Latino USA http://kuow.org en The Kumbia Queers http://kuow.org/post/kumbia-queers Six gay punk rockers walk onto the stage, play their tropical punk and pissed off other rockers. The Kumbia Queers is no punch line. They're for real. Listen. Fri, 11 Apr 2014 23:03:00 +0000 editor 32414 at http://kuow.org Discussing the Future of Pot http://kuow.org/post/discussing-future-pot To make legal or not? That is the question on the marijuana debate. Maria Hinojosa talks with drug historian and author Kathleen Frydl about the many sides of pot. Fri, 11 Apr 2014 23:03:00 +0000 editor 32415 at http://kuow.org Prescription Drug Smuggling http://kuow.org/post/prescription-drug-smuggling Prescription drugs are cheaper to buy in Mexico. Now, smuggling these legal drugs across the Texas-Mexico border has become a problem. Fri, 11 Apr 2014 23:03:00 +0000 editor 32416 at http://kuow.org Poem: "Backwash" http://kuow.org/post/poem-backwash We end with an audio poem from Chicago-based radio producer Anthony Martinez. "Backwash" is a tough lesson about the claustrophobic effects of the male gaze. Cristina Correa provides the voice. Fri, 04 Apr 2014 21:24:00 +0000 editor 31956 at http://kuow.org Lessons from #CancelColbert http://kuow.org/post/lessons-cancelcolbert When The Colbert Report tweeted about a joke from the previous show, it sparked explosive arguments about race, satire and who is allowed to be offended. And lessons learned from writer Tomas Rios. Fri, 04 Apr 2014 21:24:00 +0000 editor 31957 at http://kuow.org Happy White History Month! http://kuow.org/post/happy-white-history-month You may not know that April is White History Month. Latino USA producer Brenda Salinas reports on what this (fictional) recognition means to the proud non-Hispanic white peoples of America. Fri, 04 Apr 2014 21:24:00 +0000 editor 31958 at http://kuow.org Latinos on TV http://kuow.org/post/latinos-tv The Bachelor on ABC starred a Latino. Shakira came back as coach on NBC's The Voice. But Antonia Cereijido reports, having Latinos in mainstream shows does not solve issues in media representation. Fri, 28 Mar 2014 21:44:00 +0000 editor 31505 at http://kuow.org Starting Over For Music http://kuow.org/post/starting-over-music Bass player JT Lopez had a career as a top session musician in his native Puerto Rico. He left it all behind to pursue another dream – playing rock 'n' roll with a band in L.A. Diane Bock Reports. Fri, 28 Mar 2014 21:44:00 +0000 editor 31506 at http://kuow.org Sabiduria: Learning Latino http://kuow.org/post/sabiduria-learning-latino Latino USA's producer Camilo Vargas hails from Colombia. He identifies himself as a Latin American, not Latino, and discovers the true meaning of being Latino in America. Fri, 28 Mar 2014 21:44:00 +0000 editor 31504 at http://kuow.org Sabiduria: Healing Through Art Therapy http://kuow.org/post/sabiduria-healing-through-art-therapy After surviving a violent relationship, Carolyn "Mima" Texidor's pain unearthed a hidden talent: painting. In this week's Sabiduría, Mima's healing art as a venue for new and undiscovered artists. Fri, 21 Mar 2014 22:02:00 +0000 editor 31438 at http://kuow.org Feeling the Burn http://kuow.org/post/feeling-burn Generally, pain's a bad thing. But sometimes, you want to feel the burn. Latino USA's A.C. Valdez got tips for taking the heat at the annual jalapeño-eating contest in Laredo, Texas. Fri, 21 Mar 2014 22:02:00 +0000 editor 31439 at http://kuow.org Breastfeeding While Latina http://kuow.org/post/breastfeeding-while-latina Leading the pack, more than 80% of Latina mothers breastfeed. Still there are misconceptions. Brenda Salinas talked to Latina moms about the pressure of getting it "right" — whatever that means. Fri, 21 Mar 2014 22:02:00 +0000 editor 31440 at http://kuow.org Sabiduría: This is What Democracy Sounds Like http://kuow.org/post/sabidur-what-democracy-sounds For this week's take on Sabiduria, or words of wisdom, host Maria Hinojosa addresses the live audience about what democracy looks and sounds like. Fri, 14 Mar 2014 19:19:00 +0000 editor 30978 at http://kuow.org What's That, Buzz? http://kuow.org/post/whats-buzz Buzz Moran does foley work for films and sound design for live shows. Maria Hinojosa talks to Moran about the film scene in Austin while trying to guess the sounds he makes using everyday objects. Fri, 14 Mar 2014 19:19:00 +0000 editor 30979 at http://kuow.org DJ Orion: Spanning Cultures, Genres, and Technology http://kuow.org/post/dj-orion-spanning-cultures-genres-and-technology DJ Orion is half Colombian, half Puerto Rican. He talks about his multicultural musical influences, how technology empowers his art, and to shows host Maria Hinojosa how to spin. Fri, 14 Mar 2014 19:19:00 +0000 editor 30980 at http://kuow.org