salmon http://kuow.org en Billy Frank Jr.: Tribes Must Try To Bring The Salmon Back http://kuow.org/post/billy-frank-jr-tribes-must-try-bring-salmon-back <p></p><p>Billy Frank Jr. helped secure Indian fishing rights through protest and legal action in the 1960s and '70s. The 83-year-old Nisqually tribe member has been arrested about 50 times over the years; the first time was in 1945 when he was 14, for fishing. Thu, 10 Apr 2014 22:48:49 +0000 Steve Scher 32251 at http://kuow.org Billy Frank Jr.: Tribes Must Try To Bring The Salmon Back Banner Summer On Tap For Ocean Salmon Fishing http://kuow.org/post/banner-summer-tap-ocean-salmon-fishing <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/04/040914TB_Salmon_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>A federal fisheries management panel has approved what some charter captains are calling the best ocean fishing season in 20 years.<p> Thu, 10 Apr 2014 15:14:38 +0000 Tom Banse 32275 at http://kuow.org Banner Summer On Tap For Ocean Salmon Fishing What A Long, Strange Trip: Salmon Are Trucking To The Pacific Ocean http://kuow.org/post/truckin-salmon-take-long-strange-trip-pacific-ocean In California, severe drought has imperiled millions of juvenile salmon who now face waters too dry to let them make their usual spawning trip to the ocean. Wed, 26 Mar 2014 07:21:00 +0000 Richard Gonzales 31274 at http://kuow.org What A Long, Strange Trip: Salmon Are Trucking To The Pacific Ocean Fish Experts Plan A Salmon Water Slide On Cracked Wanapum Dam http://kuow.org/post/fish-experts-plan-salmon-water-slide-cracked-wanapum-dam <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/03/032014AK_Wanapum_salmon_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>The ongoing issue with the cracked Wanapum Dam in central Washington is now creating a problem for migrating salmon.<p> Fri, 21 Mar 2014 12:08:38 +0000 Anna King 31006 at http://kuow.org Fish Experts Plan A Salmon Water Slide On Cracked Wanapum Dam Tribes Push To Restore Salmon To Upper Columbia River http://kuow.org/post/tribes-push-restore-salmon-upper-columbia-river <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/03/031814TB_GrandCoulee_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>Once upon a time, salmon and steelhead swam over a thousand miles upriver to the headwaters of the mighty Columbia River, at the foot of the Rockies in British Columbia.<p> Wed, 19 Mar 2014 16:46:38 +0000 Tom Banse 30846 at http://kuow.org Tribes Push To Restore Salmon To Upper Columbia River Salmon: 'Nature's Earliest Convenience Food' http://kuow.org/post/salmon-natures-earliest-convenience-food <p>David Hyde talks with author Nicholaas Mink about the early days of salmon and how the fish changed the culture in the Pacific Northwest. His latest book is, "Salmon: A Global History." Thu, 13 Mar 2014 22:49:03 +0000 David Hyde & Hannah Burn 30471 at http://kuow.org Salmon: 'Nature's Earliest Convenience Food' An Undammed River’s Sediment Brings New Life Downstream http://kuow.org/post/undammed-river-s-sediment-brings-new-life-downstream <p>Anne Shaffer sits on the sandy shoreline of the Elwha River and looks around in amazement. Just two years ago, this area would have been under about 20 feet of water. Tue, 11 Mar 2014 16:08:51 +0000 Katie Campbell 30263 at http://kuow.org An Undammed River’s Sediment Brings New Life Downstream Salmon Forecast Predicts 'Historical Run' For Chinook And Coho http://kuow.org/post/salmon-forecast-predicts-historical-run-chinook-and-coho <p>David Hyde talks with Ryan Lothrop, <font face="Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif" size="2">recreational fishery manager</font> at the Washington Department of Fish and Wildlife, about <a href="http://wdfw.wa.gov/fishing/northfalcon/" target="_blank">forecasting</a> salmon runs for the 2014-15 fishing season.</p><p>Lothrop said about 283,000 Chinook and 870,000 coho salmon are expected to return to Puget Sound this year. Tue, 04 Mar 2014 22:58:40 +0000 David Hyde & Christine Streich 29849 at http://kuow.org Salmon Forecast Predicts 'Historical Run' For Chinook And Coho 2014 Fall Chinook Returns Could Be Biggest On Record http://kuow.org/post/2014-fall-chinook-returns-could-be-biggest-record The future is looking bright for fall chinook salmon in the Columbia and Snake rivers. Predictions are in that this could be another record-breaking year for the fish.<p>Officials are predicting the largest return on record since 1938. That’s 1.6 million Columbia River fall chinook. Nearly 1 million of those fish will come from salmon near Hanford Reach. Wed, 26 Feb 2014 16:46:50 +0000 editor 29471 at http://kuow.org 2014 Fall Chinook Returns Could Be Biggest On Record How One Dam Increased Fish Survival By Managing Its Water http://kuow.org/post/how-one-dam-increased-fish-survival-managing-its-water RICHLAND, Wash. -- For better salmon survival: be sure to keep salmon eggs and newly hatched fish under the water. Those are the key findings of <a href="http://www.nrcresearchpress.com/doi/abs/10.1139/cjfas-2013-0276#.UwzFlV7BQ3w" title="a new study">a new study</a> that says large numbers of fish survived when a Central Washington dam carefully controlled its water releases.<p>The study looked at an area of the Columbia River known as Hanford Reach, a 50-mile stretch in Central Washington along the Hanford site. Tue, 25 Feb 2014 16:52:41 +0000 Courtney Flatt 29392 at http://kuow.org How One Dam Increased Fish Survival By Managing Its Water Stalking Puget Sound Steelhead With Science http://kuow.org/post/stalking-puget-sound-steelhead-science <p>You might call Barry Berejikian a steelhead stalker.</p><p>The government scientist’s pursuit of these anadromous trout has brought him to the deck of the <em>Chasina,</em> a research vessel that’s motoring through choppy gray waters of southern Puget Sound near the Tacoma Narrows Bridge. Tue, 11 Feb 2014 17:24:22 +0000 Ashley Ahearn 28579 at http://kuow.org Stalking Puget Sound Steelhead With Science Why Is Lake Washington's Water Level So Low? Ask The Engineers http://kuow.org/post/why-lake-washingtons-water-level-so-low-ask-engineers <p>You may have noticed that water levels at Lake Washington beaches are very low.</p><p>But if you think there might be some connection with the drought that is now gripping much of the western U.S., think again. Tue, 04 Feb 2014 16:59:53 +0000 Deborah Wang 28158 at http://kuow.org Why Is Lake Washington's Water Level So Low? Ask The Engineers Pot vs Fish: Can We Grow Salmon-Friendly Weed? http://kuow.org/post/pot-vs-fish-can-we-grow-salmon-friendly-weed As marijuana has become more mainstream, the business of cultivating the plant has boomed. That’s true nowhere more than in coastal northern California. There, the so-called Emerald Triangle of Mendocino, Trinity and Humboldt counties is believed to be the largest cannabis-growing region in the US.<p>But as the hills have sprouted thousands of new grow operations, haphazard cultivation is threatening the recovery of endangered West Coast salmon and steelhead populations.<p>The Eel River runs through the heart of the Emerald Triangle, draining California’s third-largest watershed. Mon, 03 Feb 2014 17:26:26 +0000 Liam Moriarty 28118 at http://kuow.org Pot vs Fish: Can We Grow Salmon-Friendly Weed? Feds Declare Salmon Fishery Disaster For Washington Tribes http://kuow.org/post/feds-declare-salmon-fishery-disaster-washington-tribes <p>The U.S. Secretary of Commerce has <a href="http://www.noaanews.noaa.gov/stories2014/20140127_fraserriver.html" title="">declared the Fraser River sockeye salmon run a “fishery disaster”</a> for nine tribes and non-tribal fishers in Washington state. Wed, 29 Jan 2014 20:31:17 +0000 Ashley Ahearn 27867 at http://kuow.org Feds Declare Salmon Fishery Disaster For Washington Tribes Wild Fish Group Announces Plan To Sue Over Hatchery Fish In Puget Sound http://kuow.org/post/wild-fish-group-announces-plan-sue-over-hatchery-fish-puget-sound <p>Environmental groups are turning to the courts to block the placement of hatchery-reared fish in rivers where wild fish are struggling for survival. Tue, 28 Jan 2014 18:41:46 +0000 Ashley Ahearn 27780 at http://kuow.org Wild Fish Group Announces Plan To Sue Over Hatchery Fish In Puget Sound