David Hyde http://kuow.org en Is It Time For Washington To Leave The Union? http://kuow.org/post/it-time-washington-leave-union <p>David Hyde talks with anthropologist Chris Roth about Cascadia Now!, which advocates for British Columbia, Washington and Oregon to secede and form an independent nation. Wed, 16 Jul 2014 22:27:14 +0000 David Hyde & Matthew Streib 38386 at http://kuow.org Is It Time For Washington To Leave The Union? Susan Jacoby Says You Should Know Who Robert Ingersoll Is http://kuow.org/post/susan-jacoby-says-you-should-know-who-robert-ingersoll <p>David Hyde talks with author Susan Jacoby about her new book, "The Great Agnostic: Robert Ingersoll and American Freethought," the story of a historic figure for the separation of church and state. Fri, 11 Jul 2014 21:52:01 +0000 David Hyde & Hannah Burn 38079 at http://kuow.org 'American Catch': How Fish Go From Sea To Table http://kuow.org/post/american-catch-how-fish-go-sea-table <p>David Hyde talks to author Paul Greenberg about his book about fish production called "American Catch." Wed, 09 Jul 2014 21:09:44 +0000 David Hyde 37912 at http://kuow.org Is Mars Hill Church Shrinking? http://kuow.org/post/mars-hill-church-shrinking <p>David Hyde talks with Warren Throckmorten, writer for the religion news site Patheos, about Seattle-based Mars Hill Church's recent layoffs and increased drives for donations. Mon, 07 Jul 2014 22:26:44 +0000 David Hyde & Matthew Streib 37765 at http://kuow.org The Story Of Joseph Smith: Founder Of The Mormon Church http://kuow.org/post/story-joseph-smith-founder-mormon-church <p>David Hyde talks to Alex Beam about his new book "American Crucifixion: The Murder of Joseph Smith and The Fate of The Modern Church." Thu, 03 Jul 2014 22:26:25 +0000 David Hyde & Amina Al-Sadi 37577 at http://kuow.org Local Mormon Woman On Ordination: 'I Have Always Felt Very Empowered' In The Church http://kuow.org/post/local-mormon-woman-ordination-i-have-always-felt-very-empowered-church <p></p><p>David Hyde talks with Carolyn Sudds, a Seattle Mormon critical of the organization Ordain Women. The group is advocating for women to be allowed access to the Mormon priesthood. Last week, Hyde interviewed Ordain Women member <a href="http://kuow.org/post/womens-advocate-says-excommunication-will-haunt-mormon-church">Natalie Kelly about the excommunication </a>of the movement's founder. Thu, 03 Jul 2014 22:22:44 +0000 David Hyde & Matthew Streib 37578 at http://kuow.org Here's Why The Great Barrier Reef Matters To You, In Seattle http://kuow.org/post/heres-why-great-barrier-reef-matters-you-seattle <p>David Hyde talks with author Iain McCalman about his new book, “The Reef — A Passionate History: The Great Barrier Reef from Captain Cook to Climate Change.” Tue, 01 Jul 2014 22:55:05 +0000 David Hyde & Hannah Burn 37341 at http://kuow.org Here's Why The Great Barrier Reef Matters To You, In Seattle Love On Death Row http://kuow.org/post/love-death-row <p>David Hyde talks with Damien Echols about the book he co-authored with his wife, Lorri Davis, "Yours For Eternity: A Love Story On Death Row." Fri, 27 Jun 2014 22:45:04 +0000 David Hyde & Hannah Burn 37247 at http://kuow.org Women's Advocate Says Excommunication Will Haunt The Mormon Church http://kuow.org/post/womens-advocate-says-excommunication-will-haunt-mormon-church <p></p><p>Earlier this week <a href="http://kuow.org/post/mormon-church-excommunicates-advocate-female-priests">Kate Kelly,</a> the founder of a group advocating for women to be ordained into the Mormon priesthood, was excommunicated by the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints for apostasy.</p><p>“For Mormons it’s really the equivalent of spiritual death,” said Natalie Kelly, a Seattle-based member of that group, Ordain Women. She is not related to Kate Kelly. Thu, 26 Jun 2014 22:50:52 +0000 David Hyde & Matthew Streib 37159 at http://kuow.org Women's Advocate Says Excommunication Will Haunt The Mormon Church 'A Very Principled Boy': The Story Of A Soviet Spy That Switched Sides http://kuow.org/post/very-principled-boy-story-soviet-spy-switched-sides <p>David Hyde talks to author Mark Bradley about his book, "A Very Principled Boy." It's the story of Duncan Lee, who became a spy for the Soviet Union only to switch allegiance back to the United States later in his life. Tue, 24 Jun 2014 22:04:55 +0000 David Hyde & Amina Al-Sadi 36972 at http://kuow.org 'A Very Principled Boy': The Story Of A Soviet Spy That Switched Sides 'Distributed Denial Of Service': The Fastest Growing Cyber Attack http://kuow.org/post/distributed-denial-service-fastest-growing-cyber-attack <p></p><p></p><p>David Hyde talks with Matthew Prince, CEO of CloudFlare, about what he says is the fastest growing cyber attack sweeping the nation: distributed denial of service, or DDoS. Mon, 23 Jun 2014 22:20:23 +0000 David Hyde & Hannah Burn 36894 at http://kuow.org 'Distributed Denial Of Service': The Fastest Growing Cyber Attack Swedish Hospital Patient Walks Again With Deep Brain Stimulation http://kuow.org/post/swedish-hospital-patient-walks-again-deep-brain-stimulation <p>Here’s the plot: A man suffering from dystonia – a neurological disorder that causes twisting and abnormal postures – goes to a doctor. The doctor gives the man local anesthesia, drills into his head, inserts spaghetti-like electrodes and then hooks him up to a pacemaker to send electrical currents into his brain. Mon, 23 Jun 2014 16:49:37 +0000 David Hyde 36928 at http://kuow.org Swedish Hospital Patient Walks Again With Deep Brain Stimulation Getting Ready For The Fremont Solstice Parade http://kuow.org/post/getting-ready-fremont-solstice-parade <div><p>David Hyde talks to&nbsp;<a href="http://fremontartscouncil.org/dev/?page_id=3159">Fremont Solstice Parade</a> float makers, organizers and a marching band as they get ready for the big event.&nbsp; Fri, 20 Jun 2014 21:43:13 +0000 David Hyde 36781 at http://kuow.org Getting Ready For The Fremont Solstice Parade Cities Look To Lure Away Seattle Businesses After $15 Wage Hike http://kuow.org/post/cities-look-lure-away-seattle-businesses-after-15-wage-hike <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">David Hyde interviews Carl Adrian, president of the Tri-City Development Council. He has a message to Seattle entrepreneurs that want to relocate due to the hike in the minimum wage here: "</span>We're open for business." Thu, 19 Jun 2014 22:41:41 +0000 David Hyde 36725 at http://kuow.org Why You Shouldn't Buy Into Tweeting Or Relentless Self-Promotion http://kuow.org/post/why-you-shouldnt-buy-tweeting-or-relentless-self-promotion <div><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">David Hyde interviews author D</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">avid </span>Zweig about his new&nbsp;<span style="line-height: 1.5;">book, "</span><a href="http://www.invisiblesbook.com/">Invisibles<span style="line-height: 1.5;">: The Power Of Anonymous Work In An Age of Relentless Self-Promotion."</span> Tue, 17 Jun 2014 22:16:20 +0000 David Hyde & Arwen Nicks 36550 at http://kuow.org Why You Shouldn't Buy Into Tweeting Or Relentless Self-Promotion