protests http://kuow.org en Post-Chavez Venezuela: A Political House Of Mirrors http://kuow.org/post/post-chavez-venezuela-political-house-mirrors <p>Steve Scher talks with <a href="http://jsis.washington.edu/jackson/bio/lucero.shtml">Jose Antonio Lucero</a>, chair of Latin American and Caribbean Studies at the University of Washington, about the protests in Venezuela. Mon, 03 Mar 2014 23:36:27 +0000 Steve Scher & Christine Streich 29781 at http://kuow.org Post-Chavez Venezuela: A Political House Of Mirrors In Venezuela, Another Beauty Queen's Death Adds To Anger http://kuow.org/post/venezuela-another-beauty-queens-death-adds-anger There's a sad symmetry to the news from Venezuela, where anti-government protests in recent weeks have been fueled in part by outrage over the shooting death of a beauty queen — a death that underscored that nation's struggle to control violent crime.<p>One of the five people killed this week during protests against the socialist government of President Nicolas Maduro, it's now being reported, was another young beauty queen.<p>"The latest victims of the unrest included college student and model Genesis Carmona, 22, who was shot in the head at a protest on Tuesday in the central city of Valenci Thu, 20 Feb 2014 13:24:00 +0000 Mark Memmott 29107 at http://kuow.org In Venezuela, Another Beauty Queen's Death Adds To Anger A Personal Perspective On The Ukrainian Protests http://kuow.org/post/personal-perspective-ukrainian-protests <p>Steve Scher talks with Yulia Shadirya about the protests in Ukraine. Shadirya moved to Seattle years ago but has been following the events in Kiev. Tue, 11 Feb 2014 22:20:10 +0000 Steve Scher & Amina Al-Sadi 28633 at http://kuow.org A Personal Perspective On The Ukrainian Protests Ukraine Protests Spread Beyond Kiev Amid Crisis Talks http://kuow.org/post/ukraine-protests-spread-beyond-kiev-amid-crisis-talks <p>Violent protests in Ukraine have spread beyond the capital, Kiev, as President Viktor Yanukovych held a meeting with three opposition leaders to try to end the unrest.&nbsp; The governor of Lviv, in the west, was forced to sign his resignation as protesters stormed his offices. Thu, 23 Jan 2014 17:36:27 +0000 BBC News 27498 at http://kuow.org Ukraine Protests Spread Beyond Kiev Amid Crisis Talks Their Release Is Just A 'PR Stunt,' Pussy Riot Member Says http://kuow.org/post/their-release-just-pr-stunt-pussy-riot-member-says The remaining members of the <a href="http://www.npr.org/templates/archives/archive.php?thingId=158923390" target="_blank">punk rock band Pussy Riot</a> have been released from prison in Russia, a few months short of serving their full two-year sentences for "hooliganism" — a charge that the band's supporters say was just a trumped-up effort to quash free speech.<p>Once she was free on Monday, a defiant Maria Alyokhina said her release was not a humanitarian act on the part of Russian President Vladimir Putin but rather a "PR stunt" aimed at shoring up his nation's international image before F Mon, 23 Dec 2013 11:55:00 +0000 Mark Memmott 25946 at http://kuow.org Their Release Is Just A 'PR Stunt,' Pussy Riot Member Says As A Day Of High Tensions In Egypt Ends, Morsi’s Trail Is Adjourned Until January http://kuow.org/post/day-high-tensions-egypt-ends-morsi-s-trail-adjourned-until-january <p>Ross Reynolds talks with Christian Science Monitor Cairo correspondent&nbsp;Kristen Chick about Mohamed Morsi's trial, Kerry's visit to Egypt and protests within the country. Mon, 04 Nov 2013 22:59:30 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Hannah Burn 23231 at http://kuow.org As A Day Of High Tensions In Egypt Ends, Morsi’s Trail Is Adjourned Until January Demonstrators Have Their Say On May Day http://kuow.org/post/demonstrators-have-their-say-may-day <p>KUOW reporter Amy Radil began her day at Westlake Park. Wed, 01 May 2013 20:15:49 +0000 Amy Radil & Phyllis Fletcher 12347 at http://kuow.org Demonstrators Have Their Say On May Day Seattle Police Won't Sideline Superheroes On May Day http://kuow.org/post/seattle-police-wont-sideline-superheroes-may-day <p></p><p>City police departments often have testy relations with their local superheroes, at least in the movies. In "The Amazing Spider-Man" they issue a warrant for his arrest. In "The Dark Knight Rises," a cop pledges to take down Batman. Sat, 27 Apr 2013 04:33:02 +0000 Amy Radil 12087 at http://kuow.org Seattle Police Won't Sideline Superheroes On May Day