Jessica Robinson http://kuow.org en The Landslide Statistic Everyone's Using Is From 1985 http://kuow.org/post/landslide-statistic-everyones-using-1985 <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/03/032814JR_OutdatedData_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>The massive landslide in Oso, Wash., has shined a national spotlight on the damage this kind of natural disaster can cause.<p> Sun, 30 Mar 2014 23:05:16 +0000 Jessica Robinson 31576 at http://kuow.org The Landslide Statistic Everyone's Using Is From 1985 How More People Buying Guns Equals More Money For Wildlife http://kuow.org/post/how-more-people-buying-guns-equals-more-money-wildlife <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/03/032614JR_GunWindfall_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>The run on firearms last year is turning into a windfall for conservation programs in the Northwest.<p> Wed, 26 Mar 2014 23:23:42 +0000 Jessica Robinson 31380 at http://kuow.org How More People Buying Guns Equals More Money For Wildlife Lawsuits Charge 'Ag-Gag' Laws Violate Free Speech http://kuow.org/post/lawsuits-charge-ag-gag-laws-violate-free-speech <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/03/031814JR_AgGagLawsuit_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>A lawsuit led by the ACLU is challenging Idaho's brand new, so-called “ag-gag” law aimed at stopping undercover animal rights activists from making videos of abuse at farms and slaughter houses.<p> Wed, 19 Mar 2014 12:04:38 +0000 Jessica Robinson 30835 at http://kuow.org Lawsuits Charge 'Ag-Gag' Laws Violate Free Speech Idaho Students Make Last-Ditch Effort To Kill Guns-On-Campus Bill http://kuow.org/post/idaho-students-make-last-ditch-effort-kill-guns-campus-bill <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/03/031014JR_GunsOnCampus_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>Idaho university students are making a last-minute attempt to stop a measure that would allow people to carry concealed weapons on campus.<p> Tue, 11 Mar 2014 15:35:42 +0000 Jessica Robinson 30258 at http://kuow.org Idaho Students Make Last-Ditch Effort To Kill Guns-On-Campus Bill Exposed Shoreline Behind Damaged Wanapum Dam Closed To Public http://kuow.org/post/exposed-shoreline-behind-damaged-wanapum-dam-closed-public <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/03/030614JR_WanapumDamUpdate_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>Officials in Grant County, Wash., are asking the public to stay away from the shoreline behind the damaged Wanapum Dam.<p> Fri, 07 Mar 2014 16:19:50 +0000 Jessica Robinson 30037 at http://kuow.org Exposed Shoreline Behind Damaged Wanapum Dam Closed To Public Passengers Wait Hours For Empire Builder, America's Least Reliable Train http://kuow.org/post/passengers-wait-hours-empire-builder-americas-least-reliable-train <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/03/030614JR_WorstTrain_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>The worst train in America is right here in the Northwest: the famed Empire Builder.<p> Fri, 07 Mar 2014 16:18:56 +0000 Jessica Robinson 30036 at http://kuow.org Passengers Wait Hours For Empire Builder, America's Least Reliable Train Spud Snub? Potato Growers Steamed Over Exclusion From Nutrition Program http://kuow.org/post/spud-snub-potato-growers-steamed-over-exclusion-nutrition-program <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/03/022814JR_SpudSnub_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Northwest potato growers say they've been snubbed in a federal nutrition program.</span><p> Mon, 03 Mar 2014 15:38:14 +0000 Jessica Robinson 29735 at http://kuow.org Spud Snub? Potato Growers Steamed Over Exclusion From Nutrition Program Idaho Colleges Ask Lawmakers To Consider Fiscal Side Of Guns On Campus http://kuow.org/post/idaho-colleges-ask-lawmakers-consider-fiscal-side-guns-campus <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/02/022714JR_GunsOnCampus_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">State colleges and universities across Idaho are appealing to state lawmakers' fiscally conservative side in an attempt to sideline a proposal to allow guns on campuses.</span><p> Fri, 28 Feb 2014 16:35:29 +0000 Jessica Robinson 29633 at http://kuow.org Idaho Colleges Ask Lawmakers To Consider Fiscal Side Of Guns On Campus Report: Neo-Nazis, Skinheads And Other Hate Groups Down In Northwest http://kuow.org/post/report-neo-nazis-skinheads-and-other-hate-groups-down-northwest <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/02/022514JR_Potok_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">An annual count released Tuesday by the Southern Poverty Law Center revealed that the number of active hate groups in the Northwest dropped dramatically in 2013.</span><p> Wed, 26 Feb 2014 16:45:15 +0000 Jessica Robinson 29470 at http://kuow.org Report: Neo-Nazis, Skinheads And Other Hate Groups Down In Northwest Death Of Northwest Family Shows Hazards Of Carbon Monoxide http://kuow.org/post/death-northwest-family-shows-hazards-carbon-monoxide <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/02/022514JR_CODetectors_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>Local officials say the deaths of a Pocatello, Idaho, couple and their teenage sons is one of the worst tragedies in recent memory in the southeast Idaho community.<p> Wed, 26 Feb 2014 16:38:24 +0000 Jessica Robinson 29467 at http://kuow.org Death Of Northwest Family Shows Hazards Of Carbon Monoxide Obama Backs Northwest Senators' Plan To Fund Firefighting Like Disaster Aid http://kuow.org/post/obama-backs-northwest-senators-plan-fund-firefighting-disaster-aid <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/02/022414JR_WildfireFunding_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Fighting wildfires would be funded more like hurricane and flood response under a proposal out of the Northwest that won President Obama's endorsement.</span><p> Tue, 25 Feb 2014 16:40:49 +0000 Jessica Robinson 29389 at http://kuow.org Obama Backs Northwest Senators' Plan To Fund Firefighting Like Disaster Aid High Enrollment In A State With No Love For Obamacare http://kuow.org/post/high-enrollment-state-no-love-obamacare <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/02/022114JR_IdahoObamacare_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>The latest figures on who's signing up under the federal health care law tell a surprising story about one of the most conservative states in the country.<p> Mon, 24 Feb 2014 16:38:08 +0000 Jessica Robinson 29313 at http://kuow.org High Enrollment In A State With No Love For Obamacare Avalanche Deaths Highlight Unstable Backcountry Conditions http://kuow.org/post/avalanche-deaths-highlight-unstable-backcountry-conditions <p>The <a href="http://www.sawtoothavalanche.com/">avalanche center in Idaho's Sun Valley </a>area is urging people to consider cancelling their plans in the backcountry. Wed, 19 Feb 2014 17:09:33 +0000 Jessica Robinson 29048 at http://kuow.org Avalanche Deaths Highlight Unstable Backcountry Conditions Celebrities Don Bracelets In Support Of Northwest POW http://kuow.org/post/celebrities-don-bracelets-support-northwest-pow <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/02/021814JR_Nelson_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>U.S. diplomats are reportedly renewing their efforts to arrange a prisoner swap for a Northwest soldier who's been in Taliban captivity nearly five years.<p> Wed, 19 Feb 2014 16:59:48 +0000 Jessica Robinson 29046 at http://kuow.org Celebrities Don Bracelets In Support Of Northwest POW Proposed Prisoner Swap Offers Hope To Idaho Family Of POW http://kuow.org/post/proposed-prisoner-swap-offers-hope-idaho-family-pow <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/02/021814JR_BergdahlSwap_web.mp3" class="asset-audio">The Idaho family of captured U.S. soldier Bowe Bergdahl is welcoming an effort to get their son home through a prisoner swap. </a><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">The Idaho family of captured U.S. soldier Bowe </span>Bergdahl<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> is welcoming an effort to get their son home through a prisoner swap.</span><p> Wed, 19 Feb 2014 16:46:22 +0000 Jessica Robinson 29041 at http://kuow.org Proposed Prisoner Swap Offers Hope To Idaho Family Of POW