music http://kuow.org en John Luther Adams Wins Pulitzer For 'Become Ocean' http://kuow.org/post/john-luther-adams-wins-pulitzer-become-ocean <p></p><p>Composer John Luther Adams was as surprised as anybody when the <a href="http://www.pulitzer.org/awards/2014">Pulitzer Prize</a> committee called him Monday, April 14, to let him know he'd won the prize for his composition "Become Ocean." Tue, 15 Apr 2014 21:58:09 +0000 Marcie Sillman 32616 at http://kuow.org John Luther Adams Wins Pulitzer For 'Become Ocean' Pop Stars Are Sippin' On Patron, And Teens Are Bingeing http://kuow.org/post/pop-stars-are-sippin-patron-and-teens-are-bingeing Ke$ha says that to start the day she'll brush her teeth with a bottle of Jack Daniel's whiskey. Nicki Minaj likes to "have a drink, have a clink" of Bud Light. And the party-rockin' hip-hop duo LMFAO like Ciroc, and they love Patron. "Shots, shots, shots, shots everybody!"<p>All that name-checking of alcohol brands encourages teens to drink, researchers say. Wed, 09 Apr 2014 19:57:00 +0000 editor 32226 at http://kuow.org Pop Stars Are Sippin' On Patron, And Teens Are Bingeing Play It Again And Again, Sam http://kuow.org/post/play-it-again-and-again-sam <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EH45A6ek45s</p> Mon, 07 Apr 2014 22:30:00 +0000 Alix Spiegel 32083 at http://kuow.org Play It Again And Again, Sam Two Leads, Two Deaths In 18 Hours http://kuow.org/post/two-leads-two-deaths-18-hours Over the weekend, soprano Kristine Opolais sang her heart out — and died twice.<p>Friday evening she had sung the lead in <a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/90063951/giacomo-puccini" target="_blank">Puccini</a>'s <em>Madama Butterfly</em>. It was her debut in that role at the Metropolitan Opera in New York. It was a big deal. Opolais was so excited about it that she stayed up until five the next morning.<p>At 7:30 Saturday morning, she got a call from Peter Gelb, the general manager of the Met. Groggy-voiced, Opolais said hello, and after a moment it became clear what was happening. Mon, 07 Apr 2014 20:45:00 +0000 NPR Staff 32068 at http://kuow.org Two Leads, Two Deaths In 18 Hours Musicians, Take Note: Your Instrument May Be Contraband http://kuow.org/post/musicians-take-note-your-instrument-may-be-contraband New Obama administration rules aimed at protecting African elephants are causing widespread anxiety in the music world. From country to classical, working musicians say the policy will make them think twice about touring abroad.<p>The proposed regulations would place a near-total ban on anything made with ivory moving in and out of the U.S.<p>Says Craig Hoover, who heads up the Wildlife Trade and Conservation Branch of the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service: "The reason for that is ... Mon, 07 Apr 2014 20:44:00 +0000 Adam Ragusea 32067 at http://kuow.org Musicians, Take Note: Your Instrument May Be Contraband Remembering The Day Kurt Cobain's Music Died http://kuow.org/post/remembering-day-kurt-cobains-music-died <p></p><p>It was 20 years ago, but I remember it clearly: April 8, 1994, the day the world found out that Nirvana front man Kurt Cobain was dead. Thu, 03 Apr 2014 17:16:28 +0000 Marcie Sillman 31816 at http://kuow.org Remembering The Day Kurt Cobain's Music Died UW Music Library Scores Big With Large Bequest http://kuow.org/post/uw-music-library-scores-big-large-bequest <p></p><p>William Crawford had a passion. During his lifetime, he collected rare, first edition vocal musical scores. By the time he died in 2013, he had amassed more than 700 scores by such famous composers as Beethoven, Bach and Wagner. Now those scores have found a home in Seattle. Wed, 02 Apr 2014 18:16:03 +0000 Marcie Sillman 31610 at http://kuow.org UW Music Library Scores Big With Large Bequest A Man Apart: Terry Teachout On Jazz Giant Duke Ellington http://kuow.org/post/man-apart-terry-teachout-jazz-giant-duke-ellington <p>Ross Reynolds talks with Wall Street Journal drama critic Terry Teachout about his book, "Duke: A Life of Duke Ellington."</p><p>Ellington is regarded as perhaps the greatest jazz composer of the 20th century. The conductor Andre Previn once compared him to Igor Stravinsky and Sergei&nbsp;Prokofiev.</p><p><em>This interview originally aired on October 16, 2013.</em> Tue, 25 Mar 2014 21:19:28 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Jason Pagano 22176 at http://kuow.org A Man Apart: Terry Teachout On Jazz Giant Duke Ellington From Preacher To Grass Cutter To Earth-Shaking Soul Singer http://kuow.org/post/preacher-grass-cutter-earth-shaking-soul-singer <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gigZGc4KucE</p> Thu, 20 Mar 2014 17:03:22 +0000 NPR Staff 30921 at http://kuow.org From Preacher To Grass Cutter To Earth-Shaking Soul Singer 'Swing Years' Theme Song Explained http://kuow.org/post/swing-years-theme-song-explained <p></p><p>The most frequently asked question of <em>The Swing Years and Beyond</em> is “What is your theme?”</p><p>Played at the top of each <em>Swing Years</em> show, it’s "Royal Blue" from "The Pink Panther" soundtrack. The film came out in 1963 and the album was released in 1964, featuring lounge and lush instrumentals by Henri Pancini … er, Mancini!</p><p>http://youtu.be/2vEyIJgaZIQ</p><p></p> Wed, 19 Mar 2014 20:26:59 +0000 Amanda Wilde 30866 at http://kuow.org 'Swing Years' Theme Song Explained Seattle Symphony Launches New Venture To Release Own Recordings http://kuow.org/post/seattle-symphony-launches-new-venture-release-own-recordings <p>The Seattle Symphony is joining the ranks of other major orchestras across the country with the creation of an in-house production company called Seattle Symphony Media.</p><p>The venture launches with the release of three new recordings, one of which was made during a live performance. Wed, 19 Mar 2014 16:33:37 +0000 Marcie Sillman 30810 at http://kuow.org Seattle Symphony Launches New Venture To Release Own Recordings 'Bodies Went Flying' As Car Tore Through Crowd At SXSW http://kuow.org/post/bodies-went-flying-car-tore-through-crowd-sxsw <h6>This post has been updated. Thu, 13 Mar 2014 15:48:00 +0000 Mark Memmott 30434 at http://kuow.org 'Bodies Went Flying' As Car Tore Through Crowd At SXSW NPR Music's SXSW 2014 Showcase http://kuow.org/post/npr-musics-sxsw-2014-showcase <p><a href="http://kuow.org/live-event/npr-musics-sxsw-2014-showcase">Visit NPR Music's SXSW 2014 Showcase here.</a> Wed, 12 Mar 2014 17:29:42 +0000 Editor 30368 at http://kuow.org NPR Music's SXSW 2014 Showcase Seattle Band Ravenna Woods Plays Live At KUOW http://kuow.org/post/seattle-band-ravenna-woods-plays-live-kuow <p>Steve Scher talks with guitarist<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> Chris Cunningham and drummer Matt Badger of the Northwest indie band, </span><a href="http://ravennawoods.net/‎">Ravenna</a><span style="line-height: 1.5;"><a href="http://ravennawoods.net/‎"> Woods</a>. The band performed a few songs from</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;"> its new album, "The Jackals," in the KUOW studios. </span> Thu, 06 Mar 2014 00:18:18 +0000 Steve Scher & Arwen Nicks 29792 at http://kuow.org Seattle Band Ravenna Woods Plays Live At KUOW How One Winner Changed The Academy Awards http://kuow.org/post/how-one-winner-changed-academy-awards <p>In anticipation for the Oscars this weekend, Steve Scher sat down with <em>Swing Years </em>host Amanda Wilde to discuss the history of the Best Original Song category. Thu, 27 Feb 2014 22:19:03 +0000 Steve Scher & Amanda Wilde 29563 at http://kuow.org How One Winner Changed The Academy Awards