TED Radio Hour http://kuow.org en Are Athletes Really Getting Faster, Better, Stronger? http://kuow.org/post/are-athletes-really-getting-faster-better-stronger <em>Part 2 of the</em> TED Radio Hour <em>episode </em><a href="http://www.npr.org/programs/ted-radio-hour/331331360/champions">Champions</a>.<p><strong>About David Epstein's TEDTalk</strong><p>Humans seem to have gotten faster, better and stronger in almost every way. Fri, 18 Jul 2014 13:08:00 +0000 NPR/TED Staff 38522 at http://kuow.org Are Athletes Really Getting Faster, Better, Stronger? How Do We Use Our Challenges To Live Beyond Limits? http://kuow.org/post/how-do-we-use-our-challenges-live-beyond-limits <em>Part 3 of the</em> TED Radio Hour <em>episode</em> <a href="http://www.npr.org/programs/ted-radio-hour/331331360/champions">Champions</a>.<p><strong>About Amy Purdy's TEDTalk</strong><p>Paralympic snowboarder and "Dancing With the Stars" finalist Amy Purdy tells how losing her legs at age 19 enabled her to achieve more than she ever dreamed.<p><strong>About Amy Purdy</strong><p>Paralympic snowboarder and "<a href="http://abc.go.com/shows/dancing-with-the-stars/cast/amy-purdy">Dancing With the Stars</a>" finalist <a href="http://www.amypurdy.com/">Amy Purdy</a> asks us to take control of ou Fri, 18 Jul 2014 13:05:00 +0000 NPR/TED Staff 38503 at http://kuow.org How Do We Use Our Challenges To Live Beyond Limits? What Does It Take To Dive Into Dangerous Waters? http://kuow.org/post/what-does-it-take-dive-dangerous-waters <em>Part 1 of the </em>TED Radio Hour<em> episode</em> <a href="http://www.npr.org/programs/ted-radio-hour/331331360/champions">Champions</a>.<p><strong>About Diana Nyad's TedTalk </strong><p>In pitch-black, stung by jellyfish, choking on salt water, hallucinating, Diana Nyad kept swimming. She describes the journey of her historic 110-mile swim from Cuba to Florida, at age 64.<p><strong>About Diana Nyad </strong><p>From 1969 to 1979, <a href="http://www.diananyad.com/">Diana Nyad</a> was known as the world's best long-distance swimmer. Fri, 18 Jul 2014 13:01:00 +0000 editor 38501 at http://kuow.org What Does It Take To Dive Into Dangerous Waters? How Do Our Near-Wins Motivate Us To Keep Going? http://kuow.org/post/how-do-our-near-wins-motivate-us-keep-going <em>Part 4 of the</em> TED Radio Hour <em>episode</em> <a href="http://www.npr.org/programs/ted-radio-hour/331331360/champions">Champions</a>.<p><strong>About Sarah Lewis' TEDTalk</strong><p>Not everyone can win the gold medal, and historian Sarah Lewis says that's a good thing. It's the near-wins and bare losses that truly motivate us to master our destinies.<p><strong>About Sarah Lewis</strong><p>Author and art historian <a href="https://twitter.com/sarahelizalewis">Sarah Lewis</a> has emerged as a cultural powerhouse for her fresh perspectives on culture, history and identity. Fri, 18 Jul 2014 13:01:00 +0000 NPR/TED Staff 38502 at http://kuow.org How Do Our Near-Wins Motivate Us To Keep Going? Does Copying In Fashion Keep It Fresh? http://kuow.org/post/does-copying-fashion-keep-it-fresh <em>Part 3 of the</em> TED Radio Hour <em>episode </em><a href="http://www.npr.org/programs/ted-radio-hour/321797073/whats-original">What Is Original?</a><p><strong>About Johanna Blakley's TEDTalk</strong><p>Copyright law barely touches fashion — and the industry benefits in innovation and sales, says Johanna Blakley. Fri, 27 Jun 2014 14:05:00 +0000 editor 37198 at http://kuow.org Does Copying In Fashion Keep It Fresh? Where Do Good Ideas Come From? http://kuow.org/post/where-do-good-ideas-come <em>Part 4 of the</em> TED Radio Hour <em>episode</em> <a href="http://www.npr.org/programs/ted-radio-hour/321797073/what-is-original">What Is Original?</a><p><strong><strong>About Steven Johnson's TEDTalk</strong></strong><p>Earlier this year, Tesla Motors CEO Elon Musk decided to give away his company's patents for free. It might seem like a strange business move, but Musk said he wanted to inspire creativity and accelerate innovation. Fri, 27 Jun 2014 13:58:00 +0000 NPR/TED Staff 37196 at http://kuow.org Where Do Good Ideas Come From? Is Everything A Remix? http://kuow.org/post/everything-remix <em>Part 2 of the</em> TED Radio Hour <em>episode</em> <a href="http://www.npr.org/programs/ted-radio-hour/321797073/what-is-original">What Is Original?</a><p><strong>About Kirby Ferguson's TEDTalk</strong><p>Filmmaker Kirby Ferguson says nothing is original and that our most celebrated creators steal ideas — and transform them into something new.<p><strong><strong>About Kirby Ferguson</strong></strong><p>Kirby Ferguson is a filmmaker known for his four-part web series, <a href="http://www.everythingisaremix.info/watch-the-series">Everything Is a Remix</a><em>.</em> The series focuses on remix Fri, 27 Jun 2014 13:58:00 +0000 editor 37197 at http://kuow.org Is Everything A Remix? Where's The Line Between Cheating A Little and Cheating A Lot? http://kuow.org/post/wheres-line-between-cheating-little-and-cheating-lot <em>Part 1 of the</em> TED Radio Hour episode <a href="http://www.npr.org/programs/ted-radio-hour/311863205/why-we-lie">Why We Lie</a>.<p><strong>About Dan Ariely's TEDTalk</strong><p>Behavioral economist Dan Ariely explains the hidden reasons we think it's okay to cheat or steal. He says we're predictably irrational — and can be influenced in ways we don't even realize.<p><strong>About Dan Ariely </strong><p>Behavioral economist Dan Ariely is a professor at Duke University. Fri, 20 Jun 2014 12:50:00 +0000 NPR/TED Staff 36746 at http://kuow.org Where's The Line Between Cheating A Little and Cheating A Lot? How Do Magicians Manufacture Reality? http://kuow.org/post/how-do-magicians-manufacture-reality <em>Part 5 of the</em> TED Radio Hour <em>episode</em> <a href="http://www.npr.org/programs/ted-radio-hour/311863205/why-we-lie">Why We Lie</a>.<p><strong>About Eric Mead's TEDTalk</strong><p>The power of the placebo has been consistently proven in medicine. Magician Eric Mead extends that idea to magic, pulling off a gruesome trick that's so convincing, you'll cringe.<p><strong>About Eric Mead </strong><p>Eric Mead is a magician, mentalist and comedian. Fri, 20 Jun 2014 12:50:00 +0000 NPR/TED Staff 36747 at http://kuow.org How Do Magicians Manufacture Reality? Why Do We Believe In Unbelievable Things? http://kuow.org/post/why-do-we-believe-unbelievable-things <em>Part 4 of the</em> TED Radio Hour <em>episode</em> <a href="http://www.npr.org/programs/ted-radio-hour/311863205/why-we-lie">Why We Lie</a>.<p><strong>About Michael Shermer's TEDTalk</strong><p>Michael Shermer says the human tendency to believe strange things boils down to two of the brain's most basic, hard-wired survival skills.<p><strong>About Michael Shermer </strong><p>Michael Shermer is the founder and publisher of <a href="http://www.skeptic.com/">Skeptic Magazine</a>. Fri, 20 Jun 2014 12:50:00 +0000 NPR/TED Staff 36748 at http://kuow.org Why Do We Believe In Unbelievable Things? How Do You Make New York's Mean Streets A Little Nicer? http://kuow.org/post/how-do-you-make-new-yorks-mean-streets-little-nicer <em>Part 4 of the</em> TED Radio Hour <em>episode</em> <a href="http://www.npr.org/programs/ted-radio-hour/318463922/getting-there" target="_blank">Getting There</a>.<p><strong>About Janette Sadik-Khan's TEDTalk</strong><p>Former New York City Transportation Commissioner <a href="http://www.bloombergassociates.com/bio/janette-sadik-khan" target="_blank">Janette Sadik-Khan</a> says cities can tackle the challenges of tomorrow by completely re-imagining our streets today.<p><strong>About Janette Sadik-Khan</strong><p>As commissioner of the NYC Department of Transportation under the Bloomberg adm Fri, 06 Jun 2014 13:34:00 +0000 NPR/TED Staff 35914 at http://kuow.org How Do You Make New York's Mean Streets A Little Nicer? If We Want to Live In Cities, Will We Have To Share Cars? http://kuow.org/post/if-we-want-live-cities-will-we-have-share-cars <em>Part 3 of the</em> TED Radio Hour <em>episode</em> <a href="http://www.npr.org/programs/ted-radio-hour/318463922/getting-there" target="_blank">Getting There</a>.<p><strong>About Robin Chase's TEDTalk</strong><p>Zipcar co-founder <a href="http://robinchase.org/" target="_blank">Robin Chase</a> makes the case for car-sharing as the solution to global gridlock.<p><strong>About Robin Chase</strong><p>If she weren't a proven entrepreneur, you might imagine Robin Chase as a transportation geek, a dedicated civil servant, endlessly refining computer models of freeway traffic.<p>She co-founded <a Fri, 06 Jun 2014 13:34:00 +0000 NPR/TED Staff 35915 at http://kuow.org If We Want to Live In Cities, Will We Have To Share Cars? Is Space Tourism Finally About To Take Off? http://kuow.org/post/space-tourism-finally-about-take <em>Part 5 of the</em> TED Radio Hour <em>episode</em> <a href="http://www.npr.org/programs/ted-radio-hour/318463922/getting-there" target="_blank">Getting There</a>.<p><strong>About Richard Branson's TEDTalk</strong><p>Entrepreneur <a href="https://twitter.com/richardbranson" target="_blank">Richard Branson</a> shares his vision for private, commercial space travel.<p><strong>About Richard Branson</strong><p><a href="http://www.virgin.com/richard-branson" target="_blank">Richard Branson</a>'s megabrand, Virgin, is home to more than 250 companies, from gyms, gambling houses and bridal boutique Fri, 06 Jun 2014 13:34:00 +0000 NPR/TED Staff 35913 at http://kuow.org Is Space Tourism Finally About To Take Off? Should We Be Afraid Of Death? http://kuow.org/post/should-we-be-afraid-death <em>Part 5 of the</em> TED Radio Hour <em>episode</em> <a href="http://www.npr.org/programs/ted-radio-hour/312542881/what-we-fear">What We Fear</a>.<p><strong>About Stephen Cave's TEDTalk</strong><p>Philosopher <a href="http://www.stephencave.com/" target="_blank">Stephen Cave</a> delves into the simple question: Why are human beings afraid to die?<p><strong>About Stephen Cave</strong><p><a href="https://twitter.com/stephenjcave" target="_blank">Stephen Cave</a> is a writer and philosopher who is obsessed with our obsession with immortality. Fri, 23 May 2014 13:10:00 +0000 NPR/TED Staff 35067 at http://kuow.org Should We Be Afraid Of Death? Is It Possible To Be Fearless? http://kuow.org/post/it-possible-be-fearless <em>Part 4 of the</em> TED Radio Hour <em>episode</em> <a href="http://www.npr.org/programs/ted-radio-hour/312542881/what-we-fear" target="_blank">What We Fear</a>.<p><strong>About David Blaine's TEDTalk</strong><p>Illusionist and endurance artist <a href="http://davidblaine.com/" target="_blank">David Blaine</a> explains how he has made a career out of fearlessly performing death-defying feats.<p><strong>About David Blaine</strong><p><a href="https://twitter.com/davidblaine" target="_blank">David Blaine</a> has become a household name because of his TV specials where he performs death-defying Fri, 23 May 2014 13:10:00 +0000 NPR/TED Staff 35068 at http://kuow.org Is It Possible To Be Fearless?