Ann Dornfeld http://kuow.org en Ballard Locks Makes Improvements For Juvenile Salmon http://kuow.org/post/ballard-locks-makes-improvements-juvenile-salmon <p>For young salmon and steelhead in the Lake Washington watershed, there is only one way to get to sea: through the Ballard Locks. Mon, 21 Apr 2014 16:46:44 +0000 Ann Dornfeld 32848 at http://kuow.org Ballard Locks Makes Improvements For Juvenile Salmon Common Core State Standards Explained http://kuow.org/post/common-core-state-standards-explained <p></p><p>Ross Reynolds sits down with KUOW's education reporter Ann Dornfeld to talk about the <a href="http://kuow.org/post/common-core-good-fit-kindergarten">new changes to learning standards</a> in Washington state public schools. Fri, 11 Apr 2014 22:29:39 +0000 Ann Dornfeld & Ross Reynolds 32405 at http://kuow.org Common Core State Standards Explained Is Common Core A Good Fit For Kindergarten? http://kuow.org/post/common-core-good-fit-kindergarten <p></p><p>As school districts across Washington integrate the new Common Core State Standards in reading and math into their curricula, some kindergarten teachers say the standards are&nbsp;squeezing out other important lessons that young children need to succeed in school – and life. Fri, 11 Apr 2014 14:30:27 +0000 Ann Dornfeld 32339 at http://kuow.org Is Common Core A Good Fit For Kindergarten? Washington Teachers' Union Supports Families Opting Out Of State Testing http://kuow.org/post/washington-teachers-union-supports-families-opting-out-state-testing <p>The state’s largest teachers’ union has passed a motion to support parents and students who opt out of statewide standardized tests. The union also promotes opting out of the Smarter Balanced Assessment Consortium state test coming next school year to align with the new Common Core State Standards. Tue, 08 Apr 2014 17:10:57 +0000 Ann Dornfeld 32088 at http://kuow.org Washington Teachers' Union Supports Families Opting Out Of State Testing Helicopter Crash Victim Improving And Eager To Give Back http://kuow.org/post/helicopter-crash-victim-improving-and-eager-give-back <p>Doctors say the man severely burned in the <a href="http://kuow.org/post/fatal-news-helicopter-crash-seattle-center-injured-man-improving">news helicopter crash in Seattle Center</a> two weeks ago is in serious but stable condition and improving. Wed, 02 Apr 2014 16:05:30 +0000 Ann Dornfeld 31731 at http://kuow.org Helicopter Crash Victim Improving And Eager To Give Back District Rescinds Planned Staffing Cuts At Seattle Schools http://kuow.org/post/district-rescinds-planned-staffing-cuts-seattle-schools <p>Seattle Public Schools has rescinded staffing cuts it planned to make at schools across the district.<br /><br />Superintendent Jose Banda said after analyzing the supplemental budget the Legislature passed last week, the district won’t need to reduce the hours of many secretaries, counselors and other employees. Wed, 19 Mar 2014 14:45:44 +0000 Ann Dornfeld 30813 at http://kuow.org District Rescinds Planned Staffing Cuts At Seattle Schools Budgets Voted Down In Protest Of Staffing Cuts At Seattle Schools http://kuow.org/post/budgets-voted-down-protest-staffing-cuts-seattle-schools <p>The staff at 31 Seattle public schools have voted down their schools’ proposed budgets to protest job cuts the district is calling for this fall.</p><p>Ingraham High School administrative secretary Mary Smith said her school's staff rejected a budget that would turn the assistant secretary, attendance specialist and fiscal specialist from full-time to half-time positions. Fri, 14 Mar 2014 23:52:14 +0000 Ann Dornfeld 30581 at http://kuow.org 'Breakfast After The Bell' Program Ensures Morning Meal For All Students http://kuow.org/post/breakfast-after-bell-program-ensures-morning-meal-all-students <p></p><p>When you were a kid, your mom probably insisted you eat breakfast before school.</p><p>Studies show she was right; students who eat breakfast do better academically. Still, many kids go without – especially those living in poverty. Tue, 25 Feb 2014 20:38:31 +0000 Ann Dornfeld 29408 at http://kuow.org 'Breakfast After The Bell' Program Ensures Morning Meal For All Students Seattle School Bus Drivers Authorize Strike Over Health Care Coverage http://kuow.org/post/seattle-school-bus-drivers-authorize-strike-over-health-care-coverage <p>School bus drivers in Seattle said they’re close to striking after talks broke down with&nbsp;their employer, First Student, a Seattle School District contractor.</p><p>More than 27,000 students depend on the yellow buses to get to school. Wed, 19 Feb 2014 15:56:06 +0000 Ann Dornfeld 29014 at http://kuow.org Seattle School Bus Drivers Authorize Strike Over Health Care Coverage Sleep-Deprived Teenagers? Starting School Later Could Help Them Catch Up http://kuow.org/post/sleep-deprived-teenagers-starting-school-later-could-help-them-catch <p>It’s 6:35 a.m. on a recent school day: time for Wendy VanKoevering to do the rounds. Anyone who’s had to wake up a teenager in the morning knows it can be a struggle. Fri, 14 Feb 2014 17:37:39 +0000 Ann Dornfeld 28780 at http://kuow.org Sleep-Deprived Teenagers? Starting School Later Could Help Them Catch Up Seattle City Limits May Change For First Time In Decades http://kuow.org/post/seattle-city-limits-may-change-first-time-decades <p></p><p>For all of Seattle's economic and population growth in the past few decades, its city limits have remained static. That could change after the City Council advanced a plan Monday to expand&nbsp;Seattle's&nbsp;boundaries for the first time since the mid-1980s. Tue, 11 Feb 2014 16:18:10 +0000 Ann Dornfeld 28553 at http://kuow.org Seattle City Limits May Change For First Time In Decades Charter Commission Advised To Approve Only Six Schools Thursday http://kuow.org/post/charter-commission-advised-approve-only-six-schools-thursday <p>The Washington State Charter School Commission is scheduled to vote Thursday on the 19 charter applications it received.<br /><br />The commission hired outside evaluators, who advised that only six out of the 19 applications be approved. Thu, 30 Jan 2014 17:17:29 +0000 Ann Dornfeld 27898 at http://kuow.org Charter Commission Advised To Approve Only Six Schools Thursday 'Year Up' Program Gives Young Adults A Leg Up On Job Market http://kuow.org/post/year-program-gives-young-adults-leg-job-market <p>The only thing motivating Freda Crichton to finish high school was the prospect of joining the Marines with her twin sister after graduation.</p><p>Her twin got in. But Crichton didn’t. Wed, 22 Jan 2014 15:45:21 +0000 Ann Dornfeld 27416 at http://kuow.org 'Year Up' Program Gives Young Adults A Leg Up On Job Market Parents Pack Meetings With Charter School Hopefuls http://kuow.org/post/parents-pack-meetings-charter-school-hopefuls <p>The Washington State Charter School Commission is wrapping up three weeks of <a href="http://www.governor.wa.gov/issues/education/commission/documents/pressRelease_20131227.pdf">public hearings </a>for 19 proposed schools. Tue, 21 Jan 2014 13:00:00 +0000 Ann Dornfeld 27253 at http://kuow.org Parents Pack Meetings With Charter School Hopefuls New Bill Would Examine Student Privacy In Washington State http://kuow.org/post/new-bill-would-examine-student-privacy-washington-state <p></p><p>A bill introduced in the state Legislature this week calls for a study into how much student data is being released without families’ knowledge or consent. Fri, 17 Jan 2014 00:52:12 +0000 Ann Dornfeld 27206 at http://kuow.org