Jamala Henderson http://kuow.org en Brace Yourself: Major I-90 Closure Will Pinch Region's Roads http://kuow.org/post/brace-yourself-major-i-90-closure-will-pinch-regions-roads <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">If you travel on I-90 between Bellevue and Seattle, the Washington State Department of Transportation has a message for you: Start</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;"> making other plans.<br /><br />Beginning at</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;9:30 p.m. on Friday, July 18, road work&nbsp;</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">will take westbound I-90 near Bellevue Way S.E. from four lanes down to one,</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;"> around the clock,&nbsp;</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">for seven days.</span><br /><br /><span style="line-height: 1.5;">To help ease the pain,&nbsp;</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">WSDOT is asking you to plan now to change your commute.</span><br /> Wed, 16 Jul 2014 17:09:04 +0000 Jamala Henderson 38346 at http://kuow.org Brace Yourself: Major I-90 Closure Will Pinch Region's Roads Goodwill Will Take Almost Any Donation, Except Your Old Skulls http://kuow.org/post/goodwill-will-take-almost-any-donation-except-your-old-skulls <p></p><p>It was certainly a surprise for some employees sorting through the piles of donations at a Goodwill located in Bellevue, Washington.</p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Last month, three human skulls were discovered amongst the bags of clothes, toys and other items being given to the thrift shop by anonymous donors.</span> Thu, 10 Jul 2014 19:20:33 +0000 Jamala Henderson 37985 at http://kuow.org Goodwill Will Take Almost Any Donation, Except Your Old Skulls Computer Program Knows That It's A Horse, Of Course http://kuow.org/post/computer-program-knows-its-horse-course <p></p><p>When you do an image search on the web, you might find what you're looking for. Those searches use captions and other text around pictures to give you results. But what if a computer could recognize a horse because it was shaped like a horse?&nbsp;<span style="line-height: 1.5;">That's what a new program called </span><a href="http://levan.cs.washington.edu/" style="line-height: 1.5;">LEVAN&nbsp;</a><span style="line-height: 1.5;">can do. </span> Mon, 23 Jun 2014 14:12:49 +0000 Jamala Henderson 36726 at http://kuow.org Computer Program Knows That It's A Horse, Of Course Rep. Orwall Talks Expanded Birth Record Access For Washington Adoptees http://kuow.org/post/rep-orwall-talks-expanded-birth-record-access-washington-adoptees <div><p></p><p>Knowing your medical history and where your parents are from are things you might take for granted – unless you are adopted. Mon, 09 Jun 2014 19:43:39 +0000 Jamala Henderson 36058 at http://kuow.org Rep. Orwall Talks Expanded Birth Record Access For Washington Adoptees Microsoft Takes Advantage Of Relaxed Game Console Ban In China http://kuow.org/post/microsoft-takes-advantage-relaxed-game-console-ban-china <p>Microsoft may have found a way to pull ahead of the Sony Playstation — in China.</p><p>The company partnered this week with a Chinese company to bring its Xbox One gaming console out of the black market and into Chinese stores. Thu, 01 May 2014 20:30:13 +0000 Jamala Henderson 33693 at http://kuow.org Microsoft Takes Advantage Of Relaxed Game Console Ban In China Lake Wash. School District Bonds Failing On Second Round http://kuow.org/post/lake-wash-school-district-bonds-failing-second-round <p></p><p>Along with <a href="http://kuow.org/post/king-county-metro-prop-1-failing-early-returns">Proposition 1</a>, another measure on some King County ballots appears to be failing. The construction bond measure for the Lake Washington School District needed 60 percent to pass.</p><p>Early returns had just 50 percent of voters approving it. Wed, 23 Apr 2014 21:59:27 +0000 Jamala Henderson 33157 at http://kuow.org Lake Wash. School District Bonds Failing On Second Round Twitter Lessons From The Boston Marathon Bombings http://kuow.org/post/twitter-lessons-boston-marathon-bombings <p>When the deadly Boston Marathon bombings happened a year ago, people flocked to social media sites like Twitter for information. But that led to some problems, including the misidentification of one of the suspected bombers and other reports that turned out to be false. Tue, 15 Apr 2014 17:09:43 +0000 Jamala Henderson 32577 at http://kuow.org Twitter Lessons From The Boston Marathon Bombings Analyst: Nadella 'Not A Marquee Name' But 'Solid Choice' For Microsoft CEO http://kuow.org/post/analyst-nadella-not-marquee-name-solid-choice-microsoft-ceo <p>Microsoft has confirmed that Satya Nadella, 46, will be its <a href="http://kuow.org/post/microsoft-picks-insider-nadella-ceo-gates-takes-new-role">new CEO</a> as of Tuesday.</p><p>Todd Bishop, co-founder of the tech website Geekwire, said Nadella, who has worked at Microsoft for 22 years, will be making a big leap. “He’s been a strong business leader inside the company, but he’s never led an organization at this scale before,” Bishop said. Tue, 04 Feb 2014 18:47:15 +0000 Jamala Henderson 28190 at http://kuow.org Analyst: Nadella 'Not A Marquee Name' But 'Solid Choice' For Microsoft CEO Washington Recycles Millions Of Gadgets, But That's Barely Keeping Up http://kuow.org/post/washington-recycles-millions-gadgets-thats-barely-keeping <p></p><p></p><p>The loading dock at Total Reclaim in Seattle is piled high with electronic discards: phones, old TVs and computer carcasses. It is also deafening: Computer boards are shredded, and trucks roar in with new loads. Mon, 23 Dec 2013 20:03:44 +0000 Jamala Henderson 25981 at http://kuow.org Washington Recycles Millions Of Gadgets, But That's Barely Keeping Up William Booker, Tuskegee Airman From Kirkland, Dies At 90 http://kuow.org/post/william-booker-tuskegee-airman-kirkland-dies-90 <p>William Booker, a bomber with the Tuskegee Airmen, never complained.</p><p>He didn't complain about being pushed from town to town – from Texas to Florida, to Michigan, to Indiana and to Kentucky – because whites didn’t want black troops stationed near their homes. Nor did he complain about being segregated from other fighter squadrons. Fri, 13 Dec 2013 20:39:04 +0000 Jamala Henderson 25450 at http://kuow.org William Booker, Tuskegee Airman From Kirkland, Dies At 90 Live Event: Discussion About Gender And Tech http://kuow.org/post/live-event-discussion-about-gender-and-tech <p>KUOW's Jamala Henderson attended a conference about encouraging young women to pursue careers in tech on Wednesday. Below are a collection of tweets -- many of them from Jamala -- that emerged from the conference.&nbsp;</p> Thu, 05 Dec 2013 19:44:09 +0000 Jamala Henderson 24969 at http://kuow.org Live Event: Discussion About Gender And Tech Encouraging Girls, Women To Pursue Jobs In Tech http://kuow.org/post/encouraging-girls-women-pursue-jobs-tech <p>It’s summertime in Seattle, and deep inside a basement classroom of the Paul Allen computer science building at the University of Washington, Justin Bieber is being deconstructed. Wed, 27 Nov 2013 17:11:20 +0000 Jamala Henderson 24551 at http://kuow.org Encouraging Girls, Women To Pursue Jobs In Tech Boeing Introduces 777X, Boasts $95B In Advance Sales http://kuow.org/post/boeing-introduces-777x-boasts-95b-advance-sales <p>Days after Boeing said it would look outside the Puget Sound area to build the 777X, the aerospace giant formally introduced the jetliner at the Dubai Airshow this weekend. Mon, 18 Nov 2013 17:59:56 +0000 Jamala Henderson 24040 at http://kuow.org Boeing Introduces 777X, Boasts $95B In Advance Sales Seattle Is The Wild West Of Game Design http://kuow.org/post/seattle-wild-west-game-design <p>One reason the Puget Sound region stayed stronger than some surrounding areas during the economic downturn is because of its tech industry. A particular bright spot is the computer gaming and interactive media industry.</p><p> Fri, 20 Sep 2013 08:00:00 +0000 Jamala Henderson 20639 at http://kuow.org Seattle Is The Wild West Of Game Design GeekWire’s Annual Tech Conference Powers Up http://kuow.org/post/geekwire-s-annual-tech-conference-powers <p><iframe src="http://storify.com/KUOW/highlights-from-geekwire-summit-2013" frameborder="0" height="1015" scrolling="yes" width="580"></iframe> Thu, 12 Sep 2013 18:08:26 +0000 Jamala Henderson 20184 at http://kuow.org