Karen Grigsby Bates http://kuow.org en Why Did Black Voters Flee The Republican Party In The 1960s? http://kuow.org/post/why-did-black-voters-flee-republican-party-1960s If you'd walked into a gathering of older black folks 100 years ago, you'd have found that most of them would have been Republican.<p>Wait... what?<p>Yep. Republican. Party of Lincoln. Party of the Emancipation. Party that pushed not only black votes but black politicians during that post-bellum period known as Reconstruction.<p>Today, it's almost the exact opposite. Mon, 14 Jul 2014 19:37:26 +0000 Karen Grigsby Bates 38214 at http://kuow.org Why Did Black Voters Flee The Republican Party In The 1960s? The Late Walter Dean Myers Wrote In The Language Of Teens http://kuow.org/post/late-walter-dean-myers-wrote-language-teens <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QtlkXnf3-vY</p> Thu, 03 Jul 2014 17:03:00 +0000 Karen Grigsby Bates 37564 at http://kuow.org The Late Walter Dean Myers Wrote In The Language Of Teens Honoring An Activist And Fashion Industry Role Model http://kuow.org/post/honoring-activist-and-fashion-industry-role-model The Council of Fashion Designers of America awards (the CFDA) are the fashion industry's equivalent of the Oscars: big, glittery, hugely prestigious. The red carpet before and after the ceremony is avidly watched. Unlike the Chambre Syndicale, which regulates France's couture and related industries, the CFDA is more of a reflector, an influencer — and, perhaps, a bellwether.<p>On Monday night, fashionable celebrities and celebrity designers walked the red carpet in front of Lincoln Center to celebrate the industry's best. Wed, 04 Jun 2014 17:21:51 +0000 Karen Grigsby Bates 35775 at http://kuow.org Honoring An Activist And Fashion Industry Role Model Condiment Detente: Sriracha Plant To Stay In California City http://kuow.org/post/condiment-detente-sriracha-plant-stay-california-city The Sriracha-slurping public no longer has to worry about hoarding bottles and bottles of the spicy stuff: There will be hot sauce tomorrow and for the foreseeable future. Sriracha will continue to be made in the state-of-the-art plant David Tran built in Irwindale, Calif. Thu, 29 May 2014 22:47:00 +0000 Karen Grigsby Bates 35473 at http://kuow.org Condiment Detente: Sriracha Plant To Stay In California City Remembering Sam Greenlee Through His Most Famous Book http://kuow.org/post/remembering-sam-greenlee-through-his-most-famous-book <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=e14dahzb82g</p> Thu, 22 May 2014 22:00:22 +0000 Karen Grigsby Bates 35026 at http://kuow.org Remembering Sam Greenlee Through His Most Famous Book Nostalgia For What's Been Lost Since 'Brown V. Board' http://kuow.org/post/nostalgia-whats-been-lost-brown-v-board <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xY4aOHTjGTM</p> Sat, 17 May 2014 09:39:00 +0000 Karen Grigsby Bates 34640 at http://kuow.org Nostalgia For What's Been Lost Since 'Brown V. Board' Sriracha-Maker Says Factory Will Remain In California http://kuow.org/post/sriracha-maker-says-factory-will-remain-california Sriracha hot sauce-maker Huy Fong Foods has been tussling with the City Council of Irwindale, Calif., near Los Angeles for months now over whether the factory's spicy smells harm its neighbors. There have been legal action and suggested fixes, but also pleas from other cities for the company to consider moving there.<p>David Tran, the CEO of Huy Fong, says he escaped from Vietnam almost 35 years ago to be free of the communist government there and its many intrusions.<p>"Today, I feel almost the same. Mon, 12 May 2014 07:46:00 +0000 Karen Grigsby Bates 34267 at http://kuow.org Sriracha-Maker Says Factory Will Remain In California After 6 Decades As A Staple, 'Jet' Magazine Ends Print Run http://kuow.org/post/after-six-decades-staple-jet-mag-ends-its-print-run Transcript <p>ROBERT SIEGEL, HOST: <p>From NPR News. I'm Robert Siegel.<p>MELISSA BLOCK, HOST: <p>And I'm Melissa Block. An era in magazine history is closing. Chicago-based Johnson Publishing Co., or JPC, says "Jet" magazine is going digital. Some 700,000 subscribers will no longer see a print edition. It's with the exception of one special print issue a year. Wed, 07 May 2014 20:59:00 +0000 Karen Grigsby Bates 34062 at http://kuow.org Why Would The NAACP Honor Donald Sterling Anyway? http://kuow.org/post/why-would-naacp-honor-donald-sterling-anyway <em>Update: The NAACP issued a <a href="http://www.naacp.org/press/entry/naacp-statement-resignation-of-los-angeles-president-jenkins">press release</a> on Thursday advising that Leon Jenkins has resigned his post as president of the Los Angeles chapter. The national organization said it is "developing guidelines for its branches to help them in their award selection process."</em><p>"The Los Angeles NAACP intention to honor Mr. Tue, 29 Apr 2014 20:24:00 +0000 Karen Grigsby Bates 33555 at http://kuow.org Why Would The NAACP Honor Donald Sterling Anyway? PBS Documentary Examines Ruben Salazar's Life And Death http://kuow.org/post/pbs-documentary-examines-ruben-salazars-life-and-death Transcript <p>STEVE INSKEEP, HOST: <p>A new documentary explores the life and death of Ruben Salazar. He was a journalist. He's considered one of the founders of the modern Chicano movement and by many a martyr. He was killed in 1970 while covering an anti-war demonstration in East Los Angeles. He was shot with a tear gas canister. Tue, 29 Apr 2014 09:17:00 +0000 Karen Grigsby Bates 33499 at http://kuow.org Who Runs The World? 'Time' Magazine Says Beyoncé http://kuow.org/post/who-runs-world-time-magazine-says-beyonc <a href="http://www.npr.org/blogs/codeswitch/2014/04/23/306235499/why-lupita-nyongos-people-cover-is-so-significant">The euphoria over Lupita Nyong'o's appearance</a> on <em>People</em>'s "50 Most Beautiful" list was still swirling on the Interwebs when word came, a mere four days later, that <em>Time</em><em></em>'s "100 Most Influential" issue was on newsstands. Mon, 28 Apr 2014 18:46:00 +0000 Karen Grigsby Bates 33460 at http://kuow.org Who Runs The World? 'Time' Magazine Says Beyoncé Some In Irwindale Still Not Happy About Smelly Neighbor, Sriracha http://kuow.org/post/some-irwindale-still-not-happy-about-smelly-neighbor-sriracha The skirmish continues between Sriracha and Irwindale, Calif. Irwindale's city council declared that owner David Tran must curb his hot sauce factory's smelly fumes or they'll do it themselves. Tran is considering relocating, and he has already received several offers. Mon, 21 Apr 2014 20:05:00 +0000 Karen Grigsby Bates 32968 at http://kuow.org Congressional Black Caucus Urges Rethink Of Army Hair Rules http://kuow.org/post/congressional-black-caucus-urges-rethink-army-hair-rules The women of the Congressional Black Caucus have sent a letter asking Defense Secretary Chuck Hagel <a href="http://cbc.fudge.house.gov/press-releases/women-members-of-the-cbc-send-letter-to-dod-secretary-hagel-on-unauthorized-hairstyles/">to reconsider new Army regulations</a> that made headlines earlier this month.<p><a href="http://www.apd.army.mil/pdffiles/r670_1.pdf#page=21&zoom=auto,0,719">AR 670-1</a>, the revised regulations for grooming and appearance, has some black female enlistees in an uproar: it dictates that black women may wear their hair <em>au naturelle</em> in twists or brai Fri, 11 Apr 2014 23:27:00 +0000 Karen Grigsby Bates 32413 at http://kuow.org Congressional Black Caucus Urges Rethink Of Army Hair Rules Why A Proper Lady Found Herself Behind Bars http://kuow.org/post/why-proper-lady-found-herself-behind-bars <em>This story is part of NPR's 50th anniversary coverage of 1964. Fri, 28 Mar 2014 22:27:00 +0000 Karen Grigsby Bates 31503 at http://kuow.org Why A Proper Lady Found Herself Behind Bars Stokely Carmichael, A Philosopher Behind The Black Power Movement http://kuow.org/post/stokely-carmichael-philosopher-behind-black-power-movement Before he became famous — and infamous — for calling on black power for black people, Stokely Carmichael was better known as a rising young community organizer in the civil rights movement. Mon, 10 Mar 2014 14:11:00 +0000 Karen Grigsby Bates 30167 at http://kuow.org Stokely Carmichael, A Philosopher Behind The Black Power Movement