Olympics http://kuow.org en Coach From Tacoma Helps U.S. Olympians Play Mental Game http://kuow.org/post/coach-tacoma-helps-us-olympians-play-mental-game <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/02/020414TB_MentalCoach_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>The Super Bowl-winning Seattle Seahawks had one. Professional baseball teams have them. And the U.S. Olympic women's ice hockey team found one in Tacoma: a "mental skills" coach.<p> Tue, 04 Feb 2014 15:56:50 +0000 Tom Banse 28176 at http://kuow.org Coach From Tacoma Helps U.S. Olympians Play Mental Game The Games Are A Great Party, But Not A Great Investment http://kuow.org/post/games-are-great-party-not-great-investment <em>NPR correspondents Ari Shapiro, in London, and Joanna Kakissis, in Athens, teamed up for this joint look at Olympics economics.</em><p>The Winter Olympics in Sochi are just a few days away. Russia has spent $50 billion on everything from construction to security, making these the most expensive games in history.<p>Countries often justify the Olympic-sized price tag by saying the investment pays off in increased business and tourism.<p>It may look that way at first. Mon, 03 Feb 2014 08:25:00 +0000 Ari Shapiro 28098 at http://kuow.org The Games Are A Great Party, But Not A Great Investment Washington Man's Olympic Dream: Making Snow In Sochi http://kuow.org/post/washington-mans-olympic-dream-making-snow-sochi <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/01/012114TB_MakeSnow_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>Winter Olympic hopefuls from the Northwest are learning this month who will get to go to the Sochi Games next month. One snow making expert from Washington state is already there.<p> Wed, 22 Jan 2014 17:30:56 +0000 Tom Banse 27435 at http://kuow.org Washington Man's Olympic Dream: Making Snow In Sochi More Northwest Athletes Qualify For Sochi Olympics http://kuow.org/post/more-northwest-athletes-qualify-sochi-olympics-0 <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/01/012013TB_NWOlympians_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>It's not just the Seattle Seahawks in the Super Bowl that will make for an exciting February for Northwest sports fans. The Winter Olympics start mere days later.<p> Wed, 22 Jan 2014 00:15:07 +0000 Tom Banse 27415 at http://kuow.org More Northwest Athletes Qualify For Sochi Olympics Northwest Ski Towns Stock Olympic Teams Well Beyond USA http://kuow.org/post/northwest-ski-towns-stock-olympic-teams-well-beyond-usa <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/01/011314TB_Olympians_web_0.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>Next month, Sochi, Russia will host athletes from more than 85 nations at the Winter Olympics. Some of those countries might surprise you. They get no snow or have no mountains.<p> Tue, 14 Jan 2014 18:30:36 +0000 Tom Banse 27041 at http://kuow.org Northwest Ski Towns Stock Olympic Teams Well Beyond USA Cross Country Ski Duo Bring Sibling Power To Winter Olympics http://kuow.org/post/cross-country-ski-duo-bring-sibling-power-winter-olympics <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/01/010614TB_OlympicDuo_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>Athletes headed to next month's Winter Olympics in Russia can be expected to leverage any advantage that nature or nurture provides: Experience, a bigger body, or a higher tolerance for pain.<p> Tue, 07 Jan 2014 17:37:20 +0000 Tom Banse 26653 at http://kuow.org Cross Country Ski Duo Bring Sibling Power To Winter Olympics Olympics To Drop Wrestling, Northwest Wrestlers Shocked http://kuow.org/post/olympics-drop-wrestling-northwest-wrestlers-shocked <p>This week the International Olympic Committee announced a plan to drop wrestling from the 2020 summer games. But there's some chance the drop could still be stopped. Ross Reynolds interviews former Olympic wrestler Ivan Ivanov who is now based in Idaho, and Seattle Times columnist Ron Judd.</p><p> Wed, 13 Feb 2013 20:07:00 +0000 Ross Reynolds 8176 at http://kuow.org Olympics To Drop Wrestling, Northwest Wrestlers Shocked