salmon http://kuow.org en Federal Salmon Plan Heads Back To The Courtroom http://kuow.org/post/federal-salmon-plan-heads-back-courtroom It’s back to court for the federal government and salmon advocates. Mon, 23 Jun 2014 14:06:55 +0000 Courtney Flatt 36879 at http://kuow.org Federal Salmon Plan Heads Back To The Courtroom EPA, Environmental Groups Reach Agreement To Protect Salmon From Insecticides http://kuow.org/post/epa-environmental-groups-reach-agreement-protect-salmon-insecticides Environmental groups and the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency announced an agreement Friday reinstating rules meant to protect salmon and steelhead from insecticides.<p>The agreement sets streamside buffers prohibiting aerial spraying within 300 feet and ground spraying within 60 feet of salmon and steelhead streams. The restriction applies to five different insecticides: diazinon, chlorpyrifos, malathion, carbaryl, and methomyl.<p>“The agreement provides more certainty to farmers about how to protect fish. Fri, 06 Jun 2014 18:11:32 +0000 Tony Schick 35934 at http://kuow.org EPA, Environmental Groups Reach Agreement To Protect Salmon From Insecticides Northwesterners: Can You Name That Salmon? http://kuow.org/post/northwesterners-can-you-name-salmon <p></p><p>The other day I shared a table with some fishermen who were sure they were eating king salmon. The choice made sense: It's king season. King is very fatty, therefore delicious. And we were at a celebration at Fishermen's Terminal. So it had to be what some Canadians call Tyee, the chief of salmon, the king. Thu, 29 May 2014 19:22:43 +0000 Carolyn Adolph 35433 at http://kuow.org Northwesterners: Can You Name That Salmon? 'From Fighter To Conciliator': Friend Remembers Billy Frank, Jr. http://kuow.org/post/fighter-conciliator-friend-remembers-billy-frank-jr <p>Bill Radke talks with University of Colorado-Boulder law professor Charles Wilkinson, author of "Messages From Frank's Landing," about his friend and colleague, Billy Frank, Jr. Tue, 06 May 2014 17:51:59 +0000 Bill Radke 33968 at http://kuow.org 'From Fighter To Conciliator': Friend Remembers Billy Frank, Jr. Tribal Treaty Rights Champion Billy Frank Jr. Dead At Age 83 http://kuow.org/post/tribal-treaty-rights-champion-billy-frank-jr-dead-age-83 <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/05/050514TB_FrankObit_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&#160;</span><a href="http://historylink.org/index.cfm?DisplayPage=output.cfm&file_id=8929" style="line-height: 1.5; color: rgb(1, 143, 226); text-decoration: underline;">Billy Frank&#160;Jr.</a>,<span style="line-height: 1.5;">&#160;a</span>&#160;legendary champion of tribal treaty rights and Northwest salmon restoration, died Monday. He was 83 years old.<p> Tue, 06 May 2014 15:19:17 +0000 Tom Banse 33960 at http://kuow.org Tribal Treaty Rights Champion Billy Frank Jr. Dead At Age 83 Tribes Optimistic About Returning Salmon To Upper Columbia Basin http://kuow.org/post/tribes-optimistic-about-returning-salmon-upper-columbia-basin <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/04/042414TB_Salmon_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>Hydropower dams built without fish ladders have blocked migratory fish from the upper reaches of the Columbia and Snake Rivers for decades.<p> Fri, 25 Apr 2014 14:15:24 +0000 Tom Banse 33286 at http://kuow.org Tribes Optimistic About Returning Salmon To Upper Columbia Basin DNR Postpones Clear-Cuts It Approved Near Oso Landslide http://kuow.org/post/dnr-postpones-clear-cuts-it-approved-near-oso-landslide <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Washington state officials have postponed selling 250 acres of timber on steep slopes near the town of </span>Oso<span style="line-height: 1.5;">.</span></p><p> Mon, 21 Apr 2014 20:35:45 +0000 John Ryan 32850 at http://kuow.org DNR Postpones Clear-Cuts It Approved Near Oso Landslide Ballard Locks Makes Improvements For Juvenile Salmon http://kuow.org/post/ballard-locks-makes-improvements-juvenile-salmon <p>For young salmon and steelhead in the Lake Washington watershed, there is only one way to get to sea: through the Ballard Locks. Mon, 21 Apr 2014 16:46:44 +0000 Ann Dornfeld 32848 at http://kuow.org Ballard Locks Makes Improvements For Juvenile Salmon First Nuisance Sea Lions Of 2014 Killed At Bonneville Dam http://kuow.org/post/first-nuisance-sea-lions-2014-killed-bonneville-dam <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/04/041814TB_SeaLions_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>State wildlife officers trapped and killed six salmon-chomping sea lions at Bonneville Dam earlier this week.<p> Mon, 21 Apr 2014 15:12:33 +0000 Tom Banse 32929 at http://kuow.org First Nuisance Sea Lions Of 2014 Killed At Bonneville Dam Endangered Salmon Migrate Via Trucks Around Cracked Dam http://kuow.org/post/endangered-salmon-migrate-trucks-around-cracked-dam <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/04/041514AK_Wanapum_salmonfix_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>The Columbia River will remain drawn down at least until June because of the cracked Wanapum Dam in southeast Washington.<p> Wed, 16 Apr 2014 11:01:33 +0000 Anna King 32644 at http://kuow.org Endangered Salmon Migrate Via Trucks Around Cracked Dam Billy Frank Jr.: Tribes Must Try To Bring The Salmon Back http://kuow.org/post/billy-frank-jr-tribes-must-try-bring-salmon-back <p><em>Editor's note, 5/5/2014: Billy Frank Jr., who led the "Fish Wars" of the 1960s and '70s, has died. He was 83. Below is an interview with Frank, conducted in March by KUOW's Steve Scher and Arwen Nicks. We also featured Frank in a <a href="https://medium.com/philosophy-logic/a5327c10572a">series on tribal fishing</a>.</em></p><p>Billy Frank Jr. helped secure Indian fishing rights through protest and legal action in the 1960s and '70s. The 83-year-old Nisqually tribe member has been arrested about 50 times over the years; the first time was in 1945 when he was 14, for fishing. Thu, 10 Apr 2014 22:48:49 +0000 Steve Scher 32251 at http://kuow.org Billy Frank Jr.: Tribes Must Try To Bring The Salmon Back Banner Summer On Tap For Ocean Salmon Fishing http://kuow.org/post/banner-summer-tap-ocean-salmon-fishing <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/04/040914TB_Salmon_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>A federal fisheries management panel has approved what some charter captains are calling the best ocean fishing season in 20 years.<p> Thu, 10 Apr 2014 15:14:38 +0000 Tom Banse 32275 at http://kuow.org Banner Summer On Tap For Ocean Salmon Fishing What A Long, Strange Trip: Salmon Are Trucking To The Pacific Ocean http://kuow.org/post/truckin-salmon-take-long-strange-trip-pacific-ocean In California, severe drought has imperiled millions of juvenile salmon who now face waters too dry to let them make their usual spawning trip to the ocean. Wed, 26 Mar 2014 07:21:00 +0000 Richard Gonzales 31274 at http://kuow.org What A Long, Strange Trip: Salmon Are Trucking To The Pacific Ocean Fish Experts Plan A Salmon Water Slide On Cracked Wanapum Dam http://kuow.org/post/fish-experts-plan-salmon-water-slide-cracked-wanapum-dam <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/03/032014AK_Wanapum_salmon_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>The ongoing issue with the cracked Wanapum Dam in central Washington is now creating a problem for migrating salmon.<p> Fri, 21 Mar 2014 12:08:38 +0000 Anna King 31006 at http://kuow.org Fish Experts Plan A Salmon Water Slide On Cracked Wanapum Dam Tribes Push To Restore Salmon To Upper Columbia River http://kuow.org/post/tribes-push-restore-salmon-upper-columbia-river <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/03/031814TB_GrandCoulee_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>Once upon a time, salmon and steelhead swam over a thousand miles upriver to the headwaters of the mighty Columbia River, at the foot of the Rockies in British Columbia.<p> Wed, 19 Mar 2014 16:46:38 +0000 Tom Banse 30846 at http://kuow.org Tribes Push To Restore Salmon To Upper Columbia River