Andy Hurst http://kuow.org en The Public Health Benefits Of Raising Smoking Age To 21 http://kuow.org/post/public-health-benefits-raising-smoking-age-21 <p></p><p>David Hyde talks with <a href="https://sph.washington.edu/faculty/fac_bio.asp?url_ID=Halperin_Abigail">Dr. Abigail Halperin</a>, physician and faculty member in the School of Public Health at the University of Washington, about the health benefits of raising the age to purchase tobacco to 21. Thu, 24 Apr 2014 22:05:49 +0000 David Hyde & Andy Hurst 33245 at http://kuow.org The Public Health Benefits Of Raising Smoking Age To 21 Community Police Commission Weighs In On Discipline http://kuow.org/post/community-police-commission-weighs-discipline <p>Marcie Sillman talks with Lisa Daugaard, co-chair of the <a href="https://www.seattle.gov/community-police-commission">Community Police Commission</a>, about the discipline system for Seattle police officers. Tue, 22 Apr 2014 21:55:25 +0000 Marcie Sillman & Andy Hurst 33053 at http://kuow.org Community Police Commission Weighs In On Discipline How UW's Age-Progression Software Could Help Find Missing Kids http://kuow.org/post/how-uws-age-progression-software-could-help-find-missing-kids <p>Ross Reynolds talks with Robert Lowery, vice president of the Missing Children Division at the <a href="http://www.missingkids.com/home">National Center for Missing and Exploited Children</a>, about the new <a href="http://www.washington.edu/news/2014/04/09/see-what-a-child-will-look-like-using-automated-age-progression-software/">automated age-progression software</a> developed at the University of Washington.</p><p> Mon, 21 Apr 2014 21:48:34 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Andy Hurst 32946 at http://kuow.org How UW's Age-Progression Software Could Help Find Missing Kids Does Seattle Need Better Enforcement Of Labor Laws? http://kuow.org/post/does-seattle-need-better-enforcement-labor-laws <p></p><p>David Hyde talks with Seattle City Councilmember <a href="http://www.seattle.gov/council/licata/">Nick Licata</a> about why he's pushing for better enforcement of labor standards in Seattle. Fri, 18 Apr 2014 22:18:47 +0000 David Hyde & Andy Hurst 32814 at http://kuow.org How Do Babies Perceive Fairness? The Answer Might Surprise You http://kuow.org/post/how-do-babies-perceive-fairness-answer-might-surprise-you <p></p><p>David Hyde talks with Jessica Sommerville, psychology professor at the University of Washington, about her recent <a href="http://www.washington.edu/news/2014/04/14/babies-prefer-fairness-but-only-if-it-benefits-them-in-choosing-a-playmate/">study that explores how babies perceive justice</a>.</p><p> Fri, 18 Apr 2014 22:16:46 +0000 David Hyde & Andy Hurst 32816 at http://kuow.org How Do Babies Perceive Fairness? The Answer Might Surprise You Why The Black Market For Marijuana May Not Go Away http://kuow.org/post/why-black-market-marijuana-may-not-go-away <p>Ross Reynolds talks with Dominic Corva, executive director of <a href="http://cannabisandsocialpolicy.org/">the Center for the Study of Cannabis and Social Policy</a>, about the implications for pot bans and moratoriums in Washington state. Thu, 17 Apr 2014 22:07:04 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Andy Hurst 32742 at http://kuow.org Why The Black Market For Marijuana May Not Go Away Former Cop On SPD Reform: 'A Huge Insult To The Officers' http://kuow.org/post/former-cop-spd-reform-huge-insult-officers <p>Marcie Sillman talks with retired Seattle police officer <a href="http://www.stevepomper.com/">Steve Pomper </a>about why he thinks the federally mandated reforms to the Seattle Police Department are <a href="http://crosscut.com/2014/04/14/op-ed/119561/police-justice-department-murray-steve-pomper/?page=single">unnecessary</a>. Tue, 15 Apr 2014 22:06:11 +0000 Marcie Sillman & Andy Hurst 32595 at http://kuow.org Former Cop On SPD Reform: 'A Huge Insult To The Officers' 'Lack Of Accountability:' An Investigation Into Wrongful Deaths At VA Hospitals http://kuow.org/post/lack-accountability-investigation-wrongful-deaths-va-hospitals <p>Ross Reynolds talks with journalist Aaron Glantz about <a href="http://cironline.org/reports/va-pays-out-200-million-nearly-1000-veterans%E2%80%99-wrongful-deaths-6236">preventable deaths at Veterans Affairs hospitals</a>. Glantz covers veterans and military issues for the <a href="http://cironline.org/">Center for Investigative Reporting</a>. Mon, 14 Apr 2014 22:14:06 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Andy Hurst 32514 at http://kuow.org 'Lack Of Accountability:' An Investigation Into Wrongful Deaths At VA Hospitals Listeners Weigh In On $15 Minimum Wage Debate http://kuow.org/post/listeners-weigh-15-minimum-wage-debate <p></p><p>Steve Scher and Ross Reynolds talk with guests and listeners about raising the minimum wage in Seattle to $15.</p><p>Guests include Gea Bassett, owner of <a href="http://www.greencleaningseattle.com/">Green Cleaning Seattle Eco-Maid Services,</a> and Matt Galvin, co-owner of <a href="http://pagliacci.com/">Pagliacci Pizza</a>.</p><p> Fri, 11 Apr 2014 22:07:04 +0000 Steve Scher, Ross Reynolds & Andy Hurst 32388 at http://kuow.org Listeners Weigh In On $15 Minimum Wage Debate Seattle Reconsidering Building A City Owned Broadband Network http://kuow.org/post/seattle-reconsidering-building-city-owned-broadband-network <p>Ross Reynolds talks with <a href="http://schrier.wordpress.com/">Bill Schrier</a>, City of Seattle's former chief technology officer, about the challenges to building a municipal broadband network in Seattle. Thu, 10 Apr 2014 21:58:11 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Andy Hurst 32301 at http://kuow.org Seattle Reconsidering Building A City Owned Broadband Network What To Do If You Still Don't Have Health Insurance http://kuow.org/post/what-do-if-you-still-dont-have-health-insurance <p></p><p></p><p>Ross Reynolds talks with <a href="http://www.wahbexchange.org/about-us/exchange-staff/richard-onizuka/">Richard Onizuka</a>, CEO of the Washington Health Benefit Exchange, about what people can do if they missed the March 31 deadline to sign up for health insurance. Wed, 09 Apr 2014 21:12:45 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Andy Hurst 32230 at http://kuow.org What To Do If You Still Don't Have Health Insurance Seattle Bike Sharing To Roll Out In September http://kuow.org/post/seattle-bike-sharing-roll-out-september <p></p><p>Steve Scher talks with Holly Houser, executive director of <a href="http://pugetsoundbikeshare.org/">Puget Sound Bike Share,</a> about how Seattle's forthcoming bike sharing program will work. This September, Puget Sound Bike Share will roll out to four neighborhoods: Capitol Hill, South Lake Union, the University District and downtown. Tue, 08 Apr 2014 21:37:08 +0000 Steve Scher & Andy Hurst 32128 at http://kuow.org Seattle Bike Sharing To Roll Out In September Feds 'Deeply Disappointed' With SPD's Reform Efforts http://kuow.org/post/feds-deeply-disappointed-spds-reform-efforts <p></p><p>Steve Scher talks with Seattle Times reporter Steve Miletich about the Seattle Police Department's <a href="http://seattletimes.com/html/localnews/2023278747_federalletterxml.html">reform efforts</a> to address issues of biased policing and excessive use of force. Thu, 03 Apr 2014 22:11:26 +0000 Steve Scher & Andy Hurst 31862 at http://kuow.org Feds 'Deeply Disappointed' With SPD's Reform Efforts 'Horrible Torture:' The Argument Against Elephants Kept In Zoos http://kuow.org/post/horrible-torture-argument-against-elephants-kept-zoos <p></p><p>Ross Reynolds talks with <a href="http://kerulos.org/about-us/people/">Gay Bradshaw</a> about why she thinks elephants don't belong in zoos. Bradshaw is the executive director of the Kerulos Center in Jacksonville, Ore., and author of <a href="http://yalepress.yale.edu/yupbooks/book.asp?isbn=9780300127317">"Elephants on the Edge: What </a><a href="http://yalepress.yale.edu/yupbooks/book.asp?isbn=9780300127317">Animals Teach Us About Humanity." Wed, 02 Apr 2014 21:44:37 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Andy Hurst 31786 at http://kuow.org 'Horrible Torture:' The Argument Against Elephants Kept In Zoos Changes Coming To Woodland Park Zoo's Elephant Program http://kuow.org/post/changes-coming-woodland-park-zoos-elephant-program <p></p><p>Marcie Sillman talks with Woodland Park Zoo Chief Operations Officer Bruce Bohmke about <a href="http://www.zoo.org/document.doc?id=1211">changes</a> coming to the zoo's elephant program. Tue, 01 Apr 2014 22:23:39 +0000 Marcie Sillman & Andy Hurst 31689 at http://kuow.org Changes Coming To Woodland Park Zoo's Elephant Program