marijuana http://kuow.org en Oregon To Vote On Legalizing Marijuana, Again http://kuow.org/post/oregon-vote-legalizing-marijuana-again <p>Ross Reynolds talks with Anthony Johnson, director of New Approach Oregon, which recently submitted enough signatures for a referendum on recreational marijuana legalization to appear on the November ballot. Thu, 24 Jul 2014 22:13:24 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Matthew Streib 38910 at http://kuow.org Are Seattle Police Targeting Black Pot Smokers? http://kuow.org/post/are-seattle-police-targeting-black-pot-smokers <p>Ross Reynolds talks with Seattle City Attorney Pete Holmes about whether a disproportionate amount of black people are issued tickets for public pot use. Holmes says he's working on a plan to provide public spaces that are safe to smoke marijuana.</p><p> Thu, 24 Jul 2014 21:47:43 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Shane Mehling 38887 at http://kuow.org Are Seattle Police Targeting Black Pot Smokers? A Dope Insight On How Weed Affects Teens http://kuow.org/post/dope-insight-how-weed-affects-teens <p>Join Nia Price-Nascimento and Angela Nguyen on "Weed Wednesday" to hear opinions from teens and adults about the underage use of marijuana, as well as facts from an expert. Add your voice to the conversation using #WeedRadioActive Wed, 23 Jul 2014 16:34:06 +0000 Angela Nguyen & Nia Price-Nascimento 38764 at http://kuow.org A Dope Insight On How Weed Affects Teens Oregonians Will Vote On Marijuana Legalization In November http://kuow.org/post/oregonians-will-vote-marijuana-legalization-november <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/07/072214CL_ormarijuana_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>An initiative to legalize recreational marijuana in Oregon qualified for the November ballot Tuesday.<p> Wed, 23 Jul 2014 15:44:01 +0000 Chris Lehman 38787 at http://kuow.org Oregonians Will Vote On Marijuana Legalization In November Gourmet Marijuana Goodies Just Out Of Reach In Washington http://kuow.org/post/gourmet-marijuana-goodies-just-out-reach-washington <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">State-licensed marijuana retail stores are just opening their doors in Washington and state regulators are still deciding what customers will find inside. Last month the Washington State Liquor Control Board told processors they will allow sweets, but not if they’re presented in a way that’s deemed "especially appealing to children.</span>" Mon, 21 Jul 2014 16:21:24 +0000 Amy Radil 38547 at http://kuow.org Gourmet Marijuana Goodies Just Out Of Reach In Washington Regrets: Do You Have A Few? http://kuow.org/post/regrets-do-you-have-few <p>Some Microsoft employees probably regret not taking that other job offer. Seattle’s city attorney regrets bringing his pot to work. Should a Seattle theater company regret not casting any Asian American actors for its current show? And you'll regret it if you take I-90 westbound into Seattle next week.<br /><br />What else do you regret? And how would you tell your younger self to avoid regrets? Fri, 18 Jul 2014 21:45:06 +0000 Bill Radke 38536 at http://kuow.org Regrets: Do You Have A Few? Washington's Last Waltz With Ending Prohibition http://kuow.org/post/washingtons-last-waltz-ending-prohibition <p>Ross Reynolds talks to&nbsp;<span style="line-height: 1.5;">Redmond Barnett, head of the exhibits department for the W</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">ashington State Historical Society, about what happened the last time the state lifted prohibition. </span> Thu, 17 Jul 2014 21:49:35 +0000 Arwen Nicks & Ross Reynolds 38437 at http://kuow.org Hungry For Pot? Here's What You Need To Know http://kuow.org/post/hungry-pot-heres-what-you-need-know <p>Marcie Sillman talks with <a href="http://rogerroffman.com/">Roger Roffman</a>, University of Washington professor emeritus of social work, about how to stay safe with marijuana edibles. Thu, 17 Jul 2014 21:49:30 +0000 Marcie Sillman & Andy Hurst 38439 at http://kuow.org Hungry For Pot? Here's What You Need To Know Brooklyn DA Shifts Stance On Pot, But That Won't Impact NYPD http://kuow.org/post/brooklyn-da-shifts-stance-pot-wont-impact-nypd Marijuana enthusiasts should still think twice before lighting up in the streets of Brooklyn.<p>The borough's district attorney announced this week that he'll no longer prosecute most low-level marijuana possession cases. But not all law enforcement officials in New York City are on board. Sat, 12 Jul 2014 13:04:00 +0000 Joel Rose 38129 at http://kuow.org Brooklyn DA Shifts Stance On Pot, But That Won't Impact NYPD Weed Is Sold, Brazil Is Routed, And Potato Salad Is Crowdfunded http://kuow.org/post/weed-sold-brazil-routed-and-potato-salad-crowdfunded <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Seattle officially kicks off its experiment in retail recreational pot. Germany kicks goal after merciless goal in a total rout of Brazil in the World Cup semifinals. </span></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">And public officials have a message for the person who dropped off three human skulls at the Bellevue Goodwill this week: You're not in any trouble, but would you please call 206.731.3232. The King County Medical Examiner's Office would like to speak with you.<br /><br />Luke Burbank steps in for&nbsp;</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Bill </span>Radke<span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;to talk over these stories and more with Eli Sanders, Joni </span>Balter<span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;and </span>Knute<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> Berger.</span> Fri, 11 Jul 2014 20:28:04 +0000 Luke Burbank 38077 at http://kuow.org Weed Is Sold, Brazil Is Routed, And Potato Salad Is Crowdfunded Buzz Kill: A Reminder That Pot Can Pose Health Risks http://kuow.org/post/buzz-kill-reminder-pot-can-pose-health-risks <div><p>Now that Washington's first retail marijuana stores have opened to the public,<span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;officials face a major effort to educate consumers about how to use pot responsibly. Bill&nbsp;</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Radke talks with marijuana researcher Roger </span>Roffman<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> about some of the misconceptions and risks associated with cannabis use.</span></p></div><p>Roffman points out high-risk scenarios before picking up a pot habit in any form:</p> Fri, 11 Jul 2014 19:56:43 +0000 Bill Radke 38080 at http://kuow.org Buzz Kill: A Reminder That Pot Can Pose Health Risks Jonesing For A Joint? Too Bad, Seattle Is Out Of Weed http://kuow.org/post/jonesing-joint-too-bad-seattle-out-weed <p>Cannabis City has sold out of its indicas, sativas and hybrids.</p><p>No more marijuana for sale until July 21, according to a sign hung on the door of Seattle's first recreational pot store. Fri, 11 Jul 2014 19:49:42 +0000 Isolde Raftery & Carolyn Adolph 38083 at http://kuow.org Jonesing For A Joint? Too Bad, Seattle Is Out Of Weed Not Much, But Who Cares? Seattle Kicks Off Pot Sales http://kuow.org/post/not-much-who-cares-seattle-kicks-pot-sales <p>It was a false countdown to high noon, when Cannabis City, a store in Seattle’s Sodo neighborhood, was supposed to start selling marijuana. Wed, 09 Jul 2014 23:10:54 +0000 Patricia Murphy, Carolyn Adolph, Marcie Sillman & Deborah Wang 37855 at http://kuow.org Not Much, But Who Cares? Seattle Kicks Off Pot Sales Canadian Pot Tourists: Leave Your Souvenirs In Washington State http://kuow.org/post/canadian-pot-tourists-leave-your-souvenirs-washington-state <p>Marcie Sillman talks to Vaughn Palmer, columnist for the Vancouver Sun, about Canadian pot tourists making their way to Bellingham, Washington. Also they discuss the release of the "Prince Of Pot" from prison and the one-year anniversary of the train crash in Lac-Megnatic, Quebec, that killed 47 people. Wed, 09 Jul 2014 21:06:33 +0000 Marcie Sillman & Amina Al-Sadi 37911 at http://kuow.org Hey Budtender! Enlighten Me About This Weed http://kuow.org/post/hey-budtender-enlighten-me-about-weed <p></p><p>This article was supposed to be called, “How Not To Look Like A Poser When You Buy Weed.”</p><p>But when I called budtenders in Colorado for advice, they said that when it comes to legal pot, most everyone is a newbie. The only rule I heard was, “Don’t cuss at the budtender,” which seems less a rule than a tenet of basic human decency. Wed, 09 Jul 2014 20:41:13 +0000 Isolde Raftery 37909 at http://kuow.org Hey Budtender! Enlighten Me About This Weed