Andy Hurst http://kuow.org en Does Seattle Need Better Enforcement Of Labor Laws? http://kuow.org/post/does-seattle-need-better-enforcement-labor-laws <p></p><p>David Hyde talks with Seattle City Councilmember <a href="http://www.seattle.gov/council/licata/">Nick Licata</a> about why he's pushing for better enforcement of labor standards in Seattle. Fri, 18 Apr 2014 22:18:47 +0000 David Hyde & Andy Hurst 32814 at http://kuow.org How Do Babies Perceive Fairness? The Answer Might Surprise You http://kuow.org/post/how-do-babies-perceive-fairness-answer-might-surprise-you <p></p><p>David Hyde talks with Jessica Sommerville, psychology professor at the University of Washington, about her recent <a href="http://www.washington.edu/news/2014/04/14/babies-prefer-fairness-but-only-if-it-benefits-them-in-choosing-a-playmate/">study that explores how babies perceive justice</a>.</p><p> Fri, 18 Apr 2014 22:16:46 +0000 David Hyde & Andy Hurst 32816 at http://kuow.org How Do Babies Perceive Fairness? The Answer Might Surprise You Why The Black Market For Marijuana May Not Go Away http://kuow.org/post/why-black-market-marijuana-may-not-go-away <p>Ross Reynolds talks with Dominic Corva, executive director of <a href="http://cannabisandsocialpolicy.org/">the Center for the Study of Cannabis and Social Policy</a>, about the implications for pot bans and moratoriums in Washington state. Thu, 17 Apr 2014 22:07:04 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Andy Hurst 32742 at http://kuow.org Why The Black Market For Marijuana May Not Go Away Former Cop On SPD Reform: 'A Huge Insult To The Officers' http://kuow.org/post/former-cop-spd-reform-huge-insult-officers <p>Marcie Sillman talks with retired Seattle police officer <a href="http://www.stevepomper.com/">Steve Pomper </a>about why he thinks the federally mandated reforms to the Seattle Police Department are <a href="http://crosscut.com/2014/04/14/op-ed/119561/police-justice-department-murray-steve-pomper/?page=single">unnecessary</a>. Tue, 15 Apr 2014 22:06:11 +0000 Marcie Sillman & Andy Hurst 32595 at http://kuow.org Former Cop On SPD Reform: 'A Huge Insult To The Officers' 'Lack Of Accountability:' An Investigation Into Wrongful Deaths At VA Hospitals http://kuow.org/post/lack-accountability-investigation-wrongful-deaths-va-hospitals <p>Ross Reynolds talks with journalist Aaron Glantz about <a href="http://cironline.org/reports/va-pays-out-200-million-nearly-1000-veterans%E2%80%99-wrongful-deaths-6236">preventable deaths at Veterans Affairs hospitals</a>. Glantz covers veterans and military issues for the <a href="http://cironline.org/">Center for Investigative Reporting</a>. Mon, 14 Apr 2014 22:14:06 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Andy Hurst 32514 at http://kuow.org 'Lack Of Accountability:' An Investigation Into Wrongful Deaths At VA Hospitals Listeners Weigh In On $15 Minimum Wage Debate http://kuow.org/post/listeners-weigh-15-minimum-wage-debate <p></p><p>Steve Scher and Ross Reynolds talk with guests and listeners about raising the minimum wage in Seattle to $15.</p><p>Guests include Gea Bassett, owner of <a href="http://www.greencleaningseattle.com/">Green Cleaning Seattle Eco-Maid Services,</a> and Matt Galvin, co-owner of <a href="http://pagliacci.com/">Pagliacci Pizza</a>.</p><p> Fri, 11 Apr 2014 22:07:04 +0000 Steve Scher, Ross Reynolds & Andy Hurst 32388 at http://kuow.org Listeners Weigh In On $15 Minimum Wage Debate Seattle Reconsidering Building A City Owned Broadband Network http://kuow.org/post/seattle-reconsidering-building-city-owned-broadband-network <p>Ross Reynolds talks with <a href="http://schrier.wordpress.com/">Bill Schrier</a>, City of Seattle's former chief technology officer, about the challenges to building a municipal broadband network in Seattle. Thu, 10 Apr 2014 21:58:11 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Andy Hurst 32301 at http://kuow.org Seattle Reconsidering Building A City Owned Broadband Network What To Do If You Still Don't Have Health Insurance http://kuow.org/post/what-do-if-you-still-dont-have-health-insurance <p></p><p></p><p>Ross Reynolds talks with <a href="http://www.wahbexchange.org/about-us/exchange-staff/richard-onizuka/">Richard Onizuka</a>, CEO of the Washington Health Benefit Exchange, about what people can do if they missed the March 31 deadline to sign up for health insurance. Wed, 09 Apr 2014 21:12:45 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Andy Hurst 32230 at http://kuow.org What To Do If You Still Don't Have Health Insurance Seattle Bike Sharing To Roll Out In September http://kuow.org/post/seattle-bike-sharing-roll-out-september <p></p><p>Steve Scher talks with Holly Houser, executive director of <a href="http://pugetsoundbikeshare.org/">Puget Sound Bike Share,</a> about how Seattle's forthcoming bike sharing program will work. This September, Puget Sound Bike Share will roll out to four neighborhoods: Capitol Hill, South Lake Union, the University District and downtown. Tue, 08 Apr 2014 21:37:08 +0000 Steve Scher & Andy Hurst 32128 at http://kuow.org Seattle Bike Sharing To Roll Out In September Feds 'Deeply Disappointed' With SPD's Reform Efforts http://kuow.org/post/feds-deeply-disappointed-spds-reform-efforts <p></p><p>Steve Scher talks with Seattle Times reporter Steve Miletich about the Seattle Police Department's <a href="http://seattletimes.com/html/localnews/2023278747_federalletterxml.html">reform efforts</a> to address issues of biased policing and excessive use of force. Thu, 03 Apr 2014 22:11:26 +0000 Steve Scher & Andy Hurst 31862 at http://kuow.org Feds 'Deeply Disappointed' With SPD's Reform Efforts 'Horrible Torture:' The Argument Against Elephants Kept In Zoos http://kuow.org/post/horrible-torture-argument-against-elephants-kept-zoos <p></p><p>Ross Reynolds talks with <a href="http://kerulos.org/about-us/people/">Gay Bradshaw</a> about why she thinks elephants don't belong in zoos. Bradshaw is the executive director of the Kerulos Center in Jacksonville, Ore., and author of <a href="http://yalepress.yale.edu/yupbooks/book.asp?isbn=9780300127317">"Elephants on the Edge: What </a><a href="http://yalepress.yale.edu/yupbooks/book.asp?isbn=9780300127317">Animals Teach Us About Humanity." Wed, 02 Apr 2014 21:44:37 +0000 Ross Reynolds & Andy Hurst 31786 at http://kuow.org 'Horrible Torture:' The Argument Against Elephants Kept In Zoos Changes Coming To Woodland Park Zoo's Elephant Program http://kuow.org/post/changes-coming-woodland-park-zoos-elephant-program <p></p><p>Marcie Sillman talks with Woodland Park Zoo Chief Operations Officer Bruce Bohmke about <a href="http://www.zoo.org/document.doc?id=1211">changes</a> coming to the zoo's elephant program. Tue, 01 Apr 2014 22:23:39 +0000 Marcie Sillman & Andy Hurst 31689 at http://kuow.org Changes Coming To Woodland Park Zoo's Elephant Program The Untold Story Of African American Baseball In Washington State http://kuow.org/post/untold-story-african-american-baseball-washington-state <p>Steve Scher talks with Chieko Phillips, exhibitions manager at the Northwest African American Museum, about its new exhibit, "<a href="http://www.naamnw.org/exhibits/">Pitch Black: African American Baseball in Washington</a>." Mon, 31 Mar 2014 20:53:49 +0000 Steve Scher & Andy Hurst 31603 at http://kuow.org The Untold Story Of African American Baseball In Washington State The Long-Term Consequences Of Teen Gang Memberships http://kuow.org/post/long-term-consequences-teen-gang-memberships <p>Marcie Sillman talks with researcher <a href="http://socialwork.uw.edu/programs/phd/amanda-gilman">Amanda Gilman</a> about the <a href="http://ajph.aphapublications.org/doi/abs/10.2105/AJPH.2013.301821">long-term consequences</a> of teenage gang membership. Gilman is a doctoral candidate in the School of Social Work at the University of Washington. Fri, 28 Mar 2014 21:39:38 +0000 Marcie Sillman & Andy Hurst 31478 at http://kuow.org The Long-Term Consequences Of Teen Gang Memberships Ruling Says College Football Players Are University Employees, Can Unionize http://kuow.org/post/ruling-says-college-football-players-are-university-employees-can-unionize <p></p><p>David Hyde talks with writer <a href="http://www.buzzbissinger.com/">Buzz Bissinger</a> about the National Labor Relations Board decision to allow football players at Northwestern University to form a labor union. Thu, 27 Mar 2014 21:53:33 +0000 David Hyde & Andy Hurst 31404 at http://kuow.org Ruling Says College Football Players Are University Employees, Can Unionize