Eleanor Beardsley http://kuow.org en Despite Easter 'Truce,' Standoff In Ukraine Appears Steadfast http://kuow.org/post/despite-easter-truce-standoff-ukraine-appears-steadfast In the Ukrainian city of Donetsk, the opposing camps seem increasingly entrenched, despite a diplomatic effort to ease tensions. Pro-Russian forces refuse to leave occupied buildings and public squares in the east. It's an uneasy Easter weekend and neither side is willing to budge. Sat, 19 Apr 2014 21:09:00 +0000 Eleanor Beardsley 32879 at http://kuow.org Both Sides Dig In Their Heels Over Crimea Crisis http://kuow.org/post/both-sides-dig-their-heels-over-crimea-crisis Ukraine shares a long history with Russia, but the latest crisis is driving a wedge between the two countries and reinforcing a sense of national identity among many Ukrainians. Sun, 06 Apr 2014 15:22:00 +0000 Eleanor Beardsley 32004 at http://kuow.org Paris Poised To Elect City Of Light's First Female Mayor http://kuow.org/post/paris-poised-elect-city-lights-first-female-mayor Transcript <p>AUDIE CORNISH, HOST: <p>Voters in Paris go to the polls Sunday to elect a new mayor. And for the first time in its long history, the city will have a woman at the helm. Despite the historical significance, the race has failed to spark much enthusiasm among voters. NPR's Eleanor Beardsley has more.<p>ELEANOR BEARDSLEY, BYLINE: On a warm spring-ish afternoon, Socialist candidate for mayor Anne Hidalgo is out in Paris' bourgeois 16th Arrondissement to support a public housing project. Fri, 28 Mar 2014 21:10:00 +0000 Eleanor Beardsley 31499 at http://kuow.org A Culture Of Unchecked Abuse Thrives In Ukraine And Crimea http://kuow.org/post/culture-unchecked-abuse-thrives-ukraine-and-crimea <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=F5GeBpZ5VHY</p> Sun, 23 Mar 2014 16:00:00 +0000 Eleanor Beardsley 31117 at http://kuow.org A Culture Of Unchecked Abuse Thrives In Ukraine And Crimea As Russia And The West Trade Shots Across The Bow, Kiev Looks On http://kuow.org/post/russia-and-west-trade-shots-across-bow-kiev-looks Transcript <p>AUDIE CORNISH, HOST: <p>From NPR News, this is ALL THINGS CONSIDERED. I'm Audie Cornish.<p>ROBERT SIEGEL, HOST: <p>And I'm Robert Siegel.<p>The U.S. and Europe imposed new sanctions on Russian leaders today in response to Russia's takeover of Crimea. The Russians responded with their own sanctions. The country's foreign minister accused Kiev of organizing attacks on Russian speakers in eastern Ukraine. Thu, 20 Mar 2014 20:28:00 +0000 Eleanor Beardsley 30960 at http://kuow.org For Crimea, Split From Ukraine Would Be Complicated And Costly http://kuow.org/post/crimea-split-ukraine-would-be-complicated-and-costly Crimea is a poor region, heavily subsidized by Kiev, and gets all its gas, water and food from Ukraine. Russia doesn't even have a land link with the Crimean peninsula and absorbing it will affect banks, schools, tourism and pensions for residents. Thu, 20 Mar 2014 08:31:00 +0000 Eleanor Beardsley 30896 at http://kuow.org Kiev Mobilizes Thousands Of Troops, Preparing For Worst http://kuow.org/post/kiev-mobilizes-thousands-troops-preparing-worst The Ukrainian parliament has voted to mobilize 40,000 reservists as Kiev tries to beef up its military following the referendum in Crimea. Mon, 17 Mar 2014 20:09:00 +0000 Eleanor Beardsley 30713 at http://kuow.org Crimeans Vote To Leave Ukraine, Join Russia http://kuow.org/post/crimeans-vote-leave-ukraine-join-russia Crimeans voted overwhelmingly on Sunday to leave Ukraine and join Russia. Morning Edition checks in with NPR's Gregory Warner in Simferopol and Eleanor Beardsley in Kiev for the latest. Mon, 17 Mar 2014 09:04:00 +0000 Eleanor Beardsley 30650 at http://kuow.org With All Eyes On The East, A Seige Mentality Settles On Kiev http://kuow.org/post/all-eyes-east-seige-mentality-settles-kiev Transcript <p>MELISSA BLOCK, HOST: <p>This is ALL THINGS CONSIDERED from NPR News. I'm Melissa Block.<p>ROBERT SIEGEL, HOST: <p>And I'm Robert Siegel.<p>U.S. Secretary of State John Kerry held last-minute talks with his Russian counterpart, Sergey Lavrov, in London today, but there was no breakthrough. Kerry had been trying to head off the referendum on Crimean secession from Ukraine. That vote is set for Sunday. In a moment, we'll hear more about the situation in Crimea. Fri, 14 Mar 2014 20:06:00 +0000 Eleanor Beardsley 30562 at http://kuow.org France Takes A Stand, Crushing Ivory Beneath The Eiffel Tower http://kuow.org/post/france-crushes-ivory-beneath-eiffel-tower Transcript <p>(SOUNDBITE OF MUSIC)<p>RACHEL MARTIN, HOST: <p>This is WEEKEND EDITION from NPR NEW. I'm Rachel Martin.<p>This past week, France became the first European country to destroy illegal ivory in a high profile public demonstration. It did so underneath the Eiffel Tower as part of a global effort to call attention to the illicit ivory trade. Sun, 09 Feb 2014 13:00:00 +0000 Eleanor Beardsley 28465 at http://kuow.org On Third Anniversary, Tunisians May Get A Constitution http://kuow.org/post/third-anniversary-tunisians-may-get-constitution Transcript <p>MELISSA BLOCK, HOST: <p>The Arab Spring that brought those changes to Egypt began in Tunisia, exactly three years ago today. Tunisians overthrew their dictator, prompting a wave of uprisings across the region. But three years on, lawmakers are still struggling to ratify a new constitution and lay the foundations of their country's future. Tue, 14 Jan 2014 22:12:00 +0000 Eleanor Beardsley 27067 at http://kuow.org New Constitution Is A Sign Of Tunisia's Optimism http://kuow.org/post/new-constitution-sign-tunisias-optimism Transcript <p>RACHEL MARTIN, HOST: <p>On Tuesday, Tunisia will celebrate the third anniversary of its revolution. Tunisia is the country that inspired uprisings across the Arab world. Since then, that country has gone through tough times but it seems to have found its way again. Opposing sides have drafted the new constitution together. It will be ready in a couple days, and new elections are set for this year. Sun, 12 Jan 2014 14:56:00 +0000 Eleanor Beardsley 26930 at http://kuow.org Nativity Scenes Liven Centuries-Old French Village http://kuow.org/post/nativity-scenes-liven-centuries-old-french-village Transcript <p>DAVID GREENE, HOST: <p>The medieval village of Flavigny, France has livened up its winter streets with nativity scenes, 85 of them exhibited in windows of houses throughout the town. This centuries-old village has been doing this for five years now and it's bringing in crowds of tourists.<p>NPR's Eleanor Beardsley was one of them and she sent us this Christmas postcard.<p>(SOUNDBITE OF BELL)<p>ELEANOR BEARDSLEY, BYLINE: With a population of around 240 in the wintertime, the cobbled streets of Flavigny can seem austere and empty this time of year. Not anymore. Wed, 25 Dec 2013 10:07:00 +0000 Eleanor Beardsley 26071 at http://kuow.org Why French Troops Are Intervening In Africa — Again http://kuow.org/post/once-again-french-troops-intervene-africa Once again, French television screens are full of images of joyous Africans welcoming French troops.<p>In January, the French military intervened in Mali to help liberate large swaths of the country from radical jihadists. Now, for the second time this year, France has sent troops into an African country to quell violence.<p>Last week, French soldiers went into the Central African Republic to stop sectarian killings. Sun, 15 Dec 2013 13:23:00 +0000 Eleanor Beardsley 25508 at http://kuow.org Why French Troops Are Intervening In Africa — Again Royal Gardener Planted The Seed Of Urban Planning At Versailles http://kuow.org/post/royal-gardener-planted-seed-urban-planning-versailles France's Chateau of Versailles has pulled out all the stops for one of its favorite sons, gardener Andre Le Notre, who designed the palace's famous gardens. Mon, 09 Dec 2013 22:47:00 +0000 Eleanor Beardsley 25177 at http://kuow.org Royal Gardener Planted The Seed Of Urban Planning At Versailles