TED Radio Hour http://kuow.org en Can Money Buy You Happiness? http://kuow.org/post/can-money-buy-you-happiness <em>Part 5 of the</em> TED Radio Hour <em>episode</em> <a href="http://www.npr.org/programs/ted-radio-hour/295260995/the-money-paradox" target="_blank">The Money Paradox</a>.<p><strong>About Michael Norton's TEDTalk</strong><p>Social scientist <a href="http://www.hbs.edu/faculty/Pages/profile.aspx?facId=326229" target="_blank">Michael Norton</a> researches how money can buy happiness — when you don't spend it on yourself. Fri, 04 Apr 2014 13:28:00 +0000 NPR/TED Staff 31938 at http://kuow.org Can Money Buy You Happiness? How Much Does Money Motivate Us? http://kuow.org/post/how-much-does-money-motivate-us <em>Part 4 of the</em> TED Radio Hour <em>episode</em> <a href="http://www.npr.org/programs/ted-radio-hour/295260995/the-money-paradox" target="_blank">The Money Paradox</a>.<p><strong>About Daniel Pink's TEDTalk</strong><p>Writer <a href="https://twitter.com/DanielPink" target="_blank">Daniel Pink</a> explains why traditional rewards like money aren't always successful motivators.<p><strong>About Daniel Pink</strong><p>Daniel Pink has written several books on the changing world of the modern workplace. Fri, 04 Apr 2014 13:28:00 +0000 NPR/TED Staff 31939 at http://kuow.org How Much Does Money Motivate Us? Does Money Make You Mean? http://kuow.org/post/does-money-make-you-mean <em>Part 3 of the</em> TED Radio Hour <em>episode</em> <a href="http://www.npr.org/programs/ted-radio-hour/295260995/the-money-paradox" target="_blank">The Money Paradox</a>.<p><strong>About Paul Piff's TEDTalk</strong><p>Social psychologist <a href="http://paulpiff.wix.com/paulpiff" target="_blank">Paul Piff</a> describes how wealth changes behavior and how almost anyone's behavior can change when they're made to feel rich.<p><strong>About Paul Piff</strong><p>Paul Piff is a social psychologist at the <a href="http://psychology.berkeley.edu/" target="_blank">University of California, Berkeley Fri, 04 Apr 2014 13:28:00 +0000 NPR/TED Staff 31940 at http://kuow.org Does Money Make You Mean? Why Can't We Talk About An Injustice? http://kuow.org/post/why-cant-we-talk-about-injustice <em>Part 4 of the</em> TED Radio Hour <em>episode</em> <a href="http://www.npr.org/programs/ted-radio-hour/288586249/solving-it" target="_blank">Solving It</a>.<p><strong>About Bryan Stevenson's TED Talk</strong><p>Lawyer <a href="https://its.law.nyu.edu/facultyprofiles/profile.cfm?section=bio&personID=20315" target="_blank">Bryan Stevenson</a> shares some hard truths about how America's criminal justice system works against the poor and people of color. Fri, 14 Mar 2014 13:38:00 +0000 NPR/TED Staff 30524 at http://kuow.org Why Can't We Talk About An Injustice? Is The Law Making Us Less Free? http://kuow.org/post/law-making-us-less-free <em>Part 1 of the</em> TED Radio Hour <em>episode</em> <a href="http://www.npr.org/programs/ted-radio-hour/288586249/solving-it" target="_blank">Solving It</a>.<p><strong>About Philip K. Howard's TED Talk</strong><p>Lawyer <a href="http://philipkhoward.com/" target="_blank">Philip K. Howard</a> says the U.S. has become a legal minefield — especially for teachers and doctors, whose work has been paralyzed by fear of lawsuits.<p><strong>About Philip K. Howard</strong><p>Attorney Philip K. Howard is a leading voice for legal reform in the U.S. Fri, 14 Mar 2014 13:38:00 +0000 NPR/TED Staff 30525 at http://kuow.org Is The Law Making Us Less Free? What If Our Health Care System Kept Us Healthy? http://kuow.org/post/what-if-our-health-care-system-kept-us-healthy <em>Part 3 of the</em> TED Radio Hour <em>episode</em> <a href="http://www.npr.org/programs/ted-radio-hour/288586249/solving-it" target="_blank">Solving It</a>.<p><strong>About Rebecca Onie's TED Talk</strong><p>Health advocate <a href="https://healthleadsusa.org/person/rebecca-onie/" target="_blank">Rebecca Onie</a> describes how our health care system can be restructured to prevent — and not just treat — illness.<p><strong>About Rebecca Onie</strong><p>In 1996, college sophomore Rebecca Onie had a realization: The U.S. Fri, 14 Mar 2014 13:38:00 +0000 NPR/TED Staff 30526 at http://kuow.org What If Our Health Care System Kept Us Healthy? How Can We All Listen Better? http://kuow.org/post/how-can-we-all-listen-better <em>Part 4 of the</em> TED Radio Hour <em>episode</em> <a href="http://www.npr.org/programs/ted-radio-hour/283440560/extrasensory" target="_blank">Extrasensory</a>.<p><strong>About Julian Treasure's TEDTalk</strong><p>Sound expert Julian Treasure says we are losing our listening in a louder world. Fri, 07 Mar 2014 16:48:34 +0000 NPR/TED Staff 30043 at http://kuow.org How Can We All Listen Better? Can A Prosthetic Limb Feel? http://kuow.org/post/can-prosthetic-limb-feel <em>Part 2 of the</em> TED Radio Hour <em>episode</em> <a href="http://www.npr.org/programs/ted-radio-hour/283440560/extrasensory" target="_blank">Extrasensory</a>.<p><strong>About Todd Kuiken's TEDTalk</strong><p>Physiatrist and engineer Todd Kuiken is building a prosthetic arm that connects with the human nervous system — improving motion, control and even feeling.<p><strong>About Todd Kuiken</strong><p><strong></strong>Todd Kuiken is a doctor and engineer at the Rehabilitation Institute of Chicago. Fri, 07 Mar 2014 14:16:00 +0000 NPR/TED Staff 30068 at http://kuow.org Can A Prosthetic Limb Feel? How Do You Construct A Voice? http://kuow.org/post/how-do-you-construct-voice <em>Part 3 of the</em> TED Radio Hour <em>episode</em> <a href="http://www.npr.org/programs/ted-radio-hour/283440560/extrasensory" target="_blank">Extrasensory</a>.<p><strong>About Rupal Patel's TEDTalk</strong><p>Speech scientist Rupal Patel creates customized synthetic voices that enable people who can't speak to communicate in a unique voice that embodies their personality.<p><strong>About Rupal Patel</strong><p>Rupal Patel directs the Communication Analysis and Design Laboratory at Northeastern University. Fri, 07 Mar 2014 14:16:00 +0000 NPR/TED Staff 30069 at http://kuow.org How Do You Construct A Voice? Is There A Secret To Happiness? http://kuow.org/post/there-secret-happiness <em>Part 1 of the</em> TED Radio Hour <em>episode</em> <a href="http://www.npr.org/programs/ted-radio-hour/267185371/simply-happy" target="_blank">Simply Happy</a>.<p><strong>About Pharrell's Single 'Happy'</strong><p>"<a href="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=y6Sxv-sUYtM&feature=kp" target="_blank">Happy</a>," originally produced for the <em>Despicable Me 2</em> soundtrack, has topped charts in more than 15 countries. The song is also featured in a <a href="http://24hoursofhappy.com/" target="_blank">24-hour music video</a>. Fri, 14 Feb 2014 16:53:21 +0000 NPR/TED Staff 28807 at http://kuow.org Is There A Secret To Happiness? How Does Misfortune Affect Long-Term Happiness? http://kuow.org/post/how-does-misfortune-affect-long-term-happiness <em>Part 5 of the</em> TED Radio Hour <em>episode</em> <a href="http://www.npr.org/programs/ted-radio-hour/267185371/simply-happy" target="_blank">Simply Happy</a>.<p><strong>About Dan Gilbert's TEDTalk</strong><p>We're doomed to be miserable if we don't get what we want — right? Not quite, says psychologist Dan Gilbert. Fri, 14 Feb 2014 15:32:00 +0000 NPR/TED Staff 28811 at http://kuow.org How Does Misfortune Affect Long-Term Happiness? What Does It Take To Be Grateful? http://kuow.org/post/what-does-it-take-be-grateful <em>Part 6 of the</em> TED Radio Hour <em>episode</em> <a href="http://www.npr.org/programs/ted-radio-hour/267185371/simply-happy" target="_blank">Simply Happy</a>.<p><strong>About David Steindl-Rast's TEDTalk</strong><p>We all want to be happy, says David Steindl-Rast, a Benedictine monk. And happiness, he suggests, is born from gratitude. An inspiring lesson in slowing down, looking where you're going, and above all, being grateful.<p><strong>About David Steindl-Rast</strong><p>David Steindl-Rast is a Benedictine monk who writes about gratefulness. Fri, 14 Feb 2014 15:32:00 +0000 NPR/TED Staff 28812 at http://kuow.org What Does It Take To Be Grateful? What Happens When We Slow Down? http://kuow.org/post/what-happens-when-we-slow-down <em>Part 3 of the</em> TED Radio Hour <em>episode</em> <a href="http://www.npr.org/programs/ted-radio-hour/267185371/simply-happy" target="_blank">Simply Happiness</a>.<p><strong>About Carl Honoré's TEDTalk</strong><p>Journalist Carl Honoré believes our society's emphasis on speed erodes health, productivity and quality of life. Fri, 14 Feb 2014 15:09:00 +0000 NPR/TED Staff 28803 at http://kuow.org What Happens When We Slow Down? Does More Convenience Mean Less Privacy? http://kuow.org/post/does-more-convenience-mean-less-privacy <em>Part 5 of the</em> TED Radio Hour <em>episode</em> <a href="http://www.npr.org/programs/ted-radio-hour/265352348/the-end-of-privacy" target="_blank">The End Of Privacy</a>.<p><em>What are your thoughts on privacy? Fri, 31 Jan 2014 14:34:00 +0000 editor 27981 at http://kuow.org Does More Convenience Mean Less Privacy? Is Too Much Privacy Bad For Your Health? http://kuow.org/post/too-much-privacy-bad-your-health <em>Part 4 of the</em> TED Radio Hour <em>episode</em> <a href="http://www.npr.org/programs/ted-radio-hour/265352348/the-end-of-privacy" target="_blank">The End Of Privacy</a>.<p><em>What are your thoughts on privacy? Fri, 31 Jan 2014 14:34:00 +0000 NPR/TED Staff 27982 at http://kuow.org Is Too Much Privacy Bad For Your Health?