social media http://kuow.org en Watch This To Put Your Facebook Feed In Perspective http://kuow.org/post/watch-put-your-facebook-feed-perspective <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QxVZYiJKl1Y</p> Thu, 26 Jun 2014 18:15:04 +0000 Elise Hu 37137 at http://kuow.org Watch This To Put Your Facebook Feed In Perspective Why You Shouldn't Buy Into Tweeting Or Relentless Self-Promotion http://kuow.org/post/why-you-shouldnt-buy-tweeting-or-relentless-self-promotion <div><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">David Hyde interviews author D</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">avid </span>Zweig about his new&nbsp;<span style="line-height: 1.5;">book, "</span><a href="http://www.invisiblesbook.com/">Invisibles<span style="line-height: 1.5;">: The Power Of Anonymous Work In An Age of Relentless Self-Promotion."</span> Tue, 17 Jun 2014 22:16:20 +0000 David Hyde & Arwen Nicks 36550 at http://kuow.org Why You Shouldn't Buy Into Tweeting Or Relentless Self-Promotion Why Seattle Author Maria Semple Hates Facebook And Twitter http://kuow.org/post/why-seattle-author-maria-semple-hates-facebook-and-twitter <p></p><p>David Hyde talks with Seattle author <a href="http://www2.kuow.org/program.php?id=28165">Maria Semple </a>about why she thinks social media is the biggest threat to writing and art since&nbsp;<a href="https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YlpbYbi6lSk">Peter Criss' first solo album. </a> Wed, 23 Apr 2014 22:20:30 +0000 David Hyde 33111 at http://kuow.org Why Seattle Author Maria Semple Hates Facebook And Twitter How Twitter Could Help Prevent HIV Infections http://kuow.org/post/how-twitter-could-help-prevent-hiv-infections <p>David Hyde talks with UCLA professor Sean Young about his <a href="http://www.sciencedirect.com/science/article/pii/S0091743514000553">new study</a> that links language used in tweets with high rates of HIV infection. Fri, 07 Mar 2014 23:44:10 +0000 David Hyde & Andy Hurst 30064 at http://kuow.org How Twitter Could Help Prevent HIV Infections Facebook Moves To Restrict Posts About Gun Sales http://kuow.org/post/facebook-moves-restrict-posts-about-gun-sales <em>This post was updated at 10:30 a.m. ET on March 6.</em><p>Facebook said Wednesday that it will limit minors' access to pages and posts that offer firearms for sale, along with other measures intended to curtail illegal gun trafficking.<p>"This is something we've been working on for a while," says Facebook spokesman Matt Steinfeld. Thu, 06 Mar 2014 17:38:14 +0000 editor 29968 at http://kuow.org Facebook Moves To Restrict Posts About Gun Sales Pushback On Richard Sherman Debate: 'He Is The Antithesis Of The Dumb Jock Stereotype' http://kuow.org/post/pushback-richard-sherman-debate-he-antithesis-dumb-jock-stereotype <p>The Seattle Seahawks booked their ticket to the Super Bowl by winning the NFC Championship on Sunday, but not without some controversy.</p><p>When Erin Andrews of Fox Sports grabbed Seattle cornerback Richard Sherman for a post-game interview, he looked right into the camera and said, “I’m the best corner in the game and when you try me against a sorry receiver like Crabtree that’s the results you going to get.” Tue, 21 Jan 2014 22:05:49 +0000 David Hyde & Christine Streich 27401 at http://kuow.org Pushback On Richard Sherman Debate: 'He Is The Antithesis Of The Dumb Jock Stereotype' That's Not What The Fox Says. It Goes Wow-Wow http://kuow.org/post/thats-not-what-fox-says-it-goes-wow-wow <p></p><p>"What does the fox say?" — the viral video in which a child’s barnyard sounds book goes “Gangnam Style” — has spurred many parodies, &nbsp;including one from longtime local drive time show, <a href="http://www.957kjr.com/media/podcast-videos-from-the-bob-rivers-show-bobriversvideo/what-does-the-hawk-say-23825307/">Bob Rivers on KJR</a>. Their Twisted Tunes team spun the tune into a pep rally ditty for the Seattle Seahawks.</p><p>This inspired KUOW host Bill Radke to ponder — and answer — the cosmic question himself. Play the audio clip to find out exactly what a fox says.</p> Wed, 23 Oct 2013 22:42:47 +0000 Bill Radke & Bond Huberman 22574 at http://kuow.org That's Not What The Fox Says. It Goes Wow-Wow Jonah Spangenthal-Lee: Laughing With The SPD Not At Them http://kuow.org/post/jonah-spangenthal-lee-laughing-spd-not-them <p></p><p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">The Seattle Police Department has had a difficult couple of years. A strongly critical Department of Justice report found widespread excessive use of force. A federal judge is now overseeing a plan to fix the problem.&nbsp;</span></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">But one bright spot in the media has been the police presence on the web and social media. Contrary to what you might expect, SPD&#39;s blog is pretty entertaining. For example one web post, </span><a href="http://spdblotter.seattle.gov/2012/11/09/marijwhatnow-a-guide-to-legal-marijuana-use-in-seattle/">MarijWhatNow</a><span style="line-height: 1.5;">, about how Seattle police would deal with legalized marijuana, drew worldwide attention and earned the &quot;best new thing in the world today&quot; title from the Rachel </span>Maddow<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> Show. </span> Tue, 01 Oct 2013 19:16:39 +0000 Ross Reynolds 21316 at http://kuow.org Jonah Spangenthal-Lee: Laughing With The SPD Not At Them Should Parents Post Baby Pics Online? http://kuow.org/post/should-parents-post-baby-pics-online <p>We’ve all seen them: cute baby pictures in our Facebook, Instagram or Twitter feeds. For many parents, it’s hard to resist the temptation to share just how adorable their kid looks in their first rain boots or winter hat. But some are saying parents should pause before hitting that "share" button. Marcie Sillman talks with Amy Webb about why <a href="http://www.slate.com/articles/technology/data_mine_1/2013/09/facebook_privacy_and_kids_don_t_post_photos_of_your_kids_online.html">she doesn’t post anything about her daughter online</a>. Wed, 11 Sep 2013 17:41:49 +0000 Marcie Sillman & Hannah Burn 20137 at http://kuow.org Should Parents Post Baby Pics Online? Overheard In The Green Room: Monica Guzman http://kuow.org/post/overheard-green-room-monica-guzman <p><em>Monica Guzman is a columnist for <a href="http://blogs.seattletimes.com/monica-guzman/">The Seattle Times</a> and Northwest tech news site <a href="http://www.geekwire.com">GeekWire</a>. I caught up with her in the KUOW green room before her interview with Ross Reynolds to talk about the latest tech goodies on her radar and in her smartphone, her new vlog, and what she does to get away from it all.</em></p><p> Thu, 25 Apr 2013 21:30:50 +0000 Amber Cortes 12011 at http://kuow.org Overheard In The Green Room: Monica Guzman Political Activity Skyrockets On Social Media http://kuow.org/post/political-activity-skyrockets-social-media <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Nearly 40 percent of Americans engaged in political activity on social networking sites like Facebook or Twitter in the 2012 campaign.&nbsp; That’s a dramatic increase from 2008 when only 26 percent of the population even used a social networking site, according to </span><a href="http://www.pewinternet.org/Reports/2013/Civic-Engagement.aspx" style="line-height: 1.5;">a new study by the Pew Research Center</a><span style="line-height: 1.5;">.&nbsp;&nbsp;</span>KUOW’s<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> Ross Reynolds takes a closer look at the new study with Pew researcher Aaron Smith.</span></p><p> Thu, 25 Apr 2013 19:10:36 +0000 The Conversation With Ross Reynolds 11997 at http://kuow.org Political Activity Skyrockets On Social Media Boston Marathon Bombings: The Social Media Manhunt http://kuow.org/post/boston-marathon-bombings-social-media-manhunt <p>Professional and citizen journalists turned to social media last week to report and gather information on the bombings in Boston. But in the rush to get the latest news out, rumors and misinformation ran rampant. KUOW’s Ross Reynolds spoke with Seattle Times technology columnist <a href="http://blogs.seattletimes.com/monica-guzman/author/mguzman/" style="line-height: 1.5;">Mónica Guzmán</a><span style="line-height: 1.5;"> </span>about how to avoid making social media mistakes when breaking news happens.</p><p> Mon, 22 Apr 2013 18:37:00 +0000 The Conversation With Ross Reynolds 11797 at http://kuow.org Boston Marathon Bombings: The Social Media Manhunt Alex Alben On How Digital Technology Rewrote Our Future http://kuow.org/post/alex-alben-how-digital-technology-rewrote-our-future <p>Former RealNetworks executive <a href="http://albenpost.blogspot.com/">Alex Alben</a> says digital technology is leading to more connection and more alienation.&nbsp; Alben talks to Ross Reynolds about what the rise of digital technology means for the future of America.&nbsp;</p> Tue, 16 Oct 2012 03:11:39 +0000 Ross Reynolds 1673 at http://kuow.org Alex Alben On How Digital Technology Rewrote Our Future