City of Seattle http://kuow.org en VIDEO: KUOW Unearths (And Performs!) Seattle's Official Song http://kuow.org/post/video-kuow-unearths-and-performs-seattles-official-song <p></p><p>KUOW reporter Deborah Wang was researching the Seattle city charter a few weeks ago when she found the lyrics of the official city song. She found words, but no sheet music. Tue, 24 Jun 2014 16:35:53 +0000 KUOW Staff 36703 at http://kuow.org VIDEO: KUOW Unearths (And Performs!) Seattle's Official Song The Political Chess Game Of The $15 Minimum Wage http://kuow.org/post/political-chess-game-15-minimum-wage <p></p><p>Ross Reynolds talks with <a href="https://www.15now.org/" target="_blank">15 Now</a> Campaign Manager Jess Spear about its proposed <a href="http://kuow.org/post/seattles-15-wage-campaign-eyes-ballot">Seattle city charter amendment</a> to change the minimum wage to $15.</p><p>Then, Marcie Sillman&nbsp;checks in with political analyst <a href="http://q13fox.com/bio/c-r-douglas/" target="_blank">C.R. Douglas</a> of Q13 Fox News about the politics behind the $15 minimum wage movement and what we can expect looking forward. Tue, 15 Apr 2014 22:01:45 +0000 Marcie Sillman & Ross Reynolds & Christine Streich 32608 at http://kuow.org The Political Chess Game Of The $15 Minimum Wage Three Approaches To Seattle's Comprehensive Plan http://kuow.org/post/three-approaches-seattles-comprehensive-plan <p>Ross Reynolds speaks with Tom Hauger, manager of Comprehensive and Regional Planning at the City of Seattle's Department of Planning and Development. Hauger talks about the<span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">three planning alternatives</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;being considered for&nbsp;</span><a href="http://2035.seattle.gov/" style="line-height: 1.5;">Seattle 2035.</a> Mon, 14 Apr 2014 18:30:16 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Posey Gruener 32812 at http://kuow.org Three Approaches To Seattle's Comprehensive Plan Meet Seattle's New Startup Liaison: Rebecca Lovell http://kuow.org/post/meet-seattles-new-startup-liaison-rebecca-lovell <p>Steve Scher talks with <a href="http://murray.seattle.gov/office-of-economic-development-names-rebecca-lovell-as-startup-liaison-for-the-city-of-seattle/#sthash.DsA0j7gk.dpbs">Rebecca Lovell</a>, City of Seattle's new Startup Liaison, about her goals for Seattle's tech community. Mon, 24 Mar 2014 22:46:30 +0000 Steve Scher & Andy Hurst 31166 at http://kuow.org Meet Seattle's New Startup Liaison: Rebecca Lovell Imagining Seattle In 2035 http://kuow.org/post/imagining-seattle-2035 <p>Ross Reynolds recently attended the <a href="http://2035.seattle.gov/">50<sup>th</sup> PechaKucha Seattle event</a> at Seattle Art Museum’s Olympic Sculpture Garden to imagine the future. The event strives to come up with a new comprehensive city plan to accommodate nearly 120,000 new residents who are expected to move to Seattle by 2035. Mon, 03 Feb 2014 21:52:13 +0000 Ross Reynolds 28175 at http://kuow.org Imagining Seattle In 2035 Seattle Waterfront Braces For Replacement Of Crumbling Seawall http://kuow.org/post/seattle-waterfront-braces-replacement-crumbling-seawall <p>Construction begins this month on the long-anticipated plan to replace Seattle’s crumbling downtown seawall.</p><p>Waterfront businesses are bracing for what is likely to be three years of disruptions from the $290 million project, which was approved by voters last year.</p><p> Tue, 19 Nov 2013 00:47:12 +0000 Deborah Wang 24082 at http://kuow.org Seattle Waterfront Braces For Replacement Of Crumbling Seawall Businesses Adjust To Seattle's Paid Sick Leave Law http://kuow.org/post/businesses-adjust-seattles-paid-sick-leave-law <p></p><p>Last September, Seattle began requiring employers with five or more employees to provide paid sick leave. The requirement was controversial. Some businesses feared it would affect their bottom lines. Now a series of new reports aims to gauge the law’s impact. The<a href="http://www.seattle.gov/audit/docs/PSSTemployerInterviewReportFinal_091913.pdf"> latest one,</a> commissioned by the city of Seattle, looks at how employers have dealt with the mandate.&nbsp; Fri, 20 Sep 2013 22:25:24 +0000 Ruby de Luna 20322 at http://kuow.org By Popular Demand: More Peter Steinbrueck Reading Aloud http://kuow.org/post/popular-demand-more-peter-steinbrueck-reading-aloud <p></p><p>We've gotten a bit of feedback about <a href="http://kuow.org/post/candidates-seattle-mayor-show-their-bookish-side">our story yesterday </a>on the Read 'N Greet event at the Seattle Public Library.</p><p> Wed, 19 Jun 2013 18:36:03 +0000 Deborah Wang 15230 at http://kuow.org By Popular Demand: More Peter Steinbrueck Reading Aloud Tim Burgess Won't Seek Mayor's Office http://kuow.org/post/tim-burgess-wont-seek-mayors-office <p>Seattle City Council Member Tim Burgess is stepping down as a mayoral candidate.&nbsp; His disclosure came as the filing deadline loomed for the November election. Burgess said he won’t yet endorse anyone. But he said he’s leaving the race to make it easier for another candidate to unseat incumbent Mayor Mike McGinn.&nbsp;</p><p> Sat, 18 May 2013 03:55:40 +0000 Amy Radil 13320 at http://kuow.org Tim Burgess Won't Seek Mayor's Office New Team Saves Seattle's July 4th Celebration http://kuow.org/post/new-team-saves-seattles-july-4th-celebration <p></p><p>Seattle’s July 4th fireworks are scheduled to go ahead after all. City leaders announced yesterday&nbsp;they’ve secured enough corporate sponsors to stage the event on Lake Union this summer.</p><p> Wed, 24 Apr 2013 14:19:26 +0000 Deborah Wang 11898 at http://kuow.org New Team Saves Seattle's July 4th Celebration Emotional Meeting Over Bellevue SWAT Team Shooting http://kuow.org/post/emotional-meeting-over-bellevue-swat-team-shooting <p></p><p>Last month a SWAT team from Bellevue arrived around 5:00 a.m. in a Columbia City neighborhood to serve a warrant for a suspect. As the dramatic scene unfolded the suspect, Russell Smith, was shot and killed by three Bellevue police officers. Now neighbors want answers about what happened.</p><p> Tue, 23 Apr 2013 18:55:51 +0000 Patricia Murphy 11860 at http://kuow.org Good News Seattle, City Budget Back In The Black http://kuow.org/post/good-news-seattle-city-budget-back-black <p></p><p>Budget officials in the city of Seattle delivered some good news yesterday. For the first time since the financial crisis, the city is forecasting a budget surplus.</p><p> Tue, 23 Apr 2013 14:15:51 +0000 Deborah Wang 11822 at http://kuow.org Good News Seattle, City Budget Back In The Black South Seattle Neighbors Want Answers About Police Action http://kuow.org/post/south-seattle-neighbors-want-answers-about-police-action-0 <p></p><p>On March 22, 2013,&nbsp; around&nbsp; 5:00 a.m., a SWAT team from the Bellevue Police Department showed up at a tiny dead-end street in Seattle's Columbia City neighborhood. They were there to arrest a suspect on a warrant for robbery.</p><p>Things did not go smoothly. Mon, 22 Apr 2013 14:52:12 +0000 Patricia Murphy 11776 at http://kuow.org South Seattle Neighbors Want Answers About Police Action