public radio http://kuow.org en Stories That Will Make You Cry: Favorites From 10 Years Of StoryCorps http://kuow.org/post/stories-will-make-you-cry-favorites-10-years-storycorps <p>When Dave Isay first launched the StoryCorps project – an independent archive of interviews between two people – nobody wanted to participate. StoryCorps staff at Grand Central Station would have to grab commuters and convince them to come into the tiny recording booth to share their stories. Fri, 18 Oct 2013 15:00:42 +0000 Marcie Sillman 22225 at http://kuow.org Stories That Will Make You Cry: Favorites From 10 Years Of StoryCorps The Rise Of KUOW And Public Radio In Seattle http://kuow.org/post/rise-kuow-and-public-radio-seattle <p></p><p><em>KUOW recently began its seventh decade on the air in Seattle. All this week we’ve been looking back at the history of radio in the Puget Sound Region. Today, Feliks Banel explores how local public radio has evolved over that last 30 years as a result of changes in commercial radio and the rise of national programming.</em></p><p> Fri, 25 Jan 2013 22:44:39 +0000 Feliks Banel 7178 at http://kuow.org The Rise Of KUOW And Public Radio In Seattle The Early Years Of KUOW http://kuow.org/post/early-years-kuow <p></p><p><em>KUOW recently began its seventh decade on the air in Seattle.&nbsp; In the second installment of a three-part series exploring the history of KUOW, Feliks Banel takes us back to the station’s early years before pledge drives and NPR, and then on to the rise of public radio in the 1970s.</em><br> Thu, 24 Jan 2013 20:22:39 +0000 Feliks Banel 7096 at http://kuow.org The Early Years Of KUOW Want Your Own Low-Frequecy Radio Station? http://kuow.org/post/want-your-own-low-frequecy-radio-station <p>There may soon be eight new FM radio station licenses available in Western Washington, and you can apply for one. The FCC announced that it is allowing nonprofits, educational institutions, tribal nations and more to apply for low-frequency licenses. Today Ross talks to Sabrina Roach, a veteran of KUOW and KBCS. She’s on the steering committee for a Digital Inclusion Summit currently in the works.</p><p> Thu, 24 Jan 2013 20:13:51 +0000 Ross Reynolds 7101 at http://kuow.org Want Your Own Low-Frequecy Radio Station? The Golden Years Of Radio In Seattle http://kuow.org/post/golden-years-radio-seattle <p></p><p><em>It’s been more than 60 years since KUOW first went on the air in Seattle, but local radio history goes back a bit further than that.&nbsp; In the first installment of a three part series, Feliks Banel has the story of what radio sounded like around here in the years before KUOW.</em><br><br> Thu, 24 Jan 2013 00:10:22 +0000 Feliks Banel 7052 at http://kuow.org The Golden Years Of Radio In Seattle Ira Glass On The Future Of Radio http://kuow.org/post/ira-glass-future-radio <p></p><p>With NPR’s popular <em>Car Talk</em> hosts retiring, public radio approaches a crossroads. Which way to go? Hit the archives to keep popular programs on the air, or create more new shows? The creator and host of <em><a href="http://www.thisamericanlife.org/">This American Life</a></em> has some ideas. We talk with Ira Glass about the present and future of public radio.</p> Thu, 04 Oct 2012 23:09:57 +0000 Steve Scher 1081 at http://kuow.org Ira Glass On The Future Of Radio