music http://kuow.org en 'The Best Music Is A Blank Slate': Charles R. Cross On Knowing Too Much About Musicians http://kuow.org/post/best-music-blank-slate-charles-r-cross-knowing-too-much-about-musicians <p>Jeannie Yandel talks with Seattle-based music writer and critic <a href="http://charlesrcross.com/">Charles R. Cross</a> about why it's almost always better to know less about a musician's personal life and political views. The Puyallup Tribe announced they're <a href="http://www.thenewstribune.com/2014/07/24/3302220/tacoma-casino-bows-to-public-pressure.html?sp=/99/289/&amp;ihp=1">canceling rock musician Ted Nugent's shows </a>at the Emerald Queen Casino, saying comments Nugent recently made about President Obama helped push them to cancel the shows. Fri, 25 Jul 2014 21:32:10 +0000 Jeannie Yandel 38959 at http://kuow.org 'The Best Music Is A Blank Slate': Charles R. Cross On Knowing Too Much About Musicians What About Bob? Explaining The Obsession Of Dylan Fans http://kuow.org/post/what-about-bob-explaining-obsession-dylan-fans <p>Ross Reynolds talks with author <a href="http://davidkinney.net/">David Kinney</a> about this new book "The Dylanologists: Adventures in the Land of Bob." Mon, 21 Jul 2014 22:31:49 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Andy Hurst 38644 at http://kuow.org First Listen: Shabazz Palaces, 'Lese Majesty' http://kuow.org/post/first-listen-shabazz-palaces-lese-majesty Broadcasting live from the land of legal weed and sliding into the frame like a giant Pacific octopus, here comes <em>Lese Majesty</em>, the third album from Seattle's <a href="http://www.npr.org/templates/search/index.php?searchinput=shabazz+palaces">Shabazz Palaces</a>. It's definitely hip-hop, but... was that a drum? Human? Synthesizer? Sample of an old record? We may never know. Mon, 21 Jul 2014 15:17:29 +0000 Andrew Matson 38631 at http://kuow.org First Listen: Shabazz Palaces, 'Lese Majesty' 'Imbecile Slush': Surprising Early Reactions To Crooning http://kuow.org/post/imbecile-slush-surprising-early-reactions-crooning <p>In 1932, a new singing style was emerging: crooning. What we might consider easy listening now wasn't necessarily received cordially by its contemporaries. Cardinal O'Connell of Boston described it as "imbecile slush" and "a degenerate form of singing.” Wed, 02 Jul 2014 23:57:18 +0000 Amanda Wilde 37426 at http://kuow.org 'Imbecile Slush': Surprising Early Reactions To Crooning Why Would More Than 500 Artists Sample The Same Song? http://kuow.org/post/why-would-more-500-artists-sample-same-song <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lpayJn3Ch5M</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TM6TCGltfHM</p> Fri, 27 Jun 2014 14:49:29 +0000 editor 37206 at http://kuow.org Why Would More Than 500 Artists Sample The Same Song? Eddie Vedder Sings That 'Frozen' Song http://kuow.org/post/eddie-vedder-sings-frozen-song <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">The "Frozen" shark has been jumped.</span></p><p>How many months have we been saying, “enough of that song from Disney's 'Frozen!'”&nbsp;<span style="line-height: 1.5;">The song “Let It Go” has been inescapable on the web, television and the radio.&nbsp;</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">But it's not so bad — it’s not like Pearl Jam is doing it.</span></p> Tue, 24 Jun 2014 20:12:18 +0000 Bill Radke 36990 at http://kuow.org Eddie Vedder Sings That 'Frozen' Song Think Before You Clap: You Could Be Beat Deaf http://kuow.org/post/think-you-clap-you-could-be-beat-deaf <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dZWa_LAfhNk</p> Tue, 24 Jun 2014 14:49:22 +0000 Elizabeth Blair 36960 at http://kuow.org Think Before You Clap: You Could Be Beat Deaf Rodney Crowell: Tiny Desk Concert http://kuow.org/post/rodney-crowell-tiny-desk-concert <a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/14957279/rodney-crowell">Rodney Crowell</a> performs with the ease and swagger of a man comfortable in his ways. He carries his songs the way he carries his old guitar: out in the open, no case, almost as an extension of his body.<p>The man from Crosby, Texas, has been writing country songs for much of his life. At 22, he moved to Nashville and honed his craft with country greats Jerry Reed and <a href="http://www.npr.org/templates/search/index.php?searchinput=guy+clark&dateId=0&programId=0">Guy Clark</a>. Tue, 17 Jun 2014 14:37:08 +0000 Bob Boilen 36531 at http://kuow.org Rodney Crowell: Tiny Desk Concert Critics Debate Sir Mix-A-Lot's Show At Seattle Symphony http://kuow.org/post/critics-debate-sir-mix-lots-show-seattle-symphony <p>Critics are squabbling over Seattle Symphony's latest program: teaming up with Sir Mix-A-Lot and some dancing women at&nbsp;Benaroya&nbsp;Hall in a performance of "Baby Got Back."</p><p>You don't associate orchestral music with liking big butts and not lying, but the video of the performance is a hit — more than two million views on YouTube so far. (Scroll down to watch the video.) Thu, 12 Jun 2014 18:42:50 +0000 Bill Radke 36270 at http://kuow.org Critics Debate Sir Mix-A-Lot's Show At Seattle Symphony My Posse's At The Symphony? Sir Mix-A-Lot Goes Classical http://kuow.org/post/my-posses-symphony-sir-mix-lot-goes-classical <p>Marcie Sillman talks with Seattle rapper <a href="http://sirmixalot.com/">Sir Mix-A-Lot</a> about his upcoming <a href="http://www.seattlesymphony.org/symphony/buy/single/production.aspx?id=14058&amp;src=t">performance</a> with the Seattle Symphony.</p><p>Update: The performance was a hit, with women from the audience getting on stage and dancing to Mix's classic, "Baby Got Back." &nbsp; Thu, 05 Jun 2014 22:10:33 +0000 Marcie Sillman & Andy Hurst 35871 at http://kuow.org My Posse's At The Symphony? Sir Mix-A-Lot Goes Classical Dave Beck Contemplates The Challenges Of A 21st Century Symphony http://kuow.org/post/dave-beck-contemplates-challenges-21st-century-symphony <p>When the League of American Orchestras' annual meeting kicks off in Seattle on June 6, the almost 1,000 conventioneers will have more than classical music on their minds. American symphony orchestras are thinking about survival in an era where potential audiences have the world available at the tap of a smart phone.</p><p>Classical musician and radio host Dave Beck of Seattle's KING-FM jokes "there are lots of people in classical music audiences whose hair is even grayer than mine." Wed, 04 Jun 2014 22:21:29 +0000 Marcie Sillman 35681 at http://kuow.org Dave Beck Contemplates The Challenges Of A 21st Century Symphony Jimi Hendrix, Seattle And Race In Post-War American Culture http://kuow.org/post/jimi-hendrix-seattle-and-race-post-war-american-culture <div><p></p><p>David Hyde speaks with c<span style="line-height: 1.5;">ultural historian, musician and writer&nbsp;</span><a href="http://tigger.uic.edu/~pbhales/my%20uic%20webpage(s)/Peter%20Bacon%20Hales.html" style="line-height: 1.5;">Peter Bacon Hales</a><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">about</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;Jimi Hendrix's cover of Bob Dylan's "All Along The Watchtower," which is the subject of a chapter in his new book, "<a href="http://press.uchicago.edu/ucp/books/book/chicago/O/bo17840930.html">Outside The Gates Of Eden: </a></span><a href="http://press.uchicago.edu/ucp/books/book/chicago/O/bo17840930.html" style="line-height: 1.5;"><span style="line-height: 1.5;">The Dream Of America From Hiroshima To Now."</span></a> Fri, 30 May 2014 22:02:03 +0000 David Hyde & Amina Al-Sadi 35470 at http://kuow.org Jimi Hendrix, Seattle And Race In Post-War American Culture Local Musicians Talk About Their Love For Disney Classics http://kuow.org/post/local-musicians-talk-about-their-love-disney-classics <p>Ross Reynolds interviews saxophonist and bandleader Jacob Zimmerman and vocalist Katie Jacobsen about an evening of music from Disney films they’ll be performing with others Saturday night at the Royal Room in Seattle’s Columbia City neighborhood.</p><p>Zimmerman has performed marching band renditions of Disney favorites in the Disneyland All-American College Band. Jacobsen loved Disney music as a kid, and then got into it again when she began giving voice lessons and all the girls wanted to sing Disney songs. Fri, 30 May 2014 22:01:06 +0000 Ross Reynolds 34827 at http://kuow.org Local Musicians Talk About Their Love For Disney Classics Quinton Morris: Teaching The Next Generation Of Musicians http://kuow.org/post/quinton-morris-teaching-next-generation-musicians <p>He's only 36 years old, but violinist Quinton Morris has the kind of resume that would make anybody a little jealous.</p><p>Solo performance at Carnegie Hall? Check. Thu, 22 May 2014 22:07:58 +0000 Marcie Sillman 34519 at http://kuow.org Quinton Morris: Teaching The Next Generation Of Musicians Saturn Still Swings: Celebrating Sun Ra At 100 http://kuow.org/post/saturn-still-swings-celebrating-sun-ra-100 <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wrIIW_pKLBA</p> Thu, 22 May 2014 16:47:04 +0000 Joel Rose 34970 at http://kuow.org Saturn Still Swings: Celebrating Sun Ra At 100