Tom Banse http://kuow.org en Flags Lowered Across Washington To Honor Landslide Victims http://kuow.org/post/flags-lowered-across-washington-honor-landslide-victims <p>Flags are flying at half mast across Washington state this afternoon to honor victims of last month's deadly landslide. Wed, 16 Apr 2014 15:05:30 +0000 Tom Banse 32647 at http://kuow.org Flags Lowered Across Washington To Honor Landslide Victims Extended Season For Some Northwest Ski Areas, But Profits Scarce http://kuow.org/post/extended-season-some-northwest-ski-areas-profits-scarce <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/04/041014TB_SkiDoldrums_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>Thanks to late-season snow that fell at many area some Cascade ski areas will welcome skiers and snowboarders well past Easter.<p> Mon, 14 Apr 2014 15:16:12 +0000 Tom Banse 32496 at http://kuow.org Extended Season For Some Northwest Ski Areas, But Profits Scarce Washington's Wildfire Season Officially Starts Tuesday http://kuow.org/post/washingtons-wildfire-season-officially-starts-tuesday <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/04/041114TB_Wildfire_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>Wildfire season officially starts on April 15 in Washington state.&#160;<span style="line-height: 1.5;">Oregon and Idaho have rolling starts to fire precaution rules depending on local conditions.</span><p> Mon, 14 Apr 2014 11:05:16 +0000 Tom Banse 32492 at http://kuow.org Washington's Wildfire Season Officially Starts Tuesday Water Supply Rebounds Across Most of Northwest After March Storms http://kuow.org/post/water-supply-rebounds-across-most-northwest-after-march-storms <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/04/041014TB_Water_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>Irrigators, hydropower dam operators and tugboat captains are sitting pretty across most of the Northwest according to the <a href="http://www.nwrfc.noaa.gov/ws/">latest regional water supply forecast</a>.<p> Fri, 11 Apr 2014 15:06:33 +0000 Tom Banse 32361 at http://kuow.org Water Supply Rebounds Across Most of Northwest After March Storms Banner Summer On Tap For Ocean Salmon Fishing http://kuow.org/post/banner-summer-tap-ocean-salmon-fishing <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/04/040914TB_Salmon_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>A federal fisheries management panel has approved what some charter captains are calling the best ocean fishing season in 20 years.<p> Thu, 10 Apr 2014 15:14:38 +0000 Tom Banse 32275 at http://kuow.org Banner Summer On Tap For Ocean Salmon Fishing Inslee Happy With Federal Aid For Landslide, But Says It Won't 'Make People Whole' http://kuow.org/post/inslee-happy-federal-aid-landslide-says-it-wont-make-people-whole <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/04/040914TB_Inslee_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>Washington Governor Jay Inslee&#160;says he's pleased with the federal disaster relief flowing to the state for last month's deadly landslide in Snohomish County.<p> Thu, 10 Apr 2014 14:09:32 +0000 Tom Banse 32273 at http://kuow.org Inslee Happy With Federal Aid For Landslide, But Says It Won't 'Make People Whole' Central Washington Home To Nation's Biggest Bitcoin 'Mine,' More Coming http://kuow.org/post/central-washington-home-nations-biggest-bitcoin-mine-more-coming <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/04/040414TB_BitcoinMine_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Here's a surprising fact: the largest </span>bitcoin<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> "mine" in North America is located on the outskirts of Wenatchee, Wash.</span><p> Tue, 08 Apr 2014 13:04:42 +0000 Tom Banse 32105 at http://kuow.org Central Washington Home To Nation's Biggest Bitcoin 'Mine,' More Coming Measles Outbreak In British Columbia Crosses Northern Border http://kuow.org/post/measles-outbreak-british-columbia-crosses-northern-border <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/04/040314TB_Measles_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>A big measles outbreak in British Columbia has crossed over the border into the American Northwest.<p> Thu, 03 Apr 2014 23:16:00 +0000 Tom Banse 31899 at http://kuow.org Measles Outbreak In British Columbia Crosses Northern Border Northwest Researchers Document Whales Which Set New Breath-Hold Record http://kuow.org/post/northwest-researchers-document-whales-which-set-new-breath-hold-record <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/04/040214TB_Breath_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>Think about how long you can hold your breath and then let this discovery blow your mind.<p> Thu, 03 Apr 2014 11:06:20 +0000 Tom Banse 31844 at http://kuow.org Northwest Researchers Document Whales Which Set New Breath-Hold Record Landslide Debris Field Has To Be Approached As Hazmat Scene http://kuow.org/post/landslide-debris-field-has-be-approached-hazmat-scene <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/03/032714TB_SlideHazmat_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">In a clearing on a hillside above one side of the mudflow, searchers in all sorts of uniforms and bright safety vests are picking through the crushed and barely recognizable remains of homes.</span><p> Fri, 28 Mar 2014 15:39:15 +0000 Tom Banse 31464 at http://kuow.org Landslide Debris Field Has To Be Approached As Hazmat Scene At The Landslide Front Line, Comparisons To Mount St. Helens Devastation http://kuow.org/post/landslide-front-line-comparisons-mount-st-helens-devastation <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/03/032814TB_SlideTour_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">A local fire chief is warning communities around the deadly landslide in northwest Washington to brace for a jump in the death toll Friday.</span><p> Fri, 28 Mar 2014 14:21:00 +0000 Tom Banse 31458 at http://kuow.org At The Landslide Front Line, Comparisons To Mount St. Helens Devastation Dogs Most Effective Search Tool As Landslide Death Toll Mounts http://kuow.org/post/dogs-most-effective-search-tool-landslide-death-toll-mounts <p>Rescuers are employing high tech electronics to help locate buried victims in the Oso mudslide. But old fashioned tools have actually worked best according to local fire chief Travis&nbsp;Hots.</p><p>“In the last three days, the most effective tool has been dogs and just our bare hands and shovels uncovering people," he says. "The dogs are the ones that are pinpointing a particular area to look. We’re looking and that’s how we’re finding people.” Wed, 26 Mar 2014 18:58:45 +0000 Tom Banse 31316 at http://kuow.org Dogs Most Effective Search Tool As Landslide Death Toll Mounts Rain Makes Slippery Search At Deadly Landslide More Complicated http://kuow.org/post/rain-makes-slippery-search-deadly-landslide-more-complicated <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/03/032514TB_Hots_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>Light rain is falling on the valley north of Seattle Tuesday where hundreds of rescuers are still combing through debris from Saturday’s catastrophic landslide.<p> Wed, 26 Mar 2014 15:55:54 +0000 Tom Banse 31304 at http://kuow.org Rain Makes Slippery Search At Deadly Landslide More Complicated High Tech Tools And Tricks Aid Search For Landslide Victims http://kuow.org/post/high-tech-tools-and-tricks-aid-search-landslide-victims <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/03/032514TB_SlideTech_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Rescuers are employing high technology tools and tricks to help locate victims buried deep under the muck and debris of Saturday’s landslide in Northwest Washington.</span><p> Wed, 26 Mar 2014 13:45:57 +0000 Tom Banse 31293 at http://kuow.org High Tech Tools And Tricks Aid Search For Landslide Victims County Officials Say Stricken Neighborhood Made Aware Of Landslide Risk http://kuow.org/post/county-officials-say-stricken-neighborhood-made-aware-landslide-risk <p></p><p>With the death toll expected to rise from Saturday’s catastrophic landslide near Oso, Snohomish County officials and emergency planners are starting to field hard questions about permitting home construction in a known landslide zone. Tue, 25 Mar 2014 20:31:00 +0000 Tom Banse 31253 at http://kuow.org County Officials Say Stricken Neighborhood Made Aware Of Landslide Risk