criminal justice http://kuow.org en Justice Suffers When There Are 'Too Many Cases, Not Enough Time' http://kuow.org/post/justice-suffers-when-there-are-too-many-cases-not-enough-time <div><p></p><p>On a Friday in April 2013, King County District Court Judge Victoria Seitz had 66 cases on her docket.&nbsp;“We have too many cases and not enough court time, and so forth, to deal with them,” she announced to the court. Mon, 07 Apr 2014 17:23:44 +0000 Patricia Murphy 31992 at http://kuow.org Justice Suffers When There Are 'Too Many Cases, Not Enough Time' Judge Finds Public Defense In Mount Vernon And Burlington Inadequate http://kuow.org/post/judge-finds-public-defense-mount-vernon-and-burlington-inadequate <p>Steve Scher talks with Seattle University School of Law professor Robert&nbsp;Boruchowitz about a federal judge's decision that Mount Vernon and Burlington municipal courts have not provided adequate&nbsp;public defense services to indigent clients. Thu, 05 Dec 2013 23:00:06 +0000 Steve Scher 24983 at http://kuow.org Supreme Court Says Wash. Man Got Excessive Prison Sentence http://kuow.org/post/supreme-court-says-wash-man-got-excessive-prison-sentence <p>The United States Supreme Court decided Thursday that a Colville man received an excessive prison sentence when a federal judge overstepped his bounds.</p><p>The high court’s ruling was welcome news to Matthew Descamps’ family.</p> Fri, 21 Jun 2013 00:13:39 +0000 Ann Dornfeld 15341 at http://kuow.org Supreme Court Says Wash. Man Got Excessive Prison Sentence Seattle Police Loosen Rules For New Recruits http://kuow.org/post/seattle-police-loosen-rules-new-recruits <p>The Seattle Police Department is preparing to hire more than 300 new officers in the next five years, and it wants to do things differently.</p><p> Tue, 07 May 2013 14:34:54 +0000 Deborah Wang 12614 at http://kuow.org Seattle Police Loosen Rules For New Recruits Seattle Man Gets 18 Years For Terror Plot http://kuow.org/post/seattle-man-gets-18-years-terror-plot <p></p><p>A Seattle man received an 18-year prison sentence on terrorism charges on Monday after plotting to attack a military installation in South Seattle.</p><p> Tue, 26 Mar 2013 01:59:07 +0000 John Ryan 10346 at http://kuow.org Seattle Man Gets 18 Years For Terror Plot Death Penalty Cases Derailed In King County http://kuow.org/post/death-penalty-cases-derailed-king-county <p></p><p>Both of King County’s death penalty cases are on hold pending appeal to the Washington Supreme Court. A key issue in both cases is whether the defendants have experienced any hardships that should have required prosecutors to be more lenient.</p><p> Mon, 04 Mar 2013 20:00:21 +0000 Amy Radil 9166 at http://kuow.org Death Penalty Cases Derailed In King County Should Minors Convicted Of Crimes Be Serving Life Sentences Without Parole? http://kuow.org/post/should-minors-convicted-crimes-be-serving-life-sentences-without-parole <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Some prisoners in Washington state are currently serving life sentences without the possibility of parole for crimes they committed when they were under the age of 18. Is that just? Last year, the US Supreme Court ruled that a mandatory life-without-parole sentence for juveniles violates the Eighth&nbsp;Amendment. Ross Reynolds explores what Washington state must now do.</span></p><p> Mon, 04 Mar 2013 18:59:24 +0000 Producer 9156 at http://kuow.org Should Minors Convicted Of Crimes Be Serving Life Sentences Without Parole?