Ann Dornfeld http://kuow.org en Seattle School Board Picks Interim Superintendent http://kuow.org/post/seattle-school-board-picks-interim-superintendent <p>The Seattle School Board voted unanimously Friday to make Larry Nyland the interim schools chief to replace outgoing Superintendent Jose Banda.</p><p> Sat, 19 Jul 2014 00:53:07 +0000 Ann Dornfeld 38549 at http://kuow.org Here Are Washington's New Prospective Charter Schools http://kuow.org/post/here-are-washingtons-new-prospective-charter-schools <p>Seven organizations have filed to open charter schools in Washington in the state’s second-ever round of applications.</p><p>The proposed schools include California-based charter chains… a bilingual school… and a school that would teach partly in sign language.</p><p>Three of the schools would be in Spokane, with the rest in Seattle, Sunnyside, and Pierce and Clark Counties.</p><p>Three of the groups had applied unsuccessfully to open schools last year.</p><p>The state’s charter school authorizers will decide which applications to approve, if any, by mid-October.</p> Thu, 17 Jul 2014 00:06:17 +0000 Ann Dornfeld 38396 at http://kuow.org Long Before Babies Talk, They're Plotting Away http://kuow.org/post/long-babies-talk-theyre-plotting-away <p>A University of Washington <a href="http://www.pnas.org/content/early/2014/07/10/1410963111.full.pdf+html">study</a> published Monday in the <em>Proceedings of the National Academy of Science</em> gives clues about how talking to babies from an early age helps them say their first words. Mon, 14 Jul 2014 19:06:46 +0000 Ann Dornfeld 38204 at http://kuow.org Long Before Babies Talk, They're Plotting Away Childcare Provider Debates Two Possible Preschool Laws http://kuow.org/post/childcare-provider-debates-two-possible-preschool-laws <p>Patti Oliver Bailey sat on a sunny wooden deck in Seattle’s Rainier Valley on a recent afternoon, surrounded by toddlers digging through a box of pink sand and bright toys. Fri, 11 Jul 2014 21:28:11 +0000 Ann Dornfeld 38063 at http://kuow.org Childcare Provider Debates Two Possible Preschool Laws Teachers Protest Gates Foundation-Backed Education Reforms http://kuow.org/post/teachers-protest-gates-foundation-backed-education-reforms <p>A coalition of teachers and their supporters marched through downtown Seattle Thursday afternoon to the headquarters of the Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation.<br /><br />The local branch of a national organization that calls itself the Badass Teachers Association was protesting the education reform efforts the Gates Foundation has generously funded, from charter schools to the new Common Core State Standards. Fri, 27 Jun 2014 23:33:21 +0000 Ann Dornfeld 37182 at http://kuow.org Teachers Protest Gates Foundation-Backed Education Reforms Seattle City Council Sends Two Early Childhood Initiatives To Voters http://kuow.org/post/seattle-city-council-sends-two-early-childhood-initiatives-voters <p></p><p>The Seattle City Council voted on Monday to send two competing early childhood education initiatives to voters this fall. One initiative was proposed by council President Tim Burgess and Mayor Ed Murray, and the other by a union that represents child care workers. Tue, 24 Jun 2014 20:36:54 +0000 Ann Dornfeld 36931 at http://kuow.org Seattle City Council Sends Two Early Childhood Initiatives To Voters Seattle Schools Chief Jose Banda May Leave For Sacramento http://kuow.org/post/seattle-schools-chief-jose-banda-may-leave-sacramento <p>Seattle Public Schools Superintendent Jose Banda has been named the finalist for superintendent of Sacramento City Unified School District. If Banda accepts the position, he would be leaving Seattle after two years, with two years left on his current contract. Fri, 20 Jun 2014 17:24:05 +0000 Ann Dornfeld 36660 at http://kuow.org Seattle Schools Chief Jose Banda May Leave For Sacramento African Hair Braider Sues Washington Over License Dispute http://kuow.org/post/african-hair-braider-sues-washington-over-license-dispute <p>An African hair braider is suing the Washington State Department of Licensing after an investigator told her she needs a cosmetology license to stay in business.</p><p>The suit is one of several filed across the country on Tuesday by hair braiders protesting state regulations they say don’t apply to them. Wed, 18 Jun 2014 16:46:13 +0000 Ann Dornfeld 36611 at http://kuow.org African Hair Braider Sues Washington Over License Dispute In Surprise Move, Seattle Schools Approve 'Singapore Math' http://kuow.org/post/surprise-move-seattle-schools-approve-singapore-math <p></p><p>Last week, the Seattle School Board voted 4-3 to adopt a new elementary curriculum, Math in Focus.</p><p>Parents and teachers had lobbied the district for years to use Math in Focus, described as “Singapore math.” Singapore has been consistently ranked as the highest-achieving country in the world. Mon, 09 Jun 2014 21:46:11 +0000 Ann Dornfeld 35946 at http://kuow.org In Surprise Move, Seattle Schools Approve 'Singapore Math' Sen. Murray Proposes Summer Food Benefits For Low-Income Kids http://kuow.org/post/sen-murray-proposes-summer-food-benefits-low-income-kids <p>Nearly half of public school students in Washington state receive free or reduced-price breakfasts and lunches at school – about half a million children. But when school’s out for summer, it can be a struggle for low-income families to make their food budgets stretch. Mon, 02 Jun 2014 03:07:07 +0000 Ann Dornfeld 35545 at http://kuow.org Sen. Murray Proposes Summer Food Benefits For Low-Income Kids Proposed Sale Of Seattle Student Data Site Worries Officials http://kuow.org/post/proposed-sale-seattle-student-data-site-worries-officials <p>The potential bankruptcy sale of a company that stores online student data – including personally identifiable information for about 20,000 Seattle middle and high school students – has concerned the Federal Trade Commission and Seattle Public Schools.&nbsp; Fri, 30 May 2014 16:57:05 +0000 Ann Dornfeld 35468 at http://kuow.org Proposed Sale Of Seattle Student Data Site Worries Officials Recess, Once Free Time, Gets An Overhaul http://kuow.org/post/recess-once-free-time-gets-overhaul <p></p><p>The recess for the youngest students at Ardmore Elementary School in Bellevue doesn’t look like your typical recess. Thu, 15 May 2014 15:05:59 +0000 Ann Dornfeld 34206 at http://kuow.org Recess, Once Free Time, Gets An Overhaul Recess Shrinks At Seattle Schools; Poor Schools Fare Worst http://kuow.org/post/recess-shrinks-seattle-schools-poor-schools-fare-worst <p>In decades past, elementary students had recess several times a day.</p><p>Today, parents and teachers across the country report dramatic cutbacks to that free time. In Seattle, the length of recess varies dramatically from school to school – from an hour to just 15 minutes. Wed, 14 May 2014 14:29:30 +0000 Ann Dornfeld 34304 at http://kuow.org Recess Shrinks At Seattle Schools; Poor Schools Fare Worst Seattle-Area Kids Don’t Get Enough P.E., But Who Is Keeping Track? http://kuow.org/post/seattle-area-kids-don-t-get-enough-pe-who-keeping-track <p>At a playfield in West Seattle, physical education teacher C.J. Sealey referees with a piercing whistle. Sealey aims to get these kids moving – after all, state law demands that elementary and middle school students get at least 100 minutes of P.E. every week. Tue, 13 May 2014 14:21:11 +0000 Ann Dornfeld 34283 at http://kuow.org Seattle-Area Kids Don’t Get Enough P.E., But Who Is Keeping Track? Climate Change Could Mean Good News, Bad News For Seattle-Area Gardeners http://kuow.org/post/climate-change-could-mean-good-news-bad-news-seattle-area-gardeners <p>Washington farmers can expect longer growing seasons, drier summers and increased risk of disease and pest outbreaks, according to some of the predictions in the National Climate Assessment released Tuesday.</p><p> Wed, 07 May 2014 00:59:07 +0000 Ann Dornfeld 34007 at http://kuow.org Climate Change Could Mean Good News, Bad News For Seattle-Area Gardeners