Jamala Henderson http://kuow.org en Twitter Lessons From The Boston Marathon Bombings http://kuow.org/post/twitter-lessons-boston-marathon-bombings <p>When the deadly Boston Marathon bombings happened a year ago, people flocked to social media sites like Twitter for information. But that led to some problems, including the misidentification of one of the suspected bombers and other reports that turned out to be false. Tue, 15 Apr 2014 17:09:43 +0000 Jamala Henderson 32577 at http://kuow.org Twitter Lessons From The Boston Marathon Bombings Analyst: Nadella 'Not A Marquee Name' But 'Solid Choice' For Microsoft CEO http://kuow.org/post/analyst-nadella-not-marquee-name-solid-choice-microsoft-ceo <p>Microsoft has confirmed that Satya Nadella, 46, will be its <a href="http://kuow.org/post/microsoft-picks-insider-nadella-ceo-gates-takes-new-role">new CEO</a> as of Tuesday.</p><p>Todd Bishop, co-founder of the tech website Geekwire, said Nadella, who has worked at Microsoft for 22 years, will be making a big leap. “He’s been a strong business leader inside the company, but he’s never led an organization at this scale before,” Bishop said. Tue, 04 Feb 2014 18:47:15 +0000 Jamala Henderson 28190 at http://kuow.org Analyst: Nadella 'Not A Marquee Name' But 'Solid Choice' For Microsoft CEO Washington Recycles Millions Of Gadgets, But That's Barely Keeping Up http://kuow.org/post/washington-recycles-millions-gadgets-thats-barely-keeping <p></p><p></p><p>The loading dock at Total Reclaim in Seattle is piled high with electronic discards: phones, old TVs and computer carcasses. It is also deafening: Computer boards are shredded, and trucks roar in with new loads. Mon, 23 Dec 2013 20:03:44 +0000 Jamala Henderson 25981 at http://kuow.org Washington Recycles Millions Of Gadgets, But That's Barely Keeping Up William Booker, Tuskegee Airman From Kirkland, Dies At 90 http://kuow.org/post/william-booker-tuskegee-airman-kirkland-dies-90 <p>William Booker, a bomber with the Tuskegee Airmen, never complained.</p><p>He didn't complain about being pushed from town to town – from Texas to Florida, to Michigan, to Indiana and to Kentucky – because whites didn’t want black troops stationed near their homes. Nor did he complain about being segregated from other fighter squadrons. Fri, 13 Dec 2013 20:39:04 +0000 Jamala Henderson 25450 at http://kuow.org William Booker, Tuskegee Airman From Kirkland, Dies At 90 Live Event: Discussion About Gender And Tech http://kuow.org/post/live-event-discussion-about-gender-and-tech <p>KUOW's Jamala Henderson attended a conference about encouraging young women to pursue careers in tech on Wednesday. Below are a collection of tweets -- many of them from Jamala -- that emerged from the conference.&nbsp;</p> Thu, 05 Dec 2013 19:44:09 +0000 Jamala Henderson 24969 at http://kuow.org Live Event: Discussion About Gender And Tech Encouraging Girls, Women To Pursue Jobs In Tech http://kuow.org/post/encouraging-girls-women-pursue-jobs-tech <p>It’s summertime in Seattle, and deep inside a basement classroom of the Paul Allen computer science building at the University of Washington, Justin Bieber is being deconstructed. Wed, 27 Nov 2013 17:11:20 +0000 Jamala Henderson 24551 at http://kuow.org Encouraging Girls, Women To Pursue Jobs In Tech Boeing Introduces 777X, Boasts $95B In Advance Sales http://kuow.org/post/boeing-introduces-777x-boasts-95b-advance-sales <p>Days after Boeing said it would look outside the Puget Sound area to build the 777X, the aerospace giant formally introduced the jetliner at the Dubai Airshow this weekend. Mon, 18 Nov 2013 17:59:56 +0000 Jamala Henderson 24040 at http://kuow.org Boeing Introduces 777X, Boasts $95B In Advance Sales Seattle Is The Wild West Of Game Design http://kuow.org/post/seattle-wild-west-game-design <p>One reason the Puget Sound region stayed stronger than some surrounding areas during the economic downturn is because of its tech industry. A particular bright spot is the computer gaming and interactive media industry.</p><p> Fri, 20 Sep 2013 08:00:00 +0000 Jamala Henderson 20639 at http://kuow.org Seattle Is The Wild West Of Game Design GeekWire’s Annual Tech Conference Powers Up http://kuow.org/post/geekwire-s-annual-tech-conference-powers <p><iframe src="http://storify.com/KUOW/highlights-from-geekwire-summit-2013" frameborder="0" height="1015" scrolling="yes" width="580"></iframe> Thu, 12 Sep 2013 18:08:26 +0000 Jamala Henderson 20184 at http://kuow.org Fast Food Workers Walk Out In Seattle, Protesting Wages http://kuow.org/post/fast-food-workers-walk-out-seattle-protesting-wages <p>Fast food workers have begun striking in Seattle this morning. According to organizers, strike lines will take place at several coffee spots around the downtown area. Thu, 29 Aug 2013 17:28:42 +0000 Jamala Henderson 19396 at http://kuow.org Fast Food Workers Walk Out In Seattle, Protesting Wages Susan Hutchison Named New Chairwoman Of Wash. State GOP http://kuow.org/post/susan-hutchison-named-new-chairwoman-wash-state-gop <p>Former Washington State Republican Party Chairman Kirby Wilbur&nbsp;surprised many of his colleagues when he resigned close to a month ago.&nbsp;<span style="line-height: 1.5;">Wilbur went to work for Young America’s Foundation, a conservative organization with a mission to train young people for jobs in the media. Mon, 26 Aug 2013 18:43:30 +0000 Jamala Henderson 19206 at http://kuow.org Susan Hutchison Named New Chairwoman Of Wash. State GOP SeaTac City Council Signs Off On “Good Jobs Initiative" http://kuow.org/post/seatac-city-council-signs-good-jobs-initiative <p>People in the City of SeaTac could vote this November on an initiative that would create a $15 an hour hour minimum wage for thousands of workers at Sea-Tac airport and other places. The so-called “Good Jobs Initiative” would apply to about 6,500 workers in transportation and hospitality jobs in the City of SeaTac. Tuesday night, the SeaTac City Council decided to allow the measure to go before voters. Fri, 26 Jul 2013 16:28:11 +0000 Derek Wang & Jamala Henderson 17373 at http://kuow.org SeaTac City Council Signs Off On “Good Jobs Initiative" Portland Voters Keep Fluoride Out Of Drinking Water http://kuow.org/post/portland-voters-keep-fluoride-out-drinking-water <p></p><p>Voters in Portland, Oregon have decide not to add fluoride to their municipal drinking water. Seattle and most other large cities in the US added the chemical decades ago to prevent cavities in children.</p><p> Wed, 22 May 2013 17:28:11 +0000 Jamala Henderson 13535 at http://kuow.org Portland Voters Keep Fluoride Out Of Drinking Water GeekWire's John Cook: Seattle's Start-up Businesses Get A Boost http://kuow.org/post/geekwires-john-cook-seattles-start-businesses-get-boost <p></p><p></p><p></p><p>Seattle Mayor Mike McGinn announced a new <a href="http://startupseattle.com/">start-up business initiative</a> Thursday May 9&nbsp;&nbsp;to support <span style="line-height: 1.5;">and boost technology business start-ups in Seattle. </span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Technology reporter and GeekWire co-founder John Cook was part of the advisory group that aided the city’s process.</span></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;"> Fri, 10 May 2013 18:56:51 +0000 Jamala Henderson 12977 at http://kuow.org GeekWire's John Cook: Seattle's Start-up Businesses Get A Boost New Bill Aims To Restrict Access To Wash. State Juvenile Offense Records http://kuow.org/post/new-bill-aims-restrict-access-wash-state-juvenile-offense-records <p></p><p>A new bill will be proposed this week in the Washington state Legislature that aims to limit access to the criminal records of juvenile offenders.</p><p> Wed, 23 Jan 2013 00:36:13 +0000 Jamala Henderson 6969 at http://kuow.org