Liz Jones http://kuow.org en An Immigrant Leaves America To Chase His Dreams In Mexico http://kuow.org/post/immigrant-leaves-america-chase-his-dreams-mexico <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">As&nbsp;Jorge&nbsp;</span>Lerma<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> approached the Mexican border from the U.S. side, he felt like he was hooked to a bungee cord, ready to leap into the unknown.</span></p><p>Jorge&nbsp;had lived in the U.S. for 16 years, attended high school and college in California, but his status here as an undocumented immigrant thwarted his dreams to be an engineer. So he decided to move back to Mexico.</p><p> Wed, 23 Jul 2014 22:17:44 +0000 Liz Jones 38651 at http://kuow.org An Immigrant Leaves America To Chase His Dreams In Mexico Goodbye, America: Frustrated, A Young Immigrant Returns To Mexico http://kuow.org/post/goodbye-america-frustrated-young-immigrant-returns-mexico <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Jorge </span>Lerma<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> sorts through his neckties. Dozens are draped across the couch; others get tossed into the give-away pile.&nbsp;</span></p><p>Jorge rents a tiny room at this house in Bellevue, Washington. The landlord pops in to check out possible bargains and buys a flat-screen TV and a light-weight tripod. The discard pile shrinks, but on top remains a crisp American flag that Jorge used to hang in his room. Wed, 23 Jul 2014 04:20:26 +0000 Liz Jones 38646 at http://kuow.org Goodbye, America: Frustrated, A Young Immigrant Returns To Mexico 600 Border Kids Could End Up At Base Near Tacoma http://kuow.org/post/600-border-kids-could-end-base-near-tacoma <p>Hundreds of immigrant children held at the southern border could be moved to a military base near Tacoma.</p><p>Federal and local officials plan to discuss the option Wednesday. Wed, 16 Jul 2014 14:58:37 +0000 Liz Jones 38347 at http://kuow.org 600 Border Kids Could End Up At Base Near Tacoma Lawsuit: All Kids Facing Deportation Need Attorneys http://kuow.org/post/lawsuit-all-kids-facing-deportation-need-attorneys <p>The federal government continues to struggle with a flood of immigrant children arriving at the U.S. border with Mexico. Today, a class-action suit filed in Seattle seeks additional legal help for these and all other children who face possible deportation. Wed, 09 Jul 2014 20:28:42 +0000 Liz Jones 37910 at http://kuow.org Could Northwest Union Members Avoid Paying Dues? http://kuow.org/post/could-northwest-union-members-avoid-paying-dues <p>Legal experts in Washington state are still assessing Monday’s U.S. Supreme Court ruling regarding labor unions. At issue is whether unions can require home health care workers to pay certain dues and fees. And, as KUOW’s Liz Jones reports, Washington is one of a handful of states where this ruling could apply.</p><hr /><p>TRANSCRIPT</p> Tue, 01 Jul 2014 01:25:09 +0000 Liz Jones 37389 at http://kuow.org Kids Found On Border Could End Up At Joint Base Lewis-McChord http://kuow.org/post/kids-found-border-could-end-joint-base-lewis-mcchord <p></p><p></p><p>A flood of immigrant children arriving at the border with Mexico could end up in Washington state at Joint Base Lewis-McChord near Tacoma. Wed, 25 Jun 2014 17:35:09 +0000 Liz Jones 37052 at http://kuow.org Kids Found On Border Could End Up At Joint Base Lewis-McChord Without Saying 'I Do,' Thousands Of Washington Couples Set To Get Married http://kuow.org/post/without-saying-i-do-thousands-washington-couples-set-get-married <p></p><p>There will be no wedding band, no ceremony or awkward toasts. But on June 30, up to 4,000 same-sex couples in Washington are set to be married – without ever uttering the words, "I do." Mon, 23 Jun 2014 18:57:33 +0000 Liz Jones 36896 at http://kuow.org Without Saying 'I Do,' Thousands Of Washington Couples Set To Get Married Local Immigration Advocates Rethink Strategy After Cantor Defeat http://kuow.org/post/local-immigration-advocates-rethink-strategy-after-cantor-defeat <p></p><p>Chances for immigration reform dimmed even more this week, following the defeat of House Republican leader Eric Cantor. His surprising loss in the Virginia primary to Tea Party candidate David Brat is causing ripple effects here in Washington state, too, as local immigration advocates are rethinking their strategy. Thu, 12 Jun 2014 21:09:34 +0000 Liz Jones 36296 at http://kuow.org Constantine Vetoes County Council Bill To Prevent Bus Cuts http://kuow.org/post/constantine-vetoes-county-council-bill-prevent-bus-cuts <p>For a few minutes Monday night, most of the proposed cuts to Metro bus service were spared. In a narrow 5-4 vote, the King County Council agreed to only go ahead with the cuts planned for this September, and hold off on three more rounds of cuts planned for 2015. Tue, 10 Jun 2014 20:32:29 +0000 Liz Jones 36138 at http://kuow.org Constantine Vetoes County Council Bill To Prevent Bus Cuts Seattle Women Earn Less Than Men. The City Wants To Change That http://kuow.org/post/seattle-women-earn-less-men-city-wants-change <p></p><p>City of Seattle employees who are women earn on average 9.5 percent less than men. Wed, 28 May 2014 21:18:06 +0000 Liz Jones 35359 at http://kuow.org Seattle Women Earn Less Than Men. The City Wants To Change That Local Veteran 'Says A Little Prayer' When Flags Are Lowered To Half-Staff http://kuow.org/post/local-veteran-says-little-prayer-when-flags-are-lowered-half-staff <p></p><p>Memorial Day is just one of many days throughout the year when the American flag is lowered to half-staff. The President of the United States and state governors can also order flags lowered during times of mourning.</p><p>In Washington state, flags have flown at half-staff three times so far in 2014 to honor local soldiers who died on active duty. In April, Governor Jay Inslee also <a href="http://www.governor.wa.gov/office/flag/">ordered to lower the flags</a> for a week in memory of the victims of the tragic Oso landslide. Fri, 23 May 2014 15:46:34 +0000 Liz Jones 35045 at http://kuow.org Local Veteran 'Says A Little Prayer' When Flags Are Lowered To Half-Staff Seattle Office Wants To Go Beyond ‘Same Old Voices’ To Address Immigrant Needs http://kuow.org/post/seattle-office-wants-go-beyond-same-old-voices-address-immigrant-needs <p>In October 2012, Seattle’s local government expanded in a way typically only seen in bigger cities. Former mayor Mike McGinn created the Office of Immigrant and Refugee Affairs, or OIRA, in an effort to give more voice to the area’s booming immigrant population. Nearly 20 percent of Seattle’s residents are born outside of the U.S., according to recent census figures. Thu, 22 May 2014 16:24:04 +0000 Liz Jones 34909 at http://kuow.org Seattle Office Wants To Go Beyond ‘Same Old Voices’ To Address Immigrant Needs Murray's Plan To Save Seattle City Buses http://kuow.org/post/murrays-plan-save-seattle-city-buses <p>Efforts to prevent King County Metro bus cuts have narrowed from a county-wide approach to a more localized strategy.&nbsp; On Tuesday, Seattle Mayor Ed Murray unveiled his proposal to give Seattle voters another option to save Seattle-centric routes, although he's still got his eye on a broader, regional plan. Wed, 14 May 2014 00:06:45 +0000 Liz Jones 34411 at http://kuow.org Murray's Plan To Save Seattle City Buses Us Too! King County Considers Minimum Wage For Employees http://kuow.org/post/us-too-king-county-considers-minimum-wage-employees <p>In the “me too” department, King County is jumping on the bandwagon to consider a higher minimum wage for its employees. Seattle Mayor Ed Murray issued a similar proposal for city workers soon after he took office in January. Mon, 12 May 2014 21:27:11 +0000 Liz Jones 34309 at http://kuow.org Detainee Hunger Strike In Tacoma Sparks Federal Bill http://kuow.org/post/detainee-hunger-strike-tacoma-sparks-federal-bill <p>A hunger strike at the Northwest Detention Center in Tacoma recently ended after nearly two months, but the ripple effects continue. U.S. Congressman Adam Smith, D-Bellevue, plans to introduce a bill Thursday that would change how federal agencies operate and audit detention centers. Thu, 08 May 2014 00:27:35 +0000 Liz Jones 34072 at http://kuow.org Detainee Hunger Strike In Tacoma Sparks Federal Bill