fraud http://kuow.org en Prosecutors Warn Scammers To Leave Oso Alone http://kuow.org/post/prosecutors-warn-scammers-leave-oso-alone <p></p><p>Federal and county prosecutors issued a warning to people who might use the Oso disaster for their own personal gain. They said they are watching for people who rip off donors or take advantage of victims.</p><p> Tue, 22 Apr 2014 15:15:53 +0000 Carolyn Adolph 32983 at http://kuow.org Prosecutors Warn Scammers To Leave Oso Alone Prosecutor Who Oversaw WAMU Fraud Case Retires After 35 Years http://kuow.org/post/prosecutor-who-oversaw-wamu-fraud-case-retires-after-35-years <p>David Hyde talks with Bob Westinghouse about his three decades-long career as a federal prosecutor in western Washington. Tue, 31 Dec 2013 23:10:10 +0000 David Hyde, Andy Hurst & Jeannie Yandel 26349 at http://kuow.org Holiday Shoppers May Hit Snags As Banks Try To Curb Fraud http://kuow.org/post/holiday-shoppers-may-hit-snags-banks-try-curb-fraud <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2013/12/121613JR_StoreLimit_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>An unprecedented rash of credit card fraud in one corner of the Northwest is forcing banks to put limits on card purchases – just in time for the busiest shopping season of the year.<p> Tue, 17 Dec 2013 15:48:55 +0000 Jessica Robinson 25615 at http://kuow.org Holiday Shoppers May Hit Snags As Banks Try To Curb Fraud Early Tax Filing Protects Against Identity Theft, Fraud http://kuow.org/post/early-tax-filing-protects-against-identity-theft-fraud <p>There's a new reason to file your taxes early next year: you might thwart an identity thief.</p><p>Identity thieves have used stolen information to beat victims to their tax filings. They file false reports, get large refunds and create a mess for the real taxpayer.</p><p> Mon, 15 Apr 2013 18:23:15 +0000 Carolyn Adolph 11302 at http://kuow.org State Auditor Brian Sonntag: An Exit Interview http://kuow.org/post/state-auditor-brian-sonntag-exit-interview <p></p><p>State Auditor Brian Sonntag’s performance audits have pointed out how government agencies could save money and avoid fraud. Sonntag leaves office next month and he sits down with Ross Reynolds for a discussion about what he was and wasn't able to accomplish as the <a href="http://www.sao.wa.gov/EN/Pages/default.aspx">Washington state auditor. Mon, 10 Dec 2012 19:56:31 +0000 Ross Reynolds 4866 at http://kuow.org Scientific Papers Retracted Due To Plagiarism, Not Error http://kuow.org/post/scientific-papers-retracted-due-plagiarism-not-error <p></p><p>Authors of a new report says error is not the leading cause of scientific paper retractions and that the papers are being withdrawn due to fraud or suspected fraud, duplicate publication or plagiarism nearly 70 percent of the time. Ross Reynolds talks with University of Washington School of Medicine Dr. Ferric Fang about why this happens and what it means.&nbsp;</p> Fri, 05 Oct 2012 18:16:20 +0000 Ross Reynolds 1124 at http://kuow.org