business http://kuow.org en To Increase Productivity, UPS Monitors Drivers' Every Move http://kuow.org/post/increase-productivity-ups-monitors-drivers-every-move The American workforce might want to pay attention to all those brown trucks full of cardboard boxes. UPS is using technology in ways that may soon be common throughout the economy.<p>On the surface, UPS trucks look the same as they did more than 20 years ago, when Bill Earle started driving for the company in rural Pennsylvania.<p>But underneath the surface, Earle says, the job has changed a lot. The thing you sign your name on when the UPS guy gives you a package used to be a piece of paper. Thu, 17 Apr 2014 11:41:00 +0000 Jacob Goldstein 32718 at http://kuow.org To Increase Productivity, UPS Monitors Drivers' Every Move Why Boeing Is Moving Engineering Jobs Out Of Everett http://kuow.org/post/why-boeing-moving-engineering-jobs-out-everett <p></p><p>Ross Reynolds talks with Seattle Times aerospace reporter <a href="https://twitter.com/dominicgates" target="_blank">Dominic Gates</a> about Boeing moving engineering jobs out of Everett and Washington state. Wed, 16 Apr 2014 21:04:21 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Christine Streich 32763 at http://kuow.org Why Boeing Is Moving Engineering Jobs Out Of Everett Tensions Build In San Francisco Amid Tech Boom http://kuow.org/post/tensions-build-san-francisco-amid-tech-boom As San Francisco experiences a historic economic boom, partly fueled by an influx of tech workers and companies, some activists say that not all city residents are reaping the benefits.<p>Google bus protests are becoming an increasingly regular occurrence in San Francisco, with activists targeting the bus that takes Google workers from San Francisco to Silicon Valley.<p>There was another protest on Friday, where protesters held signs with the name of a Google executive who is also a landlord. Wed, 16 Apr 2014 17:41:28 +0000 editor 32663 at http://kuow.org Tensions Build In San Francisco Amid Tech Boom The Millennial Work-Life Revolution In Seattle http://kuow.org/post/millennial-work-life-revolution-seattle <p></p><p></p><p>The millennial generation is taking control over how they work and how they live. The group, currently about 18 to 33 years old, is adopting technology that is disrupting old structures and writing the playbook on how to take advantage of technological change. Wed, 16 Apr 2014 16:34:03 +0000 Carolyn Adolph 32591 at http://kuow.org The Millennial Work-Life Revolution In Seattle Would You Accept Money To Quit Your Job? http://kuow.org/post/would-you-accept-money-quit-your-job <p>Ross Reynolds talks with behavioral economist <a href="http://rady.ucsd.edu/faculty/directory/gneezy/">Uri Gneezy </a>about company incentives and why Amazon is implementing the "Pay to Quit" program. Tue, 15 Apr 2014 22:30:00 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Amina Al-Sadi 32615 at http://kuow.org Would You Accept Money To Quit Your Job? How Collaborative Commons Is The Beginning Of The End For Capitalism http://kuow.org/post/how-collaborative-commons-beginning-end-capitalism <p></p><p>Marcie Sillman talks with Jeremy Rifkin about his new book, "The Zero Marginal Cost Society: The Internet of Things, the Collaborative Commons, and the Eclipse of Capitalism." Tue, 15 Apr 2014 22:09:53 +0000 Marcie Sillman & Amina Al-Sadi 32614 at http://kuow.org How Collaborative Commons Is The Beginning Of The End For Capitalism Seattle's $15 Wage Campaign Eyes The Ballot http://kuow.org/post/seattles-15-wage-campaign-eyes-ballot <p>A Seattle group seeking a $15 minimum wage has filed paperwork to put the issue to voters. The move aims to increase pressure on Mayor Ed Murray and the City Council to pass a measure this year. Mon, 14 Apr 2014 23:39:12 +0000 Liz Jones 32545 at http://kuow.org Seattle's $15 Wage Campaign Eyes The Ballot Extended Season For Some Northwest Ski Areas, But Profits Scarce http://kuow.org/post/extended-season-some-northwest-ski-areas-profits-scarce <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/04/041014TB_SkiDoldrums_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>Thanks to late-season snow that fell at many area some Cascade ski areas will welcome skiers and snowboarders well past Easter.<p> Mon, 14 Apr 2014 15:16:12 +0000 Tom Banse 32496 at http://kuow.org Extended Season For Some Northwest Ski Areas, But Profits Scarce How Rwanda's Only Ice Cream Shop Challenges Cultural Taboos http://kuow.org/post/how-rwandas-only-ice-cream-shop-challenges-cultural-taboos Rwanda has a warm climate, and the people love milk. You'd think ice cream would be an easy sell.<p>But mention ice cream to Chantal Kabatesi, and she rubs her jaw like she's at the dentist with a toothache. When she first tasted ice cream at the age of 35 "it was like eating hailstones," the kind that fall on her childhood village once or twice a year.<p>"I thought, 'Oh no, what are we serving to our customers? Thu, 10 Apr 2014 20:02:00 +0000 Gregory Warner 32307 at http://kuow.org How Rwanda's Only Ice Cream Shop Challenges Cultural Taboos The Ultimate Reuse: Shipping Containers For Buildings http://kuow.org/post/ultimate-reuse-shipping-containers-buildings <p></p><p>The cost of housing in the city is making many people think small, to embrace the micro movement that loves to reuse and recycle. Enter the idea of a shipping container as a building — a natural in a port city like Seattle, which handles 1.6 million container units in a year. Wed, 09 Apr 2014 14:27:00 +0000 Carolyn Adolph 31813 at http://kuow.org The Ultimate Reuse: Shipping Containers For Buildings Central Washington Home To Nation's Biggest Bitcoin 'Mine,' More Coming http://kuow.org/post/central-washington-home-nations-biggest-bitcoin-mine-more-coming <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/04/040414TB_BitcoinMine_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Here's a surprising fact: the largest </span>bitcoin<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> "mine" in North America is located on the outskirts of Wenatchee, Wash.</span><p> Tue, 08 Apr 2014 13:04:42 +0000 Tom Banse 32105 at http://kuow.org Central Washington Home To Nation's Biggest Bitcoin 'Mine,' More Coming The Challenges Of The Northwest's Maritime Industry http://kuow.org/post/challenges-northwests-maritime-industry <p></p><p>Steve Scher talks with Seattle Times columnist Jon Talton about the challenges facing the maritime industry in the Pacific Northwest. Mon, 07 Apr 2014 22:21:36 +0000 Steve Scher & Amina Al-Sadi 32078 at http://kuow.org The Challenges Of The Northwest's Maritime Industry Oso Logger: We Followed Rules, Cut Edge Of Landslide Zone Cautiously http://kuow.org/post/oso-logger-we-followed-rules-cut-edge-landslide-zone-cautiously <p></p><p></p><p></p><p>The forester who clear-cut land above the Oso, Wash., landslide zone in 2005 says he followed standard procedures and state regulations when logging there.</p><p> Mon, 07 Apr 2014 19:24:49 +0000 John Ryan 32020 at http://kuow.org Oso Logger: We Followed Rules, Cut Edge Of Landslide Zone Cautiously Washington Pot Store Lottery Announced; Grow Licenses Lagging http://kuow.org/post/washington-pot-store-lottery-announced-grow-licenses-lagging <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/04/040214AJ_MJLottery_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>The timeline for when Washington’s first marijuana retail stores will open has slipped from June to early July, according to state Liquor Control Board staff.<p> Thu, 03 Apr 2014 11:01:37 +0000 Austin Jenkins 31843 at http://kuow.org Washington Pot Store Lottery Announced; Grow Licenses Lagging Public Displays Of Inspection For Seattle Restaurants http://kuow.org/post/public-displays-inspection-seattle-restaurants <p>When you walk past a restaurant in Seattle, you’re most likely not aware of the health and safety standards inside. But Seattle and King County Public Health is currently cooking up a plan to change that with a new rating system, which may include signs on restaurant windows. Wed, 02 Apr 2014 18:54:58 +0000 Liz Jones 31727 at http://kuow.org Public Displays Of Inspection For Seattle Restaurants