Carolyn Adolph http://kuow.org en Jonesing For A Joint? Too Bad, Seattle Is Out Of Weed http://kuow.org/post/jonesing-joint-too-bad-seattle-out-weed <p>Cannabis City has sold out of its indicas, sativas and hybrids.</p><p>No more marijuana for sale until July 21, according to a sign hung on the door of Seattle's first recreational pot store. Fri, 11 Jul 2014 19:49:42 +0000 Isolde Raftery & Carolyn Adolph 38083 at http://kuow.org Jonesing For A Joint? Too Bad, Seattle Is Out Of Weed Rush Hour: A Map Of Puget Sound’s Worst Traffic http://kuow.org/post/rush-hour-map-puget-sound-s-worst-traffic <p>It’s been a bad summer for driving in Seattle.</p><p>Several accidents have shown us that surface streets cannot handle the traffic load when Interstate 5 or Highway 99 choke up. Traffic and design issues on major routes have been difficult even without an accident. Thu, 10 Jul 2014 16:11:03 +0000 Carolyn Adolph 37772 at http://kuow.org Rush Hour: A Map Of Puget Sound’s Worst Traffic Not Much, But Who Cares? Seattle Kicks Off Pot Sales http://kuow.org/post/not-much-who-cares-seattle-kicks-pot-sales <p>It was a false countdown to high noon, when Cannabis City, a store in Seattle’s Sodo neighborhood, was supposed to start selling marijuana. Wed, 09 Jul 2014 23:10:54 +0000 Patricia Murphy, Carolyn Adolph, Marcie Sillman & Deborah Wang 37855 at http://kuow.org Not Much, But Who Cares? Seattle Kicks Off Pot Sales Let The Carnival Commence: First Pot Shops Open Tuesday http://kuow.org/post/let-carnival-commence-first-pot-shops-open-tuesday <p>This is Washington state’s final weekend without recreational pot stores. On Monday, the Evergreen State joins Colorado in issuing business licenses to qualifying retailers. It's expected about 20 licenses will be issued including one to a shop in Sodo called Cannabis City. Fri, 04 Jul 2014 01:52:19 +0000 Carolyn Adolph 37599 at http://kuow.org Let The Carnival Commence: First Pot Shops Open Tuesday Boeing Bears Some Blame For Asiana Crash Says Safety Board http://kuow.org/post/boeing-bears-some-blame-asiana-crash-says-safety-board <p></p><p>The National Transportation Safety Board has concluded that Boeing's design of the 777’s automated systems was a contributing factor in the crash of Asiana Airlines Flight 214 that killed three Chinese teenagers last summer. Wed, 25 Jun 2014 15:26:10 +0000 Carolyn Adolph 37013 at http://kuow.org Boeing Bears Some Blame For Asiana Crash Says Safety Board Surprise? Seattle Traffic Has Only Gotten Worse http://kuow.org/post/surprise-seattle-traffic-has-only-gotten-worse <p>Traffic jams have plagued the Seattle area for weeks. Now a traffic data company reports that congestion has been getting worse even before the traffic snarls of the last few weeks.&nbsp; Tue, 17 Jun 2014 15:27:03 +0000 Carolyn Adolph 36511 at http://kuow.org Surprise? Seattle Traffic Has Only Gotten Worse SPU Shooter Charged With First-Degree Murder http://kuow.org/post/spu-shooter-charged-first-degree-murder <p>The man held in the shootings at Seattle Pacific University could go to prison for life.</p><p>Aaron Ybarra was <a href="https://www.documentcloud.org/documents/1185003-ybarra-charging-documents.html">charged in Superior Court on Tuesday </a>with one count of first-degree murder, two counts of attempted murder and one count of assault for the shootings last Thursday. If convicted as charged, he could face up to 86 years in prison. Wed, 11 Jun 2014 16:45:08 +0000 Carolyn Adolph 36166 at http://kuow.org SPU Shooter Charged With First-Degree Murder Shell Casings On The Carpet: Students Describe SPU Shooting Scene http://kuow.org/post/shell-casings-carpet-students-describe-spu-shooting-scene <p></p><p>On Thursday afternoon, Daniel Martin received the text that every university president dreads: His campus was on lockdown. There was a gunman. Fri, 06 Jun 2014 15:35:18 +0000 Carolyn Adolph, Patricia Murphy & Isolde Raftery 35919 at http://kuow.org Shell Casings On The Carpet: Students Describe SPU Shooting Scene Students Tackle Gunman In Fatal Seattle Pacific University Shooting http://kuow.org/post/students-tackle-gunman-fatal-seattle-pacific-university-shooting <p><em>Updated 9:20 p.m. PT: </em></p><p>One person was killed and three others were wounded on Thursday afternoon when a lone suspect entered a classroom building at Seattle Pacific University and opened fire with a shotgun, according to police officials. Thu, 05 Jun 2014 23:00:08 +0000 Isolde Raftery, Carolyn Adolph & Patricia Murphy 35897 at http://kuow.org Students Tackle Gunman In Fatal Seattle Pacific University Shooting Microsoft To Government Spies: Back Off http://kuow.org/post/microsoft-government-spies-back <p>The Obama administration must restore trust in U.S. technology companies and uphold America’s fundamental liberties, Microsoft’s chief counsel wrote in a strongly-worded <a href="http://blogs.technet.com/b/microsoft_on_the_issues/archive/2014/06/04/unfinished-business-on-government-surveillance-reform.aspx">blog post</a>. Thu, 05 Jun 2014 19:26:56 +0000 Carolyn Adolph 35855 at http://kuow.org Microsoft To Government Spies: Back Off Boeing Machinists' Complaints About 777X Vote Rejected http://kuow.org/post/boeing-machinists-complaints-about-777x-vote-rejected <p></p><p>Boeing machinists who opposed January's 777X contract vote have suffered another loss. The National Labor Relations Board has told them it is rejecting their complaints about how the vote was held. The decision: The vote didn't matter because parent union had the authority to accept Boeing's offer without a ratification vote. Wed, 04 Jun 2014 19:13:21 +0000 Carolyn Adolph 35778 at http://kuow.org Boeing Machinists' Complaints About 777X Vote Rejected Northwesterners: Can You Name That Salmon? http://kuow.org/post/northwesterners-can-you-name-salmon <p></p><p>The other day I shared a table with some fishermen who were sure they were eating king salmon. The choice made sense: It's king season. King is very fatty, therefore delicious. And we were at a celebration at Fishermen's Terminal. So it had to be what some Canadians call Tyee, the chief of salmon, the king. Thu, 29 May 2014 19:22:43 +0000 Carolyn Adolph 35433 at http://kuow.org Northwesterners: Can You Name That Salmon? Boeing Focuses On Fuel Efficiency In Light Of Coming Climate Rules http://kuow.org/post/boeing-focuses-fuel-efficiency-light-coming-climate-rules <p>Boeing is buying a software company that it says will make planes more fuel efficient. Tue, 27 May 2014 22:11:58 +0000 Carolyn Adolph 35267 at http://kuow.org Boeing Focuses On Fuel Efficiency In Light Of Coming Climate Rules Seattle Fishermen Mark 100 Years Of Toil (And Fabulous Fall Paydays) http://kuow.org/post/seattle-fishermen-mark-100-years-toil-and-fabulous-fall-paydays <p>You know it's the start of the fishing season at Fishermen's Terminal in Seattle when a familiar smell is in the air: coconut-scented sunscreen.</p><p>The Alaska salmon fishing season is about to start its 100th year in operation out of Fishermen’s Terminal in the Interbay area of Seattle. Tue, 27 May 2014 14:36:12 +0000 Carolyn Adolph 35100 at http://kuow.org Seattle Fishermen Mark 100 Years Of Toil (And Fabulous Fall Paydays) Federal Aviation Administration Rapped For Dreamliner Battery Fires http://kuow.org/post/federal-aviation-administration-rapped-dreamliner-battery-fires <p></p><p>The Federal Aviation Administration failed to properly test the lithium ion batteries on the Boeing 787 Dreamliner, the National Transportation Safety Board said in a report released on Wednesday. The report said that the FAA relied too much on Boeing for technical expertise. Fri, 23 May 2014 18:14:18 +0000 Carolyn Adolph 35079 at http://kuow.org Federal Aviation Administration Rapped For Dreamliner Battery Fires