tourism http://kuow.org en Seattle Great Wheel Owners Want To Build A Downtown Gondola http://kuow.org/post/seattle-great-wheel-owners-want-build-downtown-gondola <p>Kyle Griffith’s family owns the Great Wheel on Pier 57. The Griffiths have been in business on the Seattle waterfront since the 1960s.</p><p>Now the family is hoping to build a gondola that would run along Union Street from the Washington State Convention and Trade Center to the waterfront with a stop at Pike Place Market. Wed, 05 Mar 2014 17:49:18 +0000 Patricia Murphy 29884 at http://kuow.org Seattle Great Wheel Owners Want To Build A Downtown Gondola Seattle City Attorney Wants To Encourage Pot Tourism http://kuow.org/post/seattle-city-attorney-wants-encourage-pot-tourism <p>Ross Reynolds talks with Seattle City Attorney Pete Holmes about his ideas for encouraging pot tourism in the city. Thu, 12 Dec 2013 22:47:37 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Hannah Burn 25388 at http://kuow.org Seattle City Attorney Wants To Encourage Pot Tourism Same-Sex Marriage Anniversary An Economic Boost For Washington http://kuow.org/post/same-sex-marriage-anniversary-economic-boost-washington <p>Before gay marriage was legalized in Washington state, wedding planner Jenny Harding organized about two same-sex weddings a year.</p><p>Last year? Sixteen. Three were out of state, from California, Oregon and Vermont (where same-sex marriage is also legal). Tue, 10 Dec 2013 22:24:27 +0000 Sara Lerner 25184 at http://kuow.org Same-Sex Marriage Anniversary An Economic Boost For Washington Seattle Waterfront Braces For Replacement Of Crumbling Seawall http://kuow.org/post/seattle-waterfront-braces-replacement-crumbling-seawall <p>Construction begins this month on the long-anticipated plan to replace Seattle’s crumbling downtown seawall.</p><p>Waterfront businesses are bracing for what is likely to be three years of disruptions from the $290 million project, which was approved by voters last year.</p><p> Tue, 19 Nov 2013 00:47:12 +0000 Deborah Wang 24082 at http://kuow.org Seattle Waterfront Braces For Replacement Of Crumbling Seawall Some Worry About Marijuana's Effect On Colo. Ski Tourism http://kuow.org/post/some-worry-about-marijuanas-effect-colo-ski-tourism Transcript <p>DAVID GREENE, HOST: <p>In Colorado, people are gearing up for the winter tourism season and there's excitement building for a new attraction - recreational marijuana stores. Yes, some believe pot could be a boon for the tourism industry. Tue, 22 Oct 2013 16:41:04 +0000 Bente Birkeland 22467 at http://kuow.org The Army That's Running Hotels http://kuow.org/post/army-thats-running-hotels <p style="margin:0in;margin-bottom:.0001pt">In 2009, the Sri Lankan Army brutally crushed a separatist group known as the Tamil Tigers. That same army is now in the hospitality business. Without a separatist group to fight anymore, the Sri Lankan Army is converting some of their assets into hotels and resorts. Journalist Brendan Brady stayed in one of the hotels. Ross Reynolds talks with Brady about the Sri Lankan Army's surprising new venture.&nbsp;</p><p style="margin:0in;margin-bottom:.0001pt"> Mon, 09 Sep 2013 18:43:22 +0000 Ross Reynolds 19990 at http://kuow.org The Army That's Running Hotels The Tourism Boom With Elizabeth Becker http://kuow.org/post/tourism-boom-elizabeth-becker <p><strong>&nbsp;</strong>Tourism is a $6.5 trillion industry globally. But vacationing in places like Paris and Venice and Cambodia leaves a mark. In her new book "Overbooked," journalist Elizabeth Becker explores the dark side of tourism: the environmental impact, damage to cultural sites and employees who work long hours for low wages. She spoke at Seattle’s Town Hall May 15, 2013.</p><p> Fri, 07 Jun 2013 03:00:00 +0000 Rachel Solomon 14094 at http://kuow.org The Tourism Boom With Elizabeth Becker Elizabeth Becker Talks Big-Business Of Travel And Tourism http://kuow.org/post/elizabeth-becker-talks-big-business-travel-and-tourism <p>Tourism is fast becoming the world’s largest global business, producing $6.5 trillion of the world’s economy. Elizabeth Becker is the author of "Overbooked: The Exploding Business of Travel and Tourism."&nbsp;In it&nbsp;she looks at how this business impacts countries, the environment and culture. Ross Reynolds chats with Elizabeth Becker.</p><p> Wed, 15 May 2013 19:03:41 +0000 the conversation with ross reynolds 13139 at http://kuow.org Elizabeth Becker Talks Big-Business Of Travel And Tourism Seattle Tourism Industry Hitched To Gay Marriage http://kuow.org/post/seattle-tourism-industry-hitched-gay-marriage <p>The star of the 1960s TV show <em>Gomer Pyle, USMC</em>, married his longtime&nbsp;male partner at Seattle’s Fairmont Olympic Hotel this month.</p><p> Thu, 31 Jan 2013 15:56:29 +0000 Ann Dornfeld 7436 at http://kuow.org Seattle Tourism Industry Hitched To Gay Marriage