Ella Taylor http://kuow.org en Love Blooms In Midlife, But Halfheartedly http://kuow.org/post/love-blooms-midlife-halfheartedly No fewer than three comedies about finding love in midlife open this week, all of them shiny with major stars. Is it time to stop whining about the dearth of romantic comedy for mature audiences? Only if you prefer quantity to quality.<p>I haven't seen <em>Blended,</em> a Warner Bros. picture featuring Adam Sandler and Drew Barrymore (talk about milestones, Gertie's turning 40!) as failed blind-daters marooned in a recreation park with their respective kids. Thu, 22 May 2014 21:59:34 +0000 Ella Taylor 35021 at http://kuow.org Love Blooms In Midlife, But Halfheartedly 'Vivian Maier' Brings Nanny-Photographer's Life Into Focus http://kuow.org/post/vivian-maier-brings-nanny-photographers-life-focus Is an artist's life relevant to her reputation as an artist? Thu, 27 Mar 2014 22:52:00 +0000 Ella Taylor 31437 at http://kuow.org 'Vivian Maier' Brings Nanny-Photographer's Life Into Focus A Teen On The Hunt, And Maybe In Over Her Head http://kuow.org/post/teen-hunt-and-maybe-over-her-head Feared and feared for in equal measure, today's teenagers are prisoners of pop and punditry. Branded as bad seeds or delicate flowers, they take shape in the public mind as either neglected or overprotected by their parents, abused by or abusive of the Internet, oversexed or terrified of sex. Is coming of age the pits, or what?<p>Filmmaker Eliza Hittman doesn't shy away from such labels, or from the extremity of the teen years. But she wants to get inside the subjective particularities of the experience, as felt by a fragile 14-year-old. Fri, 21 Mar 2014 16:07:57 +0000 Ella Taylor 31013 at http://kuow.org A Teen On The Hunt, And Maybe In Over Her Head It's Either Art Or A Fire Hose, And We're Calling It The Latter http://kuow.org/post/its-either-art-or-fire-hose-and-were-calling-it-latter <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AuOfpsz9MoM</p> Fri, 21 Mar 2014 16:07:50 +0000 Ella Taylor 31012 at http://kuow.org It's Either Art Or A Fire Hose, And We're Calling It The Latter Sex, Smokes, And Deneuve On The Move http://kuow.org/post/sex-smokes-and-deneuve-move Unhinged by crises both monetary and amorous, a provincial Frenchwoman tells the employees at her restaurant, "I'll be back." Then she takes off in her ancient rattletrap with no escape plan beyond an illicit smoke and a drive to clear her addled head. Turns out she'll be gone a while.<p>Yes, there's a road movie in Bettie's cards. Yes, there will be formative ordeals. And yes, the payoff will be uplift, along with one of those toothsome <em>al fresco</em> country lunches where Mediterranean types wave their arms around and argue in friendly fashion.<p>But that payoff will be hard won. Thu, 13 Mar 2014 23:33:23 +0000 Ella Taylor 30504 at http://kuow.org Sex, Smokes, And Deneuve On The Move A Legacy Of War, Hitting Home Decades Later In Norway http://kuow.org/post/legacy-war-hitting-home-decades-later-norway Decades after the end of World War II, the partly burned body of a young woman was found in a wooded area near the Norwegian town of Bergen. Her possible connection to a long-simmering Norwegian scandal, one dating back to the war, became the subject of a novel by Hannelore Hippe — and, in turn, of <em>Two Lives</em>, a new thriller loosely based on that novel.<p>The movie, from German filmmaker Georg Maas, speculates indirectly on the woman's identity through another character — Katrine, a middle-aged wife, mother and grandmother with a comfortable life in a scenic Norwegian coast town. Fri, 28 Feb 2014 16:56:57 +0000 Ella Taylor 29640 at http://kuow.org A Legacy Of War, Hitting Home Decades Later In Norway Mommy Issues Writ Large For A Troubled Teen http://kuow.org/post/mommy-issues-writ-large-troubled-teen <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fu-RPqn6YzQ</p> Fri, 10 Jan 2014 17:50:57 +0000 Ella Taylor 26849 at http://kuow.org Mommy Issues Writ Large For A Troubled Teen Fighting For Their Family, One Day At A Time http://kuow.org/post/fighting-their-family-one-day-time It would take a heart of stone — or zero tolerance for soap — to resist <em>Any Day Now</em>, a full-throttle weepie about a West Hollywood gay couple trying to adopt a neglected boy with Down syndrome.<p>Their quest might be an easier one today, when 16 American states permit joint adoption for same-sex couples, and all manner of family forms proliferate on and off-screen. But the film, loosely taken from real-life events, is set in 1979, when institutional homophobia was as common as pointy collars on loud print shirts. Thu, 13 Dec 2012 22:03:00 +0000 Ella Taylor 5076 at http://kuow.org Fighting For Their Family, One Day At A Time