Ruby de Luna http://kuow.org en Behavior Changes From Patients And Doctors Recommended For HIV Prevention http://kuow.org/post/behavior-changes-patients-and-doctors-recommended-hiv-prevention <p>In the campaign to prevent HIV and sexually transmitted infections, counselors like Chief Odood are on the frontlines. Thu, 24 Jul 2014 15:59:56 +0000 Ruby de Luna 38836 at http://kuow.org Behavior Changes From Patients And Doctors Recommended For HIV Prevention Medical Community Mourns Loss Of AIDS Research Leader http://kuow.org/post/medical-community-mourns-loss-aids-research-leader <p>Seattle’s medical and research community is mourning the death of dozens of HIV researchers killed in the Malaysia Air crash Thursday.&nbsp; The group was en route to Australia for the International Aids Conference. &nbsp; Sat, 19 Jul 2014 00:18:50 +0000 Ruby de Luna 38548 at http://kuow.org The 'Luke I Am Your Father' Moment For This Adopted Woman http://kuow.org/post/luke-i-am-your-father-moment-adopted-woman <p>Earlier this month KUOW introduced you to Lynne Hogan, 48, one of hundreds of Washington adoptees seeking information about their birth parents. A new law that took effect July 1 gave adoptees access to their birth records through the Washington State Department of Health. Fri, 18 Jul 2014 14:36:30 +0000 Ruby de Luna 38478 at http://kuow.org The 'Luke I Am Your Father' Moment For This Adopted Woman Testicular Cancer Rate Rising Among Young Latinos http://kuow.org/post/testicular-cancer-rate-rising-among-young-latinos <p>Testicular cancer is on the rise among young Latinos, according to a new study by the Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center, University Of Washington and Seattle Children’s Hospital. Tue, 15 Jul 2014 16:00:50 +0000 Ruby de Luna 38238 at http://kuow.org Aging With Grace For Boomers With Disabilities http://kuow.org/post/aging-grace-boomers-disabilities <p></p><p>There’s a lot of emphasis on healthy aging, as more baby boomers hit 65. But what about those seniors who don’t ski and skydive for fun? Thu, 10 Jul 2014 20:10:53 +0000 Ruby de Luna 37995 at http://kuow.org Aging With Grace For Boomers With Disabilities New Summer Camp Launches For Kids With Autism And ADHD http://kuow.org/post/new-summer-camp-launches-kids-autism-and-adhd <p>It’s the season of summer camps, but kids with autism or ADHD are often left out because of behavior issues. But next week, they’ll get have another option, through a joint program between UW Autism Center and Seattle Children’s Hospital. Wed, 02 Jul 2014 17:15:23 +0000 Ruby de Luna 37454 at http://kuow.org Second Try: Daughter Hopes Birth Mom Will Agree To Meet http://kuow.org/post/second-try-daughter-hopes-birth-mom-will-agree-meet <p></p><p>Lynne Hogan has always wondered where she came from. She’s one of 540 adoptees who’ve requested a copy of their birth certificate under a <a href="http://www.doh.wa.gov/LicensesPermitsandCertificates/BirthDeathMarriageandDivorce/Adoptions/AdoptionLawSHB1525.aspx">new state law</a>. Mon, 30 Jun 2014 23:51:48 +0000 Ruby de Luna 37387 at http://kuow.org Second Try: Daughter Hopes Birth Mom Will Agree To Meet State Supreme Court Considers Constitutionality Of Psychiatric Boarding http://kuow.org/post/state-supreme-court-considers-constitutionality-psychiatric-boarding <p>Parking mentally ill patients in the emergency room while waiting for treatment is a common practice, but&nbsp; also controversial. Psychiatric boarding, as it's known, used to be the exception. But in the last six years, the number of patients who've experienced it has nearly tripled.&nbsp; Now the state Supreme Court is considering whether boarding is constitutional. Fri, 27 Jun 2014 00:17:28 +0000 Ruby de Luna 37180 at http://kuow.org State Supreme Court Considers Constitutionality Of Psychiatric Boarding Whistleblower In Children's Hospital Hearing Alleges Pressure In Ruling http://kuow.org/post/whistleblower-childrens-hospital-hearing-alleges-pressure-ruling <p>If you have a dispute with a government agency, chances are, your complaint will go through a process called an administrative hearing. These hearings usually haven’t attracted public attention — until recently.</p><p>Last October, Seattle Children’s Hospital challenged the Office of Insurance Commissioner for allowing health plans to exclude providers like Children’s from their networks. Tue, 17 Jun 2014 17:50:58 +0000 Ruby de Luna 36549 at http://kuow.org High Court Will Decide If Regence Must Cover Autism Therapies http://kuow.org/post/high-court-will-decide-if-regence-must-cover-autism-therapies <p>O.S.T. and L.H. – their initials in court documents – are minors diagnosed with autism. Their families sued Regence, the health insurance company, for not covering all therapies related to their condition. Fri, 13 Jun 2014 22:25:02 +0000 Ruby de Luna 36385 at http://kuow.org Seattle Steps Closer To Setting Highest Minimum Wage In U.S. http://kuow.org/post/seattle-steps-closer-setting-highest-minimum-wage-us <p>It was standing room only at Seattle’s city hall on Thursday, as councilmembers made changes to a minimum wage proposal. This signals that Seattle is poised to be the first city to pass a $15 minimum wage, the highest in the country. Fri, 30 May 2014 19:53:32 +0000 Ruby de Luna 35503 at http://kuow.org Seattle Steps Closer To Setting Highest Minimum Wage In U.S. So Now You Have Health Care. Time To Find A Doctor http://kuow.org/post/so-now-you-have-health-care-time-find-doctor <p>You may have heard of financial literacy or media literacy. But what about health literacy: Are you able to get and understand basic health information? Wed, 28 May 2014 14:41:31 +0000 Ruby de Luna 35275 at http://kuow.org So Now You Have Health Care. Time To Find A Doctor Japan Gifts UW With 18 Cherry Trees http://kuow.org/post/japan-gifts-uw-18-cherry-trees <p>One of the first signs of spring is when the cherry trees bloom at the University of Washington. The <a href="http://depts.washington.edu/grounds/arboriculture/quad_cherries.php">iconic trees</a> on the quad have become a symbol of the University’s ties to Japan. Yesterday, the University celebrated a gift from Japan — 18 new cherry trees to add to the campus. Wed, 21 May 2014 18:06:39 +0000 Ruby de Luna 34862 at http://kuow.org Japan Gifts UW With 18 Cherry Trees A Northwest Project To Curb Allergies, One Peanut At A Time http://kuow.org/post/northwest-project-curb-allergies-one-peanut-time <p></p><p>David Baty remembers the first time he gave his son Spencer, 10, some peanuts. Tue, 13 May 2014 17:15:38 +0000 Ruby de Luna 34337 at http://kuow.org A Northwest Project To Curb Allergies, One Peanut At A Time Parents Discover That Even Obamacare Has Gaps http://kuow.org/post/parents-discover-even-obamacare-has-gaps <p>Not all health plans are the same, as Washington consumers have learned the hard way. Mon, 12 May 2014 18:11:19 +0000 Ruby de Luna 34165 at http://kuow.org Parents Discover That Even Obamacare Has Gaps