Phyllis Fletcher http://kuow.org en Can A 'Bigger Hammer' Stop Oil Refinery Accidents? http://kuow.org/post/can-bigger-hammer-stop-oil-refinery-accidents <p>Ross Reynolds talks with Dave Fehling, energy and environment reporter for StateImpact Texas, an NPR reporting project, about oil refinery accidents and what happens when they're criminally prosecuted. Tue, 08 Jul 2014 21:50:11 +0000 Ross Reynolds, Phyllis Fletcher & Hannah Burn 37842 at http://kuow.org How Drones Quietly Mapped Oso Landslide Area http://kuow.org/post/how-drones-quietly-mapped-oso-landslide-area <p>As Washington Gov. Jay Inslee vetoed a bill in April that would have regulated drone use statewide, a consortium of disaster recovery specialists quietly negotiated the use of drones to make a 3-D model of the Oso mudslide.</p><p>Inslee vetoed the Legislature's bill on April 4 citing privacy and transparency concerns that he said were not adequately addressed, but he said he would still let drones fly in emergencies.</p> Mon, 05 May 2014 21:33:17 +0000 Phyllis Fletcher 33917 at http://kuow.org How Drones Quietly Mapped Oso Landslide Area Landslide Recovery Specialist Hopes To Use Drones In Future Rescue Operations http://kuow.org/post/landslide-recovery-specialist-hopes-use-drones-future-rescue-operations <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Stacy </span>Noland<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> deployed to </span>Oso<span style="line-height: 1.5;">, Wash., with the </span><a href="http://www.fieldinnovationteam.org/" style="line-height: 1.5;">Global Disaster Innovation Group Field Innovation Team</a><span style="line-height: 1.5;"> three days after the fatal landslide there. </span>Noland<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> has worked in rescue and recovery operations following the 2010 </span>Deepwater<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> Horizon oil spill, the 2011 Joplin tornado, and Hurricane Sandy in 2012. His role at the debris pile&nbsp;was to figure out how to make rescue and recovery most efficient. We asked what he has learned so far.</span></p><p> Fri, 04 Apr 2014 14:04:49 +0000 Phyllis Fletcher 31808 at http://kuow.org Landslide Recovery Specialist Hopes To Use Drones In Future Rescue Operations Mudslide Rescue Volunteers: ‘We’re Going In Whether You Let Us Or Not’ http://kuow.org/post/mudslide-rescue-volunteers-we-re-going-whether-you-let-us-or-not <p></p><p>Bob DeYoung came to a prayer vigil in Darrington wearing thick suspenders that held up jeans covered in mud.</p><p>“Sticks to everything,” he explained.</p><p>You could see he had been working hard. He had been out all day at the recovery site of the Oso mudslide, a square mile of devastated terrain 50 feet deep. Thu, 27 Mar 2014 15:33:44 +0000 Phyllis Fletcher 31376 at http://kuow.org Mudslide Rescue Volunteers: ‘We’re Going In Whether You Let Us Or Not’ 'Grateful That I Have My Life:' Resident Recounts Near-Miss On SR 530 http://kuow.org/post/grateful-i-have-my-life-resident-recounts-near-miss-sr-530 <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Darrington resident </span>Mathalie<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> </span>Meracle<span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;believes she was the last person to drive through state Highway 530 before it was buried in mud and debris.&nbsp;</span>KUOW's<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> Phyllis Fletcher spoke with </span>Meracle<span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;at the </span>Darrington Library <span style="line-height: 1.5;">on Monday</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">.</span> Tue, 25 Mar 2014 22:37:56 +0000 Phyllis Fletcher & Posey Gruener 31254 at http://kuow.org 'Grateful That I Have My Life:' Resident Recounts Near-Miss On SR 530 Mudslide Witness: There Were 'Belongings All Over The Road' http://kuow.org/post/mudslide-witness-there-were-belongings-all-over-road <p></p><p>Search and rescue crews enter their third day after the 1-square-mile mudslide wiped out dozens of homes in Oso — a town of about 200 people between Arlington and Darrington in Snohomish County.</p><p>As of Monday morning, officials said they have recovered eight bodies and will continue to search for dozens of people still missing. Mon, 24 Mar 2014 17:21:56 +0000 Phyllis Fletcher 31160 at http://kuow.org Mudslide Witness: There Were 'Belongings All Over The Road' Investigated For Tampering, Rape Suspect’s Wife Hired As Magistrate http://kuow.org/post/investigated-tampering-rape-suspect-s-wife-hired-magistrate <p></p><p>A recently released report commissioned by the Seattle City Attorney’s office has found that one of its supervising prosecutors may have violated criminal law and professional rules for attorneys.</p><p>Three months after resigning, that prosecutor, Jennifer Grant, got a temporary job with Seattle Municipal Court as a magistrate. Wed, 08 Jan 2014 18:13:47 +0000 Phyllis Fletcher 26694 at http://kuow.org Investigated For Tampering, Rape Suspect’s Wife Hired As Magistrate Fire Burns Historic Seattle Building Where Wah Mee Massacre Took Place http://kuow.org/post/fire-burns-historic-seattle-building-where-wah-mee-massacre-took-place <p></p><p></p><p>Djin Kwie Liem estimates he lost 20,000 fish.</p><p>“Goldfish, koi, tropical fish,” he specified. Fri, 27 Dec 2013 17:38:36 +0000 Phyllis Fletcher 26157 at http://kuow.org Fire Burns Historic Seattle Building Where Wah Mee Massacre Took Place Socialist Kshama Sawant Leads Conlin By 1,148 Votes http://kuow.org/post/socialist-kshama-sawant-leads-conlin-1148-votes <p></p><p><strong>UPDATE 11/14/13, 5 p.m. PT:&nbsp; </strong></p><p>Kshama Sawant remains ahead of Seattle City Councilmember Richard Conlin by 1,148. On Wednesday, Sawant was ahead by 402 votes. If she maintains this lead, the race will not be eligible for a recount, although Conlin could contest the vote count and pay for a recount. &nbsp;</p><p> Fri, 15 Nov 2013 18:00:58 +0000 Phyllis Fletcher 23721 at http://kuow.org Socialist Kshama Sawant Leads Conlin By 1,148 Votes Microsoft CEO Steve Ballmer Announces Retirement http://kuow.org/post/microsoft-ceo-steve-ballmer-announces-retirement <p>One year: That’s how long that Microsoft CEO Steve Ballmer has before he retires as the head of the company. In a news release today, Microsoft announced that the chief executive officer will stay until the company has chosen his successor. Fri, 23 Aug 2013 18:50:08 +0000 Phyllis Fletcher & Bill Radke 19108 at http://kuow.org Microsoft CEO Steve Ballmer Announces Retirement State Supreme Court Blasts Racism In Jury Selection http://kuow.org/post/state-supreme-court-blasts-racism-jury-selection <p>The Supreme Court of Washington blasted a common trial court practice Thursday that results in black defendants being sent to prison by all-white juries.</p><p>The court says racial discrimination in jury selection is rampant. Fri, 02 Aug 2013 21:41:34 +0000 Phyllis Fletcher 17895 at http://kuow.org State Supreme Court Blasts Racism In Jury Selection Alternate Routes Around I-5 Skagit River Bridge http://kuow.org/post/alternate-routes-around-i-5-skagit-river-bridge <p>WSDOT is asking drivers to allow ample time for&nbsp;travel through the I-5 Skagit River area.&nbsp;Both directions of I-5 are detoured in Skagit County.</p><p> Fri, 24 May 2013 13:44:13 +0000 Jenna Montgomery & Phyllis Fletcher 13678 at http://kuow.org Alternate Routes Around I-5 Skagit River Bridge Kenneth Bae Convicted For Christian Mission To North Korea http://kuow.org/post/kenneth-bae-convicted-christian-mission-north-korea <p>North Korea said through its government news agency Friday that Kenneth Bae of Lynnwood, Wash., used his tour company as a front to bring a Christian mission within its borders. Bae was arrested in North Korea in November 2012 and was sentenced last week to 15 years of hard labor on charges of subverting the North Korean government. Fri, 10 May 2013 22:00:08 +0000 Phyllis Fletcher & Lisa Brooks 12882 at http://kuow.org Kenneth Bae Convicted For Christian Mission To North Korea Seattle Times Writer "Shocked" That Dennis Rodman Answered Kenneth Bae Challenge http://kuow.org/post/seattle-times-writer-shocked-dennis-rodman-answered-kenneth-bae-challenge <p>Thanh Tan says she was serious when she <a href="http://blogs.seattletimes.com/opinionnw/2013/05/03/dennis-rodman-kim-jong-un-kenneth-bae-north-korean-prison/">challenged </a>former NBA star Dennis Rodman to get Kenneth Bae of Lynnwood, Wash. released from a 15-year hard labor sentence in North Korea.</p><p> Wed, 08 May 2013 23:31:35 +0000 Phyllis Fletcher 12748 at http://kuow.org Seattle Times Writer "Shocked" That Dennis Rodman Answered Kenneth Bae Challenge Demonstrators Have Their Say On May Day http://kuow.org/post/demonstrators-have-their-say-may-day <p>KUOW reporter Amy Radil began her day at Westlake Park. Wed, 01 May 2013 20:15:49 +0000 Amy Radil & Phyllis Fletcher 12347 at http://kuow.org Demonstrators Have Their Say On May Day