Andy Hurst http://kuow.org en Is Your Entire Life Just a TV Show? http://kuow.org/post/your-entire-life-just-tv-show <p>Ross Reynolds talks with psychologist Joel Gold, who co-authored the book "Suspicious Minds: How Culture Shapes Madness." The book deals in part with the "Truman Show" delusion: a belief that everyone around you is an actor, and you're the star of a TV show.&nbsp;</p><p> Fri, 25 Jul 2014 21:31:56 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Andy Hurst 38960 at http://kuow.org Is Your Entire Life Just a TV Show? Why Arlington, Washington Outlawed Panhandling http://kuow.org/post/why-arlington-washington-outlawed-panhandling <p>Ross Reynolds talks with Bruce Stedman, Arlington's acting police chief, and Doug Honig, ACLU of Washington's communications director, about the city's strict new approach to panhandling. Thu, 24 Jul 2014 21:43:56 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Andy Hurst 38877 at http://kuow.org Why Arlington, Washington Outlawed Panhandling Middle Income Group Overlooked In Seattle Affordable Housing Struggle http://kuow.org/post/middle-income-group-overlooked-seattle-affordable-housing-struggle <p>Seattle City Councilmember Mike O’Brien is looking for affordable housing solutions – for a population that may be overlooked.</p><p>Speaking with KUOW’s Ross Reynolds, O’Brien said that systems are in place for those making around 30 percent of the area median wage, but not for those between 60 to 100 percent of the median (for a single person that’s between $37,000 and $50,000 a year). Wed, 23 Jul 2014 21:47:59 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Andy Hurst 38804 at http://kuow.org Middle Income Group Overlooked In Seattle Affordable Housing Struggle What About Bob? Explaining The Obsession Of Dylan Fans http://kuow.org/post/what-about-bob-explaining-obsession-dylan-fans <p>Ross Reynolds talks with author <a href="http://davidkinney.net/">David Kinney</a> about this new book "The Dylanologists: Adventures in the Land of Bob." Mon, 21 Jul 2014 22:31:49 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Andy Hurst 38644 at http://kuow.org Massive Layoffs At Microsoft A Test For Seattle Startup Culture http://kuow.org/post/massive-layoffs-microsoft-test-seattle-startup-culture <p>Last week, Microsoft began the biggest layoffs in the company’s history: 18,000 total expected in the next year. So far, about 1,300 local workers have been affected.</p><p>Jon Talton, business reporter for the Seattle Times, told KUOW’s Ross Reynolds on <em>The Record</em> that this event is a test for the local economy. He said the Seattle area is in the midst of an economic boom – driven by Amazon, Boeing’s 777X and 737, increased exports and low unemployment. Mon, 21 Jul 2014 22:31:36 +0000 Ross Reynolds, Andy Hurst & Amina Al-Sadi 38643 at http://kuow.org Massive Layoffs At Microsoft A Test For Seattle Startup Culture Hungry For Pot? Here's What You Need To Know http://kuow.org/post/hungry-pot-heres-what-you-need-know <p>Marcie Sillman talks with <a href="http://rogerroffman.com/">Roger Roffman</a>, University of Washington professor emeritus of social work, about how to stay safe with marijuana edibles. Thu, 17 Jul 2014 21:49:30 +0000 Marcie Sillman & Andy Hurst 38439 at http://kuow.org Hungry For Pot? Here's What You Need To Know What's Hot Right Now: Downtown Seattle Property Values http://kuow.org/post/whats-hot-right-now-downtown-seattle-property-values <p>Ross Reynolds talks with economist and real estate analyst <a href="http://gardnereconomics.com/company/principal">Matthew Gardner</a> about the commercial real estate market in Seattle. Wed, 16 Jul 2014 22:05:22 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Andy Hurst 38359 at http://kuow.org Nearly 87 Percent Of Mentally Ill Washingtonians Are Unemployed http://kuow.org/post/nearly-87-percent-mentally-ill-washingtonians-are-unemployed <p>Ross Reynolds talks with David Johnson, CEO of Navos Mental Health Solutions, about&nbsp;<span style="line-height: 1.5;">the connections between <a href="http://www.nami.org/Template.cfm?Section=Policy_Reports&amp;Template=/ContentManagement/ContentDisplay.cfm&amp;ContentID=169263">mental illness and unemployment</a>. A recent report found that in Washington state, 86.9 percent of people who make contact with the public health system are unemployed. That's higher than the national average of 80 percent. </span> Tue, 15 Jul 2014 22:29:50 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Andy Hurst 38279 at http://kuow.org How Safe Are Escalators In Washington? http://kuow.org/post/how-safe-are-escalators-washington <p>Ross Reynolds talks with Tacoma News Tribune reporter Melissa Santos about her <a href="http://www.theolympian.com/2014/06/28/3224008/new-washington-state-escalator.html">investigation</a> into escalator safety in Washington state. Tue, 15 Jul 2014 22:28:55 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Andy Hurst 38285 at http://kuow.org How Safe Are Escalators In Washington? When 'The Beautiful Game' Was Chaotic And Dangerous http://kuow.org/post/when-beautiful-game-was-chaotic-and-dangerous <p>Marcie Sillman talks with University of Washington professor <a href="http://ischool.uw.edu/people/faculty/jwj">Joe Janes</a> about the <a href="http://faculty.washington.edu/jwj/doc/football.mp3">original rules of soccer</a>, published in 1863. Fri, 11 Jul 2014 21:45:39 +0000 Marcie Sillman & Andy Hurst 38070 at http://kuow.org In Defense Of Research On Unconscious Patients At Harborview http://kuow.org/post/defense-research-unconscious-patients-harborview <p>Marcie Sillman talks with bioethicist <a href="http://pophealth.med.nyu.edu/faculty/caplaa01">Arthur Caplan</a> about the implications of involving people in a research study without their consent. Caplan&nbsp;directs the bioethics division at New York University's Langone Medical Center. Thu, 10 Jul 2014 21:07:29 +0000 Marcie Sillman & Andy Hurst 37994 at http://kuow.org Your Burning Questions About Legal Pot, Answered http://kuow.org/post/your-burning-questions-about-legal-pot-answered <p>Marcie Sillman talks with Alison Holcomb, <span style="line-height: 1.5;">drug policy director for the&nbsp;</span><a href="https://aclu-wa.org/" style="line-height: 1.5;">ACLU of Washington,</a> about marijuana legalization in Washington state. Tue, 08 Jul 2014 21:55:38 +0000 Marcie Sillman & Andy Hurst 37818 at http://kuow.org Most Likely To Commit Gun Violence? Not The Mentally Ill http://kuow.org/post/most-likely-commit-gun-violence-not-mentally-ill <p>Treat people hospitalized for gunshot injuries as you would treat addicts.</p><p>That’s the counsel of Dr. Fred Rivara, a professor of pediatrics, who headed a University of Washington study that found that patients who had been shot were more likely to be arrested within five years than people with a psychiatric history.</p><p> Mon, 07 Jul 2014 03:00:05 +0000 Marcie Sillman, Andy Hurst & Isolde Raftery 37648 at http://kuow.org Most Likely To Commit Gun Violence? Not The Mentally Ill Mayor Murray On SDOT, City Light Money, And Gun Violence http://kuow.org/post/mayor-murray-sdot-city-light-money-and-gun-violence <p>Marcie Sillman talks with Seattle Mayor Ed Murray about Seattle City Light CEO Jorge Carrasco's&nbsp;salary increase, the newly appointed head of SDOT, and recent officer-involved shootings. Then he, parses the politics with Q13&nbsp;FOX News political analyst, C.R. Douglas. Thu, 03 Jul 2014 22:21:20 +0000 Arwen Nicks, Andy Hurst & Marcie Sillman 37593 at http://kuow.org Wash. Congressman Jim McDermott Talks Supreme Court, Immigration Reform, And More http://kuow.org/post/wash-congressman-jim-mcdermott-talks-supreme-court-immigration-reform-and-more <p>Marcie Sillman talks with <a href="http://mcdermott.house.gov/">U.S. Congressman Jim McDermott</a> about the U.S. Supreme Court's recent decisions, President Obama's executive action on immigration policy, and a variety of other issues. Wed, 02 Jul 2014 22:20:28 +0000 Marcie Sillman & Andy Hurst 37494 at http://kuow.org