Jim Gates http://kuow.org en Is The Seattle Freeze A Real Thing? http://kuow.org/post/seattle-freeze-real-thing <p></p><p>When John Reese moved from northern Illinois to Seattle last year he kept hearing people talking about the Seattle Freeze. So far he hasn’t seen any sign of it. In fact, he says people are nicer here than they are back home. Mon, 17 Mar 2014 14:27:21 +0000 Jim Gates 30523 at http://kuow.org Is The Seattle Freeze A Real Thing? Call Of The Sound: Romance Of Foghorns Endures http://kuow.org/post/call-sound-romance-foghorns-endures <p></p><p>If you live near downtown Seattle, you may have recently heard a long, low horn reverberating through the soupy nighttime air.</p><p>It happens every once in a while and has some Seattleites mystified. Where does the sound come from? It is a train? A boat? Last call at a Capitol Hill bar? Thu, 02 Jan 2014 13:00:00 +0000 Jim Gates 26289 at http://kuow.org Call Of The Sound: Romance Of Foghorns Endures How The Puget Sound Region Has Emerged From The Recession http://kuow.org/post/how-puget-sound-region-has-emerged-recession <p></p><p>Our one hour special, <em>The Big Reset,</em> explores how the Puget Sound region has emerged from the Great Recession.</p><p> Fri, 27 Sep 2013 20:01:52 +0000 Jim Gates 21124 at http://kuow.org How The Puget Sound Region Has Emerged From The Recession Thousands Show Up At Kent Jobs Fair http://kuow.org/post/thousands-show-kent-jobs-fair <p></p><p>Despite the drop in Washington’s unemployment rate, many people are still looking for work. More than 3,000 people attended a jobs fair at the ShoWare Center in Kent on Tuesday. Companies had a big presence too. Law enforcement recruiters showed up in force, as did insurance companies and healthcare providers. But the big player was Boeing. &nbsp;<br> Wed, 10 Jul 2013 23:24:51 +0000 Jim Gates 16452 at http://kuow.org Thousands Show Up At Kent Jobs Fair Staff Sgt. Robert Bales Pleads Guilty To Afghan Murders http://kuow.org/post/staff-sgt-robert-bales-pleads-guilty-afghan-murders <p><em>Correction 6/6/2013: A previous version of this story incorrectly stated that Staff Sgt. Bales was from Lake Tapps, Ohio.</em></p><p>Staff Sgt. Robert Bales, the American soldier from Lake Tapps, Wash., charged with killing 16 Afghan civilians during night time raids on two villages last year, pleaded guilty Wednesday to avoid the death penalty. The judge, Col. Jeffery Nance has accepted his plea agreement which takes the option of the&nbsp; death penalty off the table.</p><p> Wed, 05 Jun 2013 21:50:07 +0000 Patricia Murphy & Jim Gates 14405 at http://kuow.org Staff Sgt. Robert Bales Pleads Guilty To Afghan Murders Washington Delegation Supports Vote To Allow Gay Members Into Scouts http://kuow.org/post/washington-delegation-supports-vote-allow-gay-members-scouts <p>For the first time in 22 years, openly gay members will be allowed to join the Boy Scouts. Leaders of the Boy Scouts of America voted 61 percent in favor of eliminating sexual orientation as criteria for youth membership.</p><p> Fri, 24 May 2013 00:05:03 +0000 Jim Gates 13649 at http://kuow.org Washington Delegation Supports Vote To Allow Gay Members Into Scouts