers http://kuow.org/post/marijuana-consultants-office-advice-potential-pot-dealers <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/04/041814CL_potworkshops_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>The Northwest’s budding marijuana industry means opportunity for pot consultants.<p> Mon, 21 Apr 2014 15:11:13 +0000 Chris Lehman 32927 at http://kuow.org Marijuana Consultants Offer Advice To Potential Pot Dealers Legal At Last, Colorado's Pot Contest Gets Competitively Mellow http://kuow.org/post/legal-last-colorados-pot-contest-gets-competitively-mellow Transcript <p>RACHEL MARTIN, HOST: <p>Today, some 30,000 people will converge in Denver, Colo. for the 5th annual Cannabis Cup, a marijuana festival and tradeshow. It's the first time the event is being held after legal marijuana sales went into effect January 1 of this year. To learn more about the event, we're joined by Ricardo Baca. He's the editor of "The Cannabist" blog at the Denver Post. Thanks so much for being with us, Ricardo.<p>RICARDO BACA: Hey. Thank you.<p>MARTIN: So first off, this is kind of tongue-in-cheek, but the event is happening on April 20, which is 420. Sun, 20 Apr 2014 12:07:00 +0000 editor 32888 at http://kuow.org Why The Black Market For Marijuana May Not Go Away http://kuow.org/post/why-black-market-marijuana-may-not-go-away <p>Ross Reynolds talks with Dominic Corva, executive director of <a href="http://cannabisandsocialpolicy.org/">the Center for the Study of Cannabis and Social Policy</a>, about the implications for pot bans and moratoriums in Washington state. Thu, 17 Apr 2014 22:07:04 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Andy Hurst 32742 at http://kuow.org Why The Black Market For Marijuana May Not Go Away Study Links Casual Pot Use With Brain Abnormalities http://kuow.org/post/study-links-casual-pot-use-brain-abnormalities Young adults who smoke marijuana at least once a week showed changes in the size and shape of two key brain regions, according to a new study of 20 pot smokers and 20 non-pot smokers between 18 and 25.<p>This is the first time recreational marijuana use has been connected to significant brain changes.<p>The findings, a collaboration between Northwestern University and Massachusetts General Hospital/Harvard Medical School, were published in The Journal of Neuroscience.<p>The senior author of the study, <strong>Hans Breiter</strong>, joins <em><a href="http://hereandnow.wbur.org/">Here & Now&#82 Wed, 16 Apr 2014 17:40:39 +0000 editor 32659 at http://kuow.org Study Links Casual Pot Use With Brain Abnormalities Colorado High School Offers Treatment To Drug Users http://kuow.org/post/colorado-high-school-offers-treatment-drug-users Ever since recreational marijuana became legal in Colorado in January, some school officials say they&#8217;re seeing more students using it. Wed, 16 Apr 2014 17:40:33 +0000 editor 32658 at http://kuow.org Colorado High School Offers Treatment To Drug Users Does Legalized Marijuana Put Washington Drivers At Risk Out Of State? http://kuow.org/post/does-legalized-marijuana-put-washington-drivers-risk-out-state <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/04/041114CL_licenseplates_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>Some drivers from Washington and Colorado say they're being targeted by police when they cross into Idaho.<p> Mon, 14 Apr 2014 11:09:59 +0000 Chris Lehman 32495 at http://kuow.org Does Legalized Marijuana Put Washington Drivers At Risk Out Of State? Roger Roffman On Marijuana Legalization http://kuow.org/post/roger-roffman-marijuana-legalization <p>Ross Reynolds talks with academic and activist <a href="http://rogerroffman.com">Roger Roffman</a> about his involvement with marijuana and public policy for 45 years. His latest book is "Marijuana Nation: One Man’s Chronicle of America Getting High: From Vietnam to Legalization." Mon, 07 Apr 2014 16:54:07 +0000 Ross Reynolds 32102 at http://kuow.org Roger Roffman On Marijuana Legalization Washington Pot Store Lottery Announced; Grow Licenses Lagging http://kuow.org/post/washington-pot-store-lottery-announced-grow-licenses-lagging <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/04/040214AJ_MJLottery_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>The timeline for when Washington’s first marijuana retail stores will open has slipped from June to early July, according to state Liquor Control Board staff.<p> Thu, 03 Apr 2014 11:01:37 +0000 Austin Jenkins 31843 at http://kuow.org Washington Pot Store Lottery Announced; Grow Licenses Lagging All In The Family: Bringing Cannabis Business To Port Townsend http://kuow.org/post/all-family-bringing-cannabis-business-port-townsend <p>Port Townsend father-son duo, Martin Gay and Dakota Sandoval, eagerly anticipate the fate of their marijuana business as Washington State Liquor Board starts issuing licenses next month.</p><p>Gay and Sandoval’s business, Jefferson County Cannabis Company, was among more than 7,000 applications that were submitted in December to legally grow pot in the state. Wed, 26 Mar 2014 21:07:50 +0000 Arwen Nicks & Hannah Burn 29419 at http://kuow.org All In The Family: Bringing Cannabis Business To Port Townsend Bellevue City Council Considers Ban On Marijuana Businesses http://kuow.org/post/bellevue-city-council-considers-ban-marijuana-businesses <p></p><p>Ross Reynolds talks with Bellevue Mayor <a href="http://www.ci.bellevue.wa.us/claudia_balducci.htm">Claudia Balducci</a>&nbsp;about a possible ban on marijuana businesses in the fifth largest city in Washington. Fri, 21 Mar 2014 22:30:00 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Andy Hurst 31054 at http://kuow.org Bellevue City Council Considers Ban On Marijuana Businesses ACLU's Alison Holcomb Shares Pot Advice With The United Nations http://kuow.org/post/aclus-alison-holcomb-shares-pot-advice-united-nations <p></p><p>David Hyde talks with <span style="line-height: 1.5;">Alison Holcomb, </span><a href="https://aclu-wa.org/">ACLU of Washington</a>'s criminal justice director, <span style="line-height: 1.5;">about her recent trip to the United Nations.</span> Fri, 21 Mar 2014 22:29:33 +0000 David Hyde & Hannah Burn 31055 at http://kuow.org ACLU's Alison Holcomb Shares Pot Advice With The United Nations Report: Pot Cases Plunge After Marijuana Legalization In Washington http://kuow.org/post/report-pot-cases-plunge-after-marijuana-legalization-washington <p>Steve Scher talks with Mark Cooke, policy advocate with the <a href="https://aclu-wa.org/">ACLU of Washington</a>, about the organization's findings that the number of <a href="https://aclu-wa.org/news/court-filings-adult-marijuana-possession-plummet">marijuana possession filings have dropped significantly</a> since Washington legalized pot. Thu, 20 Mar 2014 22:19:34 +0000 Steve Scher & Hannah Burn 30947 at http://kuow.org Report: Pot Cases Plunge After Marijuana Legalization In Washington