Ruby de Luna http://kuow.org en Food Pantries On The Rise To Help 'Starving Students' http://kuow.org/post/food-pantries-rise-help-starving-students <p>The expression “starving students” is not just a cliché. It’s real.</p><p>Researchers call this situation “food insecurity,” and it’s a concern that affects schools across the country, including many in the Pacific Northwest. A recent study in the <a href="http://www.jneb.org/article/S1499-4046%2813%2900707-0/abstract">Journal of Nutrition Education and Behavior</a> found that 59 percent of students at <a href="http://ir.library.oregonstate.edu/xmlui/bitstream/handle/1957/45177/PattonLopez_JNEB_foodinsecurity_11414.pdf?sequence=1">Western Oregon University </a>were going hungry.</p><p> Mon, 14 Apr 2014 16:17:49 +0000 Ruby de Luna 32419 at http://kuow.org Food Pantries On The Rise To Help 'Starving Students' Health Reform May Free People From 'Job Lock' http://kuow.org/post/health-reform-may-free-people-job-lock <p></p><p>One of the goals of the Affordable Care Act is to give access to people who currently don’t have health insurance.</p><p>Supporters see another benefit — to give people who dream of quitting their day jobs for a chance to become an entrepreneur. Thu, 10 Apr 2014 14:46:25 +0000 Ruby de Luna 32245 at http://kuow.org Health Reform May Free People From 'Job Lock' Funeral Dinners Help Darrington Cope With Losses http://kuow.org/post/funeral-dinners-help-darrington-cope-losses <p></p><p>The first wave of memorial services honoring the victims who perished in the Oso landslide took place this weekend.</p><p>In Darrington, residents gathered to remember Linda McPherson, a longtime resident and librarian. After the service, the community gathered for a meal together. It's a special tradition that goes back many decades in this small community.</p><p> Mon, 07 Apr 2014 14:25:13 +0000 Ruby de Luna 32016 at http://kuow.org Funeral Dinners Help Darrington Cope With Losses The Painstaking Process Of Caring For Oso Victims http://kuow.org/post/painstaking-process-caring-oso-victims <p>For many families of victims of the deadly Oso landslide, getting information about the fate of their loved ones has been agonizingly slow.</p><p>That's because the work by medical examiners to confirm the identities of the deceased is painstaking and requires time. Thu, 03 Apr 2014 14:40:54 +0000 Ruby de Luna 31819 at http://kuow.org The Painstaking Process Of Caring For Oso Victims A Hard Day Ahead For Search Operations In The Mudslide http://kuow.org/post/hard-day-ahead-search-operations-mudslide <p>With 100 percent chance of rain in the forecast for Friday, Snohomish County Fire District 21 Chief Travis Hots held a brief conference in the morning to update on the progress of the Oso mudslide.</p><p>Hots said the rain makes the efforts of the workers in the debris field, now in their seventh day of search operations, slow and complicated. “We’ve got a hard day ahead of us,” Hots said. Fri, 28 Mar 2014 17:09:22 +0000 Kara McDermott & Ruby de Luna 31459 at http://kuow.org A Hard Day Ahead For Search Operations In The Mudslide Former TB Patient On Time In Local Sanatorium: 'I Look Back On It Very Sweetly' http://kuow.org/post/former-tb-patient-time-local-sanatorium-i-look-back-it-very-sweetly <p>Some people may think tuberculosis has been wiped out, but the disease still infects one third of the world’s population.<br /><br />Closer to home, tuberculosis is on the rise in Washington state, after years of decline. There were 209 tuberculosis cases reported last year. &nbsp;</p><p>These days the disease is treated with oral medication.<br /><br />But there was time, not too long ago, when TB patients were quarantined in sanatoriums, sometimes for years.&nbsp; &nbsp;</p> Mon, 24 Mar 2014 18:16:44 +0000 Ruby de Luna 31058 at http://kuow.org Former TB Patient On Time In Local Sanatorium: 'I Look Back On It Very Sweetly' Washington Reports An 'Unprecedented' Drop In Medicaid ER Visits http://kuow.org/post/washington-reports-unprecedented-drop-medicaid-er-visits <p>A year after hospitals began discouraging Medicaid patients from making unnecessary emergency room visits, the results are promising. A <a href="http://www.hca.wa.gov/Documents/EmergencyDeptUtilization.pdf">new state report</a> shows the number of unnecessary visits to ERs in Washington fell by 10 percent last year. &nbsp;</p><p>“A 10 percent reduction is almost unprecedented,” said Dr. Nathan Schlicher, an ER physician at St. Joseph’s Hospital in Tacoma. Fri, 21 Mar 2014 14:53:48 +0000 Ruby de Luna 30976 at http://kuow.org Washington Reports An 'Unprecedented' Drop In Medicaid ER Visits Health Exchange Open Enrollment Deadline Looms http://kuow.org/post/health-exchange-open-enrollment-deadline-looms <p>If you don’t have health coverage yet, you still have two weeks to sign up. But state officials are urging people not to wait until the last minute. They say there are reasons to enroll sooner — you’ll avoid the surge leading up to the deadline. Fri, 14 Mar 2014 15:24:17 +0000 Ruby de Luna 30508 at http://kuow.org Health Exchange Open Enrollment Deadline Looms Affordable Care Act Opens Door To More Inmate Enrollment http://kuow.org/post/affordable-care-act-opens-door-more-inmate-enrollment <p>Health care enrollments so far have been focused on people without insurance. But there’s another population officials are trying to get covered – people locked up behind bars. Mon, 03 Mar 2014 15:37:54 +0000 Ruby de Luna 29682 at http://kuow.org Affordable Care Act Opens Door To More Inmate Enrollment Holy Mammoth! Tusk Arrives At The Burke Museum http://kuow.org/post/holy-mammoth-tusk-arrives-burke-museum <p>Scientists are hoping to learn more about a fossilized mammoth tusk that was uncovered two weeks ago at a construction site in Seattle’s South Lake Union area. The tusk has since been transferred to the Burke Museum for preservation and research. Thu, 27 Feb 2014 18:24:40 +0000 Ruby de Luna 29565 at http://kuow.org Holy Mammoth! Tusk Arrives At The Burke Museum Destigmatizing Dementia: 'We're Still Here' http://kuow.org/post/destigmatizing-dementia-were-still-here <p>Living with dementia can be isolating for both patients and their families. As social interactions get awkward, people begin to withdraw. Not only do their memories fade, but people themselves begin to fade from view.</p><p>At least that's the common perception. Fri, 21 Feb 2014 15:44:20 +0000 Ruby de Luna 29148 at http://kuow.org Destigmatizing Dementia: 'We're Still Here' How Do You Get A Young Adult To Buy Health Insurance? http://kuow.org/post/how-do-you-get-young-adult-buy-health-insurance <p></p><p>Washington Healthplanfinder has rolled out a new series of snappy ads aimed at getting young adults to sign up for health care. To date, the enrollment participation for this group is still just above 20 percent. Wed, 19 Feb 2014 16:23:10 +0000 Ruby de Luna 29015 at http://kuow.org How Do You Get A Young Adult To Buy Health Insurance? Washington's New Rules On Hospital Partnerships Challenged http://kuow.org/post/washingtons-new-rules-hospital-partnerships-challenged <p>The Washington State Hospital Association has filed suit in Thurston County Superior Court over the state's new permitting process for hospitals. Fri, 14 Feb 2014 17:11:32 +0000 Ruby de Luna 28782 at http://kuow.org Washington's New Rules On Hospital Partnerships Challenged PacMed To Partner With Providence Health, But Will Stay Secular http://kuow.org/post/pacmed-partner-providence-health-will-stay-secular <p>Pacific Medical Centers said Monday it plans to team with Providence Health and Services, the latest example of health care providers aligning with religious organizations. Tue, 04 Feb 2014 17:30:44 +0000 Ruby de Luna 28157 at http://kuow.org PacMed To Partner With Providence Health, But Will Stay Secular Who Picks Up The Tab When Affordable Care Act Customers Can't Pay? http://kuow.org/post/who-picks-tab-when-affordable-care-act-customers-cant-pay <p>It’s one thing to get people to buy health insurance, something the state’s health exchange has been focusing on. But what happens when a patient can no longer pay monthly premiums — who would then be responsible for the medical bills? Doctors are worried they’ll be stuck holding the bag, and they’re taking their issue to Olympia this week. Wed, 29 Jan 2014 17:24:25 +0000 Ruby de Luna 27820 at http://kuow.org Who Picks Up The Tab When Affordable Care Act Customers Can't Pay?