Carolyn Adolph http://kuow.org en For Darrington And Oso, A Long Road Back To Normal http://kuow.org/post/darrington-and-oso-long-road-back-normal <p>The shock is wearing off in Darrington and Oso.</p><p>Nearly a month after the devastating mudslide destroyed a neighborhood and wiped out the highway between the two towns, people are trying to find a "new normal" in a place where nothing will be the same again. Fri, 18 Apr 2014 14:36:39 +0000 Carolyn Adolph 32776 at http://kuow.org For Darrington And Oso, A Long Road Back To Normal The Millennial Work-Life Revolution In Seattle http://kuow.org/post/millennial-work-life-revolution-seattle <p></p><p></p><p>The millennial generation is taking control over how they work and how they live. The group, currently about 18 to 33 years old, is adopting technology that is disrupting old structures and writing the playbook on how to take advantage of technological change. Wed, 16 Apr 2014 16:34:03 +0000 Carolyn Adolph 32591 at http://kuow.org The Millennial Work-Life Revolution In Seattle EPA Cleans Up 'Chemical House' In Seattle's Green Lake Neighborhood http://kuow.org/post/epa-cleans-chemical-house-seattles-green-lake-neighborhood <p>The Environmental Protection Agency is working to remove hundreds of containers of hazardous chemicals from a Craftsman home in Seattle's Green Lake neighborhood. Wed, 09 Apr 2014 20:24:38 +0000 Derek Wang & Carolyn Adolph 32217 at http://kuow.org EPA Cleans Up 'Chemical House' In Seattle's Green Lake Neighborhood The Ultimate Reuse: Shipping Containers For Buildings http://kuow.org/post/ultimate-reuse-shipping-containers-buildings <p></p><p>The cost of housing in the city is making many people think small, to embrace the micro movement that loves to reuse and recycle. Enter the idea of a shipping container as a building — a natural in a port city like Seattle, which handles 1.6 million container units in a year. Wed, 09 Apr 2014 14:27:00 +0000 Carolyn Adolph 31813 at http://kuow.org The Ultimate Reuse: Shipping Containers For Buildings Oso: A Tight-Knit Community Takes Care Of Its Own http://kuow.org/post/oso-tight-knit-community-takes-care-its-own <p></p><p>The catastrophic mudflow that destroyed lives and homes a week and a half ago has come to be known as the Oso Landslide. That's led many to think the town has been wiped away. Tue, 01 Apr 2014 23:46:40 +0000 Carolyn Adolph 31723 at http://kuow.org Oso: A Tight-Knit Community Takes Care Of Its Own Small Town Of Darrington Grieves For Slide Victims, Waits For News http://kuow.org/post/small-town-darrington-grieves-slide-victims-waits-news <p>People in the town of Darrington struggled Monday to comprehend the scope of the disaster just a few miles from them. The people who lived in the homes destroyed by Saturday's devastating mudflow are friends, relatives and neighbors. Tue, 25 Mar 2014 01:42:44 +0000 Carolyn Adolph 31198 at http://kuow.org Small Town Of Darrington Grieves For Slide Victims, Waits For News Milestone: Washington Now Has More People Working Than Before Recession http://kuow.org/post/milestone-washington-now-has-more-people-working-recession <p>Washington’s Employment Security Department says the state now has more people working than before the start of the Great Recession.</p><p>It's an important milestone in the recovery. And though it comes as a result of genuine progress, it received an assist from a federal benchmarking that showed the state didn’t lose as many jobs as originally thought. Fri, 07 Mar 2014 17:31:19 +0000 Carolyn Adolph 30015 at http://kuow.org Milestone: Washington Now Has More People Working Than Before Recession Driven South: Seattle's Car Dealerships Set Up Auto Row In Sodo http://kuow.org/post/driven-south-seattles-car-dealerships-set-auto-row-sodo <p>The rise in Seattle’s downtown density makes for scarce real estate and higher prices. As a result, one industry is heading south to the Sodo neighborhood: car dealerships.</p><p>Sodo has space and easy highway access, but it isn’t perfect. The high traffic can be a plus, but with three professional sports teams in the area, game days can be intense. Fri, 28 Feb 2014 15:24:00 +0000 Carolyn Adolph 29495 at http://kuow.org Driven South: Seattle's Car Dealerships Set Up Auto Row In Sodo Boeing's 'Terrible Teens' Cut Into Profit, Tax Revenue http://kuow.org/post/boeings-terrible-teens-cut-profit-tax-revenue <p>Boeing says it will have to wait until sometime in 2016 to turn a profit on the 787 Dreamliners line.</p><p>By that time, the aerospace says developing the game-changing plane will cost the company more than $25 billion. There was a time when Boeing thought it would take $5 billion to develop the new plane. Thu, 20 Feb 2014 17:00:00 +0000 Carolyn Adolph 28986 at http://kuow.org Boeing's 'Terrible Teens' Cut Into Profit, Tax Revenue An Immigrant Success Story In Nadella's Rise http://kuow.org/post/immigrant-success-story-nadellas-rise <p>Microsoft is celebrating a new leader: Satya Nadella is the company's third chief executive. Nadella likes cricket, and he quoted Oscar Wilde in his email to employees Tuesday. And for Seattle's Indian community, his appointment to the top job means a lot. Wed, 05 Feb 2014 17:29:09 +0000 Carolyn Adolph 28223 at http://kuow.org An Immigrant Success Story In Nadella's Rise Does A Super Bowl Victory Boost The Economy? http://kuow.org/post/does-super-bowl-victory-boost-economy <p>It feels great to win the Super Bowl, especially if you sell beer, T-shirts or season tickets. But that's not what people mean when they talk about a boost to the region's economy. And when you consider the businesses that will close for Wednesday's parade and the employees who will disappear to see that parade, there may even be a downside to winning the Super Bowl. Wed, 05 Feb 2014 00:53:29 +0000 Carolyn Adolph 28222 at http://kuow.org Does A Super Bowl Victory Boost The Economy? After The Machinists Vote, Labor Seeks New Directions http://kuow.org/post/after-machinists-vote-labor-seeks-new-directions <p>The idea of coming together in common cause is woven into Washington’s social fabric, especially into its union history. But labor has suffered reversals before, and it suffered a large one on Jan. 3, when the Machinists union voted by a narrow margin to abandon the Boeing pension plan. At stake was a key production line. Mon, 27 Jan 2014 21:33:47 +0000 Carolyn Adolph 27716 at http://kuow.org After The Machinists Vote, Labor Seeks New Directions Machinists Head Steps Down: 'Your Job Should Not Destroy Your Health' http://kuow.org/post/machinists-head-steps-down-your-job-should-not-destroy-your-health <p>The drama over the Boeing 777X jet has claimed its first casualty.</p><p>Tom Wroblewski, president of the Machinists Union District Lodge 751, announced on Tuesday night that he is retiring to a small group of elected representatives from local lodges. His last day is Jan. 31. Wed, 15 Jan 2014 18:37:52 +0000 Carolyn Adolph 27107 at http://kuow.org Machinists Head Steps Down: 'Your Job Should Not Destroy Your Health' Boeing 787 Dreamliner Battery Smokes – Again http://kuow.org/post/boeing-787-dreamliner-battery-smokes-again <p></p><p>Japan Airlines has yet again grounded one of its Boeing 787 Dreamliner jets after the plane's lithium ion battery started smoking. Tue, 14 Jan 2014 18:57:58 +0000 Carolyn Adolph 27047 at http://kuow.org Boeing 787 Dreamliner Battery Smokes – Again Businesses Worry About Broadway Construction http://kuow.org/post/businesses-worry-about-broadway-construction <p><em>Correction 1/15/2013: This story has been changed to reflect that construction has&nbsp; eliminated a center turn lane, not reduced the lanes from four to two as originally stated. </em></p><p><em>A previous version of this story also incorrectly said construction on all of the projects would take another three years. The current lane closures are scheduled to end in December, Sound Transit expects the Capitol Hill light rail station construction to be complete by spring 2015, and the First Hill streetcar is expected to be operating by the middle of 2014. Work on the First Hill streetcar started affecting Broadway in April of 2012. The story below has been corrected.</em></p><p>For many of us, years of light rail construction on Broadway has been a traffic headache. But some small business owners along Capitol Hill's main street worry that ongoing construction could force them to shut their doors. Tue, 14 Jan 2014 17:22:57 +0000 Carolyn Adolph 27008 at http://kuow.org Businesses Worry About Broadway Construction