Dreamliner http://kuow.org en Boeing's 'Terrible Teens' Cut Into Profit, Tax Revenue http://kuow.org/post/boeings-terrible-teens-cut-profit-tax-revenue <p>Boeing says it will have to wait until sometime in 2016 to turn a profit on the 787 Dreamliners line.</p><p>By that time, the aerospace says developing the game-changing plane will cost the company more than $25 billion. There was a time when Boeing thought it would take $5 billion to develop the new plane. Thu, 20 Feb 2014 17:00:00 +0000 Carolyn Adolph 28986 at http://kuow.org Boeing's 'Terrible Teens' Cut Into Profit, Tax Revenue Airbus Scores On Boeing Before Paris Air Show http://kuow.org/post/airbus-scores-boeing-paris-air-show <p>The Paris Air Show opens today. It’s where manufacturers show off their new planes – and where Boeing and Airbus try to best each other. Mon, 17 Jun 2013 15:14:12 +0000 Carolyn Adolph 14979 at http://kuow.org Airbus Scores On Boeing Before Paris Air Show Boeing Says Certification Flight Is Days Away http://kuow.org/post/boeing-says-certification-flight-days-away <p></p><p>Boeing says a 787 Dreamliner destined for LOT Polish Airlines will take the certification test that could return the 787 fleet to the skies worldwide.</p><p> Thu, 04 Apr 2013 14:12:09 +0000 Carolyn Adolph 10842 at http://kuow.org Boeing Says Certification Flight Is Days Away Boeing Machinists Optimistic Despite Layoffs http://kuow.org/post/boeing-machinists-optimistic-despite-layoffs <p>Boeing has announced it will lay off 800 machinists in the Puget Sound area this year. The company says workforce needs on two of its newest jet programs have been reduced.</p><p> Fri, 22 Mar 2013 23:44:31 +0000 Amy Radil 10244 at http://kuow.org Boeing Machinists Optimistic Despite Layoffs Dreamliner Investigation Continues In Two Countries http://kuow.org/post/dreamliner-investigation-continues-two-countries <p>The hunt for a solution to the 787’s battery woes continues. Investigators are crisscrossing oceans looking for a cause to the battery overheating problems that have grounded the Dreamliner since January 16. Teams of investigators are fanning out and crossing paths.</p><p> Mon, 04 Feb 2013 15:09:21 +0000 Carolyn Adolph 7580 at http://kuow.org Dreamliner Investigation Continues In Two Countries Boeing Earnings Up, Company Stands By Battery http://kuow.org/post/boeing-earnings-company-stands-battery <div><p></p><p>The Boeing Co. said today that there has been no negative financial impact as a result of the FAA's grounding of the 787 Dreamliner. The news dampened a wave of speculation over the potential cost of its safety troubles with its 787 which was grounded two weeks ago.</p> Thu, 31 Jan 2013 00:35:51 +0000 Carolyn Adolph 7365 at http://kuow.org Boeing Earnings Up, Company Stands By Battery Canada, Culture And Commerce: Stars Up Close And Dreamliner Blues http://kuow.org/post/canada-culture-and-commerce-stars-close-and-dreamliner-blues <p>Vancouver Sun political columnist <a href="http://www.vancouversun.com/columnists/vaughn_palmer.html">Vaughn Palmer</a> brings us the latest news from Canada, film critic <a href="http://roberthorton.wordpress.com/">Robert Horton</a> looks at how what we know about an artist's personal life affects how we appreciate their art, and <a href="http://michaeljparks.com/">Michael Parks</a> assesses recent troubles for the Dreamliner and the range of outcomes for Boeing and Washington state.</p><p> Wed, 23 Jan 2013 18:00:00 +0000 Steve Scher 6976 at http://kuow.org Canada, Culture And Commerce: Stars Up Close And Dreamliner Blues On the Deck Of Boeing's 787 Assembly Line http://kuow.org/post/deck-boeings-787-assembly-line <p></p><p></p><p></p><p>Outside the Boeing plant in Everett, newly assembled 787s sit ready for delivery. The lineup includes new planes for LOT Polish Airlines, Japan Airlines and All Nippon Airways.&nbsp; Inside, the production line rolls on despite this week’s setbacks for the company’s newest jetliner. Dreamliner number 94 stands at the front of the line. It’s an order for Thomson Airways, which is set to be the first British airline to fly the Dreamliner.<br> Fri, 18 Jan 2013 20:30:54 +0000 Liz Jones 6801 at http://kuow.org On the Deck Of Boeing's 787 Assembly Line Battery At Heart Of Safety Review Was "Key" In 787 Development http://kuow.org/post/battery-heart-safety-review-was-key-787-development <p></p><p>The Boeing 787’s lithium-ion batteries are now the subject of intense scrutiny. The Federal Aviation Administration has&nbsp;grounded the entire 787 fleet in the US until it can get to the root cause of a fire hazard involving the batteries.</p><p> Fri, 18 Jan 2013 01:56:16 +0000 Carolyn Adolph 6755 at http://kuow.org Battery At Heart Of Safety Review Was "Key" In 787 Development Will Grounded Dreamliners Be A Nightmare For Boeing? http://kuow.org/post/will-grounded-dreamliners-be-nightmare-boeing <p>Airlines around the world have grounded their Boeing 787 Dreamliners after yesterday’s emergency landing in Japan. Officials are looking into the cause of a battery malfunction that caused smoke to appear in the cabin of the aircraft. Ross Reynolds gets the latest news on Boeing from NPR reporter Wendy Kaufman.</p><p> Thu, 17 Jan 2013 20:00:00 +0000 Ross Reynolds 6740 at http://kuow.org Will Grounded Dreamliners Be A Nightmare For Boeing? Boeing Stands By 787 Despite FAA Grounding http://kuow.org/post/boeing-stands-787-despite-faa-grounding <p></p><p>The Federal Aviation Administration is grounding all Boeing 787 Dreamliners in the US. That’s after a 787 in Japan was forced to make an emergency landing Wednesday because of a battery problem.</p><p> Thu, 17 Jan 2013 00:35:59 +0000 Deborah Wang 6709 at http://kuow.org Boeing Stands By 787 Despite FAA Grounding