Anna King http://kuow.org en Wanapum Dam Fix Could Cost $61 Million http://kuow.org/post/wanapum-dam-fix-could-cost-61-million <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/04/042214AK_Wanapum_crackcost_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>Officials in central Washington revealed the latest update on how much it will cost to fix the massive crack in Wanapum Dam -- and how long it will take.<p> Wed, 23 Apr 2014 15:08:39 +0000 Anna King 33088 at http://kuow.org Wanapum Dam Fix Could Cost $61 Million Endangered Salmon Migrate Via Trucks Around Cracked Dam http://kuow.org/post/endangered-salmon-migrate-trucks-around-cracked-dam <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/04/041514AK_Wanapum_salmonfix_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>The Columbia River will remain drawn down at least until June because of the cracked Wanapum Dam in southeast Washington.<p> Wed, 16 Apr 2014 11:01:33 +0000 Anna King 32644 at http://kuow.org Endangered Salmon Migrate Via Trucks Around Cracked Dam Alfalfa Growers Hope To Rake In More Green This Year http://kuow.org/post/alfalfa-growers-hope-rake-more-green-year <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/04/041414AK_Alfalfa_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>Many Northwest alfalfa growers had a rough year with bad weather last summer.<p> Tue, 15 Apr 2014 15:03:28 +0000 Anna King 32571 at http://kuow.org Alfalfa Growers Hope To Rake In More Green This Year Keeping Bones, Cultural Artifacts Safe In Central Washington Is Proving Costly http://kuow.org/post/keeping-bones-cultural-artifacts-safe-central-washington-proving-costly <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/04/040914AK_Wanapum_barebones_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>The drawdown of water behind Wanapum Dam in central Washington is exposing dozens of human gravesites and hundreds of Native American cultural artifacts.<p> Thu, 10 Apr 2014 15:17:59 +0000 Anna King 32276 at http://kuow.org Keeping Bones, Cultural Artifacts Safe In Central Washington Is Proving Costly What Cracked Wanapum Dam? Experts Won't Know Until June http://kuow.org/post/what-cracked-wanapum-dam-experts-wont-know-until-june <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/04/040914AK_Wanapum_damplan_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>Central Washington could be in for a bummer of a summer as Grant County officials have said they won’t nail down <a href="http://www.grantpud.org/your-pud/media-room/wanapum-dam-spillway-response">the cause of the crack on Wanapum Dam</a> until June.<p> Thu, 10 Apr 2014 14:07:50 +0000 Anna King 32272 at http://kuow.org What Cracked Wanapum Dam? Experts Won't Know Until June Northwest Students To Test Their Code-Breaking Skills http://kuow.org/post/northwest-students-test-their-code-breaking-skills <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/04/040714AK_Code_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>Code language is probably as old as language itself. Now, two Northwest university professors have launched a competition to test students’ code breaking skills.<p> Tue, 08 Apr 2014 12:32:33 +0000 Anna King 32110 at http://kuow.org Northwest Students To Test Their Code-Breaking Skills Low Prices Prompt Northwest Asparagus Growers To Try To Delay Harvest http://kuow.org/post/low-prices-prompt-northwest-asparagus-growers-try-delay-harvest <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/04/040414AK_Asparagus_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>Northwest asparagus growers are just starting to harvest spears in the warmer sites around Pasco, Wash.<p> Mon, 07 Apr 2014 16:02:04 +0000 Anna King 32042 at http://kuow.org Low Prices Prompt Northwest Asparagus Growers To Try To Delay Harvest A Long, Dry Summer For River Resort Communities Behind Wanapum Dam? http://kuow.org/post/long-dry-summer-river-resort-communities-behind-wanapum-dam <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/04/040414AK_Wanapum_Sunland_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>This summer could be a bust for a resort community in central Washington after a crack in the Wanapum Dam forced operators to draw down the Columbia River more than 25 feet.<p> Mon, 07 Apr 2014 13:03:58 +0000 Anna King 32040 at http://kuow.org A Long, Dry Summer For River Resort Communities Behind Wanapum Dam? Winds Hamper Exploratory Drilling On Wanapum Dam's Giant Crack http://kuow.org/post/winds-hamper-exploratory-drilling-wanapum-dams-giant-crack <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/04/040114AK_Wanapum_drillteam_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>High winds on the Columbia River are hampering forensic work on the damaged Wanapum Dam in southeast Washington.<p> Wed, 02 Apr 2014 00:43:32 +0000 Anna King 31754 at http://kuow.org Winds Hamper Exploratory Drilling On Wanapum Dam's Giant Crack Washington State Tells Feds Hanford Cleanup Must Go Faster http://kuow.org/post/washington-state-tells-feds-hanford-cleanup-must-go-faster <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/03/033114AK_Hanford_wrap_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>Washington Governor Jay Inslee and state Attorney General Bob Ferguson complained Monday that the federal government will likely miss major deadlines for cleanup at the Hanford Nuclear Reservation.<p> Tue, 01 Apr 2014 14:14:05 +0000 Anna King 31664 at http://kuow.org Washington State Tells Feds Hanford Cleanup Must Go Faster Bones Found Near Wanapum Dam Repatriated To Northwest Tribes http://kuow.org/post/bones-found-near-wanapum-dam-repatriated-northwest-tribes <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/03/032614AK_Wanapum_bones-NEW_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>Two skeletons found upstream of the cracked Wanapum Dam have been handed over to Northwest tribes.<p> Wed, 26 Mar 2014 23:21:11 +0000 Anna King 31379 at http://kuow.org Bones Found Near Wanapum Dam Repatriated To Northwest Tribes Hanford Fumes Lead Some Workers To Seek Medical Attention http://kuow.org/post/hanford-fumes-lead-some-workers-seek-medical-attention <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/03/032514AK_Hanfordfumes_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>Some workers from the Hanford Nuclear Reservation’s tank farms were transported to a Richland hospital Tuesday morning.<p> Wed, 26 Mar 2014 15:29:50 +0000 Anna King 31291 at http://kuow.org Hanford Fumes Lead Some Workers To Seek Medical Attention Irrigators Struggle To Secure Fish Screens And Water In Time http://kuow.org/post/irrigators-struggle-secure-fish-screens-and-water-time <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/03/032414AK_Wanapum_babysalmon_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>Dozens of central Washington fruit farmers are still high-and-dry without water for their valuable fruit trees.<p> Tue, 25 Mar 2014 00:36:04 +0000 Anna King 31216 at http://kuow.org Irrigators Struggle To Secure Fish Screens And Water In Time Washington State Orders Hanford Managers To Empty Leaking Tank http://kuow.org/post/washington-state-orders-hanford-managers-empty-leaking-tank <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/03/032114AK_Hanford_tanks_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>The state of Washington has ordered the federal government to start pumping out a leaking double-shell tank of waste at&#160;Hanford&#160;by September 1.<p> Mon, 24 Mar 2014 11:14:47 +0000 Anna King 31150 at http://kuow.org Washington State Orders Hanford Managers To Empty Leaking Tank Washington Fruit Farmers Scramble To Irrigate From Lowered Columbia River http://kuow.org/post/washington-fruit-farmers-scramble-irrigate-lowered-columbia-river <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/03/032014AK_Wanapum_irrigationfeature_web_0.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>Dam engineers are continuing to keep the pool behind the ailing structure drawn down to relieve pressure.<p> Fri, 21 Mar 2014 12:15:12 +0000 Anna King 31007 at http://kuow.org Washington Fruit Farmers Scramble To Irrigate From Lowered Columbia River