David Hyde http://kuow.org en Meet The Woman Pushing To Make Restaurant Food Safer In King County http://kuow.org/post/meet-woman-pushing-make-restaurant-food-safer-king-county <p>Ross Reynolds interviews Sarah Schacht, <span style="line-height: 1.5;">who&nbsp;</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">has survived two bouts of&nbsp;</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">E.coli,</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;"> about</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;"> her grassroots effort to make restaurant inspection results more public in King County. &nbsp; </span> Wed, 16 Apr 2014 22:42:58 +0000 Ross Reynolds & David Hyde 32697 at http://kuow.org Meet The Woman Pushing To Make Restaurant Food Safer In King County Two Perspectives On The Gun Safety Debate http://kuow.org/post/two-perspectives-gun-safety-debate <p></p><p>David Hyde speaks with Christian Sinderman of Washington state's&nbsp;initiative to implement background checks for gun sales. Dan Baum, author of "Gun Guys: A Road Trip," also talks about strategies for better gun safety. Wed, 16 Apr 2014 22:20:35 +0000 David Hyde & Hannah Burn 32669 at http://kuow.org Two Perspectives On The Gun Safety Debate Focus In Oso Shifts To A Search For Justice http://kuow.org/post/focus-oso-shifts-search-justice <p></p><p></p><p>David Hyde speaks with <a href="http://tmdwlaw.com/attorneys/karen-willie/">Karen Willie</a>, an attorney&nbsp;<span style="line-height: 1.5;">who specializes in water law, about what the law can — and cannot — do for victims of the </span>Oso<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> mudslide.</span> Mon, 31 Mar 2014 23:17:29 +0000 David Hyde & Posey Gruener 31959 at http://kuow.org Focus In Oso Shifts To A Search For Justice Assistant Police Chief Jim Pugel Retires; What's Next For SPD? http://kuow.org/post/assistant-police-chief-jim-pugel-retires-whats-next-spd <p>Steve Scher talks with Lisa Daugaard, policy director of the Public Defender Association, about the Assistant Police Chief Jim Pugel's decision to retire.</p><p>Then,&nbsp;Q13 Fox political analyst C.R. Douglas examines what Pugel's retirement means for the Seattle Mayor Ed Murray's administration and overall police reform in Seattle. Mon, 31 Mar 2014 22:31:27 +0000 Steve Scher & David Hyde 31623 at http://kuow.org Assistant Police Chief Jim Pugel Retires; What's Next For SPD? Jimmy Carter's Call To Action On Women's Rights In Seattle http://kuow.org/post/jimmy-carters-call-action-womens-rights-seattle <p>David Hyde speaks with former President Jimmy Carter <span style="line-height: 1.5;"> about growing up in Georgia, politics and his new book, "</span><a href="http://www.cartercenter.org/news/features/p/human_rights/a-call-to-action.html" style="line-height: 1.5;">A Call To Action: Women, Religion, Violence, and Power</a>." Mon, 31 Mar 2014 18:11:25 +0000 David Hyde & Amina Al-Sadi 31684 at http://kuow.org Jimmy Carter's Call To Action On Women's Rights In Seattle What To Expect For The 2014 Midterm Elections http://kuow.org/post/what-expect-2014-midterm-elections <p></p><p>David Hyde talks with Andrea Seabrook, founder and host of <em><a href="http://www.decodedc.com/">DecodeDC, </a></em>about news from Washington, D.C. Pollster Nate Silver recently said the Democrats are expected to lose the Senate in the midterm elections this fall, and Representative Mike Rogers, R-Mich., announces retirement before the 2016 presidential campaign. Mon, 31 Mar 2014 17:57:49 +0000 David Hyde & Amina Al-Sadi 31641 at http://kuow.org What To Expect For The 2014 Midterm Elections Ruling Says College Football Players Are University Employees, Can Unionize http://kuow.org/post/ruling-says-college-football-players-are-university-employees-can-unionize <p></p><p>David Hyde talks with writer <a href="http://www.buzzbissinger.com/">Buzz Bissinger</a> about the National Labor Relations Board decision to allow football players at Northwestern University to form a labor union. Thu, 27 Mar 2014 21:53:33 +0000 David Hyde & Andy Hurst 31404 at http://kuow.org Ruling Says College Football Players Are University Employees, Can Unionize A Call For Landslide Insurance For Homeowners http://kuow.org/post/call-landslide-insurance-homeowners <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Marcie Sillman talks with </span><a href="http://geology.pdx.edu/node/67">Scott Burns</a>, a geologist and landslide expert at Portland State University, about how he hopes<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> the tragedy in&nbsp;</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Oso</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;"> will lead to landslide insurance for homeowners and </span>better landslide hazard maps to prevent future devastation. Wed, 26 Mar 2014 23:05:22 +0000 David Hyde & Marcie Sillman 31327 at http://kuow.org A Call For Landslide Insurance For Homeowners 1999 Report Warned Of Potential Catastrophe In Oso http://kuow.org/post/1999-report-warned-potential-catastrophe-oso <p>David Hyde talks with geomorphologist Dan Miller about how Snohomish County officials should have been aware of the potential hazards for a mudflow occurring in Oso. Back in 1999, Miller and his wife <span class="st">Lynne filed a report for </span>the Army Corps of Engineers warning about the possibility for a "large catastrophic failure" at the site of the recent mudflow.<br /> Tue, 25 Mar 2014 22:28:44 +0000 Arwen Nicks & David Hyde 31261 at http://kuow.org 1999 Report Warned Of Potential Catastrophe In Oso Argument For Why Alternative Schools Are Necessary http://kuow.org/post/argument-why-alternative-schools-are-necessary <p></p><p>David Hyde talks with Richard Thompson, Washington's regional director for the <a href="http://www.the-naea.org/NAEA/">National Alternative Education Association</a>, about the role of alternative schools in our education system. Fri, 21 Mar 2014 22:31:59 +0000 David Hyde & Hannah Burn 31031 at http://kuow.org Argument For Why Alternative Schools Are Necessary ACLU's Alison Holcomb Shares Pot Advice With The United Nations http://kuow.org/post/aclus-alison-holcomb-shares-pot-advice-united-nations <p></p><p>David Hyde talks with <span style="line-height: 1.5;">Alison Holcomb, </span><a href="https://aclu-wa.org/">ACLU of Washington</a>'s criminal justice director, <span style="line-height: 1.5;">about her recent trip to the United Nations.</span> Fri, 21 Mar 2014 22:29:33 +0000 David Hyde & Hannah Burn 31055 at http://kuow.org ACLU's Alison Holcomb Shares Pot Advice With The United Nations How One Washington Doctor Changed The Course Of Flame Retardants http://kuow.org/post/how-one-washington-doctor-changed-course-flame-retardants <p>David Hyde talks with investigative reporter Sam Roe at the Chicago Tribune about the <a href="http://media.apps.chicagotribune.com/flames/index.html">series on flame retardants</a> and how one Washington doctor changed the debate.</p><p> Fri, 21 Mar 2014 22:26:51 +0000 David Hyde & Hannah Burn 31024 at http://kuow.org How One Washington Doctor Changed The Course Of Flame Retardants Astoria: Product Of West Coast Empire Exploration http://kuow.org/post/astoria-product-west-coast-empire-exploration <p>David Hyde talks to author Peter Stark about his new book, "Astoria: John Jacob Astor and Thomas Jefferson's Lost Pacific Empire." Thu, 20 Mar 2014 23:02:40 +0000 David Hyde & Amina Al-Sadi 30934 at http://kuow.org Astoria: Product Of West Coast Empire Exploration How Private Funding For Science Is A Dangerous Trend http://kuow.org/post/how-private-funding-science-dangerous-trend <p>David Hyde talks with Philip Mirowski, author of "Science Mart: Privatizing American Science," about why he thinks the move to privately funded science is undermining the quality of the research.</p><p>"The types of science that are being done are changing, and the way in which science is being done is changing," Mirowski said. "In fact, the quality of some of the science is being affected by it too." Thu, 20 Mar 2014 22:15:16 +0000 David Hyde & Hannah Burn 30949 at http://kuow.org How Private Funding For Science Is A Dangerous Trend Canada's Harper To Kiev, Port Truckers Strike, And Quebec Secession http://kuow.org/post/canadas-harper-kiev-port-truckers-strike-and-quebec-secession <p>David Hyde talks with Vancouver Sun columnist Vaughn Palmer about Canadian Prime Minister Stephen Harper's upcoming visit to Ukraine while truckers continue to strike at Port Metro Vancouver. Vaughn also has the latest update in the Quebec elections. Wed, 19 Mar 2014 23:31:44 +0000 David Hyde & Jason Pagano 30885 at http://kuow.org Canada's Harper To Kiev, Port Truckers Strike, And Quebec Secession