law http://kuow.org en Study Reveals Worse Outcomes For Black And Latino Defendants http://kuow.org/post/study-reveals-worse-outcomes-black-and-latino-defendants There are a lot of steps that come between an arrest and a conviction, and between conviction and sentencing. And throughout that winding process, a prosecutor's decisions carry enormous weight.<p><em>Does the prosecutor accept the case? Does she have the defendant jailed before trial? Thu, 17 Jul 2014 14:57:59 +0000 editor 38416 at http://kuow.org Study Reveals Worse Outcomes For Black And Latino Defendants Yes, Corporations Do Share Many Of Our Rights http://kuow.org/post/yes-corporations-do-share-many-our-rights <p>“As a practical matter, that train has left the station,” said Burt Neuborne, a New York University law professor, concerning the Supreme Court’s adoption of the idea that a corporation is a person for the purposes of the 14<sup>th</sup> Amendment, which guarantees life, liberty, property and equal protection of the laws. Mon, 14 Jul 2014 21:36:40 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Hannah Burn 38195 at http://kuow.org Yes, Corporations Do Share Many Of Our Rights The Private Industry Side Of Criminal Justice http://kuow.org/post/private-industry-side-criminal-justice <p>Marcie Sillman talks with Sarah Stillman, journalist at the New Yorker, about the private companies supplying services in our criminal justice system. Mon, 30 Jun 2014 22:38:06 +0000 Marcie Sillman & Hannah Burn 37335 at http://kuow.org Why Some Convicted Sex Offenders Never Get Released http://kuow.org/post/why-some-convicted-sex-offenders-never-get-released <p>Marcie Sillman talks with King County public defender <a href="http://directory.kingcounty.gov/EmployeeDetail.asp?EmpID=44058">Virginia Faller</a> about Washington state's civil commitment laws. Mon, 23 Jun 2014 22:17:39 +0000 Marcie Sillman & Andy Hurst 36899 at http://kuow.org Why Some Convicted Sex Offenders Never Get Released Tearful But Not Dramatic: Sentencing Videos Aim To Humanize Defendants http://kuow.org/post/tearful-not-dramatic-sentencing-videos-aim-humanize-defendants <p>Every sentencing comes down to two things according to attorney Michael Filipovic: Why did this person commit this crime, and why is he not going to do it again? Mon, 23 Jun 2014 16:27:39 +0000 Patricia Murphy 36778 at http://kuow.org Tearful But Not Dramatic: Sentencing Videos Aim To Humanize Defendants How Naked Is ‘Legally’ Naked At Fremont Solstice Parade? http://kuow.org/post/how-naked-legally-naked-fremont-solstice-parade <p>Marcie Sillman talks with attorney Lance Fryrear about when you can, and when you can't, be naked in Seattle. Fri, 20 Jun 2014 21:43:00 +0000 Marcie Sillman & Hannah Burn 36770 at http://kuow.org How Naked Is ‘Legally’ Naked At Fremont Solstice Parade? Since DOMA's Defeat, State Bans On Same-Sex Marriage Topple One By One http://kuow.org/post/domas-defeat-state-bans-same-sex-marriage-topple-one-one <p>Marcie Sillman talks to University of Washington law professor Peter Nicolas about federal judges striking down state bans on same-sex marriage. Thu, 29 May 2014 22:14:01 +0000 Marcie Sillman & Cameron Drews 35442 at http://kuow.org Since DOMA's Defeat, State Bans On Same-Sex Marriage Topple One By One Inslee's Judicial Appointees Virtually Unopposed On Ballot http://kuow.org/post/inslees-judicial-appointees-virtually-unopposed-ballot <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/05/052014AJ_WAJustice_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>The Washington Supreme Court has its first openly-gay, Asian-American, Latina justice. Former King County Superior Court Judge Mary Yu was sworn-in Tuesday.<p> Wed, 21 May 2014 14:49:28 +0000 Austin Jenkins 34890 at http://kuow.org Inslee's Judicial Appointees Virtually Unopposed On Ballot New State Supreme Court Justice Mary Yu's Judicial Philosophy http://kuow.org/post/new-state-supreme-court-justice-mary-yus-judicial-philosophy <p>David Hyde speaks with the Justice<span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;Mary Yu, who was sworn in to the Washington Supreme Court on May 20. &nbsp;She's the first Asian-American and openly</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;"> gay Supreme Court justice in Washington.</span> Tue, 20 May 2014 22:37:18 +0000 David Hyde 34911 at http://kuow.org New State Supreme Court Justice Mary Yu's Judicial Philosophy Washington Supreme Court To Hear Lakewood Police Killings Challenge http://kuow.org/post/washington-supreme-court-hear-lakewood-police-killings-challenge <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/05/051414AJ_ClemmonsAccomplices_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>It’s been almost five years since Maurice Clemmons gunned down four Lakewood, Washington, police officers in a coffee shop. Clemmons’ aunt and cousin were convicted of helping him after the murders.<p> Thu, 15 May 2014 17:20:36 +0000 Austin Jenkins 34516 at http://kuow.org Washington Supreme Court To Hear Lakewood Police Killings Challenge Washington State Files Lawsuit Over Alleged Crowdfunding Scam http://kuow.org/post/washington-state-files-lawsuit-over-alleged-crowdfunding-scam <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/05/050814AJ_Kickstarter_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>One of the victims of an alleged crowdfunding scam says he’s not counting on getting his money back, but he’s glad Washington’s attorney general has filed a consumer protection lawsuit.<p> Fri, 09 May 2014 15:14:49 +0000 Austin Jenkins 34150 at http://kuow.org How Juries Are Selected In High Profile Cases http://kuow.org/post/how-juries-are-selected-high-profile-cases <p>Steve Scher talks with <a href="http://sgb-law.com/attorneys/jeffery-robinson/">Jeffery Robinson</a>, attorney at Seattle law firm Schroeter, Goldmark and Bender, about how juries are selected in cases that have been covered extensively in the media. Mon, 05 May 2014 22:11:55 +0000 Steve Scher & Andy Hurst 33921 at http://kuow.org How Juries Are Selected In High Profile Cases Justice Suffers When There Are 'Too Many Cases, Not Enough Time' http://kuow.org/post/justice-suffers-when-there-are-too-many-cases-not-enough-time <div><p></p><p>On a Friday in April 2013, King County District Court Judge Victoria Seitz had 66 cases on her docket.&nbsp;“We have too many cases and not enough court time, and so forth, to deal with them,” she announced to the court. Mon, 07 Apr 2014 17:23:44 +0000 Patricia Murphy 31992 at http://kuow.org Justice Suffers When There Are 'Too Many Cases, Not Enough Time' EarthFix Conversation: Using Environmental Law To Combat Climate Change http://kuow.org/post/earthfix-conversation-using-environmental-law-combat-climate-change <p>Can environmental laws protect the planet from climate change? They haven't so far, according to University of Oregon law professor Mary Wood. But she says one day they could. Thu, 13 Mar 2014 16:06:46 +0000 Cassandra Profita 30449 at http://kuow.org EarthFix Conversation: Using Environmental Law To Combat Climate Change King County Judge Admonished For 'One Day Special' In Courtroom http://kuow.org/post/king-county-judge-admonished-one-day-special-courtroom <p>The Washington Commission on Judicial Conduct admonished a King County judge this week for offering the equivalent of a “one day special” in her courtroom.</p><p>On April 26, 2013, Judge Victoria Seitz had a full docket in the King County District Court. Wed, 26 Feb 2014 20:51:24 +0000 Patricia Murphy 29499 at http://kuow.org King County Judge Admonished For 'One Day Special' In Courtroom