politics http://kuow.org en Kshama Sawant On Why It's Time For Socialism In Seattle http://kuow.org/post/kshama-sawant-why-its-time-socialism-seattle <p></p><p>Kshama Sawant is the first socialist on Seattle’s City Council. Last year, she ran on a campaign platform of raising the minimum wage to $15, taxing the wealthy and rent control.</p><p>She spoke with The Stranger’s Charles Mudede about why now is the time for socialism in Seattle. This talk was recorded at Town Hall on March 18, 2014. Thu, 17 Apr 2014 16:45:03 +0000 Rachel Solomon 32371 at http://kuow.org Kshama Sawant On Why It's Time For Socialism In Seattle ‘Dog Whistle Politics’ With Ian Haney López http://kuow.org/post/dog-whistle-politics-ian-haney-l-pez <p>Dog whistle politics means using language that appeals to one group of people but may have coded meanings to another. For example, one reason Ronald Reagan did so well with white voters was because he told stories of the “welfare queen” – a woman with “eighty names, thirty addresses, [and] twelve Social Security cards [who] is collecting veteran’s benefits on four non-existing deceased husbands. She’s got Medicaid, getting food stamps, and she is collecting welfare under each of her names. Her tax-free cash income is over $150,000.” Thu, 27 Feb 2014 17:31:21 +0000 Rachel Solomon 29127 at http://kuow.org ‘Dog Whistle Politics’ With Ian Haney López Is The Tea Party Over? http://kuow.org/post/tea-party-over <p>Ross Reynolds talks with political scientist Raymond Smith about his argument that the tea party — like all fringe parties in the United States — is coming to an end. Tue, 18 Feb 2014 23:13:00 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Hannah Burn 28999 at http://kuow.org Is The Tea Party Over? From Establishment To Tea Party, Republicans Rebut President http://kuow.org/post/establishment-tea-party-republicans-rebut-president Cathy McMorris Rodgers, the highest-ranking female Republican in the U.S. House, occupied a coveted spot Tuesday night: She delivered the televised rebuttal to the president's State of the Union.<p>Yet the Washington congresswoman and mother of three young children didn't have the spotlight to herself. Wed, 29 Jan 2014 23:55:00 +0000 Liz Halloran 27822 at http://kuow.org From Establishment To Tea Party, Republicans Rebut President Political Rivals Find Common Ground Over Common Core http://kuow.org/post/political-rivals-find-common-ground-over-common-core Supporters of the new Common Core <a href="http://www.npr.org/2013/01/19/169798643/new-reading-standards-aim-to-prep-kids-for-college-but-at-what-cost">education standards</a> adopted by 45 states say the standards hold American students to much higher expectations, and move curriculum away from a bubble-test culture that encourages test preparation over deeper learning.<p>But there's growing backlash to <a href="http://www.npr.org/2013/07/05/198442307/education-reform-learns-lesson-from-old-standards">Common Core</a>, and conservatives and liberals increasingly are voicing similar concerns: t Tue, 28 Jan 2014 09:58:00 +0000 Eric Westervelt 27749 at http://kuow.org Political Rivals Find Common Ground Over Common Core How Politicians Use Racial Coding To Win Elections http://kuow.org/post/how-politicians-use-racial-coding-win-elections <p>David Hyde talks to University of California, Berkeley, professor Ian Haney Lopez about his book "Dog Whistle Politics: How Coded Racial Appeals Have Reinvented Racism and Wrecked the Middle Class." Mon, 27 Jan 2014 23:19:33 +0000 David Hyde & Amina Al-Sadi 27725 at http://kuow.org How Politicians Use Racial Coding To Win Elections Wealthy Donors Fund Never-Ending 'Progressive' Campaign In Washington State http://kuow.org/post/wealthy-donors-fund-never-ending-progressive-campaign-washington-state <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/01/012214AJ_PerpetualCampaign_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>You’ve heard of Karl Rove’s Crossroads GPS and other issue advocacy groups that don’t have to disclose their donors. They are transforming American politics.<p> Thu, 23 Jan 2014 17:46:02 +0000 Austin Jenkins 27499 at http://kuow.org Wealthy Donors Fund Never-Ending 'Progressive' Campaign In Washington State What Is Causing The Conflict In Iraq's Anbar Province? http://kuow.org/post/what-causing-conflict-iraqs-anbar-province <p>Marcie Sillman discusses the rise of violence in Iraq with Dan Murphy, Middle East correspondent for the Christian Science Monitor. Tue, 14 Jan 2014 00:31:02 +0000 Marcie Sillman & Amina Al-Sadi 27005 at http://kuow.org What Is Causing The Conflict In Iraq's Anbar Province? The History Of Revenge Politics http://kuow.org/post/history-revenge-politics <p>David Hyde gets some historical perspective on revenge politics from Kenneth C. Davis, historian and author of "Don't Know Much About History," in light of the New Jersey Governor Chris Christie's recent traffic scandal. Fri, 10 Jan 2014 23:16:05 +0000 David Hyde & Arwen Nicks 26881 at http://kuow.org The History Of Revenge Politics How The Koch Brothers Raised $400 Million In Anonymous Campaign Funds http://kuow.org/post/how-koch-brothers-raised-400-million-anonymous-campaign-funds <p>Marcie Sillman talks with Washington Post reporter Matea Gold about the <a href="http://www.washingtonpost.com/politics/koch-backed-political-network-built-to-shield-donors-raised-400-million-in-2012-elections/2014/01/05/9e7cfd9a-719b-11e3-9389-09ef9944065e_story.html">Koch brothers involvement</a> in a complex network of political donors to avoid campaign finance laws. Tue, 07 Jan 2014 23:16:29 +0000 Marcie Sillman & Andy Hurst 26668 at http://kuow.org Looking Ahead: Congress Convenes For The New Year http://kuow.org/post/looking-ahead-congress-convenes-new-year <p>Marcie Sillman&nbsp;talks with <a href="http://www.decodedc.com/" target="_blank"><em>DecodeDC</em>'s</a> Andrea Seabrook about the new session of Congress and the future of long-term unemployment benefits, budget deals, immigration and partisan platforms.&nbsp; Mon, 06 Jan 2014 22:50:36 +0000 Marcie Sillman & Christine Streich 26609 at http://kuow.org Looking Ahead: Congress Convenes For The New Year Seattle Politics 2014 And Inauguration Preview http://kuow.org/post/seattle-politics-2014-and-inauguration-preview <p>David Hyde speaks with Erica C. Barnett, news editor at Publicola, about Seattle politics and previews the inauguration of Seattle City Council member Kshama&nbsp;Sawant and&nbsp;<span style="line-height: 1.5;">Mayor Ed Murray.&nbsp; </span> Mon, 06 Jan 2014 22:50:10 +0000 David Hyde 26597 at http://kuow.org Seattle Politics 2014 And Inauguration Preview Mandela’s Life, Minimum Wages, And A Seattle Police Shakeup http://kuow.org/post/mandela-s-life-minimum-wages-and-seattle-police-shakeup <p>The world remembers Nelson Mandela, the Seattle Police Department shakes up its top ranks and supporters of a $15-an-hour minimum wage walk from SeaTac to Seattle. We talk over those stories and more of the week's news with&nbsp;<a href="http://blogs.seattletimes.com/politicsnorthwest/">Joni&nbsp;Balter</a>&nbsp;of the Seattle Times, The Stranger's&nbsp;<a href="http://elisanders.net/">Eli Sanders</a> and Crosscut's&nbsp;<a href="http://crosscut.com/mossback">Knute Berger</a>.<br /><br /><span style="line-height: 1.5;"><strong>Week In Review Extra</strong></span></p> Fri, 06 Dec 2013 18:00:00 +0000 Steve Scher & Jason Pagano 25042 at http://kuow.org Mandela’s Life, Minimum Wages, And A Seattle Police Shakeup What Is Happening With The Protests In Ukraine? http://kuow.org/post/what-happening-protests-ukraine <p>Marcie Sillman talks with Steven Pifer, former ambassador to Ukraine and senior fellow at the Brookings Institution, about the recent political demonstrations in Ukraine. Tue, 03 Dec 2013 22:53:17 +0000 Marcie Sillman & Amina Al-Sadi 24829 at http://kuow.org What Is Happening With The Protests In Ukraine? An Inside Look At The Bush-Cheney Years In The White House http://kuow.org/post/inside-look-bush-cheney-years-white-house <p>Marcie Sillman interviews New York Times chief White House correspondent Peter Baker about his chronicle of the Bush/Cheney administration called "Days of Fire: Bush and Cheney in the White House." Tue, 26 Nov 2013 22:27:57 +0000 Marcie Sillman 24556 at http://kuow.org An Inside Look At The Bush-Cheney Years In The White House