Ashley Ahearn http://kuow.org en VIDEO: Rafting The Elwha Without Its Dams http://kuow.org/post/video-rafting-elwha-without-its-dams <p>The waters of the Elwha River are clear right now, for a change.</p><p>For nearly three years, this glacier-fed river on Washington’s Olympic Peninsula has been sluicing millions of tons of sediment that were held back for a century by a pair of dams. Tue, 26 Aug 2014 17:07:52 +0000 Ashley Ahearn 40693 at http://kuow.org VIDEO: Rafting The Elwha Without Its Dams Proposed Coal Terminals Denied Permit In Oregon http://kuow.org/post/proposed-coal-terminals-denied-permit-oregon <p>Ross Reynolds talks with KUOW reporter Ashley Ahearn about what the denial of a key permit for a coal terminal in Oregon means for Washington state.</p><p> Fri, 22 Aug 2014 19:12:56 +0000 Ross Reynolds, Jim Gates & Ashley Ahearn 40519 at http://kuow.org Oil Train Derailed In Interbay Rail Yard http://kuow.org/post/oil-train-derailed-interbay-rail-yard <p>Three tanker cars in an oil train from North Dakota derailed at a rail yard in Seattle early Thursday, but BNSF Railway says none of the oil spilled. Thu, 24 Jul 2014 16:12:41 +0000 Ashley Ahearn 38859 at http://kuow.org Oil Train Derailed In Interbay Rail Yard Governor Inslee Proposes New Water Quality Standards http://kuow.org/post/governor-inslee-proposes-new-water-quality-standards-0 <p>Marcie Sillman speaks with KUOW reporter Ashley Ahearn about the specifics of Governor Jay&nbsp;Inslee's&nbsp;long-awaited proposal for how to improve water quality in Washington. Wed, 09 Jul 2014 16:16:47 +0000 Marcie Sillman & Ashley Ahearn & Posey Gruener 37965 at http://kuow.org Rail Workers Raise Doubts About Safety As Oil Trains Roll On http://kuow.org/post/rail-workers-raise-doubts-about-safety-oil-trains-roll <p>Curtis Rookaird thinks BNSF Railway fired him <a href="https://www.documentcloud.org/documents/1055355-secretrays-findings-dated-9-18-13.html#document/p7/a164787" title="">because he took the time to test his train’s brakes.</a></p><p>The rail yard in Blaine, Washington, was on heightened security that day, he remembers, because of the 2010 Winter Olympics underway just across border in Vancouver, B.C. Wed, 02 Jul 2014 17:25:55 +0000 Ashley Ahearn & Tony Schick 37483 at http://kuow.org Rail Workers Raise Doubts About Safety As Oil Trains Roll On Why Are There So Few Mosquitos In Seattle? http://kuow.org/post/why-are-there-so-few-mosquitos-seattle <p>KUOW listener Nancy Beaudet had a question: Why are there so few mosquitos in Seattle?</p><p>As part of our Local Wonder series, we sent our environmental reporter, Ashley Ahearn, onto the muddy trails of the Washington Park Arboretum to find out why skeeters don’t plague Seattle summers. Wed, 18 Jun 2014 02:49:51 +0000 Ashley Ahearn 36579 at http://kuow.org Why Are There So Few Mosquitos In Seattle? Federal Rules On CO2 Emissions To Bolster Action In The Northwest http://kuow.org/post/federal-rules-co2-emissions-bolster-action-northwest SEATTLE — The Environmental Protection Agency's new rules requiring states to cut carbon emissions from power plants are likely to change the energy landscape in Northwest states, even though they have far fewer coal-fired power plants than most of the U.S.<p>The new rules bolster the role of the states in curbing carbon pollution -- something the governors of Oregon and Washington embraced, as the are already working on carbon-reduction strategies of their own. Mon, 02 Jun 2014 17:45:00 +0000 Ashley Ahearn 35631 at http://kuow.org Federal Rules On CO2 Emissions To Bolster Action In The Northwest Oso Highlights A Policy Challenge: Development Pressure Vs. Landslide Risk http://kuow.org/post/oso-highlights-policy-challenge-development-pressure-vs-landslide-risk <p>Barbara Ingram furrows her brow as she peers into a patch of woods up the road from her house. Developers have had their eyes on this place, too. Thu, 29 May 2014 22:32:09 +0000 Ashley Ahearn 35466 at http://kuow.org Oso Highlights A Policy Challenge: Development Pressure Vs. Landslide Risk New Study: Glacial Collapse In Antarctica 'Unstoppable' http://kuow.org/post/new-study-glacial-collapse-antarctica-unstoppable-0 <p>New research from the University of Washington and other institutions provides detailed predictions for the collapse of an ice shelf in West Antarctica. Tue, 13 May 2014 16:22:52 +0000 Steve Scher & Ashley Ahearn & Posey Gruener 34334 at http://kuow.org New Study: Glacial Collapse In Antarctica 'Unstoppable' 'They Need To Go': The Environmental And Health Costs Of Portable Classrooms http://kuow.org/post/they-need-go-environmental-and-health-costs-portable-classrooms <p><iframe frameborder="no" height="150" scrolling="no" src="https://w.soundcloud.com/player/?url=https%3A//api.soundcloud.com/tracks/148269988&amp;auto_play=false&amp;hide_related=false&amp;visual=true" width="100%"></iframe></p><p>Teacher Billie Lane’s portable is a world apart from other classrooms at her school.</p><p> Wed, 07 May 2014 14:33:41 +0000 Ashley Ahearn & Katie Campbell & Tony Schick 34004 at http://kuow.org 'They Need To Go': The Environmental And Health Costs Of Portable Classrooms New Study: Acidifying Ocean Destroying Sea Butterflies http://kuow.org/post/new-study-acidifying-ocean-destroying-sea-butterflies <p></p><p>Tiny, delicate marine snails called pteropods are a key part of the marine food web. New research indicates they are dissolving to a greater extent than previously thought because of ocean acidification. Wed, 30 Apr 2014 14:31:34 +0000 Ashley Ahearn 33601 at http://kuow.org New Study: Acidifying Ocean Destroying Sea Butterflies The Five Hardest Minutes Working The Mudslide http://kuow.org/post/five-hardest-minutes-working-mudslide <p>The Oso mudslide drew hundreds of volunteers to the towns of Arlington and Darrington, Wash.</p><p>Mixed in among those responders were 50 young people in the Washington Conservation Corps between the ages of 18 and 25. Tue, 29 Apr 2014 20:57:01 +0000 Ashley Ahearn 33551 at http://kuow.org The Five Hardest Minutes Working The Mudslide Residents Voice Fear And Concern Over Grays Harbor Oil Terminals http://kuow.org/post/residents-voice-fear-and-concern-over-grays-harbor-oil-terminals <p></p><p>HOQUIAM, Wash. — More than 100 people gathered at the local high school Thursday night with questions and concerns about proposals to build train-to-ship oil terminals in their community. Fri, 25 Apr 2014 16:21:29 +0000 Ashley Ahearn 33291 at http://kuow.org Residents Voice Fear And Concern Over Grays Harbor Oil Terminals New Study: Mercury Found In Sport Fish In Remote Northwest Lakes http://kuow.org/post/new-study-mercury-found-sport-fish-remote-northwest-lakes <p></p><p></p><p>Some bad news for backcountry in the West: Some of the fish in the region’s wild alpine lakes contain unsafe levels of mercury, according to a new study by the U.S. Geological Survey. Tue, 22 Apr 2014 15:14:45 +0000 Ashley Ahearn 33010 at http://kuow.org New Study: Mercury Found In Sport Fish In Remote Northwest Lakes Living In The Shadow Of Landslide Risk http://kuow.org/post/living-shadow-landslide-risk <p>The landslide in Oso, Wash., served as a devastating reminder of one fact of life in the Northwest: landslides happen.</p><p>In some places, it’s a risk people have learned to live with — places like the Mt. Index River Sites, a loose cluster of homes along the Skykomish River northeast of Seattle in the Cascade Mountains. Thu, 03 Apr 2014 15:14:12 +0000 Ashley Ahearn 31842 at http://kuow.org Living In The Shadow Of Landslide Risk