race http://kuow.org en Does Higher Education Lack Diversity? Western Pres. Says It's A National Problem http://kuow.org/post/does-higher-education-lack-diversity-western-pres-says-its-national-problem <p>Ross Reynolds talks with Western Washington University President Dr. Bruce Shepard about his <a href="http://www.wwu.edu/president/blog/posts/24.shtml">concerns for the lack of diversity</a> at Western and other schools across the country.</p><p>In a recent convocation speech, Shepard sparked a debate over his statement: "If we are as white in 10 years as we are today, Western will have failed as a university." Thu, 17 Apr 2014 22:55:03 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Hannah Burn 32732 at http://kuow.org Does Higher Education Lack Diversity? Western Pres. Says It's A National Problem Denied A Stage, She Sang For A Nation http://kuow.org/post/denied-stage-she-sang-nation <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mAONYTMf2pk</p> Wed, 09 Apr 2014 16:18:56 +0000 Susan Stamberg 32191 at http://kuow.org Denied A Stage, She Sang For A Nation How Stereotypes Explain Everything And Nothing At All http://kuow.org/post/how-stereotypes-explain-everything-and-nothing-all A few days ago,<a href="http://www.npr.org/blogs/codeswitch/2014/04/02/297287958/why-arent-asian-americans-getting-their-one-shining-moment"> I wrote a post in which I was mulling just why so few Asian-Americans played</a> Division I basketball in the 2012-2013 season. The numbers were striking. Of the 5,380 men's players in the top tier of college basketball, only 15 were Asian-American. Asian-American ballers weren't just underrepresented. Tue, 08 Apr 2014 15:48:51 +0000 Gene Demby 32111 at http://kuow.org How Stereotypes Explain Everything And Nothing At All Gary Heyde On Martin Luther King Jr.'s Assassination http://kuow.org/post/gary-heyde-martin-luther-king-jrs-assassination <p></p><p>Martin Luther King Jr. was assassinated 46 years ago today — on April 4, 1968. Former Seattle teacher and novelist<a href="http://austin-gary.com/"> Gary Heyde</a>&nbsp;remembers that day well. It was the day he learned one of the most important lessons of his life, but he almost didn't survive to apply the lesson.</p><p><em><a href="http://www2.kuow.org/program.php?id=24718">This archive originally aired in October 2011</a>.</em> Fri, 04 Apr 2014 22:10:01 +0000 Jeannie Yandel 31941 at http://kuow.org Gary Heyde On Martin Luther King Jr.'s Assassination Murray's Executive Order A 'Christmas List' Of Racial Equity Requests http://kuow.org/post/murrays-executive-order-christmas-list-racial-equity-requests <p>Seattle Mayor Ed Murray signed an executive order Thursday to expand the Race and Social Justice Initiative program.</p><p>The new order is intended to hold the city accountable after a survey commissioned by the city found that around 90 percent of residents say the city continues to have racial problems. Fri, 04 Apr 2014 14:28:31 +0000 Joshua McNichols 31915 at http://kuow.org Murray's Executive Order A 'Christmas List' Of Racial Equity Requests The Untold Story Of African American Baseball In Washington State http://kuow.org/post/untold-story-african-american-baseball-washington-state <p>Steve Scher talks with Chieko Phillips, exhibitions manager at the Northwest African American Museum, about its new exhibit, "<a href="http://www.naamnw.org/exhibits/">Pitch Black: African American Baseball in Washington</a>." Mon, 31 Mar 2014 20:53:49 +0000 Steve Scher & Andy Hurst 31603 at http://kuow.org The Untold Story Of African American Baseball In Washington State How Bellevue Came To Be More Racially Diverse Than Seattle http://kuow.org/post/how-bellevue-came-be-more-racially-diverse-seattle <p>Marcie Sillman talks with <a href="http://www.ci.bellevue.wa.us/cultural_diversity.htm">Bellevue's cultural diversity coordinator</a> Kevin Henry about how Bellevue has <a href="http://blogs.seattletimes.com/fyi-guy/2014/03/17/bellevue-defies-its-blah-vue-image/">become so diverse</a>. Mon, 17 Mar 2014 21:39:07 +0000 Marcie Sillman & Andy Hurst 30708 at http://kuow.org How Bellevue Came To Be More Racially Diverse Than Seattle Our Conversation On Race In 'World of Warcraft,' Unabridged http://kuow.org/post/our-conversation-race-world-warcraft-unabridged <a href="http://us.battle.net/wow/en/"><em>World of Warcraft</em> </a>is trying to reduce racial inequality. Mon, 10 Mar 2014 16:29:18 +0000 Gene Demby 30178 at http://kuow.org Our Conversation On Race In 'World of Warcraft,' Unabridged Eric Liu: Chinese State Media Editorial On Locke 'Laughable' http://kuow.org/post/eric-liu-chinese-state-media-editorial-locke-laughable <p>Steve Scher talks with Eric Liu, founder of Citizen University and former speech writer for President Bill Clinton, about the<a href="http://kuow.org/post/chinese-paper-calls-outgoing-us-envoy-yellow-skinned-white-hearted-banana-man"> offensive editorial published in the Chinese state media</a> about the departure of Ambassador Gary Locke. Thu, 06 Mar 2014 19:36:00 +0000 Steve Scher & Amina Al-Sadi 30065 at http://kuow.org Eric Liu: Chinese State Media Editorial On Locke 'Laughable' Solomon Northup's Descendant Expresses Pride For '12 Years A Slave' http://kuow.org/post/solomon-northups-descendant-expresses-pride-12-years-slave <p>The 86<sup>th</sup> annual Academy Awards is this Sunday, and one of the films expected to take home the Oscar is Steve McQueen’s “12 Years a Slave.” Thu, 27 Feb 2014 19:27:51 +0000 Bill Radke 29577 at http://kuow.org Solomon Northup's Descendant Expresses Pride For '12 Years A Slave' ‘Dog Whistle Politics’ With Ian Haney López http://kuow.org/post/dog-whistle-politics-ian-haney-l-pez <p>Dog whistle politics means using language that appeals to one group of people but may have coded meanings to another. For example, one reason Ronald Reagan did so well with white voters was because he told stories of the “welfare queen” – a woman with “eighty names, thirty addresses, [and] twelve Social Security cards [who] is collecting veteran’s benefits on four non-existing deceased husbands. She’s got Medicaid, getting food stamps, and she is collecting welfare under each of her names. Her tax-free cash income is over $150,000.” Thu, 27 Feb 2014 17:31:21 +0000 Rachel Solomon 29127 at http://kuow.org ‘Dog Whistle Politics’ With Ian Haney López Understanding Multiracial Asian Americans In Pop Culture http://kuow.org/post/understanding-multiracial-asian-americans-pop-culture <p>Steve Scher talks with University of Washington professor Leilani Nishime about her book, "Undercover Asian: Multiracial Asian Americans in Visual Culture," and about how media portray the demographic. Wed, 19 Feb 2014 23:44:07 +0000 Arwen Nicks & Steve Scher 29064 at http://kuow.org Understanding Multiracial Asian Americans In Pop Culture Aggrieved Entitlement: New Era For American Masculinity http://kuow.org/post/aggrieved-entitlement-new-era-american-masculinity <p>Ross Reynolds talks with Michael Kimmel, a professor of sociology and gender studies at Stony Brook University in New York, about his new book, "Angry White Men: American Masculinity at the End of an Era." Kimmel says white men have a reason to be angry, but it's often not the reason they think it its. Fri, 14 Feb 2014 23:02:14 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Amina Al-Sadi 28772 at http://kuow.org Aggrieved Entitlement: New Era For American Masculinity Sen. Maria Cantwell: NFL Needs To Abandon Redskin Name http://kuow.org/post/sen-maria-cantwell-nfl-needs-abandon-redskin-name <p>Ross Reynolds talks with U.S. Senator Maria Cantwell, D-Wash., about her letter to the National Football League urging it to get rid of the <span class="st">Washington Redskins' </span>name. Tue, 11 Feb 2014 22:57:02 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Hannah Burn 28585 at http://kuow.org Sen. Maria Cantwell: NFL Needs To Abandon Redskin Name Seattle Gentrification: Through The Eyes Of Art http://kuow.org/post/seattle-gentrification-through-eyes-art <p>David Hyde talks with Dumi Maraire, curator of "Through The Eyes of Art" and hip-hop artist. Seattle's Experience Music Project is kicking off Black History Month with music and art that looks at how the city has changed and the role of gentrification. Fri, 31 Jan 2014 22:46:28 +0000 Arwen Nicks & David Hyde 28008 at http://kuow.org Seattle Gentrification: Through The Eyes Of Art